SPYSHOTS: Proton X50 with local Infinite Weave grille

Yet another set of Proton X50 spyshots, just like the other ones appearing every week now, right? Appears so at first glance, but upon closer inspection, the camouflaged mule you see here is wearing a different grille – yup, that’s Proton’s Infinite Weave grille, as introduced by the X70.

Previous sightings of the upcoming Proton X50 had Geely’s signature “Expanding Cosmos” grille. The smaller sibling to the X70 will be based on the Geely Binyue, but we’re expecting minor styling differences, starting with the Infinite Weave grille insert seen here. Of course, when the X50 finally surfaces – probably towards the end of 2020 – it will wear Proton’s new round logo as well.

Other than that, the rest of the well-proportioned crossover is similar to what we’ve seen before – highlights include slightly OTT quad exhaust pipes, an elaborate looking spoiler and large wheels, which should be 18 inches in diameter.

In China, the Geely Binyue comes with a choice of two turbocharged engines – a 1.0L three-cylinder with 134 hp/205 Nm (paired exclusively to a six-speed manual) and a 1.5L four-pot with 174 hp/255 Nm. The latter can be had with a seven-speed dual-clutch automatic gearbox, and this set-up should be the one we’ll be getting. In its home market, Geely also sells a plug-in hybrid version of the Binyue.

Here’s how the X50/Binyue stacks up against a field of familiar SUV benchmarks, on paper.

GALLERY: Geely Binyue

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• vodka on Jan 03, 2020 at 7:25 pm

Quad tailpipes, topspek Proton X50T R3 174hp.

• Popia basah on Jan 06, 2020 at 2:56 pm

Thank you Geely, Li Chunrong and China for donating their Binyue to Proton. Without your Game-Changing products, I think Proton would have already close shops and Game Over by today

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 9
  • Of course this site will cover this geely product extensively. Looking forward to future spyshot posts about the side mirror, gearknob, reverse bulb, tyre width, lugnut, wiper blade, exhaust pipe, fuelcap, indicator stalk, carpet, etc.

• Observant Citizen Of Kudingking on Jan 06, 2020 at 12:50 pm

Funny .. last time the most extensive coverage I saw here is the so called Daihatsu Rocky/Toyota Raize/rumored D55L. Oh, thats because its three different model right? NOT!

• Master Teaser on Jan 08, 2020 at 2:38 pm

It seems like the most extensive coverage in these couple of week are about Bezza. Whereas the last news about X50 before this one is in Nov 2019 https://paultan.org/2019/11/27/spyshots-proton-x50-spotted-road-testing-again/ .

• romance on Jan 03, 2020 at 7:53 pm

(Like) Proton X50
    (Dislike) Honda HRV

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 5
  • Apricot on Jan 03, 2020 at 7:55 pm

Finish Honda Malaysia, this Bezza will steal sales from upcoming City Turbo without AEB, land departure warning and blind spot monitor. Salesman will start crying. So called as “Power of Nightmare Cars”

As majority in Malaysia fed up of driving honda cars because too many quality issues on newer Honda models after bought for less than 1 year. When go to aftersales service, people also complaining most of the aftersales service dealer. Cannot solve. Shows that technicians are having half past six, lying, didn’t repair at all, never repair other peoples car at all.

Yet, some of them are still buying Honda cars with brainless. Also, come here hating kimchi cars with low resale value and hating mazda. Just look at safety specs, most of Honda models are really kosong spec. Compare to Mazda, Toyota and Hyundai Ioniq comes with blind spot monitor, AEB, land departure warning and others. No wonder, many mazda CX-5 and Proton X70 everywhere than looking Honda CRV is now rare.

Malaysians rather buy mazda. This comes with 5 years warranty as Honda. Bermaz service is better and they already improved their service than honda. Even CKD Mazda CX-5 looks so so but better than most Honda models. So Honda Malaysia is dead.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
  • Habis lah HRV CX3 CX30 XV 2008 Clio CHR

• AkooIm on Jan 03, 2020 at 9:45 pm

Proton’s Grill & Bumper Redesign Department (a.k.a Rebadging Dept) must be really busy rite now… keep up the good work!

• Engineer on Jan 06, 2020 at 12:15 pm

You forgot on their LHD to RHD Reengineering Department (aka Real Engineering Dept)?

Allow me to remind you: https://paultan.org/2018/09/07/proton-x70-design-head-azlan-othman-explains-the-malaysian-influences-in-the-design-of-the-suv/

• Tuple on Jan 06, 2020 at 12:52 pm

Yes, he forgot.. or simply he just dont now anything.. just want to bash around.

• AkooIm on Jan 06, 2020 at 3:51 pm

Cili Engineers send all the design & data files to P1 Engineers with a side note saying “please mirror this”… LOL!

• In China, there is a 2.0T variant too. A sportier version. Can we get it here?

• seancorr (Member) on Jan 03, 2020 at 11:13 pm

Power to weight ratio for the 1.5T is quite good and I bet it’s gonna smoke the heavy X70 and beat it hands down in the FC department also.

• Rakyat Malaysia on Jan 04, 2020 at 12:04 am

Habislah Perodua Rocky! Can tutup kedai already.

• Open Letter to AlbertKunta & Perodua Fanboys on Jan 04, 2020 at 12:11 am

I hope Proton bashers don’t come here and make noise again. Cukupla your Alza was a failure against Exora, and your Aruz was a failure against X70 and your Bezza was a failure against Saga, now quietly go back and rethink your current market strategy of bashing your competitor cars as it is just not working anymore. It is like 100,821 slaps on your face. Better go back and make your Rocky a worthy competitor to X50 or it will be another failure just like Nautica, Alza, Aruz and Bezza.

• WesternStar2 on Jan 04, 2020 at 1:12 am

Spyshot Taken On Any Public Roads Consider Legal. Finally A Spyshot Of The HomeGrown Fitted Combined Unit Of ‘InfiniteWeave’ Grill + Horizontal Chrome ‘Ethereal Bow’. Compare to OG/Geely ‘ExpandingCosmo’ Pattern, Its Way More Suited To Proton ‘Tiger’ ism Masculine Side Shoulders + OverAll Front Designs.Thanks to AZ&Teams. Since This Will Be Manufactured in TgMalim, Certain Aspects Of
    R&H LocalRoads AdaptationTuned To The OG Suspensions/Springs Setup of MacPherson/Front & TB/Rear System Highly Expected. Consider It’s a Slightly Bigger SUV Between B&C Classes, It Measures Around 4,330mm Long, 1,800mm Wide and 1,609mm Tall Plus It Has a Wheelbase of 2600mm and Weights 1340Kg. From PT : Proton has Secured the Use of Intellectual Properties (IP) and the Rights to manufacture and sell Sx11 Later known As Binyue a B-Segment SUV From Geely First Product From BMA Platform

• Lawson on Jan 04, 2020 at 6:58 am

Dry or wet dual clutch?????.

• Mr Hakim on Jan 07, 2020 at 8:48 am

Geely Binyue has a wet clutch type, possibly this one also has the same version.

• Xoxox on Jan 04, 2020 at 7:15 am

Hmmm….But the 1.5T engine not in x70 CKD..Going to be CBU first? Or separate the engine line up too?

• Msia driver on Jan 04, 2020 at 10:11 am

This x50 will be hottest selling in 2020
    I heard few hundred thousand Honda and Toyota buyers already cancel their booking and book this car instead…
    Market expect this x50 will sell 40k units per month…lolzx

• Jaguh on Jan 04, 2020 at 10:55 am

So nice and this is one of the Best ever vehicle from Proton!!!

• Well done Proton. Lucky China came and helped you. Li Chunrong and Geely, within 6 months could identify all the leakages Proton had, what local CEOs could not identify in 30 years.

This is why we need more foreign CEOs from Mainland to come into Malaysia to help run our GLCs and even Putrajaya. We will see a 10 fold increase in productivity and we will become FIRST World soon.

Already 2020, our vision to be FIRST world tak jadi, nevermind, never too late to get brains and intelligence from Mainland to help us achieve this goal

Don’t worry, for sure the X50 will be a success with China’s help and guidance.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 8
  • contender on Jan 04, 2020 at 12:11 pm

Geely to the rescue of Proton …. well done look at the turn around of the fortunes for Proton. Pricing wise for X70 could have been better I mean lower let’s see X50 pricing….

• Dennis on Jan 04, 2020 at 1:24 pm

Very good and high tech vehicle and and expect it with the a reasonable price

• Mr Visionary on Jan 04, 2020 at 2:11 pm

After 30 years of automotive engineering, proton is now only a rebadger, yet p1 fanboys say perodua is a bumper engineering company but let’s be real, proton with the x70 and x50 is the real bumper engineering company

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 12
  • rosdi on Jan 04, 2020 at 2:34 pm

This car is so gorgeous! If the price is right this could become THE best selling model for Proton!

Perutdua is trembling now.

• CurtainsShare on Jan 04, 2020 at 6:41 pm

Kenanga Research said Proton X50 SUV is expected to be launched in the second half of 2020.
    A new Proton multi-purpose vehicle (MPV) based on the Geely Jiaji is also in the pipeline for 2HCY20.
    Research House also said the Ministry of International Trade and Industry (MITI) has decided to increase the frequency of the monthly meetings held by the Automotive Business Development Committee (ABDC), chaired by MITI, from once to twice a month to speed up the vehicle pricing approval process in new car launches given the standard backlog of pricing approvals currently between 3 to 5 months.

• Even cars launched in China a year ago, no matter hiw, the cars must tested under different local road conditions. Unlike Perodua, it is only tested in the laboratory.

• drMpower on Jan 04, 2020 at 7:22 pm

All i know there are tons of x70 cannot be sold at the moment – big chunk of those cbu units.
    Any SA cannot move these and decide cut their loss with 40k discount please DM me Asap. Better to have sales rather than do nothing.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
  • Ah meng on Jan 04, 2020 at 9:49 pm

The real game changer?

• Newme on Jan 05, 2020 at 9:30 am

The grille is the biggest unique selling point from proton. Becareful not to let others to copy the grille just like how mitsu copied their wira dashboard design.

• Orang Proton Tak Malu Ke??? on Jan 05, 2020 at 1:42 pm

Tak malu ke? Orang China dan Geely do all the work, and Proton fanboys claim the glamour and fame?

If someone sat an exam for me and got an A for me, i will be shy to tell the world I got an A for that paper because it is someone else who did all the hard work.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 10
  • Yusof Talha on Jan 05, 2020 at 1:51 pm

Totally ZERO input from our Proton guys, I wonder what the abang abangs do in opis and factory?

Proton has the largest force of engineers in Malaysia, they just sit in opis and play whatsapp

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 10
  • Yusof Talha on Jan 05, 2020 at 1:57 pm

Kemaluan saya sangat besar bila Orang Asiang dan Orang Yahudi kena tolong kami

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 12
    • Calling For Sogo on Jan 06, 2020 at 1:10 pm

Oh come on. You don’t have a good comeback and you resort to something like this? It’s like kids argument calling “you fat!” or “you ugly!”. Such shallow comments should be removed by Paultan

• Fedro on Jan 05, 2020 at 7:10 pm

Where keyboard warriors at ?

• Tang Kien Hiang on Jan 06, 2020 at 7:51 am

Binyue 1.5T is three-pot not four-pot.

• Mr Hakim on Jan 06, 2020 at 8:43 am

If use DCT, got no problem ke later? I’m a potential buyer ni.

• Msia driver on Jan 06, 2020 at 12:20 pm

Buy first, worry later as this is hottest car in Malaysia history.
      You will never regrets in the rest of yr life for buying this proton x50 ..
      My whole office colleagues 200-300 ppl are interesting and potential buyer it…lolz

• I hope Proton will sell 1.0L model as well to lower the entry price point. I believe it could be priced in Exora price range. 1.5L model maybe priced just under 80k for base spec.

• Popia basah on Jan 06, 2020 at 2:56 pm

Thank you Geely, Li Chunrong and China for donating your Binyue to Proton. Without your Game-Changing products, I think Proton would have already close shops and Game Over by today