2019 Honda Accord launched in Australia – 1.5L VTEC Turbo, 2.0L i-MMD hybrid; one trim level; from RM136k

The tenth-generation Honda Accord has now gone on sale in Australia, where it is offered in just one VTi-LX trim level, but with a choice of two powertrains. Prices start from AU$47,990 (RM135,697) for the 1.5 litre turbocharged four-cylinder engine, while the hybrid option goes for AU$50,490 (RM142,774). Compared to the Accord sold in Thailand, which also gets the same powertrain options, Australians pay less for the latest Accord, as prices start from 1,475,000 baht (RM203,658) in the Kingdom.

The smaller VTEC Turbo mill puts out 188 hp at 5,500 rpm and 260 Nm of torque from 1,600 to 5,000 rpm, and is paired with a CVT driving the front wheels. This configuration returns a combined fuel consumption of 6.5 litres per 100 km, with C02 emissions rated at 149 grams per km.

Meanwhile, the hybrid powertrain is Honda’s third-generation Intelligent Multi-Mode Drive (i-MMD) two-motor hybrid system that consists of a 2.0 litre naturally-aspirated four-cylinder engine, an e-CVT and two electric motors for a total system output of 212 hp from 5,000 to 6,000 rpm and 315 Nm of torque from zero to 2,000 rpm. Combined fuel economy with this setup is 4.3 l/100 km, and CO2 emissions is 98 g/km.

When cruising at mid- or high-speeds a lock-up clutch is engaged to connect the engine to the e-motors to transmit engine torque directly to the drive wheels. When running on electricity alone, the, a clutch disengages the engine from the drivetrain to eliminate efficiency loss from mechanical friction in the engine.

In terms of standard equipment, the VTi-LX trim comes with LED headlamps , fog lamps, taillights and daytime running lights, dual-zone climate control with rear vents, an electric sunroof, Eco Assist and Econ mode, black leather upholstery, powered front seats (eight-way driver, four-way passenger), Active Noise Control, a Qi-standard wireless charger, as well as an eight-inch Advanced Display Audio touchscreen infotainment system with Apple CarPlay and Android Auto support.

Other items include 18-inch alloy wheels, a multi-info instrument cluster display with dedicated displays for the hybrid model, a head-up display, front and rear parking sensors, remote engine start, keyless entry and start, and a 452-watt premium sound system with 10 speakers.

The packaged safety and driver assistance systems is also rather comprehensive, with six airbags (front, side and curtain), Vehicle Stability Assist, traction control, EBD, ABS, BA, a tyre pressure monitoring system, rear cross traffic monitoring, LaneWatch, Active Cornering Lights and Smart Parking Assist with Rear Collision Mitigation Braking System.

The Accord also comes with the Honda Sensing suite, which features Forward Collision Warning, Collision Mitigation Braking System, Lane Departure Warning, Lane Keep Assist System, Road Departure Mitigation System, Adaptive Cruise Control with Low Speed Follow, and High Beam Support System.

Customers there will get to choose from five exterior paint finishes, including Platinum White, Lunar Silver, Modern Steel, Crystal Black and Passion Red, although the last option is reserved for the hybrid model.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Proton oh Proton on Nov 29, 2019 at 4:54 pm

We still waiting for launching… and will wait and will wait…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 4
    • still sleeping on Nov 29, 2019 at 7:00 pm

Yes wait until we die also never launch yet
      US,China,Singapore,Thailand and now Australia already launch new Accord aka Ya Ge
      Malaysia still sleeping

• Kumpul together turbo on Nov 29, 2019 at 7:50 pm

Better buy Civic, also Same 1.5 Turbo and yet faster than Accord, as civic body weight is lighter.. Honda BOLEH In boleh land.. 188hp at 5500 rpm.

• People won’t buy this car cause they scared it will be another Proton Perdana.

Last generation Accord owners saw their car prices plummet when their car became the Proton Perdana.

All rasa malu

• Darren on Dec 02, 2019 at 5:00 pm

Smart buyers held back and bought new Perdana which made it the best selling D segment.

• Currently owned Civic turbo, upgred G20 318i atau amik Accord turbo. adoii pening2

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 18
    • Keep the Civic bro. 318i lower power than Civic, also it starts at 330i level for G20 locally. Accord turbo not much difference in power and interior space compared to Civic. Save up and upgrade to something with 300HP and above like Golf R or C43 AMG

• Pakai je dulu apa yang ada, kereta baru 3 tahun kan? 2021 baru upgrade.

• jayjay on Nov 30, 2019 at 2:46 am

better new accord. 318i look like budak2 car, rear light look like honda city. or better opt to 5 series.

but, since this new accord look like civic, with upside down lampu ketam, better just stay with civic.

• Depends…if need space the accord coz its size wise comparable to a 5 series. Unless u’re looking for badge appeal & size is not priority…go for the 3 series

• No one cares bro, make your own decisions. Cheap flex tho

• Sick & Tired on Nov 29, 2019 at 5:12 pm

This is the same price as the Accords sold during BN era. Under PH rule, Accord is closer to RM200k. Thank you very much PH! You have made us feel poorer.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 64 Thumb down 22
    • Leong on Nov 29, 2019 at 7:13 pm

now only i know that PH rules tomyam land as well. thanks for the update

• Sick & Tired on Dec 03, 2019 at 11:12 am

Eh? Why you get angry when I used PH supporter logic? Strange …

• Real LLort on Dec 04, 2019 at 12:27 pm

Question is, why you get angry of a comment saying that the RM200K Accord price is for Thai market and are you saying that PH rules Thailand as well? Bravo logic.. lol

• Leong on Nov 29, 2019 at 7:17 pm

when it ws selling at 150k here, it was only 100k in Aus, if you know how to look for the facts

• Nasi kandar on Nov 29, 2019 at 9:00 pm

Looks like the game over BN trolls are so desperate, article is talking about car while you are talking about politics. Talk about car design, fuel consumption, features, etc.

• Sick & Tired on Dec 03, 2019 at 11:14 am

Everyone here is talking about cars except you. You only talk about how racing you can be. Real sick & tired hearing your racing.

• secret_revealed on Nov 29, 2019 at 9:47 pm

have you heard? every new model introduced 2019 onwards have different tax structure now? that’s what i heard…thats why Mazda3 priced like current Accord

• Same type of people running the show. Cabinet also, got the same type. 1.6 million Government also got the same type

So you won’t see any change really.

• Logically if same type of people are still around then we should get same pricing. But now it’s clear that it is those new people that are purposely increasing car prices since they tookover. Cilaka betul those new people!

• Karam Dance on Nov 29, 2019 at 5:26 pm

It seems Honda thailand is enjoying being greedy. Just like toyota.

I remember 20 years ago when Malaysia was selling corolla altis at 110k for 1.6E and 120k for 1.8G, the same car was sold in thailand at about 800k baht. They were popular as taxis.

• kapchai on Nov 30, 2019 at 10:14 am

I think the difference is because of duties or lack of it in Australia. However consider also that only price of cars are cheap in Aussie land. Everything else is expensive including fuel

• C.P. MOHAN on Nov 29, 2019 at 6:46 pm

Although two years old it is READY OR BOOKING.

• still sleeping on Nov 29, 2019 at 7:01 pm

why Accord Hybrid use normal gear
    US and China version use button gear selector which is fantastic

• Malaysian vehicle sales data in Oct 2019 by brand:-
    1. Perodua 22800 units
    2. Proton 9500 units
    3. Toyota 6300 units
    4. Honda 6300 units
    5. Nissan 2400 units

• Beautiful car

• Dong gor on Nov 29, 2019 at 9:59 pm

Doing business in boleh land is tough. Look at civic, until now the pricing is not approved. In what world u can’t sell your product at a competitive price! That’s how Honda’s hands are tied

• Even Australia not recive a 2.0L turbo variant, Malaysia may impossible to receive it also..

• John Nak Kopi on Nov 30, 2019 at 11:28 am

Long time ago, i like this new honda accord design, but now i like the monster camry more.

• John Lewis Tan on Dec 01, 2019 at 6:46 pm

When Honda Malaysia launch new Accord and Brio (A-Segment Hatchback which available in Thailand) ?

• Lastarr on Dec 01, 2019 at 8:53 pm

Interested! ))

• vodka on Dec 02, 2019 at 9:25 am

Interesting that the 1.5 liter turbo in the Accord is more thirsty than the 2.0 liter turbo BMW G30 530i. The 5 series is also much faster than the Accord. And the 1.5T Honda is already a very efficient and powerful unit compared to it’s rivals.

• AZAMIRUDDIN AHMAD on Dec 02, 2019 at 11:24 am

Unlike german cars, japanese choose to have economical engines rather than performance + economical.
    No 2.0 turbo yet from japanese car maker except for their top-spec’d sportcars (Honda, Subaru & Skyline).
    The angry looking Honda Civic only get 1.5 turbo..they seems afraid to put performance engine into daily drive Civic, CRV and Accord..