REVIEW: 2020 Perodua Bezza 1.0G and 1.3AV driven

It may not be the most exciting thing to look at, but there’s no denying that Perodua’s first ever sedan model, the Bezza, has been a commercial success. Since its debut in 2016, over 185,000 units of the Bezza has been sold in Malaysia.

Hoping to continue that run, the automaker has given the Bezza a significant facelift for 2020, with an upgrade in specs, safety, comfort and even handling, so let’s see if this is still the entry-level sedan that you should all buy.

We’ll take a look at what’s good, what’s bad, what’s new, what’s old and, most importantly, how it compares against its primary rival, the Proton Saga. Also, which of the two engine variants you should go for if you’re shopping for one.

The Bezza facelift range starts from RM34.5k for the 1.0G manual and RM36.5k for the 1.0G Auto. These base models get a silver grille instead of chrome, no front foglamps and smaller 14-inch wheels from the Myvi 1.3. The good thing is they now get wing-mirror mounted signal indicators as standard, so out go the ugly bulbs on the front fenders. What’s not so good are these body-coloured B-pillars, which is a clear downgrade from the old cars and makes it look cheap.

The lack of extra safety features, beyond the standard two airbags and ABS, unfortunately hasn’t been addressed. There’s still no electronic stability control, which we’ve been stressing for years now as being a must-have in all modern cars.

In the Axia range, there’s the 1.0L Gxtra variant that adds on ESP for about RM1,500, so the question must be why ESP wasn’t added on – even at RM38,000, that would still make it cheaper than the only Proton Saga with ESP, the Premium at RM40,000.

Thankfully, ESP is now fitted to both 1.3 litre models as standard instead of just the AV like before, so that’s definitely good. Not so good news is the deletion of a 1.3 litre manual variant, which Perodua says had such a low demand it didn’t make sense to continue making it.

REVIEW: 2020 Perodua Bezza 1.0G and 1.3AV drivenREVIEW: 2020 Perodua Bezza 1.0G and 1.3AV driven

So what we have presently is the 1.3X for RM44k and the range-topping 1.3AV for RM50k. On top of the bigger engine, you also get back the chrome grille, foglamps, front corner sensors, brand new 15-inch wheels (which makes the 1.3 litre model sit 15 mm taller than before), keyless entry and blacked out B-pillars. Even more important is the inclusion of solar and security window tinting, which is not el cheapo film, but quality stuff.

The extra RM6k for the 1.3AV adds on a leather-wrapped steering wheel and seats, a touchscreen head unit with a reverse camera and the most significant update of all, in this case Perodua’s latest active safety suite, Advanced Safety Assist or ASA 2.0.

The system, which includes Autonomous Emergency Braking, can now warn you of objects ahead at up to 100 km/h, autonomously brake for you at up to 80 km/h, and even detect pedestrians at up to 50 km/h. It’s fantastic that it’s available on an entry level car like the Bezza.

It’s by far the cheapest sedan to have this feature, and in fact, plenty of much more expensive cars in Malaysia don’t have it. We’re talking about BMWs, MINIs, Audis, Jaguars, Land Rovers, even Porsches that cost more than 10 times this price, so, well done, Perodua. Credit where it’s due.

On the other hand, RM50k is still a lot of money for an entry-level car, no matter how you look at it. Its closest rival, the Proton Saga, only tops out at RM40k, and yes, I know, this has better fuel consumption. But you know how much fuel you can buy with RM10k? At today’s prices, over 4,800 litres. Assuming you refuel every week, that around three whole years worth of fuel.

Also, at RM50k, you can buy the bigger Proton Persona with a more powerful 1.6 litre engine. So yeah, for all intents and purposes, the Bezza is an affordable car, but let’s not call it cheap, shall we? Because it’s not.

What else is new on the 2020 facelift? Well, at the front, the old Bezza’s big and ugly reflector headlamps have been banished, replaced by slim LED units. These look a lot closer to the original Bezza Concept from 10 years ago, and to me it completely transforms the look of the Bezza. While the old one looked a bit too smiley and boring, this new one looks angry and sporty.

Remember, the latest Saga still runs reflector halogen lights, so this is technically 2/3 steps ahead in terms of technology. But having said that, this still doesn’t have LED DRLs, which the Saga now has, so yeah, tit for tat, I guess. It also gets new bumpers all around, which I think do look good, but perhaps a little bit too aggressive and too sporty for what is supposed to be a family car or a Grab vehicle, no?

Whatever the view, the front end makeover is much more successful than the rear half. The facelift slaps on a huge rear bumper in an attempt to hide the original Bezza’s infamous tonggek looks, and, I’m not quite sure if it has worked. To me it makes the rear look too bulky, too tall and too narrow. I still think the old car has a cleaner looking rear end.

The rear bumper adds on 20 mm to the overall length, but this does little to alter the Bezza’s awkward proportions. It’s just a weird looking sedan – in comparison, the Saga has a much more traditional sedan shape. There are two factors for this; one, this is Perodua’s first sedan design, and I guess it kind of shows. Number two, this car is based on the Axia hatchback, which is short and narrow, not an ideal starting point for a sedan.

Now, before you say that Perodua designers are just not very good, remember again we’ve seen plenty of weirdly shaped sedans that were based on hatchbacks, from all sorts of car brands. The Proton Persona first comes to mind, but let’s not forget the Kia Rio, Ford Fiesta, Mazda 2, Nissan Almera, Peugeot 207, and so on.

It’s not all bad, of course, and I do like the new two-tone look for the rear garnish and side skirts, and the new Garnet Red colour for the 1.3L models does look pretty sweet.

Inside, the revisions are a lot less apparent. The biggest change is a new centre panel with silver trim, replacing the full gloss black piece from before. In a way, it looks a little bit less classy, but it does add some layering to the overall design, and the side vents now look less tacky without the big contrast rings. Plus, it’s a lot less reflective now and it won’t collect as much dust, fingerprint or scratches as before.

The good news is that Perodua has made this standard across the range, so even if you buy the base model, your dashboard won’t look so cheap. In the old Bezza, the basic all-grey dash was nasty.

Another thing that has been updated is the instrument cluster, which now have more intricate, white crystal rings. It’s a pity that the fancy orange rings around the meters have been omitted – I thought they were cool, though some people found them to be distracting. The car also gets a new gear-lever design taken from the latest Myvi, which has a soft plastic padding at the top and less sharp edges than the old one.

The range, with the exception of the AV, comes with a standard head unit, and this looks and works just fine. Like before, Bluetooth is fitted on all models, unlike on the Axia, which is great. The touchscreen head unit for the AV variant is new, and now has less buttons around the sides, the same as the latest Axia.

To be honest, I’m not a big fan of the unit, because the interface doesn’t look very good, the touchscreen itself is not that responsive, there are no physical volume buttons, the reverse camera feed is blurry, and the language is a bit off. But the screen is not as distracting and reflective like on the Saga, so there’s that.

The rest of the cabin is pretty much the same as before, and that’s not necessarily a bad thing. It’s still a spacious interior that’s put together rather decently. Fit and finish is all ok, considering this is an entry-level car. There are no misaligned panels, no sharp edges, the knobs work cleanly enough, and I’m sure we’ve all been in enough Bezza Grab cars to notice that it all holds up pretty well over the years.

One major complaint people have voiced out about the Bezza has been the lack of steering adjustment, but that didn’t surface as a problem for me – the steering position is comfortable enough, and I can see the meters perfectly fine. Comparatively, the Saga may have an adjustable steering, but even at its highest position it’s still too low for my liking, and it blocks my view of the meters a little bit. Personally, I rather have the fixed steering here rather than an adjustable one with a worse driving position, like in the Saga.

The front seats are a little on the small side, but the semi-bucket units on the 1.3 litre models are far more supportive and comfortable than the flat seats in the 1.0G models. Neatly, the automaker has addressed a big complaint about the rear seats being too upright and being uncomfortable for long journeys, and has adjusted the angle of the backrest from 23 to 27 degrees. This doesn’t sound like much, but the effect is actually quite remarkable, making for a big improvement.

This has been done by moving the seat base forward a tiny bit, allowing the back rest to be angled more. The good news is that the change has minimal effect on rear legroom – Perodua says the facelift has just 20 mm less rear legroom compared to before.

So the Bezza still has a super spacious rear cabin for the class, miles better than the Saga in terms of outright space. Headroom is alright, legroom is fantastic for a car this small on the outside. Having said that, I still think the Saga has more comfortable rear seats. The cushion just feels nicer than this Bezza, and is better shaped as well.

Elsewhere, you’ll find two sets of Isofix mounts as well as the standard teh tarik hooks and anti-snatch handbag hook. One thing I wish this car would have though is the Myvi’s SmartTag toll reader. Now that, I think, would have been a great addition.

Next, the Bezza’s party piece, which is its humongous boot. At 508 litres, it’s over 20% bigger than what the Saga offers, and it’s more than big enough for your family balik kampung trips. There’s even a hidden underfloor storage to keep smaller items, plus a full-sized spare tyre.

That’s all on the standard car. If you want, you can dress it up with optional GearUp accessories. The catalogue of optional parts is comprehensive, and includes stuff like a complete bodykit package that looks super aggressive to items such as leather seat covers, a centre armrest, LED scuff plates and floor lighting, among other things. If you were to get everything on it, you’d add on more than RM5,000 to your sticker price, so there’s every reason to choose wisely.

What you absolutely should not do, however, is buy the base model and add on thousands and thousands worth of options. Remember, you can always add on a bodykit and accessories later on, but you can’t retrofit safety features. You can’t drive up to an accessories shop and order ESP, or ASA. So always buy the best version you can afford, before you even look at accessories.

The review starts off with the 1.0L version of the sedan. The three-cylinder, 1.0 litre engine with VVT-i, the same one used in the Axia, makes 67 hp and 91 Nm or torque, all sent to the front wheels pulling just under 900 kg of weight.

Despite its low output, the performance is decent. It doesn’t feel as slow or underpowered as you may think, and on the highways the Bezza can quite comfortably accelerate to beyond the national speed limit without breaking a sweat. I mean it’s not fast by any means, but as a city car it’s more than adequate. Even going uphill, it pulls strongly enough. It’s just not underpowered, full stop.

Strictly speaking, purely on performance, the 1.0L is enough, and you don’t necessarily need the 1.3L. But, you’d definitely want the bigger engine, not so much for more power, but to avoid the loud, rough and rattly three-cylinder engine. With the 1.0 litre, as soon as you put this car into gear, you start to feel the vibrations of the engine coming through the car, from the pedals, the steering and the seats.

There’s nothing wrong with mill – this is something to be expected from a three-pot engine, because by having just three cylinders, the engine is inherently unbalanced, and so it’s going to vibrate. It’s simple physics, and in the case of the engine, it is what it is.

The only reason you’d want this engine is for its fuel economy. Perodua says it can do over 20 km per litre, but in the real world you’re likely to see around 15 to 17 km per litre, depending on your driving style. The Bezza 1.3 will give you a little bit less, around 14-15 km per litre, while the Proton Saga is a little thirstier still, at around 12-13 km per litre.

I think if you’re really limited to this price range, around RM35k, you’re better off getting the Saga. Even if you’re okay with the vibration, then I’d recommend you to get the Axia Gxtra, for the same price you get ESP as standard. Or, how about saving up a bit more until you can afford the Bezza 1.3, because that is a much, much better car.

The Bezza 1.3 gets a proper four-cylinder engine with Dual VVT-i, making 94 hp and 121 Nm of torque. The 30 extra hp and Nm isn’t all that apparent, to be honest, because it’s just a little bit faster, but you’ll appreciate the extra refinement. The engine now revs smoother, sounds quieter, and there’s barely any vibrations to be felt. It’s a night and day difference, trust me.

The transmission here is a simple 4-speed automatic, which Perodua has been using for what seems like forever now. The gearshifts aren’t the smoothest around, and you definitely feel the shift shock even when you’re just accelerating gently.

I think the Saga’s new 4AT feels smoother and more refined than this, but having said that, this gearbox isn’t that bad. It’s smart enough and reacts quickly enough to your inputs, like dropping a gear or two for an overtake, and it’s definitely more responsive than Proton’s older CVTs.

I’d say it’s competent enough for most people. I say most, because there will always be a few people complaining that there isn’t a Sport mode for a more engaging drive, and well, if that’s what you’re after, I’m afraid you’re barking up the wrong tree, buddy. This is not the car you’re looking for.

This is because as much as Perodua has tried to improve the dynamics of the Bezza by tweaking the suspension, it’s still well short of the Proton Saga. The steering still feels too light, too twitchy at times, especially on highways. There’s a constant need to correct the steering angle, even on a straight road, because of the floaty feel of the drive.

Worse still is when there’s a faster car or, God forbid, a big truck passing you, because the steering pulls the car towards them due to the wind and pressure. In time, you’ll learn to hold the steering a little bit tighter to avoid drifting off line. Over a long drive, that can get tiring really quickly though.

Stability has been improved slightly compared to the old car, so you’ll feel more confident behind the wheel, more assured that this car will stick to the road. Drive this and the old car back to back and you’ll find that there’s quite a significant difference in terms of highway stability. It’s not quite there yet, but at least Perodua is heading in the right direction.

As for handling, the Bezza is very dependable. The steering is actually better through corners than it is on the straights, because it does load nicely when you turn in. There’s enough heft and feel through the corners to give you back some of that confidence you’ve lost on the straights. It also helps that ESP is standard on both the 1.3 models.

The change to bigger wheels and lower profile tyres have also played a role in the improvements – the car definitely feels more planted now than before. The 15-inch wheels do have an impact on the car’s turning circle – it’s now a little bit wider compared to the Bezza 1.0 and its 14-inch wheels. The difference isn’t that big though, because the 1.3 is still very easily manoeuvrable through tight spots.

Where the Bezza has a clear edge over the Saga is in its braking feel. The brake pedal is more linear, so it’s easy to modulate, whereas in the Saga you have to go through a long way of dead travel before the brakes actually engage.

Lastly, ride comfort and refinement. Here, the Bezza is just about average. The ride is decent enough, avoiding the nasty brittle and underdamped ride characteristics usually associated with cheap cars. The damping is pretty good at absorbing small bumps, although the car’s relatively short wheelbase and narrow tracks mean that it doesn’t handle bigger bumps all that well.

As for refinement, the Bezza isn’t all that quiet, with engine noise, tyre roar and wind noise being quite evident, and it gets worse in the rain, as you can hear the water splashes from the tyres. In both ride and refinement, it’s the Saga again that has the upper hand.

Actually, even within Perodua’s own range, the Myvi feels significantly more modern and sophisticated compared to the Bezza. I think the Myvi has made such a big leap forward in terms of ride and handling that it has opened quite a big gap between it and the Bezza.

Everything considered, it’s clear that for this facelift, Perodua has put more focus on things that existing customers have complained about, like the car’s looks and the rear seat. I guess not many of them had issues with the handling, which again, isn’t really that surprising.

After all, I think it’s safe to assume that Bezza customers are mostly regular commuters and, more recently, Grab drivers, and not driving enthusiasts. Look at it that way, and I think Perodua made the right choices here.

Overall, the 2020 Perodua Bezza is a mixed bag. Its showroom appeal is fantastic, I’ll give it that, and the upgrades for this facelift bring about tangible improvements in looks, safety and even handling. But ultimately, the car remains very much a compromised experience from a driving perspective, with a few flaws left unfixed.

It’s far from perfect, but then again, no car is. Actually, to make a perfect car in this segment, you’d want a combination of the Bezza’s sporty looks, practical interior, fuel economy and safety, allied to the Saga’s price, more balanced proportions, ride and handling and refinement. There’s no such car, obviously.

So choosing between the Perodua Bezza and the Proton Saga depends very much on your priorities and preferences. If you just want a car to get you from point A to point B, or if you want to use it for Grab, I’d fully recommend the Bezza – the 1.3 that is, not the 1.0.

However, if your budget is a little bit tighter and you’re a little bit more particular about how your car should feel dynamically, then perhaps you should give the Saga a look first. Or, if you don’t really need a boot, perhaps a Myvi?

GALLERY: 2020 Perodua Bezza 1.0G facelift

GALLERY: 2020 Perodua Bezza 1.3AV facelift

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• Calvin on Jan 25, 2020 at 12:22 am

50K, better get 2016 Honda Civic 1.5 turbo.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 69
    • Link to buy? Don’t just simply say only…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
      • Char siew on Jan 25, 2020 at 11:34 am

There is no need to test drive this Game Changer as the Bezza FL is simply the best sedan in it’s segment. Complete safety, advance features, LED headlight, stunning design and comfortable. With this pricing, the Game-Changing Bezza FL will sell like hot cakes and Game the Saga FL Over

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 86
        • Yee sang on Jan 25, 2020 at 12:29 pm

Excellent comment! This is why Game-Changing Bezza is always the better choice than Proton Saga. Also, Malaysian trusts Perodua quality more than Proton

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 62
          • Nian gao on Jan 25, 2020 at 1:33 pm

If you buy this Game-Changing sedan, you still can sell it at a high price since the RV only drop 20% after 2 years but if you buy Proton Saga, the RV will drop 70% after 2 years!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 56
          • Whatever it is, Malaysians are proud of Perodua, From Day 1, they have been making profits of billions per year.

Do you know since inception, Perodua has paid more than RM1 bil in company tax yearly to LHDN?

Proton pulak has been given tax exemption from LHDN. They have not paid a single sen of tax the past 20 years because loss making

Worse still, they have taken RM20 billion in bailouts. Perodua has never taken a single sen of bailouts.

So, in total, Proton losses are more than RM40 bil in past 20 years. No contribution to society at all.

Perodua has paid so much of company tax, over RM25 bil in total and this money has been used to build schools and hospitals for the rakyat

Thank you Perodua. We are proud of you!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 34
          • Proton NO RV Car on Jan 25, 2020 at 4:19 pm

ha ha ha ha, everybody knows Proton cars got no RV

Buy 2020 Bezza for RM37k
            Sell in 2022 your bezza for RM33k

Buy 2020 Saga for RM35k
            Sell in 2022 your Saga for RM17k

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 47
          • Shukor bin Azman on Jan 25, 2020 at 4:46 pm

This car will wipe out Saga. It already has. Now Proton just living off China products and not even their own

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 40
          • Nobody layan you so you reply yourself over and over again? Empty can makes the most noise.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 2
          • Vioshomo on Jan 25, 2020 at 9:25 pm

Buy Bezza today, sell 2025 for 32k.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 20
          • Bezzalia on Jan 26, 2020 at 1:12 am

Bezza nice nomor VEF 7464 , 7467 …

• Malek Saidin on Jan 27, 2020 at 12:05 pm

People buy Perodua because it uses a Toyota engine. Unlike Proton cars that use China engines.

At least before it used Mitsubishi engines, got standard. Now use China engines…..even all first world countries forbid the use of China cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 13
          • Ravindran Naidu on Jan 27, 2020 at 12:40 pm

I own a Saga and my wife owns a Bezza. I can confirm to you guys the Bezza is much cheaper to maintain.

The Saga is double the cost to maintain. I have kept both cars bills past 3 years and it is CLEAR that Bezza is more than half the cost to maintain than Saga

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 20
          • Ravindran Naidu on Jan 27, 2020 at 12:45 pm

When claim warranty, cash rich Perodua always approve it. Cause they are cash rich and they always replace a faulty part happily

Proton never had money. So when warranty claim, you have to gaduh with SC and prove to them it is not your fault. The burden of proof is on YOU

This is because PRoton got no money and they scared to give you replacement without making hassle for you

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 14
          • EDITOR on Jan 28, 2020 at 12:10 am

I can confirm to you guys Mr Ravi here is yet another Kunta copy-pasting account.

• Chow mein on Jan 28, 2020 at 10:42 am

Campro engine, despite being Proton made, is nothing but a Game Over engine since it sucks fuel like an AMG 4.0L V8 biturbo engine and often breakdown. This is why Malaysians trusts Perodua Game-Changing engine quality more than Proton as Perodua uses Toyota award winning engine

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 12
        • Aura89 on Jan 25, 2020 at 11:04 pm

It takes time for the average Joe to realize that it’s not worth to buy a Perodua nowadays, brand recognition wins over product quality. By that time Proton could manage to fix their problems and deliver a good, innovative, product once again. Its only a matter of sooner rather than later.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 2
          • Malek Saidin on Jan 27, 2020 at 12:07 pm

There si a reason why Geely cnanot be sold in USA, Europe (all 30 over EU countries), Japan, Australia and New Zealand.

At least Toyota engines are sold all over the world

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
          • Ravindran Naidu on Jan 27, 2020 at 12:41 pm

Saga parts are expensive and they don’t last long compared to Perodua/Daihatsu parts.

That is a fact!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 16
          • EDITOR on Jan 28, 2020 at 12:08 am

https://paultan.org/2019/03/11/2019-proton-persona-facelift-32-lower-maintenance-cost-compared-to-perodua-bezza-and-honda-city/

Nope. Wrong again Mr Ravi or should I say Mr Kunta

• Apricot on Jan 25, 2020 at 12:17 pm

Finish Honda Malaysia, even upcoming City Turbo and Civic Facelift (except for high spec) without AEB, land departure warning and blind spot monitor. Salesman will start crying. So called as “Power of Nightmare Cars”

As majority in Malaysia fed up of driving honda cars because too many quality issues on newer Honda models after bought for less than 1 year. When go to aftersales service, people also complaining most of the aftersales service dealer. Cannot solve. Shows that technicians are having half past six, lying, didn’t repair at all, never repair other peoples car at all.

Yet, some of them are still buying Honda cars with brainless. Also, come here hating kimchi cars with low resale value and hating mazda. Just look at safety specs, most of Honda models are really kosong spec. Compare to Mazda, Toyota and Hyundai Ioniq comes with blind spot monitor, AEB, land departure warning and others. No wonder, many mazda CX-5 and Proton X70 everywhere than looking Honda CRV is now rare.

Malaysians rather buy mazda. This comes with 5 years warranty as Honda. Bermaz service is better and they already improved their service than honda. Even CKD Mazda CX-5 looks so so but better than most Honda models. So Honda Malaysia is dead.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 9
      • Malam Jumaat on Jan 25, 2020 at 4:24 pm

What is malu is the fact despite 20 years of bailouts of RM20 billion and 20 years of losses of billions per year, until today, just become a rebadger of China car.

Totally rebadger. And the only local product that sells, uses a Hyundai Transmission AT

That is MALU MALU MALU.

Rakyat suffered for 35 years with high car prices to protect this car company. Otherwise, today, we can buy a Camry for RM60k.

And today, this company can only rebadger

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 25
        • vioshomo on Jan 25, 2020 at 9:27 pm

A camry in the US is RM9000 including five years road tax and free petrol.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 11
          • Malek Saidin on Jan 27, 2020 at 12:26 pm

RM90k vs RM200k in Malaysia. Looks like UMW is cheating us. Somemore it is CBU in USA, here CKD should be cheaper

Naughty GLC. All GLC very naughty

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 12
          • Pioneer on Jan 28, 2020 at 10:05 am

Who said UMW Toyota is cheating us about the price? Only Perodua is highly big cheats by giving low price and low safety car.

• Edwin L on Jan 28, 2020 at 12:56 pm

I blame the Japs for that. If X70 can come here at much more affordable prices it shows these Jap cars could be made affordable but they kept prices high.

• Malek Saidin on Jan 27, 2020 at 12:08 pm

The best way to own a Toyota is to buy a Perodua. This is the secret of owning a Toyota. This secret everybody knows. This is why Toyota sales is many times more than Proton sales

• Ravindran Naidu on Jan 27, 2020 at 12:43 pm

The most vital why Pipi buy Perodua is that SC LISTENS to you. They never say, “Bang ini Proton lah, what to you expect”

P2 SC always listen and fix the problem for you!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 14
          • I never heard Proton SC say that, I went Perodua SC with my friend, I still remembered the LCLY repairman told with my friend and said: ” Ini Perodua, barangnya tak tahan lama, kena kerap tukar baru krn ia tak mcm kereta conti. “

• Edwin L on Jan 28, 2020 at 12:58 pm

Why do Perodua need to gives us problems for them to fix later on? Why not give a superbly made car like Saga with NO PROBLEMS TO FIX?

• Wilson Khoo on Jan 25, 2020 at 8:10 pm

Wilson/Mario, enough of your hatred against Honda. and please improve on your english no offence

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 29
        • Kunta Minum Teh 8X on Jan 25, 2020 at 9:29 pm

Kunta, enough of your hatred against Proton and BN. and please stop being racist no offence

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
          • Wilson Khoo on Jan 26, 2020 at 8:17 am

I’m not kunta HAHA
            nice try tho Wilson

Send your message to one of Kunta’s posts above.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 26
          • Malek Saidin on Jan 27, 2020 at 12:10 pm

Perodua cars hold its value well. This is a well known fact. Proton cars, within 1 year loses 50% of its value already

To make matters worse, your Proton will be in mudah for 1 whole year before it is sold. Perodua within a week is sold

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
          • Ravindran Naidu on Jan 27, 2020 at 12:46 pm

We all know there are so many paid cybertroopers to bad mouth Perodua in every forum.

Sick and tired of all this people

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 10
          • Kantoi on Jan 28, 2020 at 8:41 am

@Ravindran Naidu then you’re a paid cybertroopers to bad mouth Proton.

I’m sick and tired of you

• Power of Nightmare on Jan 25, 2020 at 9:19 pm

No more Honda.. terrible car quality even with 5 years with unlimited mileage warranty also no use. SC cannot solve the problem, later come out with famous statement “This is one normal la, every cars also like that”. At least perodua in term of quality, perodua more better than honda malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 4
        • Malek Saidin on Jan 27, 2020 at 12:12 pm

Honda sales down means DRB will get less money. Habis lah all the DRB staff. 20,000 orang will suffer. This is good news.

• Iriz & Saga breached 20km/l on Jan 27, 2020 at 5:02 pm

https://paultan.org/2019/09/18/proton-1-tank-adventure-drivers-complete-650-km-route-best-iriz-and-saga-breached-20-km-l-mark/

The Proton 1-Tank Adventure 2019 kicked off with the opening preliminary round over the recent Malaysia Day weekend. A total of 60 participants in 30 cars comprising of the 2019 Proton Iriz, Persona and Saga set off on a route that covered 650 km from Proton’s Centre Of Excellence HQ in Shah Alam to Johor Bahru and back.
      All cars managed to complete the 650 km fuel economy challenge portion of the event. The best theoretical maximum range achieved, based on the 40 litre fuel tank size of the Protons, was 809 km.

The top FC figures, verified by scrutineers from the Malaysia Speed Festival (MSF), were 4.98 litres per 100 km (20.1 km/l) for the Saga, 5.43 litres per 100 km (18.4 km/l) for the Persona and an event best 4.94 litres per 100 km (20.2 km/l) for the Iriz.

Proton has been saddled with the kuat makan minyak reputation for years now, and the Proton 1-Tank Adventure contest is the carmaker’s riposte. Having actual Proton owners driving their own cars through the long journey, with all of them not only reaching the destination but also averaging impressive fuel economy figures, goes a long way to set the record straight,” Hafriz said.

“Personally, I’ve already done the 1-Tank Adventure last year, so the fuel consumption part is not new to me. What is a genuine surprise however, is the 2019 Saga’s improved comfort and refinement qualities. It far exceeded my own expectations of what an affordable entry-level car can be,” he added. Hafriz’s full account will be coming at a later date.

• Jeffrey on Jun 14, 2020 at 8:45 am

Talk rubbish! There is a big different in price!

• For those of you who drive Bezza, what are you doing on the fast lane? Get out and stay out! Don’t you ever think of driving in the fast lane slowing the rest of us down. Don’t make us burn your snail car!

• Calvin on Jan 25, 2020 at 12:44 am

No need to bother with this Grab car. It is nothing more that a taxicab and the only Grab driver buys this car is due to its cheap price. Nothing more.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 8
    • Lol.. on Jan 25, 2020 at 11:17 am

But Bezza is not cheap 47k to 53k for a A segment? 1.0L no vsc = No No No

• Celup King on Jan 25, 2020 at 11:37 am

Grab car drivers don’t buy Bezza high spec which nobody sane will buy anyway. Onlu the cheaper version is cheaper than Persona which is why its a favourite with Grab drivers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
        • Malek Saidin on Jan 27, 2020 at 12:28 pm

Perodua is 10 yrs younger than Proton also and yet, it makes so much of money and never lost a single sen

I want to support a hard working and successful company like this

• Safety First on Jan 28, 2020 at 1:12 pm

I hope P2 work hard to recall their cars for airbag replacement and not wait for someone to die first. It could be you.

https://paultan.org/2020/01/23/toyota-to-recall-3-4-million-cars-globally-over-airbags-that-may-not-deploy-not-related-to-takata-this-time/

• Malam Jumaat on Jan 25, 2020 at 4:26 pm

Shame that Geely bought Proton, Lotus and Proton’s Shah Alam land worth RM5 billion (with GDV of RM12 billion) all for RM170 million.

That is shame. Buy all three for RM170 million. That is what you call malu

At least Perodua never sell its assets like lelong!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 23
        • Optimus on Jan 25, 2020 at 9:49 pm

Perodua never sell its assets becoz its assets never belong to us. 75% is directly and indirectly owned by Jepunis. They are managed by Jepunis bosses behind. They using foreign workers. They only do rebadging of foreign cars.

I don’t know how Perodua can still keep their National Car status. MACC & MITI have to remove their status and privileges as National Car company and made to pay back all they have taken from us.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 2
        • Malek Saidin on Jan 27, 2020 at 12:15 pm

at least Perodua does not run at a loss 30 years like Potong….lol

Perodua goes under, means all the thousands of abang abang working as QC got no jobs. Kasihan all those workers….got super big families to feed

• Malam Jumaat on Jan 25, 2020 at 4:32 pm

Grab choose Bezza because it is a reliable car. Unlike Proton Saga which always breakdown non stop. This is why Grab don’t choose it

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 23
        • Unknown on Jan 25, 2020 at 9:37 pm

That doesn’t make sense because that would mean Grab drivers don’t care about the safety of their passengers. OTOH it tells us Saga owners prefer to keep everyone safe over reliability. After all, we only have 1 life and we shouldn’t worry about less reliabiltiy over losing our lives.

• Therealmaserati on Jan 25, 2020 at 10:21 pm

You must be joking. Not sure what makes u think saga is the safer car. Heavier?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 12
          • His Friend on Jan 26, 2020 at 10:42 am

It has working airbags? We never know when Perodua airbags will be rcalled. Just waiting for someone to die for it to happen. I hope its not you first, friend.

• Bezzalia on Jan 28, 2020 at 12:49 pm

ESP reduces the engine power in dangerous situations. Perodua’s revolutionary approach is to reduce engine power in all situations (accelerating, top speed). ESP is therefore not necessary.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
        • Tipulanjiaou on Jan 27, 2020 at 2:12 pm

Ey. Dun tipu tipu la. Myvi/Aruz fuel pump case how?

• X50 pls on Jan 29, 2020 at 12:12 am

Tidak ada masalah, bought one since February 2019, only steering wheel got sound tok tok tok when turning..

• No. Just no. This is the worst car on Malaysian roads simply because of the moronic lembab AF drivers. Perodua should have installed an Anti-Hog Right Lane feature as standard to get these cows away from other road users who actually need to get to places on time. And they should have also installed a way to send an electric shock to mindless and clueless grab drivers who inconvenience real drivers on the road.

Man I hate this Bezza so much. So uninspiring and a symbol of assclowning. Do you drive a Bezza? Get out of my way.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 75
    • Well done Perodua……you did not need to sell your company to China like Prootn.

Lucky China came and helped Proton. Li Chunrong and Geely, within 6 months could identify all the leakages Proton had, what local CEOs could not identify in 30 years.

This is why we need more foreign CEOs from Mainland to come into Malaysia to help run our GLCs and even Putrajaya. We will see a 10 fold increase in productivity and we will become FIRST World soon.

Already 2020, our vision to be FIRST world tak jadi, nevermind, never too late to get brains and intelligence from Mainland to help us achieve this goal

Orang China dan Geely do all the work, and Proton fanboys claim the glamour and fame?

If someone sat an exam for me and got an A for me, i will be shy to tell the world I got an A for that paper because it is someone else who did all the hard work.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 17
      • English Teacher on Jan 25, 2020 at 9:44 pm

I would be more ashamed if someone I had laughed at, now is coming up fast and soon will overtake me.

Ever learnt The Hare and the Tortoise? Do you know who won?

• Malek Saidin on Jan 27, 2020 at 12:17 pm

you are right, dulu kutuk China kata balik tongsan etc, sekarang beg for pertolongan from them who overtook us

• Mr Lane Authority on Jan 27, 2020 at 8:08 pm

Wow!
      Forget to servive your ‘Unfilter mouthwash’ cleaning device again?
      Not expecting Post 2020, these Sexist’s
      & ….. kind of degrading slurs such as ‘cow’, ‘assclowning’, ‘moronic’ & ‘lembab AF’ mixed with invented technical terms of ‘anti-shock right lane & ‘electric shock to grabdriver’ still existed in PT. There’re more than 70k of those on our road. If u hate it & them so much, You should focus by channelling your hatred onto the carmaker not to these unInformed buyers.
      Survey on what & how Carshoppers in this categories madeup their own decisions?
      Location-Sites&Medias they always refering to Post your Opinions & Suggestions
      Pls do something constructively by planning and fight your case as a champion such as sending out a safety proposal to Gov MOT, MAA, Safety Testing Authorities, Ancap, Carmakers – Perodua, Daihatsu & Toyota HQ or just join few of NGO’s.Orgs related to V&T

• Cukur on Jan 25, 2020 at 1:21 am

Habislah saga!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 32
    • Why So Serious on Jan 25, 2020 at 10:50 am

Habislah Saga! Bezza came out disappointed and now Saga bookings stretch even longer. That is crazy! I want to buy Saga but everywhere Saga stok dah habis. Habislah stok Saga!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 5
      • Malek Saidin on Jan 27, 2020 at 12:24 pm

Saga stock habis kerana kerajaan dah ordr banyak banyak untul PDRM

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 8
        • PDRM ordered Bezza for patrolling <— last year news.

• Salah lagi bai! PH dah ordr banyak Velfire dan Honda Accord
          https://paultan.org/2020/01/02/finance-ministry-to-decide-on-government-vehicle-fleet-supplier/

• Ya, Saga habis sales until waiting list 6 months.

• Pisang Hotel on Jan 25, 2020 at 1:29 am

P1 fan will say saga sold more than bezza since 2016. And p1 fan also say saga outsold bezza in 2019. So in 2019 saga (38,144) is really outsold bezza (45,656). 38k outsold 45k ya. Lols.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 19
    • Why So Serious on Jan 25, 2020 at 10:53 am

Yes.
      38,144+41,000 booked = 79,144 is much much higher than puny 45,656.
      Unless bashers don’t know maths as they just as poor with history.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 3
      • P2 pls on Jan 25, 2020 at 11:21 am

Saga body shape need redesign n need add on led headlights and 6 airbags… Below RM 40K, Habislah Bezza…

• Plus, Saga FL was launched in August 2019. Counting the FL boost just only for 4 months towards end of the year.

• Malam Jumaat on Jan 25, 2020 at 4:34 pm

Saga is such a fialure that they had to beg Hyundai for a decent Auto gearbox. 30 yrs our abang2 did not know how to make a decent gearbox.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 20
        • Vioshomo on Jan 25, 2020 at 9:22 pm

Toyota is such a failure that they had to beg BMW for a decent platform incl. engine and gearbox. 100 yrs their abang2 did not know how to make a decent platform, engine and gearbox.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 13
        • Lolwhut? on Jan 25, 2020 at 9:41 pm

If that is your benchmark, Bezza was a failure from Day One as it is a rebadge from Toyota Etios. Entire chassis, engine, autogearbox is from that car. So what 30 years did Perodua done other than rebadging? Well nothing.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 9
          • Therealmaserati on Jan 25, 2020 at 10:23 pm

At least ppl smart rebadge from Toyota cars which is famous for reliability.

Unlike proton take from rubbish carmakers like Hyundai .

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 10
          • Bezza and Etios are not related at all. Bezza ish home grown product based on Axia platform.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
          • Crony on Jan 26, 2020 at 10:40 am

I would be ashamed if after 30 years, i am still only rebadging other people’s products no matter how good it is. It shows there is no progress since day 1. What’s worse is i rebadge outdated and inferior product. Real shame lor.

• Brian on Jan 26, 2020 at 11:08 am

Home grown my buttcheeks. Axia ain’t homegrown but a rebadge from Toyota Ayga. You syiok sendiri?

• racer on Jan 26, 2020 at 11:32 am

At least people at Toyota smart rebadge BMW which are well known for their sportiness. Toyota cars are well known for that they never won a race where there was competition from other brands. In Le Mans Toyota had to wait untill all other brands left the competition before they were able to win the race.

• The centre of mass height,
    also known as the centre of gravity height,
    or CGZ,
    Relative to the track, determines load transfer (related to, but not exactly weight transfer)
    from side to side and causes body lean.

When tires of a vehicle provide a centripetal force to pull it around a turn,
    the momentum of the vehicle actuates load transfer in a direction going from the vehicle’s current position to a point on a path tangent to the vehicle’s path.

This load transfer presents itself in the form of body lean. In extreme circumstances, the vehicle may roll over.

Height of the centre of mass relative to the wheelbase determines load transfer between front and rear.

The car’s momentum acts at its centre of mass to tilt the car forward or backward, respectively during braking and acceleration.

Since it is only the downward force that changes and not the location of the centre of mass,
    the effect on over/under steer is opposite to that of an actual change in the centre of mass.

When a car is braking, the downward load on the front tires increases and that on the rear decreases, with corresponding change in their ability to take sideways load.

A lower centre of mass is a principal performance advantage of sports cars,

compared to sedans and SUVs.
    Some cars have body panels made of lightweight materials partly for this reason.

Body Lean can also be controlled by the springs, anti-roll bars or the roll center heights.

• Abang2 Sambung Bayar on Jan 25, 2020 at 4:41 pm

Perodua sales is far far far more than Proton despite being a younger company…aiyooooo so shameful lah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 18
      • Smoke Gets in my Eyes on Jan 26, 2020 at 11:28 pm

Does Musang King sellers shame because they sold far far far less than a rambutan seller? Nope. In fact they are prouder their product is far far far better.

• bezzalina on Jan 25, 2020 at 9:41 pm

Body lean can be ignored due to Perodua’s revolutionary ‘no acceleration / no top speed’ safety technology. Even Volvo was impressed and copied the technology for their new models.

• CurtainsShare on Jan 25, 2020 at 2:52 am

Concluded by HS
    A very Neutral Written Review,

Since Less Coverage on this Vehicle Testing Developement seen on Public eyes,

Hopefully invitations to all media journalists
    to do a firstever ‘driving impression’
    openly at your Hidden TestTracks.
    Expecting a Video Shooting On This

Fuel-Efficients Perception Feedbacks:
    Official Invitations to Media’s + Owners of Bezza, Myvi & Axia to participate on:
    2Days OneTank Adventure Series of Mixed Roads Between
    B-Roads & Highways
    Long journey from HQ in Sgor to North or South
    Hire an Independent Marshal for a totally Independent Fuel Measurements

In ur selected Showroom,
    pls Display at least one Unit of
    (Cut-Off) Vehicles detailing
    Every bits & pieces inside it.
    so Potential buyers will see through the vehicle’s structural integrity as a whole.
    Peel off the Skin/BodyPanel Initial Impression.

For a wider media Coverage,
    u may Invite PT to do a quick
    SideWalk review on it
    to Highlight several Integrated
    Enhancements AddedOn
    Into the Facelifted Structure.
    To pinpoint the Engineering advancements
    a Promotion to The Brands
    Technical Standards

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
    • Did you fail English in school by any chance?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
      • You only have the opportunity to comment on his English, but his point highlights everything that Perodua couldn’t do.

• Acah2 bgus pulak DK nih. Gajah dpn mata x nmpk (isu diketengahkan), kuman yg dia nmpk (salah org). Set2 minda dijajah mcm ni lah.

• P2 pls on Jan 25, 2020 at 5:36 am

The new bezza looks fantastic, but the pricing is totally wrong. You pay similar price like Myvi which offer 4/6 airbags and full size spare tyre alloy rim, But Bezza only 2 airbags with steel rim. Bezza steering not adjustable like myvi, no steering control even 1.3X, front reading lights also not available. Pay Rm 47k or 53k for bezza is not value for money, Myvistill better choices or the new saga. VSC, Front Strut Bar, Anti Roll Bar and Arm Rest should be standard for 2020 cars, perodua should offer ASA as optional gear up item, not just fancy lighting, expensive bodykit.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 1
    • Minor selling points on Jan 26, 2020 at 9:50 pm

Passive & in Denial.They won’t listen to us here and countless others before. Even if they did, just by looking on this facelift cycle, as mr.Hafriz already said few minor changes seems good enough for them.
      They should create new Unique Selling Points ‘USP’ to their Brand
      Etc.Since last year, few TGNA Products Received praises from journalist on Good Driving Dynamics that is missing in Toyota for a decade.
      Toyota & Daihatsu’s Latest technologies and experiences in VDE should be Shared with P2 since the Partnership inception.
      Similar Product to All Market Globally.
      First Tier Products for 1stclass Consumers.

• eric khaw on Jan 25, 2020 at 7:54 am

haha.. in the end still shilling for Proton..

• EDITOR on Jan 25, 2020 at 11:41 am

Can’t blame them if they have nothing good to say about Bezza when there really is nothing to write home about this unremarkable car.

• That’s marketing strategy to keep every models are sellable. So better no car is perfect

• RUGAL on Jan 25, 2020 at 8:26 am

People will mostly go for 1.3X or 1.0G to do Grab. I personally go for Persona if RM50k is my budget. I know Bezza has ASA and lots of goodies, but the price is just not so right. Saga is selling well because of the price. The NVH in the Saga is superb too.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 4
  • Mikr Hunt on Jan 25, 2020 at 9:38 am

This review is so neutral, it’s like you go to a French restaurant but order Bak Kut Teh.

• Celup King on Jan 25, 2020 at 11:34 am

When reviewers have nothing good to say, they had to remain neutral or else Perodua will complain again. Perodua always kuat complain. You see here their trolls only kaki complain.
      But the gist, if you can afford cheap go for Saga. If you can afford something higher go for Persona.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
      • Semi-Value (Member) on Jan 29, 2020 at 11:52 pm

everyone knows this website is very pro-mercedes benz and pro-proton

• Face lift only.Price rised is bonus. on Jan 25, 2020 at 11:29 am

Sportier-look grab car. Expecting grab driver to drive this car kembang hidung this year 2020. OMG..

• MUHAMMAD FARIS BIN SHAHARUDDIN on Jan 25, 2020 at 4:38 pm

I still remember I was eagerly waiting for the launch of the facelift Bezza… but turns out it was a dissappointment. Skinny wheels… outdated infotainment system and still not so comfortable back seats like Protons… they don’t even include a middle passenger head rest which is a bummer for a car that is higher in price than Proton’s. I thought of buying the Iriz or Persona but halted it because of the Bezza’s facelift upcoming launch… turns out i won’t be changing my mind after all…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
    • Darren on Jan 26, 2020 at 4:04 pm

Psst. Later P2 fanboys will accuse you of being a P1 seller. In their world only their crap is good.

• 25yrsOld on Jan 28, 2020 at 9:54 am

Even a Honda City mid High E spec using 175R15 skinny wheels like Bezza.

• SoyaSusu on Jan 25, 2020 at 4:53 pm

50k too expensive, and ASA on a Bezza is like a reverse cam/HU/DRL/sensors on a kancil/viva. Nice to have, but I’d much rather the resources goes into improving the basics. 50k can get a Myvi, or Persona exec, or Iriz, all of which are further refined than the Bezza. If it’s the same price as it was previously, sure, but it isn’t a budget car no more other than the cheapest of model. I mean, the Saga lacks quite a number of gadgets but handles the driving experience really well in its class, and was hoping for the Bezza to be the opposite: offering more tech and gadgets to make up for its average driving experience, both at the same price.

I wish that P2 will just improve of Daihatsu models instead of tacking more features that drives the price up. Next models based on DNGA better provides better than this

• Dylan Ch'ng on Jan 25, 2020 at 4:56 pm

Wow. I first saw this post on facebook and I was surprised about the background.

• Grab driver fav car….usually when i took grab, the drivers will be using this car. I guess due to robustness, good fc & reliability.

• Dylan Ch'ng on Jan 25, 2020 at 5:43 pm

Would love to see a new and old gallery

• Real world FC on Jan 25, 2020 at 5:52 pm

Bezza 1.0 real world fc is 15km/l – 17km/l.
    Bezza 1.3 real world fc is 14km/l – 15km/l.
    My 2002 1.8l engine with single vvt and odo of 207k km real world fc is 14km/l – 15km/l.

Well, i guess the fc is really nothing to shout about.

• real world fc on Jan 26, 2020 at 2:30 am

My 2002 2.4l engine with single vvt and odo of 300k km real world fc is 14km/l – 15km/l.

• M50B25 on Jan 25, 2020 at 9:50 pm

PERODUA, WHERE’S THE VSC FOR 1.0?

• Therealmaserati on Jan 25, 2020 at 10:18 pm

Must be mad comparing a piece of Crap like Saga to Bezza. Bezza FC is so so so much better than Saga especially in city driving. Dont come up with ur highway driving figures because on highway, every car will have good FC.

Yes bezza is 10k more than Saga but its not like u r buying the car with cash . So no, u wont have extra 10k to buy petrol for ur Saga. Duno how some idiots have this idea .

In terms of engine and gearbox, the bezza is so much better. The saga feels like an ancient box on wheels. Everything feels from 10 yeara ago.

Nothing cheap is good. Good thing is not cheap.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 22
    • Damon Lee on Jan 26, 2020 at 10:46 am

Good things is not cheap unless you factor in the fact of Perodua and Toyota cars are overpriced crap. You get the crap and the expensip pricing in one package.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 9
    • Heckey on Jan 26, 2020 at 1:06 pm

You must be driving 20 years old saga.

• silver ghost on Jan 26, 2020 at 2:37 pm

“Yes bezza is 10k more than Saga but its not like u r buying the car with cash . So no, u wont have extra 10k to buy petrol for ur Saga. Duno how some idiots have this idea . ”
      People should therefore buy Rolls Royce and not the leftovers from the japs, like Bezza.

• Bezza is overpirced cheap things.

• Some buy in cash bro, but After read bezza specs Next. will wait for X50 or coming DNGA P2 SUV, wait and see how both pricing.

• But Bezza is still not Good enough, It Overrated, Overpriced, Under spec on safety spec…

• Justice on Jan 25, 2020 at 10:27 pm

adding a boot to Axia will not make this a proper sedan car, ugly design by a half baked designer of perodua

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
  • seen 1 otr this morning..while it looks garang, its uglier than before. too ahbeng even for ahbeng standard

• grabcouncil on Jan 26, 2020 at 3:21 pm

Silly for people to be still arguing on Saga vs Bezza. Both are economical cars for the general Malaysian masses on a tight budget.
    In summary, Bezza comes with presumed low maintenance and low fuel consumption and higher resale value but lacks driveability refinement, therefore its suitable for the money-minded kiasu folks.
    Saga for driveability refinement but comes with lower resale value and higher fuel consumption, therwfore its for people who wants to live life kiasu folks… Life vs Money kiasuness.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 6
    • Malek Saidin on Jan 27, 2020 at 12:25 pm

spot on…no resale value and milo tin body. So lembik

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 12
      • MiloTin? Many will disagree with you on Jan 28, 2020 at 2:41 pm

https://paultan.org/2016/09/28/new-2016-proton-saga-4-star-asean-ncap-body-cutout/

The 3rdGen Saga features a stronger body structure than its second generation predecessors. Torsional rigidity has been increased to 12,000 Nm/deg.The new Saga is fitted with a number of ultra high strength steel (UHSS) components at critical sections throughout its body structure to reinforce and protect the passenger compartment in the event of a collision.The front and rear crumple zones have both increased courtesy of longer front and rear overhangs.

Below are some Statements and Requests coming from PT’s members on the above Article published in Sept 2016:

(Axxx) – “That Bezza Advance said get 5 star but never show body structure”
        (PakAtan) – “Applous to Axx…where the body cutoff of Axia.Bezza?….Where?”
        (TeckHay) – “Can see some basic soundproofed installed (on Saga) from the cutout. These are a huge advantages over perodua cars. I doubtly the Bezza which all besi kosong dare to show the cutout inside”
        (Mikey) – “Only a confident company will dare to show that their products are made of good quality materials without hiding beneath the Skin/Paints. For that, I salute P1”
        (AnythingButP1,ButGreedyP2) –
        “Can we see your cut out cars just to prove your cars are not just tin Milo wrapped with thin aluminium foils?

• WesternStar2 on Jan 27, 2020 at 4:54 pm

Proton 1-Tank Adventure drivers complete 650km route
      best Iriz & Saga breached 20km/l mark

https://paultan.org/2019/09/18/proton-1-tank-adventure-drivers-complete-650-km-route-best-iriz-and-saga-breached-20-km-l-mark/

The Proton 1-Tank Adventure 2019 kicked off with the opening preliminary round over the recent Malaysia Day weekend. A total of 60 participants in 30 cars comprising of the 2019 Proton Iriz, Persona and Saga set off on a route that covered 650 km from Proton’s Centre Of Excellence HQ in Shah Alam to Johor Bahru and back.
      All cars managed to complete the 650 km fuel economy challenge portion of the event. The best theoretical maximum range achieved, based on the 40 litre fuel tank size of the Protons, was 809 km.

The top FC figures, verified by scrutineers from the Malaysia Speed Festival (MSF), were 4.98 litres per 100 km (20.1 km/l) for the Saga, 5.43 litres per 100 km (18.4 km/l) for the Persona and an event best 4.94 litres per 100 km (20.2 km/l) for the Iriz. The organisers said that participants had to keep to a high minimum average speed for safety reasons.

Proton has been saddled with the kuat makan minyak reputation for years now, and the Proton 1-Tank Adventure contest is the carmaker’s riposte. Having actual Proton owners driving their own cars through the long journey, with all of them not only reaching the destination but also averaging impressive fuel economy figures, goes a long way to set the record straight,” Hafriz said.

“Personally, I’ve already done the 1-Tank Adventure last year, so the fuel consumption part is not new to me. What is a genuine surprise however, is the 2019 Saga’s improved comfort and refinement qualities. It far exceeded my own expectations of what an affordable entry-level car can be,” he added. Hafriz’s full account will be coming at a later date.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Jan 27, 2020 at 10:12 am

a lot of proton salesmen here

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 6
  • Ben Yap on Jan 27, 2020 at 2:06 pm

Perodua thinks that the 1.0 no need ESP because the car can hardly skid with drivers that buying this car isn’t looking for performance. they are slow drivers.

• Myvifan on Jan 28, 2020 at 12:18 am

Since when bllehland pipu drive slowly?

• lorry on Jan 28, 2020 at 8:56 am

Exactly! Does a basikal have ESP? It has the same acceletation as a Bezza and nobody cries that it doesn’t have.

• P2 pls on Jan 28, 2020 at 9:03 am

The car need VSC, We only afraid the driver reckless driving and lost control, then crush onto us…

• Lol.. on Jan 28, 2020 at 9:10 am

1.0 n 1.3L engine design also different, 1.0L is single vvt (older design) and 1.3L is Dual Vvti.

• azrai on Jan 28, 2020 at 8:30 am

On the other hand, RM50k is still a lot of money for an entry-level car, no matter how you look at it. Its closest rival, the Proton Saga, only tops out at RM40k, and yes, I know, this has better fuel consumption. But you know how much fuel you can buy with RM10k? At today’s prices, over 4,800 litres. Assuming you refuel every week, that around three whole years worth of fuel.

Yes, short term goal vs long term gain. Even after 6 years loan still not finish already want to change to new car. So RM10k not even can balik modal.

• azrai on Jan 28, 2020 at 8:31 am

The transmission here is a simple 4-speed automatic, which Perodua has been using for what seems like forever now.

Not only P2, Toyota also forever with proven donosour age tech. So many profit, don’t care using it forever.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
    • Truth on Jan 28, 2020 at 12:09 pm

from which stone age dinosour era u from ar? Toyota using cvt and 6 to 8 speed automatics now de la

• This milo tin car is not worth to buy.

• Truth on Jan 30, 2020 at 4:39 pm

Perodua, the substandard poor quality car maker:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8EiT5PG-PaA&feature=share&fbclid=IwAR3HrcAogxIld7Jq6kGjH2u0qh0-q4j0nin7Xol4xNJ45LmYv4Q_sxGU5I8

• Janice L on Feb 06, 2020 at 8:12 am

Congratulations to Perodua and owners.
    1st month launched, delivered 6200 units itself.

• The Bright Side on Feb 06, 2020 at 8:16 am

Class leading A segment.
    ASA 2.0 VSC, Leather Wrapped Steering.
    175R15 like City mid high spec E spec
    Supportive non slippery Luxurious leather with Alcantara-like fabric bits.
    Compared to Mazda3, u get the better 2and row sofa I,e longer thigh support and more inclined seat.
    Interior space as good as MK1 and MK2 City Jazz Vios
    16to18km/L KL Subang drive, fuel saving from aluminium dual vvti E-AT and e-steering
    Only USD13k in Malaysia.

Practical family sedan, keep it up.

• Adrian on Feb 06, 2020 at 8:18 am

I wonder why Axia with 260L > Iriz 215L
    but still able to fit in 175R14 spare tyre but not a Proton Iriz nor a Saga.

Everybody want to knows i got a punctured tyre for using 155R13 space saver. prfft. everytime my neighbour doing renovation sure my tyre punctured.

• John C on Feb 19, 2020 at 12:03 pm

The new front bumper looks good. But should have just kept the previous rear bumper. If you noticed, this new rear bumper makes it look even more tonggek because of the vertical design cue.
    Sorry, I can’t stand the sight of its rear. Other than that, a decent car.

• Diana Welch on Jun 27, 2020 at 5:45 pm

Bezza is a reliable car. Unlike Proton Saga which always breaks down. That is why not many people are using Proton Saga. If you are looking for quality wheels and tires you can check 4WheelOnline and choose the perfect wheels and tires for your car.