Automated system for driving tests to start by June

The road transport department (JPJ) says it plans to implement its automated driving test, or “e-testing” system, for driving schools nationwide by June, The Star reports.

The system was first proposed in May 2018, when transport minister Anthony Loke said an automated process would eradicate the kopi-o licence culture as well as pakej sampai lulus or ‘guaranteed to pass’ packages.

Under the new system, learner drivers will no longer have a JPJ officer sitting next to them during their driving tests, as all evaluation will be done remotely from a control room via multiple cameras on the circuit, said the department’s director-general Datuk Seri Shaharuddin Khalid.

“During the driving tests, the candidate will still have to go through the normal circuit. However, the examiner will no longer be in the car and will monitor the test from a control room at the driving institute,” he said.

“If the candidate bumps into a pole or commits any other mistake, the officer in the control room will know immediately. Through this initiative, we will be able to lessen human-to-human interaction and increase the integrity of our department,” he said, adding that the move was part of the department’s digitalisation efforts.

Shaharuddin said that the automated system will also help reduce waiting times for learner drivers, because they would be able to secure a slot for their driving tests in quicker fashion. “One of the complaints we continue to receive is that students find it difficult to secure test dates as there are a shortage of testers,” he explained.

The e-testing system is currently being implemented as a pilot project at three driving institutes in Johor. Shaharuddin said a total of 122 driving institutes in the country have applied to open computerised examination centres at their premises. He added that JPJ’s “table tests” are also on their way to being fully computerised.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• seancorr (Member) on Jan 23, 2020 at 6:30 pm

But there’s still an officer with you when you head out on the road right….that’s the main issue there.

• Dredd on Jan 23, 2020 at 9:22 pm

Put up a tripod with multiple cameras, sure won’t have any rasuah. Oh wait, there are still persons in the control room.

• Fordist on Jan 23, 2020 at 10:08 pm

PH can´t get anything right nowadays… What´s happening inside the government???

• Amran on Jan 23, 2020 at 7:09 pm

What la Loke. Are you trapped in the past? The days of kopi by the actual examiners within the car is long gone. Go look into your own ministry for the real culprits, but I’m you already knew about it since you have been getting your cuts from the day you became MOT. Enough of the wayang Loke. We know the truth.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 5
  • pengayuhbasikal on Jan 24, 2020 at 9:36 am

less is maybe more …. less officer for driving test but maybe more cost to take driving license…

• Crony on Jan 24, 2020 at 5:29 pm

Less officers meant more kopi for each of them. Well done Loke!

• vivizurianti on Jan 24, 2020 at 11:27 am

“….increase the integrity of our department”. Really?

The problem of the dept. has always been “tantalized” by kopi money. Nobody can force the acceptance of kopi money, unless the officer(s) willing being “suap”.

As a saying goes” Cow won’t bow down unless want to drink water”