GALLERY: The evolution of Proton’s logo, 1985 to 2019

Now that you’ve seen Proton’s new logo that it will take into the future, how about a glance in the rear view mirror to see what has come before. Before the version unveiled today, there have been five Proton logos since the first Saga rolled off in 1985.

Who can forget the original Proton logo, which was illuminated on the Saga from 1985 to 1993. Shaped like a torch, or ice cream cone (is it just me?), it was topped by a yellow star and moon on a blue background – there’s no better way to represent Malaysia; those elements are also found on the Jalur Gemilang.

In 1993, when the Saga moved into the Iswara phase, the Proton logo ditched the silver “holder”, retaining the star and moon in a cup shape with curved edges. The softer, more modern emblem was also used on Proton’s next big hit – the Wira. Proton calls this logo era the “Pride of the Nation”.

A big shift came in the year 2000, when the moon and star was retired. In came the tiger, and the Malaysian symbol (the striped predator stands proud on the country’s coat of arms, and our national football team is called Harimau Malaya, among other appearances) was rendered in fierce fashion – from the side, and with jaws wide open. The Proton Waja was the first to carry this badge, which had a multi-coloured background and gold trimmings. “Sprit of Achievement” was the name of the era.

In 2008, the tiger logo received a facelift for the Saga BLM, and out went the colours. This version was the first monochrome Proton logo – silver replaced the gold accents, and black replaced the previous blue and green backgrounds. “Committed to be Better” was the slogan of the times.

Fast forward another eight years and it was time for another facelift – this time, the Proton wording was deleted and the tiger was made 3D, bigger and bolder, now covering the entire area. This logo first appeared in the “Accordana” Perdana and has been used since 2016. It’s in the drive, they say.

Which leads us to today, the beginning of a new chapter, marked by a new tiger logo and a new tagline – Inspiring Connections. The familiar shield is no more, and the shape is now circular. The tiger has been uncaged, Proton says. The beast itself has a new look, with different levels of shading to give it a sense of depth. It enters the circle from the left side, like an arrow to these eyes.

The new “Inspiring Connections” slogan “encapsulates the brand’s aspiration of utilising technology and mobility to help make human connections that inspired a successful life,” Proton explains. The upcoming CKD locally assembled Proton X70 will be the first model to wear the new badge. Full rationale behind the new branding here.

Logo aside, the Proton script has also evolved over the decades, becoming softer and more modern as the company progressed. Traditionally displayed on the boot of its sedans and aerobacks, the latest iteration of the rear Proton script is spaced out, positioned centrally between the tail lamps. Which is your favourite Proton logo?

GALLERY: Proton’s logo journey, since 1985

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• mr1031 on Sep 24, 2019 at 1:22 pm

i like the current one better..can’t imagine a proton with circular emblem..seems funny

• dodgeviper88 on Sep 24, 2019 at 3:48 pm

still prefer 1986 PROTON SAGA MAGMA 12V FRONT EMBLEM LOGO WITH LAMP…. huhuh

• kuli kuli on Sep 25, 2019 at 8:39 am

plotong only good in making logo but made a bad car, bad fuel consumption car. better just do logo and no need build car. after 34 years but still back to rebadging. memalukan. all other good and well known car company dont wanna work wif lousy plotong, no choice so have to giv china do. plotong such a bad reputatuion.

• Sam KK Loo on Sep 25, 2019 at 10:38 pm

Poodua only good in cost cutting, even a miserably important temperature gauge don’t have, but made a rotten junk car with very high maintenance, worse, unconvinced buyers being brainwashed by poodua salesman that their junk car is good and reliable with toyotaik engine, bad fuel consumption car, but being advertised as ‘low fuel consumption’. better just Bungkus lah and no need build car, although chances are slim as still many malaysian carbuyers are ‘tak pergi sekolah’ punya. after 25 years but still do rebadging. memalukan. all other good and well known car company dont wanna work wif lousy poodua, no choice so have to giv greedy jepunis overlord do. poodua such a bad reputation, but being covered up nicely.

• Steven Matthias on Sep 24, 2019 at 4:25 pm

Why waste money on the new logo? This will involve millions to change. Even letter head also now got to change besides hundred and one things.

You see Mercedes? Logo for over 100 years. Same logo.

Looks like Proton still does not know how to save money

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 12
      • sam123 on Sep 25, 2019 at 9:29 am

Non chinese knows nothing, we call it “Feng Shui”

• redpilled on Sep 25, 2019 at 11:57 am

way to go! lets show your stupidity even more, lets check out Mercedes Benz logo evolution from 1902 to 2011, and get ready to humiliated coz it changed 8 times! sorry Kunta/YB albert or what ever the f your dupes are, do us a favor- drop dead.

• Sick & Tired on Sep 24, 2019 at 1:30 pm

Thunder thunder thunder thunder cats!!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 0
    • So Perodua is Mumm-Ra:
      “Ancient Spirits of Evil, transform this decayed form to Mumm-Ra, the Ever-Living!”

• donno on Sep 24, 2019 at 1:38 pm

no mention of Proton’s export (UK/singapore/europe) logo?

• Johny on Sep 24, 2019 at 7:45 pm

No one wants to buy Proton crap. All dealers closed down in Indonesia, in UK Top Gear laughed at them, in Singapore it’s regarded as poor pipu car

• Alex Vostox on Sep 25, 2019 at 9:59 am

Are you an idiot or just didn’t even read the comment?

• its getting old on Sep 28, 2019 at 10:44 am

“UK Top Gear laughed at them” .. you see, laughed is past tense. If I’m not mistaken you’re referring to Proton Waja (or Impian in UK). That was a story for almost two decades ago.

• Protons on Sep 24, 2019 at 1:43 pm

The “Copy Cats”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 11
    • Who's copy on Sep 24, 2019 at 5:03 pm

At least it looks different from Thundercats. Look at Bajaj Auto rotating VW’s logo by 90 degrees..

• the new logo look closer to thundercats logo… with the shield out and the tiger neck. this is the modernization of the thundercats logo.

• 25yrsOld on Sep 24, 2019 at 1:45 pm

Reminding me the good old days when Proton Saga LMST 1.3MT RM26k.

https://paultan.org/2016/09/29/proton-saga-all-three-generations-side-by-side/

https://paultan.org/2007/03/26/over-10000-proton-saga-booked-for-rm26999/

no catch, RM26,999 OTR with insurance.
    just pay and drive.

new Exora is not branded as SV, but RM59k for 1.6AT.
    Saga Campro VVT also can control less than RM29k 1.3AT.

GameChanger!

• azrai on Sep 24, 2019 at 2:04 pm

Now it is more prominent to the 80’s inspiring Thundercats. Cheetara…

• MyNewToys on Sep 24, 2019 at 2:05 pm

Proton => Inspiring Connections
    and,
    Tata Motors => Connecting Aspirations
    Honda => The Power of Dream

• azrai on Sep 24, 2019 at 3:58 pm

Politician – Establishing Connection (to get project)

• bintang on Sep 24, 2019 at 5:45 pm

I have a feeling the direction with this slogan is not making new cars, but becoming a center to connect manufacturers in the region.

• Sam KK Loo on Sep 24, 2019 at 8:33 pm

Poodua => Building Junk, Profit First, Customer can GTH

• Sgt Scoop on Sep 24, 2019 at 2:45 pm

I prefer the new Thundercats logo to the old Portsmouth one but they really should design something themselves.

• Accord Is Here on Sep 24, 2019 at 3:03 pm

Tiger head with a neck now…. looks weird

• Gabriel on Sep 24, 2019 at 3:17 pm

When I saw the star and moon logo, it brings back all the nostalgia as a kid in a Proton Wira driven by my dad. That put a smile on my face :)

• Eeuuuwww!

• panjang on Sep 24, 2019 at 3:31 pm

I have lots of memories with the 1st five logo.
    Next logo for me will not be a tiger coz they dont have diesel 4×4.

• Leafable on Sep 24, 2019 at 3:47 pm

THUNDER CAT creator probably sold the design copyright to Proton

• tricycles on Sep 24, 2019 at 4:05 pm

holden australian

• i still think the first 1985/1993 looks the best, very unique, very simple

also the trend now is to move to simpler, clean, flat design…but proton add complexity with the 3D EFFECT & different shade design
    and tiger with neck just euwww ugly.
    if die2 want tiger…retain current one without shield is much more better

• Looks like a tiger that stepped on lego.

• cvansn on Sep 24, 2019 at 7:20 pm

N i still remember how i try to fix back the light in logo of my dad’s 1991 proton saga.

• Johny on Sep 24, 2019 at 7:43 pm

Changing their logo 4 times in only 19 years, twice in only 3 years… shows how immature Proton is.

• John Nak Kopi on Sep 25, 2019 at 1:10 am

Yep. New logo still looks like a fox mulut ternganga. Old rimau logo better

• Malee on Sep 25, 2019 at 8:16 am

In chess game, we always feel a dumb move opponent to sacrifice ‘Queen’ until we realise the reason at the very end of game. Then you’ll know, check mate!

• Designer on Sep 24, 2019 at 10:58 pm

Hate this new logo. Could be a reason i will not buy proton car in future.

• Buy Car Not Logo on Sep 30, 2019 at 10:58 am

You’re saying that, hypothetically if Proton cars become so good in every aspects with a very-VERY reasonable price and with some OTHER brands becoming harder to match against any Proton cars, because of the price per reliability factors, you’ll still won’t buy them just because of the logo? Ok.

• the previous one looks more matured, corporate look and proportionate. the new one is out of proportion and it looks like a non automotive logo, like a furniture supplier from china or something

• albag on Sep 25, 2019 at 8:46 am

gosh Thundercats logo.. dayumm remind me that i had a boner on Cheetara!

• haha..
    those idiot.. the logo been there since 2000 and now they saying looks like Thunder Cats’ …. such idiotic just wanna cause havoc :D

• rajan on Sep 25, 2019 at 9:54 am

thundercats?

• Alex Vostox on Sep 25, 2019 at 9:57 am

ANYONE STILL REMEMBER LOCAL ROCK BAND “AMUK” ARE USING THE SAME LOGO AS THIS CURRENT PROTON ONE?

• Predict Malaysia vehicle sales data for August 2019 by brand:-
    1. Perodua @ Mumm-Ra – 19500 units
    2. Proton @ Thundercats – 9127 units
    3. Honda – 7500 units
    4. Toyota – 5500 units
    5. Nissan – 2000 units

• XiOuS on Sep 25, 2019 at 10:29 pm

current logo is much better than this new logo … the old 1 seems more “cengey”

• Go Google search Thundercats logo

• Supakars7 on Sep 26, 2019 at 2:13 pm

I think it would look better without the neck

• MerdekaBoy on Sep 26, 2019 at 3:12 pm

Since its inception, this company has been been a huge liability on Malaysian shoulders.

• When talking about car, not only the engine performance and car design but It’s all about business strategy, then the logo also take into account. Not only proton but most car producer will take and had taken the similar step.

• Syaiful Nizam Hassan on May 11, 2023 at 6:42 am

I like very much “Proton” emblem writing calligraphy of 1992 – 1999 era. That emblem should be retained.