Decision to defer petrol subsidy programme made out of concern that cost of living might increase – LGE

The decision to defer the implementation of the targeted petrol subsidy programme (PSP) has been made out of concern that floating petrol prices might impact the rakyat – especially those in the B40 group – by increasing their cost of living, according to finance minister Lim Guan Eng.

“That is why we are cautious about the PSP. That is what we want to discuss because flotation is expected to result in higher petrol price,” he said. Lim said consumers and even business people had voiced concerns about the effects of flotation of petrol prices, saying that even an increase of just one or two sen a week would have an impact, reports Bernama.

He added that the postponement will allow further studies to be done. “The postponement of the PSP implementation is to ensure that the people can better understand this programme, as it is meant to benefit the people especially the B40,” he said.

On December 30, domestic trade and consumer affairs (KPDHNEP) minister Datuk Seri Saifuddin Nasution Ismail announced that the implementation of the PSP, originally scheduled to start in January, had been postponed to a later, unspecified date. The decision to delay the PSP was made following a Cabinet meeting held on December 18.

Pending an official update that will be announced later on, the public will continue to pay for petrol following prices set by the current system, where RON 95 is fixed at RM2.08 per litre, while the price of RON 97 is floated (currently at RM2.63 per litre).

The government first revealed details of the PSP in October last year during the tabling of Budget 2020. It was announced that eligible B40 recipients – including those who are entitled for cost of living aid (BSH) assistance – would be given a fixed subsidy rate of RM30 a month for car owners, and RM12 for motorcycle owners.

At the time, it was also mentioned that the current price cap of RM2.08 per litre for RON 95 would be removed and the fuel floated – like RON 97 is presently – once the PSP came into effect.

Later on, the government extended the coverage of the PSP to include those in the middle income M40 group, with the issuance of a “Kad95” for those with household incomes of below RM4,000 but are not eligible for BSH. It added that RM2.4 billion was allocated to the programme, which would benefit around eight million individuals in the B40 and M40 groups.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• diego b salam on Jan 02, 2020 at 12:35 pm

U turn, just say U turn.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 1
    • Chavez on Jan 02, 2020 at 4:11 pm

Still the cheapest petrol in the region ….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
      • Turn M on Jan 02, 2020 at 6:03 pm

Kan dah beritahu Manifesto sebenar kita; penipuan diutamakan, janji dicapati

• Awang Selamat on Jan 02, 2020 at 7:38 pm

How long does the abang abang naik moto still demand for subsidi minyak? How long want tongkat and bantuan?
        Get rid of NEP, NAP and affirmative policy, we will be competitive like Singapore

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 10
        • Angry Voters on Jan 02, 2020 at 11:16 pm

And why not make demands? When we see how our ministers are telling us we the country is bankrupt la, we need to work harder la, but turn around they easily wasting our taxpayer money buying themselves Velfires and Accords.

The money should go back to the rakyat’s pockets not into their pockets.

You want to get rid of something, go get rid of our corrupted Cabinet.

• Even Sgrian fill up when in JB maa..

• redpilled on Jan 03, 2020 at 8:48 am

How long the taukehs want to give local work to foreigners and drive down local salary? How long do taukehs intend to be addicted to low paying foreigners? How long do taukehs want to discriminate pay to locals? How long do ahpeks2 want to keep perpetuating myths like malas abang2?

How long do ah pek2 & ah soh2 want to keep making claims and (misleading) comparison with Canberra about ‘bloated’ civil service but don’t want to do like OZ to protect local jobs from cheap foreign labor?

• The Truth Putrajaya on Jan 02, 2020 at 8:10 pm

Bring Mainland people to run our country. They make decisions fast. here, mesyuarat always makan kuih lapis, kuih talam and karipap. Before meeting got decision, already majlis bersurai

China take 1 meeting

Malaysia Putrajaya takes 100 meetings.

TO MAKE THE SAME DECISION

• John Doe on Jan 03, 2020 at 7:59 am

Clearly you’re a fast finisher.
          We need to make the right decision not fast decision. Clearly this new government can’t achieve both. The only thing they can do swiftly is destroy the economy.

• redpilled on Jan 03, 2020 at 8:49 am

Well too bad coz your LGE n Mat Sabu osso doing same thing now.

• The Accountant on Jan 02, 2020 at 9:16 pm

This gomen say BERSIMPSATI only.. They will just tax on other things

• TQ LGE , peka & prihatin Rakyat. harapan Johor.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 15
    • Rakyat biasa on Jan 03, 2020 at 3:16 pm

After wasted RM 25 millions to study for PSP only now they realised it will affect the cost of living. We don’t need unaccredited accountant to tell this people who doesn’t finished spm also knows.
      Right now some taukehs so happy can continue smuggle to neighbouring countries for quick profits

• Last time when drafting the plan, cost of living was not an issue is it? So all the money spent for the systems are wasted?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 0
  • Anonymous on Jan 02, 2020 at 2:23 pm

DUHHHH…! Minister in STUPIDITY mode.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
  • Western Star on Jan 02, 2020 at 2:49 pm

Lol! Wait, how is a petrol subsidy program which supposed to reduce cost of living ended up increasing cost of living?! So what is this hare-brained plan called a subsidy or help to those in need? Or is it just subsidising and helping their own cronies?

Please enlighten us Lim Guan Eng.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
  • John Doe on Jan 02, 2020 at 3:13 pm

the subsidized system provider not able to deliver on time!! from day1 it is about this system provider! else the easiest can be just paying through tax rebate!
    bs to the max!

same to rushing to abolish GST, can be done by just cut GST from 6% to 3% and the cost instant lower!
    look at the SST messed now!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
  • Theresa May on Jan 02, 2020 at 4:12 pm

So many u-turn can become runabout liao. Owait, maybe because Putrajaya has the largest roundabout in the world?

• kereta_lembu on Jan 02, 2020 at 4:22 pm

While having a delay to float the petrol prices is a welcomed move for most, the reason given for the postponement is rather ridiculous. You don’t need to be a rocket scientist to know that any potential raise in petrol cost will be a burden to the rakyat as we’ve seen this happen so many times before. And we all know, once the price of impacted products/businesses are raised, it will not come down even if the petrol price drops again in the future.

What we need is stability and this is the only thing that will curb prices of things to skyrocket.

• vivizurianti on Jan 02, 2020 at 4:44 pm

All those endless karipap-teh tarik meeting session, studies by “experts”, doing reports, presentation, investigation, etc now wasted and go into the drain….ZERO Productivity!

The 2nd day of the new year is ushered with a HUGE U-turn.

I guess there would be more U-turn in the remaining 363 days

• Not Toyota Fan on Jan 02, 2020 at 5:16 pm

Syukur Msia Aman.

Pakatan Hopeless dah U-turn sekali lagi.

• Most stupid minister in the world – the nobita.

• Adi Abyadi Azman on Jan 02, 2020 at 11:02 pm

U turn expert….

• John Doe on Jan 03, 2020 at 8:00 am

Typical PRK syndrome…
    Let’s see post Kimanis PRK what will happen

• What???? lower price can lead to high living cost? what????

• LOK CHYI YEU on Jan 03, 2020 at 9:33 am

U shouldnt have even announce that dumb plan on letting the petrol price flood at all. It was PH during election said the prices can fix and country still earn money yet later u guys wanna u turn, then later on u turn again. This serious destroy your own reputation.

• Grease monkey on Jan 03, 2020 at 5:40 pm

Just cancel stupid flying car & pero3 project. But you dare to voice out to old head Clown or not?