While we’ve already had access to the fifth-generation Honda CR-V for some time now, the carmaker is set to reveal the SUV for European markets at the upcoming Geneva Motor Show. The most alluring selling point is the availability of a hybrid model, first previewed by the CR-V Hybrid Prototype during last year’s Frankfurt Motor Show.
Of course, Europe won’t be the first to get the hybrid SUV, as China has already begun sales since the second half of 2017. The European-spec CR-V hybrid will come with Honda’s Intelligent Multi-Mode Drive (i-MMD) system as in the Accord Hybrid, which features a 2.0 litre i-VTEC Atkinson-cycle petrol engine and two electric motors.
Honda hasn’t provided any official figures for the hybrid powertrain, but on the Accord Hybrid, there is a total system output of 212 hp and a combined fuel economy of 20.4 km per litre. There also three operation modes for the system – Hybrid Drive, Engine Drive and EV Drive.
The other option is the familiar 1.5 litre VTEC Turbo petrol unit, which can be paired with either a six-speed manual or optional CVT automatic. Front-wheel drive comes as standard, but customers can also specify their cars with all-wheel drive. Another option available in Europe is a seven-seat model, similar to what is offered in Thailand.
First European deliveries of the CR-V fitted with the 1.5-litre VTEC Turbo engine are expected in autumn this year, while hybrid models will follow in early 2019.
Dear Honda, please give option for 7 seater CRV in Malaysia. TQ, your potential customer.
Grab a 7 seater Sorento instead. According to Drb Honda survey showed buyers don’t really look at 7 seating as a primary point of consideration, and so the decision to retain 5-seat layout.
MAI and Malaysian Government talk big about EV and Hybrids but we hardly get any Hybrids, just one or two, mostly only for orang kaya kaya.
Who can afford Volvo XC90T8 and BMW x5 Hybrid?
Only one or two, Jazz etc.
https://paultan.org/2018/02/06/treeletrik-t-mv7-electric-lorry-priced-from-rm66000/
USA mari lagi
yup..sorento diesel is 200ps 440nm power with consumption of just 16km/l…you get both power and fuel saving unlike hybrid whereby you need to really drive slowly to achieve it. sorento has better NVH too…so save a lot of money from having to take your Honda to after market insulation shop to reduce the cabin noise.
sorento specs are on paper only. koreans have a nasty habit of cheating the customer by overstating hp/torque and understating fuel consumption . few years back they were punished with fines in USA, but malaysia dont have such strict consumer laws.
Same goes to p2 cheats 20.1km/l myvi FC. Who buys later pening kepala
The Mitsubishi outlander is a gud choice of 7seater in Malaysia… Harga pun murah… But the only issue is, its lacking rear air cond vwnts…
Exora much better
Pity those living in europe…so slow to get the new crv…whats going over there…they are losing to other asian countries…they should step up and be less complacent…kahkahkah…sounds so familiar
We should get the Hybrid CRV here. Then, prices can be about RM110k and below as we can benefit from the tax rebate given by the Government for Hybrid and EV cars.
but Honda….dont know also. Honda City Hybrid became more expensive than Honda City non Hybrid by RM10k.
But BMW X5 40e became RM300k cheaper than the non hybrid X5 because of this same tax rebate Government gives for hybrid and EEV.
Rich get richer and poor get poorer
My friend, you are over optimistic. They will definitely charge a bit lower than the last year’s TCP trim – for ‘marketing purposes’.
(Like) Proton Boyue 7-seat.
(Dislke) Honda CRV 7-seat
CRV third row is for midgets
Six-speed manual!
Honda will NOT make a 6 speed manual simply bcos the demand is too low. It is not profitable & practical for a “Family” SUV.
Disagree. Unless you talk about Honda Malaysia. In Europe, 6 speed manual is a standard transmission for HRV. Anyways, the number of dislikes I got shown that majority of Malaysian can’t drive manual.
Correction, for CRV too!
ahmadjohnson very clever to talk big. lets see you suffer in rush hour traffic for 2 hours every day then see whether you still want to drive manual. or maybe you are from the elite/crony club thats why u dont have a 9-6 job like most of us.
Why want manual transmission in bad traffic jammed?
Because it’s fun driving manual transmission in non traffic jammed. Why you want to drive in bad traffic jammed?
Hehehe.I didn’t know U are from another planet
I don’t expect honda to sell SUV in manual over here. Just surprised they still offer a manual in Europe. Which means it’s probably profitable for Europe market.
Agree…give 7 seater option to customer in malaysia