2020 Benelli Imperial 400i now in Malaysia – RM15.8k

Coming into the retro motorcycle market in Malaysia is the 2020 Benelli Imperiale 400i single, priced at RM15,888 without road tax, insurance or registration. The Imperiale 400i harkens back to the design of the 1950s Benelli Moto-Bi and will be available for sale at authorised Benelli Malaysia dealers in February 2020.

Carrying a single-cylinder, air-cooled, SOHC, two-valve, 373.5 cc, Euro 4 compliant power plant fed by EFI, the Imperiale’s engine is as basic as it gets and puts out 20.4 hp at 5,500 rpm and 28 Nm of torque at 3,500 rpm. Power gets to the ground via a five-speed gearbox and chain final drive.

As is typical of retro styled motorcycles, the Imperiale 400i uses 41 mm diameter telescopic forks in front with 110 mm of travel, while the rear end is held up with twin shock absorbers with adjustable pre-load giving 65 mm of travel. Braking is done with Benelli brand single hydraulic callipers front and rear clamping a 300 mm and 240 mm diameter disc respectively and two-channel ABS is standard.

Wheels sizes are properly retro, with a 19-inch spoked wheel in front shod in 100/90 rubber and 18-inch rear wheel with 130/80 tyre. Dry weight for the Imperiale 400i is claimed to be 197 kg and fuel is carried in a 12-litre tank.

There are three colour options for the 2020 Benelli Imperiale 400i – Black, Red and Grey. It should be noted the panniers on the Imperial 400i shown in the gallery are optional items and pricing for this official Benelli accessory has yet to be determined.

Coming with diverse and extensive experience in heavy engineering, Mohan enjoys making anything with wheels go fast, especially motorcycles. His weapon of choice is the Desmoquattro engine, and he has a penchant for anything with a dash of Italian design. Strangely enough, he insists he's a slow rider.

• nice curves on Nov 04, 2019 at 4:17 pm

Kudos to Benelli for showcasing such attractive lineup. The motorbikes aren’t too bad either.

• rider on Nov 05, 2019 at 2:22 pm

RE wannabe. But the price is attractive.

• They should have a scaled down of 250cc and sell under modernas. Price it at rm10,000. Then call it Jaguh II. Good potential market for both parties.

• Ah Chong on Nov 06, 2019 at 8:11 am

Actually modenas should just bring in the Avenger cruise/street 220. 220cc only 19ps, but cost 10% less than ns200 in India. Wonder why it’s not here. Would be great jaguh replacement.

• mayukh on Nov 06, 2019 at 9:42 am

the motorcycle was launched in India a week ago and the pricing is just under 10000 ringgit