SPYSHOTS: Proton X50 spotted road-testing again

It appears that Proton’s forthcoming B-segment SUV – dubbed the X50 – has been spotted road-testing once again, this time on the MRR2 highway courtesy of paultan.org reader Eirik. Where before the Binyue development vehicle could not be clearly determined to be left- or right-hand drive, here we can just about make out a right-hand-drive windscreen wiper configuration.

Firstly, this B-segment entry that is based on the Geely Binyue won’t be making its Malaysian debut quite so soon, as its larger sibling the Proton X70 is rumoured to launch as a locally-assembled CKD model in January. That will have to arrive first before attention is turned to the ‘X50’, therefore the launch of this smaller model in Malaysia will be some way off.

What we can see from the images here of the X50’s front end reveals a front radar panel which is left uncovered, which could mean that the crossover’s active driver assistance systems are also being evaluated as part of its local testing. In other markets where the Binyue is on sale, its Level 2 active assistance systems are more advanced than what the larger X70 gets, including active lane keep assist compared to the X70’s lane departure warning without steering intervention.

At its launch in China, the Binyue – on which the X50 is based – includes Intelligent Cruise Control and Automated Parking Assist, and its aforementioned ability to change lanes autonomously. Two pure petrol powertrains and one PHEV version is available in its home market, where prices range from RM48k for the 134 hp/205 Nm 1.0 litre three-pot up to RM72k for the 174 hp/255 Nm 1.5 litre three-cylinder version.

Given its B-segment SUV positioning and with the active driver assistance systems we think are going to be included, the latter should be a more representative price point for the ‘Proton X50’ that is being prepared for our market. What do you folks? Does a sub-RM100k B-segment SUV contender to the Honda HR-V sound promising, with a turbocharged powertrain and Level 2 driver assistance systems?

GALLERY: Geely Binyue

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• Celup King on Nov 27, 2019 at 7:25 pm

Here is the gamechanger! Soon Perodua new SUV will gameover just like X70 gameover’ed Aruz. Muahahahahahaha!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 12
    • Hahahuhu on Nov 28, 2019 at 11:00 am

Dreaming and cant accept the truth that aruz has already game overed the x70. Most problematic suv x70. So many 2nd x70 now even online, but nobody dare to buy unknown cheena product. Poor QC.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 63
      • PJ fella on Nov 28, 2019 at 2:34 pm

I see more X70 than Aruz when going around KL. Don’t know if you are lying or just trolling but that is what I see.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 1
      • Nasi goreng on Nov 28, 2019 at 2:48 pm

It’s sad that our regular P2 bashers are still being denial and cannot accept the fact that Perodua Aruz has game the X70 over. X70 is a good car, but unfortunately it’s quality is going down to the drain. From this, we already can know that Perodua D55L will game the X50 over

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 32
      • Many 2nd X70 online? Nobody believe u, i check the famous used car website, the most is Honda brand SUV then Toyota brand SUV for 2018 model.
        Malaysia got a lot richman, own car a year then sell.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
      • Oh ya, the 2nd hand X70 show in used car website actually is showroom display unit. So grab it quick.

• Nabil on Nov 28, 2019 at 11:27 am

Am I the only asking you to do research on car here , Come on la bro Aruz and X70 is totally different class of segment and as well the price range
      there`s a different between B segment SUV and C Segment SUV.

• If a C segment could outsell a more affordable B segment SUV, what does that tell you? Do your own research first bro.

• siann on Nov 28, 2019 at 12:56 pm

Many x70 on road, only sometimes got Aruz

Siann

• Aiyoo no point lar. Sure problematic like x70. Will failed one.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 45
    • Real LLort on Nov 28, 2019 at 12:27 pm

Says the person who don’t own an X70.. lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 1
    • redpilled on Nov 28, 2019 at 1:25 pm

Which in turn is just as problematic as the BRV, but ko tak bising pun…. Biased much???

• tricycle on Nov 27, 2019 at 8:12 pm

Bring the at least two versions of Binyue 1.5 turbo here. The one with the basic spec and the one with the full spec with all the safety and convenience features.

Adaptive cruise control is a must for the Full spec considering it will most be driven in the city with a lot of traffic jam and stop and go at the traffic light.

Right now below the price of 200k, CR-V adaptive cruise control is the best, where you can activate the system at 0 km/h. Hopefully on the cx-30, it will be fitted with the adaptive cruise control as well for our market.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
    • Pak Toh on Nov 28, 2019 at 1:19 pm

Misleading
      In fact, CR-V using Stereo Camera only, cannot perform as low as zero km/h and auto stop go. it can perform low speed follows, but after 30km/h.

Below RM200k, only Toyota Corolla 1.8G, Mazda3 2.0HP get the Camera-Radar based, full speed, auto stop-Go Dynamic Cruise Control, can control distance setting too.

Choose the Camera-Radar based for higher accuracy with built in wider range of features, better Autonomous Emergency Brake detection too.

• Shidah on Nov 27, 2019 at 8:18 pm

(Like) Perodua Rocky.
    (Dislike) Proton X50

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 60
  • Yooo!! on Nov 27, 2019 at 8:51 pm

Get Proton X50 than buying Mazda CX30

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 4
  • Tahniah!
    P1, Geely, Mesidis, VolvoCar, Volvo Trucks, Lotus, L&C, Polestar > all

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 7
    • Kanasai > all on Nov 28, 2019 at 1:24 pm

Volvo Geely > all when it come to, low sales, low RV and problem. Is that what you mean adik?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 13
  • Jinggo on Nov 27, 2019 at 11:53 pm

too late… all new honda city turbo already grab the attention..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 29
  • Xc40 or X50 on Nov 28, 2019 at 12:00 am

No china cars please. CX3 is more premium than both china brands

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 35
    • Dennis on Nov 28, 2019 at 12:57 pm

No thanks it’s a tin kosong, old technology and overpriced car. Design also copy here and there.

• Real LLort on Nov 28, 2019 at 8:21 am

Next, Proton will spot me on one of their showroom to test drive this. Then, the matchmaking will be completed.

• Colin on Nov 28, 2019 at 8:37 am

Honda & Perodua may have to ramp up on their offering for this segment. As for Perodua, I believe they do have some surprises to offer in 2020.

• the camo X50 testing out the road like “Dont mind me, i’m just a normal SUV you guys aren’t ready for”

• seancorr (Member) on Nov 28, 2019 at 9:11 am

We have to thank Geely for investing in Proton. Together they are pushing other brands to offer more kit for a cheaper price. Too bad the luxury segment isn’t following as quick as the cheaper segment. Just look at Audi and BMW Malaysia with no AEB on most of it models which is unacceptable for the money they are asking from its customers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 42
    • Not Toyota Fan on Nov 28, 2019 at 11:53 am

Luxury segment is selling brand and lifestyle. So what if you own an entry level 318. It’s the badge that matters.

They know even without these advance safety features, the brand will sell itself. All these nouveau riche will quickly buy one to show they’ve made it.

• Also not Toyota fan on Nov 28, 2019 at 5:41 pm

Agreed…these ‘premium’ segment will ride on sale based on the brand image while they can. They are playing the game quite well.

As long as they dont make the same mistake like what Toyota in MY did…being too comfortable and assumed that people will still choose their ‘reputable’ cars even whe others have evolved.

• lilytan on Nov 28, 2019 at 12:57 pm

Agreed. Faster snap up the premium X70’s… wait no more. Audi and BMW were mere brands.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 8
  • johnnas on Nov 28, 2019 at 9:47 am

Is it really that necessary to spend all that money to put a camo on a product which if not identical, is 99% similar to the actual one that has already been launched just a year ago? I wonder.

• Real LLort on Nov 28, 2019 at 12:30 pm

Maybe they can’t un-camo it yet because it doesn’t have and OC yet.. got it? lol

• Where got identical? They changed: rim, logo, front grille, wiper, bumper etc.

• Jaguh on Nov 28, 2019 at 9:49 am

Good for having healthy competition and more choices for the cobsumer….. This vehicle will be very lovely looking, advanced technology, safe and value for money….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
  • Fariz on Nov 28, 2019 at 10:12 am

I’m gonna be really disappointed if Proton decides to call it something else ………

• Azmin on Nov 28, 2019 at 10:16 am

Hope this X50 turbo is real and can do 0 to 100 faster. The X70 is so slow…. 0 to 100 in almost 11 seconds. Even Myvi and Axia is faster

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 17
    • Slower on Nov 28, 2019 at 11:09 am

Trust me this x50 will do 0-100 in 15second. 1.8 4cyl turbo vs 1.5 3cyl turbo. Wat u expect?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 12
    • Not Toyota Fan on Nov 28, 2019 at 11:55 am

Eh, please lah. Myvi is legendary ok. Behind every speeding Porsche and Ferrari is a Myvi trying to overtake it.

• Not Toyota Fan on Nov 28, 2019 at 11:46 am

Don’t be surprised if X50 CKD is launched at same time as (or very close to) X70 CKD.

Since X70 sales are slowing down, launching the X50 will help keep the sales momentum for Proton.

• Ksatria on Nov 28, 2019 at 1:01 pm

Me: Would it be too much to ask for..
    PT: Don’t do it!
    Me: pleeease
    PT: No! don’t you dare
    Me: Can we get a plug-in hybrid with EV only mode with araound 50km range pretty pleaseeee…

• harry sam on Nov 28, 2019 at 2:13 pm

X50 =RM54000
    in China it’s Cost RMB90000
    can your CX3 sell at RM60k?

• Mr Hakim on Nov 28, 2019 at 5:31 pm

I hope they using the same 6AT as the X70, A bit skeptic on the dual-clutch reliability.

• Move onn daaa on Nov 28, 2019 at 9:16 pm

Just a news and story about automobil..but everyone become crazy and bushings each others.. enjoy the life dude..the world is moving..but most of you guys just think about P1, P2,H and T…useless thought

• Driver on Nov 30, 2019 at 9:59 am

This is the only comment that i like. Thanks, at least now i know that I’m not alone.