2020 Perodua Bezza – a spec-by-spec comparison

Clockwise from top right: 1.0 G Auto, 1.3 X, 1.3 AV

The 2020 Perodua Bezza facelift was launched this morning, with the order books opened last week before its official launch today. The Bezza has proven to be a favourite among Malaysians looking for an entry level sedan, with 184,000 units sold since the original arrived on the Malaysian market in July 2016.

Four variants of the facelifted Perodua Bezza are on offer – the RM34,580 1.0L G Manual, the RM36,580 1.0L G Auto, the RM43,980 1.3L X and the RM49,980 1.3L AV. The trimming of the Bezza line-up from five variants to the present four sees the 1.3L Manual of the pre-facelift model dropped from the range.

This means that the 1.3 litre-engined variants of the Bezza are now auto-only, and the base 1.0G Manual is the sole DIY gearbox variant. the 1.0 litre three-cylinder engine produces 67 hp and 91 Nm of torque, while the 1.3 litre four-cylinder is rated at 94 hp and 121 Nm of torque. The larger of the two engines is equipped with Dual VVT-i and Eco Idle automatic stop-start, which aids fuel efficiency for a claimed figure of 22 km/l.

Here’s a breakdown of each specification:

Perodua Bezza 1.0 G Manual

2020 Perodua Bezza – a spec-by-spec comparison

Gets as standard:

Mechanicals

• 998 cc three-cylinder naturally aspirated engine
  • 67 hp at 6,000 rpm
  • 91 Nm at 4,400 rpm
  • Five-speed manual transmission
  • Ventilated brake discs (front), drum brakes (rear)

Exterior

• 14-inch alloy wheels
  • LED reflector headlamps
  • LED combination tail lamps
  • Wing mirror turn indicators

Interior

• Manual front seat adjustment
  • Standard black fabric
  • Power windows, driver’s side auto down
  • Bluetooth connectivity
  • Two cupholders, front

Safety

• ABS with EBD
  • Dual front airbags
  • Rear ISOFIX outer passenger seats
  • Four-star ASEAN NCAP rating

2020 Perodua Bezza 1.0 G Auto

Adds on:

Mechanicals

• Four-speed automatic transmission

2020 Perodua Bezza 1.3 X

Adds on:

Mechanicals

• 1,329 cc four-cylinder naturally aspirated engine
  • 94 hp at 6,000 rpm
  • 121 Nm at 4,000 rpm
  • Four-speed automatic transmission

Exterior

• Garnet Red exterior colour
  • Front corner sensors
  • Front foglamps
  • 15-inch two-tone alloy wheels

Safety

• Stability control
  • Hill start assist

2020 Perodua Bezza 1.3 AV

Adds on:

Interior

• Black faux leather with red stitching
  • Leather-wrapped steering wheel
  • Steering wheel-mounted audio control
  • Touchscreen with navigation and Mirrorlink
  • Reverse camera

Safety

• Advanced Safety Assist (ASA) 2.0 – Pre-Collision System with pedestrian detection, Front Departure Alert, Pedal Misoperation Control
  • Five-star ASEAN NCAP rating

GALLERY: 2020 Perodua Bezza 1.3L AV

GALLERY: 2020 Perodua Bezza 1.3L X

GALLERY: 2020 Perodua Bezza 1.0L G

GALLERY: 2020 Perodua Bezza GearUp accessories

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• Dylan Ch'ng on Jan 08, 2020 at 5:17 pm

paultan, g variant have bluetooth

• Nasi goreng on Jan 08, 2020 at 7:25 pm

Thank you Paultan for this very helpful and informative article. This will be a good guidance for those who are planning to buy the Game-Changing Bezza

• Darren on Jan 09, 2020 at 2:09 pm

I see Perodua fanboys still come here and syiok sendiri proud of their game over Bezza. Enough lah! It is shameful that Perodua fanboys are so proud of a rebadged car only meant for India market (Etios) and yet sales figures showed Malaysians are still going for Saga and Persona. You syiok sendiri here no use, all your comment don’t translate to sales figures and the numbers showing Bezza is yet another big failure.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 10
        • Nasi goreng on Jan 09, 2020 at 2:39 pm

I would rather trust in the statement of Paultan writers and Wikipedia instead of 1 Game Over keyboard warrior trying to condemn Bezza’s name. – “The Bezza is an in-house effort (there’s no existing Daihatsu/Toyota model) with 95% local content, and took RM300 million to develop. Based on the Axia‘s platform, and shares the same 2,455 mm wheelbase length as Malaysia’s most popular car. Also similar to the Axia is the width (1,620 mm) and height (1,510 mm). But with the addition of a very big boot (at 508 litres, it’s bigger than the boot of the Vios and there’s a full size spare beneath), the Bezza is 510 mm longer than the Axia, at 4,150 mm.”
          https://paultan.org/2016/07/21/perodua-bezza-officially-launched/

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
          • His Friend on Jan 09, 2020 at 3:02 pm

Friend. A quick Google search will bring up tons of info where it s confirmed Bezza in actual fact is a rebadge of Etios. I don’t trust local news, I prefer foreign sources that are more independent.

• Nasi goreng on Jan 09, 2020 at 6:58 pm

Habisla Game Over P1 fans, even such trustworthy and excellent writer, Danny Tan, also cannot be trusted by P1 fans

• Jeremy on Jan 09, 2020 at 2:18 pm

Bezza doing well because Japan is helping. Without Japan help and brains that is governing Perodua, habis lah Perodua. UEC grads just can meet the mark

• You gets bluetooth on g spec…. if it works, which rarely. That is why Paultan omitted to include it.

• Real LLort on Jan 09, 2020 at 3:12 pm

I have a G spec and doesn’t seem to be the bluetooth ‘rarely’ working and so far that’s the least of my issue… In fact I don’t have any major issue so far with the car.. but like I said, I don’t understand the hype because it’s just a very basic car .. even the Advanced variant is still very much basic

• Fake News on Jan 09, 2020 at 11:43 pm

Friend. The only hype you see coming is solely from Perodua troll army of fanboys.

• Celup King on Jan 08, 2020 at 5:28 pm

No matter what spec all still game over. Only Grab drivers would take Bezza basement spec because it is cheap. 90% of Bezza you see are for Grab. Bezza became just another taxi car with nothing special.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 7
    • 25yrsOld on Jan 08, 2020 at 8:56 pm

Perodua sold 185,000 units of Bezza since 2016 July.
      Follow ‘Celup King’s Theory, about 165,000 units of Bezza Grabs Serving Malaysian.

165,000 units of Bezza = Grab Car

• Why yes. The reason why i see goddamn many grab cars in the past. Back in 2017, turn on grab app and you ll be flooded with grab cars available. Picking any one and 90% often will see a bezza coming. Of course it isnt coincidental that bezza sales plummeted when grab driving has begun to be restricted….

• Humbly on Jan 08, 2020 at 11:08 pm

Well…its mean bezza sell well and very laku amongs grab. Reliable, very good fuel economy. Nobody want saga becos very high fuel consumption, lousy engine. Only when 1st 2nd year engine ok. After that even myvi 2005 also can smoke saga 2016. So basically u very jealous bezza sell too well. Maintain 4k monthly. While saga baru2 masuk 3k a month sudah bising2 mcm cave man pigi bandar. P2 keep low profile.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
      • Well the only reasons back in the past grab drivers buys bezza was because it is cheap, nothing else. Then many drivers that i talked to, regretted their decision because on the flip side the servicing is far pricier and they had to send in more frequently than their Saga taxi counterparts. It doesnt matter how good is bezza fc, if is stuck in the workshop and isnt on the road earning money.

• Kekekekeke on Jan 09, 2020 at 2:28 pm

I see more n more saga stuck in workshop than any p2 cars. Saga blm teksi terbengkalai oso byk. Saga fl gearbox kondem tdo workshop pun alot. Takpa bezza mahal tp kualiti low mentenen. Saga murah tp cheap kualiti n easy rosak. Telan minyak mcm kerbau minum air.

• Quite interesting that your way of writing is near identical to Humbly above. Now tell me why do you find the need to keep changing names? Are you just another lost sheep?

• Frust Proton Owner on Jan 09, 2020 at 5:06 pm

My 2013 saga AT 2 times changed GB in 3 years. Very poor product. End up i buy honda city 2016. My wife sold her iriz and buy myvi. Quality differences between iriz and myvi are really obvious according to my wife. Myvi far quality.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 9
          • P.Alyanna on Jan 09, 2020 at 11:52 pm

Can’t beat my tragic story with Perodua.
            My brother got 1st gen Kancil and he literally died in it.
            My father got 2005 Myvi but sold it the next day because he cannot stand the poor build quality and got himself a Waja. He still drives it regularly til today.
            My mother wanted a Viva in 2010 but pulled out after hearing her dear sis (my aunt) died in one. So that is 2 family members death due to Perodua.
            Better yet, in 2016 I was in a friend’s Myvi and it skidded because it didn’t have ESC. I ended up in hospital for 3 months while my friend is 6 ft under.
            Don’t talk to me about quality when Perodua cars are seriously bad to begin with. You can’t improve shit.

• Sarjit Singh on Jan 09, 2020 at 10:42 am

fake news by another BN fanboys who lost his dedak because of the voice recording

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 8
      • I cant understand why are you involving Bn here. Nobody is mentioning about them and this is an automotive site. Are you lost bro?

• Ravi Singh on Jan 09, 2020 at 2:25 pm

Sarjitt!!! Brotherr!! Where have you been!? It’s been 5 years since we last see you!

Yes @Bro , he was lost. I told him never to leave his phone or at least bring a map whenever he goes out but .. that fateful day ..

• His Friend on Jan 09, 2020 at 3:04 pm

Good sir. You should never let him stray away from the happy house. Now look at the mess he caused here.

• Ruslan Bahari on Jan 08, 2020 at 5:37 pm

Bezza overload. new Grab cars on the Road ,

• dong gor on Jan 08, 2020 at 5:41 pm

Today is a different day. very different.
    cos there is post after post about bezza and nothing else.

• Lolwhut? on Jan 08, 2020 at 7:32 pm

Later some bashers say PaulTan was paid to throw out articles after articles of Bezza. Lol!

• shen tzu on Jan 09, 2020 at 2:46 pm

Actually they are paid. Or who do you think pay for servers, traffic n salaries?

• P2 fanboys keep shouting that Bezza and Axia are safe cars but you see 1.0L doesn’t come with VSC. It only has 2 airbags and ABS with EBD which is poor for a 2020 launched car. It has the same specs as the 2005 Myvis I sold so P2 has never improved on that since 15 years ago. That is really really bad move P2. Do you not care for our customers? You want our customers to buy once and die in them is it?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 9
    • Mnars on Jan 08, 2020 at 10:14 pm

Eh i think most fans said their car safer than p2 are proton fans right? And always shout p2 no safe, tin kosong. But why their standard spec for proton saga no vsc? Hahahhahaa

• Muahaha on Jan 08, 2020 at 11:11 pm

Yala kan? Never improve 15 yr owh? But can sell 220k car. Lols. Why la u so dumb muahahaha.
      Tak usah pening, beli jer perodua.

• Khairul Izam on Jan 09, 2020 at 12:18 pm

Yg bodo tu xmau pening pikir, sebab tu beli perodua kan kan kan? Bodo betul 220k org.

• Sick & Tired on Jan 08, 2020 at 5:54 pm

Wasted resource by rebadging Etios into this car. 90% of them are bought by Grab drivers or Perodua suppliers. Only 10% are foolish enough to buy Bezza and many of those come back with sad stories and bitter disappointments.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 12
    • Muahaha on Jan 08, 2020 at 11:13 pm

U sound like more to sad saga owner wif disappointment story to share. U want bezza say so, no need shy shy. Go to their showroom and book 1.

• Khairul Izam on Jan 09, 2020 at 12:20 pm

Not everybody is a Grab driver….

• Elton on Jan 09, 2020 at 12:58 pm

My heart and brain says go for Saga FL but everywhere I look, I came out disappointed because there is no stocks for another 2-3 months. I probably will just go for a Bezza because of their availability and massive discounts -quite strange for a just launched car, but who am I to complain- and sell it off 1 year later.

• Khairul Izam on Jan 09, 2020 at 2:31 pm

Its becoz ur heart n brain are too bodoh.

• Lets See on Jan 09, 2020 at 3:10 pm

But as some said, the only thing value for money in Bezza is the bluetooth function. In that way, sensible brain and heart will surely tell you Saga makes more sense.

• Elton on Jan 09, 2020 at 3:37 pm

Ya loh. I wish my brain will tell me that I am getting a better deal with Bezza but no matter how much I try to talk myself into it, I just cannot convince myself Bezza is better than Saga. All conclusions I reached shouts to me not to buy the Bezza. I still aiming for Saga but what to do, all out of stock everywhere I looked and I need the car urgently. Sniff*

• Real LLort on Jan 09, 2020 at 3:19 pm

Wait!!!! @Elton!!!.. do you buy cash or loan? If cash, stop reading here! If loan how many years? I wanna know how are you able to sell just after 1 year because I want to mine too.. and its been only 1 year

• Elton on Jan 10, 2020 at 11:18 am

Don’t know. My father buys it but even he too agree Bezza is a real shitty car and he is okay with getting rid of it once Saga availability getting better. Right now beggars can’t be choosers. Maybe that’s why there are many Bezzas out there. People had no choice if they want it fast like me. I need it urgently to tide me for the meantime. If you plan to get Saga as replacement better don’t sell your Bezza yet, there is a long wait – that is my advice.

• Disappointing, but, I already said in another thread that if they really had something they’d be showing it off big-time. That’s not the case and it’s ended-up being a much more low-key reveal.

I am still waiting for something really interesting from Perodua.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
  • C.P. MOHAN on Jan 08, 2020 at 6:45 pm

1.3 CC churning out 94 hp, my younger son’s car has more hp and my elder son’s car which is below 1.0 has also more hp, both cars come without turbo and are different marques.

• Justice on Jan 08, 2020 at 7:11 pm

perodua cars should be banned from public roads

• Sure sure sure. Hm hm Hmm on Jan 08, 2020 at 8:10 pm

The most Value for money Bezza, with bluetooth.

• Elton on Jan 09, 2020 at 12:58 pm

The most value for money in the Bezza is the bluetooth? I see…..good to know.

• For RM49600 you’ll get a Persona 1.6 Executive (which is one class above the Bezza).
    I would say the standard Bezza is worth it’s money while the 1.3 is much too expensive.

• Great Stuff, Every month selling 4000 units.
    GRAB is growing @ 4000 cars/month

Malaysia Maju.

• Should launch a Grab spec that exterior has slightly different but much cheaper to attract the investor and Grab driver… This helps to differentiate those spend their hard earn money and end up same spec like a Grab

• azrai on Jan 09, 2020 at 9:01 am

ASA is only for the highest spec la.

• Bezza x dun have hill assist, please correct me if I’m wrong