Perodua D55L SUV vs Proton X50 – we compare specs of Daihatsu Rocky/Toyota Raize and Geely Binyue

Speculation surrounding Perodua’s upcoming compact SUV – codenamed the D55L – has been rife in recent months, and it reached fever pitch when Daihatsu revealed its own version, set to be called the Rocky, at the Tokyo Motor Show. Now, Toyota has jumped into the fray by putting its Raize on sale in Japan, and with that comes a flurry of official information and specifications.

UPDATE: The Proton X50 has been officially revealed – get full info here.

Now, obviously a lot of people will be drawing comparisons with the Geely Binyue, which will form the basis of Proton’s next SUV, widely tipped to be called the X50. So we decided to answer your imminent questions once and for all by directly comparing the specifications of these two vehicles, the starting points for two of the most hotly-anticipated cars from our national carmakers.

Firstly, some housekeeping is in order. While both of these cars will be entry-level SUVs, just like the larger Aruz and X70, they will occupy different and distinctly separate segments of the market – so this isn’t an apples-to-apples comparison. Judging by the numbers and data alone, the Perodua will be significantly smaller and almost certainly cheaper than the more sophisticated Proton.

It should also be noted that the specifications and equipment listed here are specific to the home markets of Daihatsu/Toyota and Geely, and hence are subject to change – particularly in terms of powertrains and safety kit. Lastly, to give some perspective, we’re also including the B-segment benchmark, the Honda HR-V, into this table, as well as the Aruz and X70.

Now, let’s get down to business. The Rocky/Raize is sized closer to A-segment norm, measuring a hair under four metres long and 1.7 metres wide. The Binyue, on the other hand, is in proper B-segment territory, being a whopping 335 mm longer and over 100 mm wider. The Geely is also longer in terms of wheelbase (2,600 mm versus 2,525 mm), while its lower height (1,609 mm versus 1,620 mm) adds to its overtly sporty look.

The Binyue’s increased dimensions should translate to greater room inside, as well as a larger boot (Geely doesn’t quote boot space). The Japanese cars counter that by having a false floor that can be removed to reveal a deep well – which can be used to hold houseplants and other tall items – although Perodua’s version will probably have a full-sized spare wheel residing within that well instead.

The Binyue is also better equipped, available with a variety of options not available on the Rocky/Raize, such as a panoramic sunroof, dual-zone climate control, an air purifier and a power-adjustable driver’s seat. And while the other cars get a nine-inch touchscreen with Apple CarPlay functionality, the Binyue adds a 10.25-inch display outfitted with the Geely Key User Interface (GKUI) and the much-vaunted voice control system.

Safety-wise, both cars are available with the prerequisite six airbags and stability control, plus an assortment of driver assistance systems. Both get autonomous emergency braking and adaptive cruise control, but only the Binyue has lane keeping assist for Level 2 semi-autonomous driving capability, as well as blind spot monitoring and a full park assist system (the Rocky/Raize twins only provide steering assistance). But it’s not all bad for the other two, as they get the pedal misapplication control feature that’s missing on the Geely.

The powertrain is another area where the Binyue scores highly against the Rocky/Raize. Even the base 1.0 litre turbocharged three-cylinder is significantly more muscular compared to the equivalent engine in the others – with 134 hp and 205 Nm of torque, the Geely makes 37 hp and 65 Nm more. In China, this engine is only available with a six-speed manual gearbox, whereas the Daihatsu/Toyota are offered only with a CVT.

Interiors of the Toyota Raize (left) and Geely Binyue (right)

Step up to the 174 hp/255 Nm 1.5 litre unit that Malaysia will get – developed in conjunction with Volvo, no less – and the gulf grows to 77 hp and 115 Nm, and you also gain the option of a seven-speed dual-clutch transmission. This is the most likely engine and gearbox option to be offered over in Malaysia, although China also has a plug-in hybrid model that we’ve not listed here.

As for Perodua, the 1.0 litre turbo mill is very much a possibility, but this being a conservative company, we’re expecting it to replace it with either the 1.5 litre naturally-aspirated four-pot from the Myvi and Aruz (paired to a four-speed automatic gearbox) or the hybrid system that was teased at the Kuala Lumpur International Motor Show (KLIMS) last year. It also likely won’t sell the optional all-wheel drive system offered in Japan.

This being such an early stage for both the Perodua and Proton models, there’s no pricing information as yet, but these cars are expected to be significantly cheaper than both the Aruz and the X70, which retail from RM72,900 to RM77,900 and from RM99,800 to RM123,800 respectively. So what do you think of these two cars, and which would you get with your own money? Sound off in the comments section after the jump.

GALLERY: Toyota Raize

GALLERY: Geely Binyue

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Lanjan on Nov 05, 2019 at 7:15 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 104 Thumb down 281
    • Coollllll on Nov 05, 2019 at 7:44 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 72 Thumb down 209
      • Aikon on Nov 05, 2019 at 11:09 pm

X50 cost more when new..but same resale value

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 63
        • X50 pls on Nov 06, 2019 at 6:32 am

Obviously performance wise X50 is the best. If perodua still use 4 speed auto.Then buy X50, boring with 4 speed auto already…. Prefer better performance, technology, safety and good interior design (boring with hard plastic). Proton better offer manual X50 1.0turbo then… Then become direct compared, X50 become winner, P2 no fight at all. When you want performance car, u won’t consider road tax price and resale value, most of 2nd car no value…. When technology keep improving… Old tech 4 speed, 2 airbags, no vsc, no Abs car harder to sell at 2nd markets.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 62 Thumb down 9
          • P2 FTW on Nov 06, 2019 at 11:06 am

When you buy P2 SUV, you can passed the car to your kids when they start college… they will love it, coz it rare n lejen..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 22
          • Xc40 kaki on Nov 06, 2019 at 2:08 pm

Shall get Volvo china XC40 .

• Char koey teow on Nov 06, 2019 at 5:09 pm

Proton game over quality is bad, especially X50 that is a Chinese rebadged SUV and we can expect the car to have multiple breakdowns. Better to buy game changing Perodua because Perodua makes quality car for everyone, unlike Proton cars that become junk after 10 years of using it

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 47
          • 25yrsOld on Nov 06, 2019 at 5:41 pm

When u buy X50… engine kong before able passing to kid to start college.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 41
        • Bossku on Nov 06, 2019 at 7:42 am

Baca lah spec dulu… P2 punya macam sedihnya, dudk dalam all hard plastic interior apu…. Sudah kerja keras, mahu reward diri dengan harga patutan Premium looks car… No more hard plastic, No More 4 Speed Auto, No more unsafe 2 Air bags, No VSC, No ABS car!!! NO more No more Is Enough!!!!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 64 Thumb down 9
          • Ajerul on Nov 06, 2019 at 11:12 am

I think for the same price. I’d get Borgward BX5 2.0T AWD.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 14
        • Sambal udang on Nov 06, 2019 at 8:09 am

There is no need to compare a proven Japanese SUV with an unknown Chinese SUV. When Perodua launch the game changing D55L SUV, we can expect the X50 to game over just like how Aruz game the X70 over

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 90
          • Tun F on Nov 06, 2019 at 10:52 pm

What game over?????? Ah.. Just another kid

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
          • Really? on Nov 07, 2019 at 11:49 am

Funny lah this P2 sales troll. Always saying Aruz hot selling. If hot selling why still need give 2.5k discount? Hot air only.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 1
        • Spin Too Much on Nov 06, 2019 at 8:21 am

X50 still remaining on the road after 5 years, Rocky ends up in the junkyard as accident wrecks.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 3
          • Just like Myvi, all parked at Perodua SC and couldn’t revive.

• Hitcharide on Nov 06, 2019 at 12:13 am

We want the new daihatsu/toyota 1.0 turbo engine. It sure better than 1.5 na.

• Li Peng on Nov 06, 2019 at 12:53 am

With 140Nm torque vs. 204-255Nm?

But: Some people like the “no accelaration” safety feature… :D

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
      • SUV kerb weight less than 1000kg is dangerous vehicle on the road, driver and passenger will not survive after the accident. Furthermore, ride will be very terrible just like Aruz. Those who say that this DULAN crap is a game changer are really brainless. Do they want more people in Malaysia journey to the west?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 3
        • shadow on Nov 07, 2019 at 9:23 am

all depend on how you drive.

• Accident can happened anytime no matter you driving skill very good, drive slow or drive safe.

• Japan on Nov 05, 2019 at 8:39 pm

Like sounds more game changing.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 7
    • Perodua always NO RV on Nov 05, 2019 at 8:52 pm

Yeah! Buy Proton X50 cost RM75K (Prediction) and Perodua D55L cost RM75K (Prediction) in 2020

By the time in 2023,
      X50 drop from RM75K to RM55K
      Perodua D55L drop from 75K to RM35K

SO Proton GOT RV while Perodua GOT NO RV

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 66
      • Perodua always GOT RV on Nov 05, 2019 at 11:01 pm

Correction guys,

Yeah! Buy Perodua D55L cost RM75K (Prediction) and Proton X50 cost RM75K (Prediction) in 2020

By the time in 2023,
        D55L drop from RM75K to RM55K
        Proton X50 drop from 75K to RM25K

SO Perodua GOT RV while Proton GOT NO RV

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 99
        • P.Alyanna on Nov 06, 2019 at 12:17 am

Nama pun tak sama. Dah sah memang dupe kita sini.

• X50 pls on Nov 06, 2019 at 6:37 am

If perodua 1.0L turbo CVT performance already can’t fight X50, yet P2 offer old 1.5L NA and 4SPEED AUTO!!!! BYE BYE perodua…. Boring….. Don’t want!!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 2
        • Avenger on Nov 06, 2019 at 10:50 am

Hasta la vista Rocky!

• Li Peng on Nov 06, 2019 at 12:55 am

In 2023 X50 still has 204-255Nm while D55L has still 140Nm… ;)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 0
      • X50 pls on Nov 06, 2019 at 6:35 am

When u Wan performance and fun to drive, u won’t look at resale value and road tax… U want that performance car, interior premium looks soft touch materials, full with technology wow….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 0
      • Untung Manyak Wang on Nov 06, 2019 at 9:41 am

Dekat rumah saya punya susur keluar jalan, sepuluh kemalanga, tujuh kes myvi sendiri masuk longkang.

:p

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 1
      • Wilson Khoo on Nov 06, 2019 at 10:08 am

Mario, is that you?

• Real LLort on Nov 06, 2019 at 2:16 pm

Would Mario comment like that? Isn’t he busy with plumbing nowadays?

• Frozen on Nov 05, 2019 at 10:20 pm

Well like I said, hands down X50 has won on specs before competing. Move along, nothing to see. Just another failed challenge from Perodua.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 5
    • Mtsport on Nov 06, 2019 at 7:40 am

Plz bring in with 6spd manual transmission too p2!!!

• Different level, X50 is the best. Only SH compare the lousy underpower and overpriced PERODUA DULAN.

• Malaysian vehicle sales data in October 2019 by brand:-
      1. Perodua 20000 units
      2. Proton 9500 units
      3. Honda 7400 units
      4. Toyota 6300 units
      5. Nissan 2100 units

• When x50 launched… 2023?
        1. P2 – 15000 units
        2. P1 – 14000 units…..

• My gosh… just a peanut different…rm70 differrnt a year la.. rm6 extra a month … adui

• compare with this better:
    https://paultan.org/2019/11/05/geely-icon-bma-based-b-segment-suv-unveiled/

Malaysia X70 2019 is not Geely Boyue Pro C-SUV 2019.
    Malaysia X50 2020 is not Geely Icon B-SUV 2019.

aiyaa…Asean is dumping ground for China?
    yet still selling higher than China’s full spec SUV.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 54
    • All these while we have been dumping groung for Japan be it the ori stuff or rebadge with super premium price…its nice to be ‘dumped’ by another country.
      Surprisingly what China dumped us with is well equipped with what the we allow Japan to dumped us with.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 71 Thumb down 5
      • Bossku on Nov 06, 2019 at 7:37 am

So call “dumped”spec still better than what Japan Nissan, Isuzu, Toyota, Honda, Suzuki, even better than Renault, vw??? Open your eyes and read the spec Boss.. Puji lah Proton… Kenapa tidak Puji…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
        • Real LLort on Nov 06, 2019 at 2:18 pm

I don’t understand your comment at all.. even after reading threeliontimes

• Celup King on Nov 06, 2019 at 12:13 am

I read both the Perodua specs and I see more N/A than Yes. The same goes for HRV. Exactly who is treating us as dumping ground hmm?

• Paultan is the BEST on Nov 05, 2019 at 7:37 pm

THANK YOU !!! This is what we want from Paultan! Unbiased comparison and swift actions on reporting the truth!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 7
    • Sick & Tired on Nov 05, 2019 at 8:22 pm

Terbaik Paultan! but i reckon the Proton X50 and X70 hold the upperhand. since the Protons are actually Volvo cars in safety, platform & engine…. just we luckily buy much cheaper here, as kereta nasional. Selesa & lenjan sodapp gilerr..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 17
      • Ah Seng on Nov 05, 2019 at 10:19 pm

Whatvare talking about dude?

• Lawson on Nov 05, 2019 at 10:20 pm

The biggest question here should be : “is it wet or dry dual clutch transmission in the X50?”. Hopefully not another VW type dry dual clutch transmission.

• Bossku on Nov 06, 2019 at 7:49 am

Tested in China, No complaints found yet. While Honda 1.5L turbo engine got complaints and banned crv sales in China?

• 25yrsOld on Nov 06, 2019 at 1:25 pm

https://paultan.org/2019/10/18/honda-breeze-introduced-in-china-restyled-cr-v-with-accord-face/

Bossku report fake news?

• QChan on Nov 06, 2019 at 9:31 am

As always PT is quite hesitant to state whether Dry or Wet dual-clutch transmission, which is important when deciding to make a purchase.

Deliberate omission or not, how much more effort for PT to find out and include it in the article ??

Instead of wondering….. Dry or Wet, huh?? It’ll make reading more pleasurable-lar………..

• Mr Hakim on Nov 06, 2019 at 3:27 pm

X70/Boyue has none of Volvo tech let alone safety features. It got only some input from designer here and there…so not Volvo car at all

• Dude, it is just specification comparison. What biased unbiased? Are you awake?

• 25yrsOld on Nov 05, 2019 at 8:02 pm

https://toyota.jp/raize/

Toyota Raize R17 Z spec 2WD-
    JC08 mode: 22.8 km / L
    WLTC mode: 18.6 km / L

• Bossku on Nov 06, 2019 at 7:54 am

In real life…. Cannot reach that.. Perodua claimed 22.8km/L???? Real life 14~15 km/ L Aruz claim 15.km/9L? Real life 9~10km / L only…

• That’s a good figure from Perodua. 70% from claimed.

Honda HRV 1.5Hybrid JC08 27km/L.
        in reality 14km/L.

50% less.

Proton X70 – claimed 12km/L.
        Reality 8km/L 70% retained.

• Real LLort on Nov 06, 2019 at 2:22 pm

I vouch for this. I’ve been calculating my bezza 1.0 FC recently and the best I can get is about 16km/L and that’s mostly on highway roads doing constant 80-90km/h . City can only get max 14km/L .. but if I ever reach 20+, I’ll showoff don’t worry lol

• st3wp1d on Nov 06, 2019 at 9:17 am

is it?are u sure?
      usually Jap overload will give us low specs for SEA region

• AkooIm on Nov 05, 2019 at 8:04 pm

In a typical Malaysian fashion, anything that is smaller, cheaper & less sophisticated will success…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 3
  • Go King Ching on Nov 05, 2019 at 8:10 pm

Perodua cars are not reliable now. My 2018 myvi 1.5av has a pump fuel problem. The car suddenly remains stationary and vibrate when stop at traffic lights and difficult to restart.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 7
    • Ahcong on Nov 05, 2019 at 9:52 pm

yeah..mine 2018 model, aircon noisy, the USD charger at driver seat pop out one week i took from the show room, now idle stop not functioning, noisy engine..i wanna to trade in ..get X50

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 4
    • Datuk on Nov 05, 2019 at 10:26 pm

No jaga battery maintain at least 12V.. fuel pump condemn early. Use voltmeter check.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
      • Grandpa, not every household have a voltmeter. Besides, aren’t Perodua supposedly reliable and require minimal maintenance?

• Pak Toh on Nov 06, 2019 at 1:36 pm

He got the point, u too.
          Ppl use thier car differently. Some ppl forget to off the lights, some ppl on the Fan but engine off, some ppl on radio off engine long long.

He is lucky fuel pump rosak, not damaging to other electronic components. Already 6 Digits i.e Hundred THousands number of 3rd Gen Myvi Lagi Best on the road, since 2019 February.

https://paultan.org/2019/02/12/perodua-myvi-over-100000-units-of-third-generation-model-delivered-since-launch/

• kanazai2001 on Nov 05, 2019 at 8:28 pm

very simple…
    who offered 1.5L MT…
    then he/she can take my money…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 6
  • doubt perodua will sell the AWD/4WD version

• D55L | 55k – 70k (prediction) A-Segment
    X50 | 70k – 90k (prediction, supposed price in China is 55k – 70k also, but I deeply believe it won’t happened in Malaysia) B-Segment

Erm… Seriously want to compare Apple to Orange?

• People also compare
      Honda HR-V B-segment SUV
      to
      C-Segment Coupe SUV Toyota C-HR –
      However, commonly assumed C-HR is a B-segment compact suv due to compact interior.

Dont look at paper value, in reality – From Tokyo Show- Paultan reported:

https://paultan.org/2019/10/23/tokyo-2019-daihatsu-previews-new-compact-suv-is-this-an-early-look-at-peroduas-d55l-b-segment-suv/

Is this the B-segment SUV?

• Lol.. on Nov 06, 2019 at 7:03 am

Simple conclusion, Price and who launch 1st? Ha ha ha.. Exciting year 2020

• Real LLort on Nov 06, 2019 at 2:35 pm

I predict that Proton will not “RUSH” to launch X50. It’s gonna be their strategy to make people wait and the best part is, it’s worth the wait. See like X70, Perodua doesn’t seem to have any “plans” on bringing in their own SUV so quickly but the X70 hype creating unrest amongst them; maybe after some reliable source saying how good the X70 is. Then suddenly the arrival of Aruz. I admit the price is tempting but sometimes we need a two three step upgrade from our current ride… So, Aruz is just an upgrade of a Myvi while X70 is plying its trade amongst the big name SUVs. But whatever LOL

• Bossku on Nov 06, 2019 at 7:18 am

Perodua jaga jaga Pricing and Spec. Proton monthly sales overtake Honda sudah.. Perodua Next, by X50 1.5L PHEV, 1.5L Turbo and Suprise 1.0L turbo manual also available… Kenapa tidak Puji sikit Proton…

• One thing about buying a local made car in Malaysia have to wait 3 to 4 months. I see there is so many is sitting in there yard. Why?

• Lee Kuan Vun on Nov 06, 2019 at 8:33 am

Toyota engineers should discard the middle centre display unit..really horrible and look disproportionate starting from the new Corolla. I just can’t wait for the Proton X50..

• Daddykasi on Nov 06, 2019 at 8:52 am

Perodua win.. 1.0 turbo! Save roadtax..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 14
    • History Bender on Nov 06, 2019 at 10:56 am

Proton will get 1.0 PHEV. Proton winrar in roadtax and FC. Habislah Perodinosaur!

• X50 also have 1.0L turbo engine, power and torque much more than Perodua DULAN. So Proton win.

• Jacky Yong on Nov 06, 2019 at 9:01 am

Why no comparison with the upcoming Kia Seltos? Another strong contender from the South Korean

• Ada nampak Hyundai vs Kia? They share tech too! Together both cover worldwide!

• My gosh Honda…to be specific Honda Malaysia. Its all ‘N/A’ in the spec list.
    Will Honda Malaysia becomes the next Toyota Malaysia in term of sales figure?
    History (or Toyota) have shown that if one fail to adapt/change, failure is to follow.

• Foong Sam Weng on Nov 06, 2019 at 9:47 am

Still would go for Proton X50- preferred choice

• ahmad Kamil on Nov 06, 2019 at 10:51 am

since when we started to compare a Toyota the worlds most valuable brand to a chinese car? please dont lower your standards by doing so. Geely is not close to Koreans in specs and prestige and tech even.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 24
    • Kamila on Nov 06, 2019 at 12:27 pm

Define ‘valuable’…..

If Geely is not close to Koreans why does their vehicle is equipped to match if not better?

Find a new Korean car or Toyota which can sell the same spec at the same price…No?

Want to talk abt ‘prestige’?. That word is reserved to select few of automaker and normal mainstream like Toyota is not one of them.

If one fail to see china threat then they already lost the battle just like how some fail to see the korean threat before.

If the std of Toyota is ‘sohai’ then why does it not reflected in term of sales figure….people are taking the ‘risk’ buying other make which to them are ‘valuable’.

• newme on Nov 06, 2019 at 11:19 am

Reports has been surfaced that X70 does not use Volvo engine. Pity those people that was duped into believing that they bought a Volvo at great price.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 19
    • Geely has never claimed X70 to be using Volvo engine. Are you still sleeping in your cave? Wake up!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
  • 25yrsOld on Nov 06, 2019 at 11:26 am

Take note –
    Try compare interior space with Mini Cooper Countryman.

it’s right there.

• 4G63T DSM on Nov 06, 2019 at 12:20 pm

Doesn’t matter which is the best. Both will sell well.

Both fills an empty spot on buyers demographic needs which is a basic small SUV at the 60-75 price range.

I can expect the x50 to be marginally more expensive than the Perodua but it will have better equipment and it is built from a larger platform.

My money is on the x50 being the better car for the price.

• Siva Kumar on Nov 06, 2019 at 12:35 pm

Of course X50 will be my choice and very much interested in.

• msia driver on Nov 06, 2019 at 1:05 pm

don’t tease this tease that
    just launch it la..

• Jerry only on Nov 06, 2019 at 1:58 pm

The only thing I wanted to buy is produa d55L,..IF THE ENGINE IS 1.0 TURBOCHARGER,.. BECAUSE,.. PERODUA never produced any turbocharger engine yet. Wthell,..if the engine still same like myvi and aruz,….I redther put my money to proton x50. PERODUA should prefer turbocharger engine here in malaysia. How come they just depending of NA engine only? We waiting so long for the PERODUA produced turbocharger engine. I been sick dreaming about it.

• Bossku on Nov 06, 2019 at 6:04 pm

Perodua can only fight back with Price, Better sound system 8 speakers + 1 Subwoofer JBL? (Now a days aftermarket android player 9/10 inch very cheap already). Is time, Perodua offer us Malaysian with better and New technology, not Old under power 1.5L NA 4 SPEED AUTO. (Minimum 5 speed auto if 1.5L NA, still acceptable)

• Tun F on Nov 06, 2019 at 10:49 pm

Even the ckd X70 is not launched yet… Why talk about X50 which is just far away.. Not to mention this small suv for Perodua.. Really??????

• HeavyOil 380cst on Nov 07, 2019 at 1:14 am

I want the X50 PHEV..

• Akira on Nov 07, 2019 at 8:56 am

Perodua SUV will DOA anyway.

• Can’t compare Aruz with X70, different segment, spec and price. Aruz is a brilliant strategy model by P2 to gain market share; 7 seated SUV with affordable price tag,its totally fitted in local market and culture. The downside of Aruz will be its powertrains and 4spd AT.

• MeiLi on Nov 08, 2019 at 1:23 pm

Aruz has wobbly ride. Personally i dont recommend. Ladder frame.

• MeiLi on Nov 08, 2019 at 1:27 pm

Perodua will use CVT? Good luck to the buyer and good bye from me, Perodua! I’ll take X50 any days since engine co-developed with Volvo but not X70 (purely Geely) even though they did drive from China to UK to prove their engine.
    Bermaz, when do u want to give us MRCC in CX-5?

• SUVLover on Nov 13, 2019 at 3:46 pm

I wish perodua can make a come back with this D55L since kembara. Aruz is too much and not small.

• I got bad experience driven Kembara, lousy interior, lousy ride, speedometer malfunction, break system failure, high fuel consumption and etc.

• jibby on Nov 22, 2019 at 4:50 pm

perodua, always make car can fly. into bin.

• Selvam on Jan 09, 2020 at 12:50 am

I am using a Proton Preve since 2013 and the cvt transmission is a huge inherent manufacturing problem.When e mailed proton customer center about this issue they failed to respond appropriately and seem to be not user friendly to customers.Its a bad experience buying a Proton.

• For Malaysian Market, prefer have 2 variant 1300 turbo and 1500cc 4AT

• Maria on Apr 02, 2020 at 9:37 am

The P2 SUV is not comparable with P1 x50 as they both play in different segment. P2 suv is an A-segment which fight with hyundai Venue or kia Stonic which both of them are suv in sub 4.1 m. However, the x50 is true player in B-segment SUV which rival the HRV, Kona, CH-R and even Seltos.

• Sweetgirl on Sep 17, 2020 at 7:08 am

buy a car that most of its spare parts are readily available in the country or produced in Malaysia..so you will never regret your decision later..