Geely Auto 2019 sales down 9.3% from 1,500,838 units in 2018 to 1,361,560 units, but still top of China market

Geely Automobile Holdings reported cumulative sales of 1,361,560 units for 2019, which represents a 9.3% drop from the 1,500,838 units sold in 2018 (itself a huge increase from the 1,247,116 units sold in 2017). Geely however retained its top spot among the Chinese brands; the group set its 2019 target at 1.51 million units before revising its target in July 2019 to 1,360,000 units.

Premium brand Lynk & Co sold 128,606 units in 2019, recording a 6.4% growth over its 2018 sales figure of 120,414 units, while recording sales of over 10,000 units monthly for five consecutive months. On the SUV front, Geely sold 709,841 units in 2019 compared to 857,922 units in 2018; SUVs comprised of 52.1% of Geely Auto’s total sales last year compared to 57% of total sales in 2018.

Last year saw the introduction of Geely’s new fully electric vehicle brand Geometry with the unveiling of the Geometry A, formerly known as the Geely GE11, the Jiaji MPV, Xingyue coupe SUV and the Boyue Pro. 2019 also saw the sales of ‘new energy’ (electrified) vehicles reach 113,067 units, a year-on-year increase of 68.6%, while exports grew 110.6% year-on-year to 57,991 vehicles last year.

Closer to home, the Geely Boyue-based Proton X70 sold 2,979 units in the first quarter and this figure had grown to 26,000 by December, though this came up short of Proton CEO Li Chunrong’s target of 30,000 units for the SUV. Other milestones in 2019 include the Belarus joint venture plant, Belgee roll out its 20,000th Geely Group vehicle, and Lynk & Co secured the WTCR championship in December at Sepang.

Looking forward, Geely has six new products set for introduction this year, including a second BMA architecture-based SUV dubbed the Icon, the VX11 Haoyue mid-sized SUV, the Lynk & Co 05 coupe-SUV and fully electric model codenamed GE13.

“The global automotive market is facing an unprecedented change not seen in over a century. Challenges and opportunities exist side by side. With the market as the battlefield, Geely Auto will take the user demand as a guide, products as our core, and market share as our goal,” said An Conghui, president of Geely Holding Group and president and CEO of Geely Auto Group.

The group has set a target of 1.41 million units for 2020, which represents a 3.6% increase from the 2019 target but still down from its aforementioned peak of 1,500,838 attained in 2018.

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• Muahaha on Jan 13, 2020 at 8:48 pm

1,500,838 – 1,361,560 = 139,278
    Bad early sign for geely. Geely gonna drop soon. Same as plotong will close shop.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 47
    • EDITOR on Jan 13, 2020 at 10:45 pm

Geely Auto 2019 sales down 9.3% from 1,500,838 units in 2018 to 1,361,560 units, but still top of China market.-
      Read the headline completely before you make yourself sound foolish.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 14
      • Akiew on Jan 14, 2020 at 7:26 am

Sales drop but still top but on the way going down and down year by year.

• Can I advice you something? on Jan 14, 2020 at 9:26 am

I hope Geely boss is not like Bossku where his bini wear the pants and is the boss.

This is why Geely sales is very low. Takut bini sampai cannot perform in the office.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 14
          • Ais kacang on Jan 14, 2020 at 11:09 am

With sales going down, I have the feeling that Geely will no longer fund Proton but instead fund Aston Martin since Game-Changing Aston Martin have bigger potential than Proton

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
          • Nasi goreng on Jan 14, 2020 at 11:13 am

This is a nightmare news for Proton. If this trend continues, then Proton will no longer getting any help from Geely and Game Over again. If Geely loses it’s No1 spot, then it’s time for Proton to get a new Game-Changing partner or go bankrupt

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
          • Roti john Sdn Bhd on Jan 14, 2020 at 11:17 am

With Proton having internal problems with Geely, Game-Changing Perodua will maintain it’s No1 spot in Malaysia this year and focus on giving us excellent Game Changers while Geely needs to focus on increasing their sales in China, abandoning Proton in here

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
          • tikus on Jan 14, 2020 at 11:20 am

I believe this will have a big Game Over impact for Proton since Geely owns Proton 49.9%. With sales slowing down, Geely have no choice but to focus on their own business rather than guiding Proton

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
          • Bossku Adanya Boss Sendiri on Jan 14, 2020 at 11:24 am

Pity we have to tumpang glamour Geely now despite for years kutuk China and call them pendatang

• Roti john Sdn Bhd on Jan 14, 2020 at 11:43 am

@Bossku Exactly, just like Proton that needs help from Game-Changing Korea last year despite for months of condeming Hyundai by our Game Over Proton cybertrooper, Mario and Bros

• Bossku Adanya Boss Sendiri on Jan 14, 2020 at 12:29 pm

Kasihan Proton, now their bank which is Geely is not making money. Soon, their workers will have to do Grab Delivery to make ends meet.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
          • Avenger on Jan 14, 2020 at 12:57 pm

You sure love to ‘talk’ among your fake names, eh?

• Roti john Sdn Bhd on Jan 14, 2020 at 2:38 pm

@Avenger Kunta and me are not the same Game-Changing person, what “self-talk” are you talking about?

• Can I advice you something? on Jan 14, 2020 at 9:33 am

Even Australia economy is doing so bad because China cut down on investments.

But Proton say everything so good despite China slump.

Ha ha ha, Proton still lying to the public.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 8
          • Link or it didn’t happen. Also, Proton sales are independent of China. Check yourself fanboi.

• Bossku Adanya Boss Sendiri on Jan 14, 2020 at 10:45 am

Geely only started in 1997. Proton started in 1985.

Yet Geely can make USD$30 billion in profit last year.

I wonder why Proton could not make it also when they also could have exported Proton cars to the China market and to the world market.

Geely only had the China market to market their cars in the past and that also they had to compete with so many local China car producers.

How come a younger company like Geely can do so well? Answer is hard work.

• Bossku Adanya Boss Sendiri on Jan 14, 2020 at 11:20 am

Proton sales are dependant on world economy because when Boyue cannot sell, Geely will raise up prices for the X70

• The only reason Proton would raise prices for X70 is because of your bosses incompetence
            https://paultan.org/2020/01/13/locally-assembled-vehicles-may-cost-more-report/

• Roti john on Jan 14, 2020 at 8:11 am

Proton is so lucky to have Geely on their top. With such achievement by Geely in China, no wonder Geely’s management could turn Proton’s table around. Otherwise, Proton would have already Game Over and gone bankrupt years ago. Therefore making Game-Changing Perodua into “Pertama” carmaker

• Can I advice you something? on Jan 14, 2020 at 9:34 am

We need a few million of China people to come into Malaysia to look for jobs because China now not doing well.

We welcome them here. Pls come more

• His Friend on Jan 14, 2020 at 9:45 am

My friend, you previously told us here we should not follow China and instead follow your Japan overlord. Now your Japan overlord has fallen and their sales are going down the drain even Toyota begging for EV tech from Geely, then later you come and told us we should follow China. In that case I propose we follow Martians. At least they have flying cars. Agreed?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 7
          • Bossku Adanya Boss Sendiri on Jan 14, 2020 at 12:38 pm

Follow Martians also can, janji jangan takut bini ya?

Macam bossku

• Geng Abang Nuar on Jan 14, 2020 at 2:48 pm

Takpe bro. Bossmu masih sayang istri. Bossku sayang bontot lain orang. Malu kita bro.

• Bossku Adanya Boss Sendiri on Jan 14, 2020 at 12:37 pm

Last tie we make fun of China and call them pendatang, now we crawl to them without maruah. Mana maruah ni? Selalu cakap pasal maruah……

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
          • Rakyat Malaysia on Jan 14, 2020 at 3:43 pm

Oh, don’t get us wrong. We welcome the mainland variety, we just don’t want the local variety that does nothing except complain, complain,complain for 60 years. Can we trade them huh? Can we?

• Habislah proton and geely will continue to slump.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 10
    • Logical Deduction on Jan 13, 2020 at 11:03 pm

https://paultan.org/2020/01/03/japan-vehicle-sales-drop-following-tax-hike-report/
      Based on your logic, Japan will close shop soon?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 5
      • Abang2 Sambung Bayar on Jan 14, 2020 at 8:20 am

Lucky China, Geely and Li Chunrong helped save Proton. We need more Mainland people into Malaysia to help run our GLCs more efficiently.

Look at TH, already needed RM10.3 bil bailout, if we have another Li Chunrong running it, he can turn it around and make it profitable like Proton

We should not syiok sendiri when China is doing all the work and have given the product buta buta to us ie the X70 and X50

• redpilled on Jan 14, 2020 at 12:27 pm

I see you working hard to afford drugs n GRO to party with YB…

• Hondarion on Jan 14, 2020 at 8:30 am

Japan sales drop becos of tax hike dude. China sales drop becoz of bad quality issue hike. It is wat it is.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 11
        • Fordist on Jan 14, 2020 at 9:24 am

Have you even bothered reading the news lately? Sales drop because of quality issue? Where is your source? C’mon, don’t be illiterate asses. China economy is generally on a downward trend due to Trump tariff war, general consumption has dropped, even tourist from China has dropped. VMY2020 will likely fail thanks to Trump and then you will know why and not come here speculating w/o sources.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 5
        • Idiocy can’t be cured. You are the living proof of that, my simple friend.

• Yeah yeah on Jan 14, 2020 at 10:20 am

Stupidity is ur routine that cant be change. U are the living in ur denial and ignorant world, my simple fake dude.

• Mirror mirror on Jan 14, 2020 at 10:09 am

Yeah bro. Still jipunis cars also top on mesia road. Thise looser only talk. They bz talk abt china but their own country here miserable, but bz again talk abt other country.
          Millions n millions of jipunis cars in mesia yet idiot people still say china car better. And yet these idiot still buy jipunis car. Most of these idiotcupid owned jipunis car. But yet they still live in fake and tell us they dont buy jupunis car. Fake news goddest.

• Bezzalia on Jan 14, 2020 at 10:13 am

As japanese hardworking, this will never happen. We could buy our Bezza still in 40yrs from now.

• Engineer on Jan 14, 2020 at 10:42 am

That is the real problem. This blind support allowed Japan to continue selling us their old junks when the rest of the world has move on to newer cars. Just take a look at the outdated Yaris launched here last year vs the far newer and better TNGA Yaris launched globally 2 years ago. Japan can get away with this because we still have stupid fandoms.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 6
          • The one that never move on and only know how to condem is u the stupidiest engineer ever. Outdated or not Toyota still top in the world. But u caveman are the one outdated no brainer. U can just become engineer parut kelapa only. Engineer ciplak no brainer. Condem punya condem, watever u condem did it change the auto world? No right? The one that change is only u, change to more and more stupid.

• Sales drop equal to close shop even top in market. Alright, record your statement.

• Additional comment, but ya i agree your statement proton will close shop without geely help.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 11
    • 1361560 x average RM5000 profit per unit = RM 6807million.
      That money can build 20 numbers LCCT airport.

• Krik krik on Jan 13, 2020 at 8:50 pm

Habislah proton!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 11
    • Mohd Adnan on Jan 14, 2020 at 12:13 am

Habislah! Tak tau baca habis headline ni!

• Abang2 Sambung Bayar on Jan 14, 2020 at 8:23 am

Habis lah Proton, their only funder is now having less money.

• Us-China trade wars doesn’t affected TgMalim outputs ; local & asean markets

• Piu piu piu on Jan 13, 2020 at 8:51 pm

139278 drop. Not good news for geely and proton. Eventually will slowly drop n drop. Proton need to find new partner. Otherwise just close shop.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 17
    • EDITOR on Jan 13, 2020 at 10:46 pm

Geely Auto 2019 sales down 9.3% from 1,500,838 units in 2018 to 1,361,560 units, but still top of China market.-
      Your fake accounts too should read the headline completely before commenting. Thank you.

• Abang2 Sambung Bayar on Jan 14, 2020 at 8:22 am

Soon Geely will pull out from Proton like this. they rather invest the money in Aston Martin than a company like Proton where laziness is the motto of the day

• Copy Paste on Jan 14, 2020 at 10:50 am

Copy paste: “Stupidity is ur routine that cant be change. U are the living in ur denial and ignorant world, my simple fake dude.”

• Logical Deduction on Jan 13, 2020 at 11:04 pm

https://paultan.org/2020/01/03/japan-vehicle-sales-drop-following-tax-hike-report/
      Based on your logic, Japan will close shop soon?

• Salesman on Jan 14, 2020 at 8:35 am

EDITOR + Logical Deduction = same fake person fake acct who only like to post fake news comments. Same fake person who like to deny the truth.

• Unknown on Jan 14, 2020 at 9:34 am

EDITOR is just pointing out the stark obvious. It’s in the headlines dude. It beholds the editorial to point out onto readers when they go off topic me thinks. Instead of thanking the person for taking the lead, you go on and make an accusation. The question would be: what is your motive for doing that?

• Because he is an a$$hole dude

• And this Unknown dude also same person as EDITOR and Logical Deduction. Too obvious 3 fake account with same butthurt person behind the keyboard warrior. Syiok sendiri and puji own komen. Too obvious.

• And too obvious you hijacked Axxx nick just to post your feeble denial lah Kunta. Enough of yr syiok sendiri trolling and puji own komen here.

• Kunta Kinte and fake Axxx are not the same troll here

• These copy paste comments and name changing is a Kunta specialty. Regular readers knew this.

• Engineer on Jan 14, 2020 at 12:46 pm

You don’t sound like Axxx, you don’t write like Axxx, your word use is certainly not like Axxx. In fact, more like a certain troller who had habit of using other people’s names. How I know this?, because mine was misused by you to post your sorry agenda.

• Apek Klang on Jan 14, 2020 at 3:02 pm

Haha so now that u guys feels how to accept fake news. A$$lubang butthurt. All of u reply here are same person Axxx. Idiot fake.

• BTSH

• Paisehhh on Jan 14, 2020 at 10:17 am

EDITOR + Logical Deduction + Unknown + His Friend are same person with 4 fake account. Syiok sendiri puji diri sendiri punya komen. Memalukan.

• Ad you should be ashamed. Ashamed that you come here hijacking another person’s nick and now you use another name to post the same copy paste denial. Yes, you are “memalukan”.

• Troll Hunter on Jan 14, 2020 at 11:18 am

Err… so you coming here as Can I advice you something?, Roti john, Yeah yeah, Mirror mirror, Bezzalia, Krik krik, Abang2 Sambung Bayar, and fake Axxx (yes, its you and not the real Axxx), would make you the bigger kemaluan besar then? I see, I see….

• Lets See on Jan 14, 2020 at 12:22 pm

Lets see. The score now is:
            Kunta 8 vs other guy 4
            Kunta is our outright runaway winner of the troll award by a mile.

• Fakes on Jan 14, 2020 at 3:09 pm

Good job to fake Axxx. Now we know and caught who the same people wif many fake account here.
        Axxx, Troll Hunter, Gary, Jack, X70, Engineer, Alan, EDITOR, Logical Deduction, Unknown and His Friend are same A$$loobang person. Faking himself 1 person wif multiple fake accoun. Nice try but ur stupidity never finish finish. Haha.

• Kantoi But Still Wanna Defend on Jan 14, 2020 at 4:45 pm

Never finish finish? Oh are you the same fella as krik krik, yeah yeah, mirror mirror? Great job at catching your ownself there kantoied kantoied.

• Alamakk sapa makan cili dia terasa pedas. Another same person as above. Haha. Add another fake account yah? Kantoi sendiri but still wanna defend. Haha miaw miaw.

• Amran on Jan 14, 2020 at 10:31 pm

Alamak! Apek dah kena tangkap basah kantoikan diri sendiri. Ish ish ish kesian kesian.

• Sales drop equal to close shop even is top in market. Alright, record your statement.

• His Friend on Jan 14, 2020 at 9:44 am

Whole of Japan has to close shop if follow his dumb logic of my friend.

• seancorr (Member) on Jan 13, 2020 at 10:34 pm

Aiyah drop mar drop la. Everyone also record drop in sales. Gonna laugh at Mazda’s numbers for trying to position themselves as a ‘premium’ brand and in doing so, shot themselves in the foot.

• abubakar on Jan 13, 2020 at 11:51 pm

Mazda3 equivalent to A-Class. but 100k cheaper

• Only Jap fanboi are that delusional and they have a company that acts upon it. Which why Mazda sales are plummeting thru the roof.

• Mazdafan on Jan 14, 2020 at 10:18 am

Mazda3 has the japanese ‘no acceleration’ feature, jap cars are designed for 110km/h topspeed too. Much better than A-Class as going fast is dangerous.

• Not yet added Proton sold + govt Perdana sales,

• Mohd Adnan on Jan 14, 2020 at 12:16 am

Govt Perdana sales now transferred to new Velfires and Accords.

• Where is Haval China Sales Figure?
    shows the breakdown bro

• effects from proton

• The sales crisis was exacerbated last year by weak economic growth on all sectors, the trade war with the United States, tough new emission standards introduced in the summer plus policy reversals on government 10% subsidies for “new-energy vehicles,” including electric cars, further upended the market. Since the bulk of the subsidies expired in June, their sales have declined for six straight months into Dec.
    China wants new energy vehicles to make up at least a fifth of the country’s auto sales by 2025, but demand was limited by the slowing economy and Beijing’s decision to slash subsidies for the vehicles in order to thin the country’s overcrowded field of electric car makers.
    A reluctance by consumers to make big ticket purchases in an uncertain environment was partly to blame, but a government campaign against deadly levels of pollution also had an impact on many steel plants to halt operations periodically to control air quality, hitting workers’ salaries and making employment less certain.
    Declines should be viewed as part of the
    industry’s longer goal of transformation towards higher production standards.
    We must bear in mind that the trade war is not over yet – the US hasn’t revoked all its tariffs on China and China is still implementing its retaliatory measures. There are still many uncertainties down the road.

• babimongolguling on Jan 15, 2020 at 11:17 pm

Why Chinese cars not doing well huh? Chinese must be getting lazy. Should learn from the Mongolians.