QUICK LOOK: 2020 Honda Accord 1.5L VTEC Turbo and 2.0L i-MMD Sport Hybrid in Thailand – fr RM216k

The 10th-generation Honda Accord, which was just launched in Australia last week, has actually been on sale in Thailand since May this year. The D-segment sedan features an all-new design, and along with it are new powertrains as well.

Let’s start with the 1.5 litre VTEC Turbo engine. This four-cylinder mill puts out 188 hp at 5,500 rpm and 260 Nm of torque from 1,600 to 5,000 rpm, and is paired with a CVT which drives the front wheels. The average fuel consumption is rated at 6.5 litres per 100 km, with C02 emissions rated at 149 grams per km.

More interestingly is the new, third-generation hybrid powertrain developed by Honda, called the Intelligent Multi-Mode Drive (i-MMD). This is a two-motor hybrid system that assist the 2.0 litre naturally-aspirated four-cylinder engine, which altogether make a combined system output of 212 hp from 5,000 rpm to 6,000 rpm and 315 Nm of torque from zero to 2,000 rpm. The combined fuel economy is 4.3 l/100 km, and CO2 emissions is 98 g/km.

Safety-wise, the Thai-spec Accord gets six airbags, ABS with EBD and brake assist, stability control, a tyre pressure monitoring system and Honda’s LaneWatch camera as standard. Hybrid models get the full Honda Sensing safety features, such as Collision Mitigation Braking System (CMBS), Lane Keep Assist System (LKAS), Road Departure Warning (RDW) with Lane Departure Warning (LDW), Auto High Beam (AHB), Adaptive Cruise Control (ACC) with Low Speed Follow (LSF), and Smart Parking Assist.

GALLERY: 2019 Honda Accord Turbo EL

GALLERY: 2019 Honda Accord Hybrid
GALLERY: 2019 Honda Accord Turbo EL with Modulo aerokit

Matthew H Tong

An ardent believer that fun cars need not be fast and fast cars may not always be fun. Matt advocates the purity and simplicity of manually swapping cogs while coping in silence of its impending doom. Matt's not hot. Never hot.

• granny on Dec 04, 2019 at 3:30 pm

It’s even more ugly than Mazda6 now.

wait for Ugly Duckling 2020 Accord evolve to be Accord Swan in 2025.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 6
    • Accord same priced as CRV here , Rm138k-163k…

• Shukor bin Azman on Dec 05, 2019 at 9:08 am

I hope this beauty does not become the next Accordana. then malu only Honda name.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
        • The Accountant on Dec 05, 2019 at 6:14 pm

What now? Glorified Civic?

• Yeah right honda will malu because if P1 touches its Ride and Handling it’ll be better than ori

• zudin on Dec 05, 2019 at 11:41 am

(Like) Honda Accord VTEC Turbo
        (Dislike) Toyota Camry 2.5V

• Netmask8 on Dec 04, 2019 at 7:36 pm

2.0 liter natural aspiration engine is more powerful than 1.5 Turbo..

• alldisc on Dec 04, 2019 at 9:01 pm

Netmask8 u r right. Example.. Hyundai i40 2.0 GDi has 180bhp.

• R u dumb??wasted sperm pls read 1.5t 190hp with 243nm is more powerful thn ur 2.0 gdi 180hp

• R u dumb??wasted spern pls read 1.5t 190hp with 243nm is more powerful thn 2.0 na and even some 2.5 na..stupid

• Sanjeevan Krishnan on Dec 05, 2019 at 9:29 am

I rather buy this than gas guzzling campro engine. Even this Accord is more economical than our Campro in the Persona

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
      • Ali Rustam on Dec 05, 2019 at 11:39 am

If I drive this car, I can feel proud. I am changing my Proton now.

• Ghani on Dec 05, 2019 at 4:47 pm

Sticking a Proton badge on your kapcai doesn’t make it a Proton.

• Amran on Dec 05, 2019 at 6:03 pm

I am proud that my Proton is the same as your Honda but I pay much less than you do.

• 4G63T DSM on Dec 05, 2019 at 9:06 am

It seems honda does it on purpose, designing cars that look good only on alternating generations.

The next one would be an absolute stunner.

But to be fair, it looks quite a lot better in person. This new one isn’t really very photogenic.

• Thanks to our depreciating currency, price of cars are way too much

• Sick & Tired on Dec 04, 2019 at 4:10 pm

Terima kasih PH!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
      • Ksatria on Dec 04, 2019 at 6:21 pm

Proton price turun 3-9K. Terima kasih P1 Baru!

• s.Ibrahim on Dec 04, 2019 at 9:52 pm

Proton saja turun, lain semua naik? Terima kasih Proton, terima kasih bang Najib. Pegi mampoi Pakatan!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
          • Ajibkor on Dec 05, 2019 at 1:04 pm

Thank u sapot tegar, brader. 1MDB i sign only, I memang donno. Diorang bagik , I ambik. itu je … becuz they used my acct

• Sick & Tired on Dec 05, 2019 at 2:09 pm

Don’t worry bossku. We are with you. Real sick & tired of them dy

• 4bini on Dec 04, 2019 at 4:13 pm

We need more people from Mainland to run our car business, GLCs and also Putrajaya.

If we can get 1.6 million people from Mainland to replace the Putrajaya workers, productivity will 10 fold and our ringgit will go up

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 36
      • Angry Voters on Dec 04, 2019 at 5:58 pm

The problem is not the 1.6million workers but the 100 useless Cabinet ministers. Why pay for 1.6million export workers when it is more cost effective and it works to replace only 100 Cabinet ministers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 13
        • Mohammad Johan Ariffin on Dec 05, 2019 at 8:53 am

but….but…the 100 people are hardworking and the 1.6 million people are lazy and always want bantuan kerajaan

• Angry Voters on Dec 05, 2019 at 2:11 pm

Hardworking at what, bringing down our country and economy? Hardworking to songlap as much possible? I rather have the 1.6million lazy people that are honest in their jobs than these 100 corrupts.

• granny on Dec 05, 2019 at 9:48 am

Useless cabinet ministers?

they are performing similar to most GLC/Enterprices/etc top managements, which litterally useless too.

• jeffkl on Dec 05, 2019 at 10:08 am

4bini-the problem is the PH regime. if we bring people from mainland, it will be chaos like Hong Kong

• Angry Voters on Dec 05, 2019 at 2:13 pm

Fully agree. It’s high time to kick them out once and for all.

• Celup King on Dec 04, 2019 at 3:39 pm

Honda Malaysia wait until they confirmed drop to 4th spot on MAA data before they will wake up and intro these cars into Malaysia. Meanwhile continue to buy their outdated crap.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 3
  • Msia driver on Dec 04, 2019 at 4:10 pm

Just saw it at showroom in sg, actually it’s actual look is far better than in the photo.
    Furthermore I think Mazda is kind boring as it’s line design almost same.

• heybadigol (Member) on Dec 05, 2019 at 8:37 am

I’m guessing the hybrid is higher in the Thai Accord pecking order right? Impressive power and torque output without using any turbo. Just curious, does the hybrid also use CVT like the 1.5 turbo or does it use dual clutch gearbox, like the Jazz and City hybrid? The specs in Thailand is impressive too. Hopefully, Honda Malaysia can get some tax exemptions for the hybrid model, then its pricing will be pretty interesting in Malaysia. Assuming the Accord Hybrid makes it here.

• So kesian on Dec 05, 2019 at 10:46 am

Pity those who don’t have any platform to express their frustration over last GE and use PT to do so.. I see them in every comment section trying to racun the rakyat.. come on la, the comment section is PT is combination of a few person with many dupes.. that’s how you campaign? hahahaha