Daihatsu Sirion Cross leaked: SUV-style Perodua Myvi

An anonymous reader has sent us images of a brochure of a Daihatsu Sirion Cross, hinting of an impending launch. Now, I’m sure you readers already know that the regular Sirion is a rebadged Perodua Myvi that is sold in Indonesia, and the Cross appears to be a jacked-up SUV-esque version of said car.

Hatchbacks with more rugged-looking exterior addenda are all the rage these days (see the Honda Jazz Crosstar), and even Perodua itself is in on it with the Axia Style, so it’s no surprise that Daihatsu’s Indonesian arm has gone down this route. The modifications look to be fairly far-reaching, and go beyond simply slapping black plastic body mouldings, roof rails and a raised ride height.

Those tweaks are present and correct, of course, but the Cross also gets a new front bumper for a sportier look. The blacked-out fascia that starts from under the headlights and covers the grille and centre air intake looks suspiciously similar to the Japanese-market Honda Vezel Modulo X (essentially a more aggressive version of the HR-V), as are the silver lip spoiler and larger corner inlets with horizontal LED strips.

The Cross also rides on new 15-inch wheels in an identical design to the 17-inch ones on the Toyota Raize. But the biggest difference is at the rear of the car, where the car sports an entirely new tailgate incorporating the number plate recess (which is on the bumper on the regular Sirion/Myvi). A rather massive black plastic piece on the bumper completes the look.

Beyond that, it looks to be the same exact car as the Sirion, down to the 95 PS/120 Nm 1.3 litre Dual VVT-i engine and a choice of five-speed manual and four-speed automatic transmission choices.

The appearance of this Cross brings with it a number of implications – although PT Astra Daihatsu Motor is capable of local research and development (the new tailgate itself would have required a considerable amount of investment), it has generally left the Perodua-built models well alone. So, is this a step change in the way of thinking there, or can we expect a new Myvi Style in the future?

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Tak payah fikir , tak payah pening. Pkp beli aje..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 10
    • Mohd Adnan on Mar 31, 2020 at 6:13 pm

ada MCO, beli pun takleh nak ambik.

• Roti j on Mar 31, 2020 at 11:18 pm

If Perodua released this as the Myvi Cross, I don’t know what will happen to the Game Over Iriz. Already Myvi beaten Iriz, cross version will completely Game the Iriz Over

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 10
      • Fake News on Apr 01, 2020 at 3:23 pm

Kesian, Kunta so easy to get fooled by fake news as confirmed by Azrai. But then again he was fooled by fake news ever since May 2018….

• Saga AT TestDrive Impression on Apr 02, 2020 at 7:42 pm

Still blowing up your Game Over’s Horn on the Iriz – the antics 2016-2018 narrative!
        People Moved-On already – to now and latest 2020 SAGA AT.
        After these PKP and Before Raya 24May, guys Dont Delay It, Better you guys just go ahead and test drive the 2020 Saga AT! specially for those Shoppers still undecided between the 2020 Saga vs Iriz > RM40,000.
        Believe me, Forget the Hatch! I already went all out testing both cars as both similarly priced In the 1.3L variant. In B-Road/Highway/City Driving. Just go to the showroom, ask for a testdrive unit. Just select the salesgirl to accompany you – you will get the bonus – Reaction of her as well! Just going further out on touge B-Road/Highway. At first, my initial thought, Iriz for the Win, marketed as a Bsegment sportier hatch and will wipe the floor with Saga. To my surprised Saga unexpectedly Beat the Iriz dead-on dot exactly on these 2 Depts!
        1# -The saga’s Hydraulic Steering system provide a much better feel and constant sharp/direct tuning speed. If youre Bezza/Myvi Driver, Try It first, you will feel the Different!
        Its 70% better calibrated/tuned, better than Electronic Power Stering unit in the Perodua, and yes i dare to say it, its better than Honda and Toyota too.
        The front axle action/reaction, will follow your steering input without delay. The nervousness totally out of window. Kudos to them, Proton Engineers, insaneneously went all out on this area. The steering weight tuned as the EPS character, weight increase and decrease according to speed.
        2# Better roadholding dynamic, suspension soaking any road undulation/imperfection with ease. You will feel the different when you’re cruising on the highway above 100 kmph speed, The exact feeling as if you’re driving those german sedan.
        The only single downside is slight 15% less comfort/NVH than the Iriz.
        The obvious advantage is you get a sedan type of a bodyshape with bigger rear passenger cabin and nearly 3x more boot space. Family shopper looking for the bigger loading and big luggage areas will love this.
        Last point to add is, If you’re living in a city with less population and less traffic, recommended to choose the manual (M) variant < RM32000.
        They will throw many rebates and discounts on Raya and Merdeka celebration days, soon this year.

• azrai on Mar 31, 2020 at 6:15 pm

Fake News! Read sebenarnya.my

• Insane Catastrophic Failure on Mar 31, 2020 at 11:40 pm

Buy the best car according to your budget and put the safety expectation as the top list.
    The first thing to consider – highest Steel structural integrity.
    Before the MCO/PKP!
    Im always in hurry! very competitive but lucrative commission! to catch the target Client! U late even 10-20min, Gone to some else.
    Intercity sometime Interstate, Carelessly Driver but Calculated Risk, pedal to metal on straight/Corner, ESP Off and always last min braking.
    The passive safety – HPF structural intergrity is my top priority as anytype of unexpected variables such as incoming cars & pedestrian in a matter of short 1-2Sec coulped with the blindspot. The calculation is high still 30% risk. The slow response to do a quick Countersteer to the natural point always another risk as you might over steer your front axle straight to cut through seriously guys, any divider, any trees or a wall. I mean the cabin space catastrophic failure, both the A-pillars and firewall’s structures deformed and failed to protect you, imagine these 2 structures potruding into the driver/passenger sitting position. The speed in this situation or any real life collision always much higher or double the average collision speed used in the Asean Ancap Test.

• Car lover on Mar 31, 2020 at 11:50 pm

Reminds me of a model from Suzuki not too long ago. Nice…

• Kat indonesia la pulak

• Donno on Apr 01, 2020 at 9:13 am

Please write something funny if you want to attempt any april fool’s joke next time.

• Johny on Apr 01, 2020 at 9:22 am

April fools!!!

• vivizurianti on Apr 01, 2020 at 9:48 am

Abang abang must be drooling thinking about driving this handsum car back to kampung during raya time….Besh, Besh! BESH!

• Mr Visionary on Apr 01, 2020 at 4:27 pm

Please bring this car to Malaysia pls, this game changer with the nice skirtings will make it more aerodynamic and grants a superb handling compared to rivals like proton iriz

• Copy Paste on Apr 01, 2020 at 7:13 pm

Copy paste: “Kesian, Kunta so easy to get fooled by fake news as confirmed by Azrai. But then again he was fooled by fake news ever since May 2018….”

• Dad! Dinner is Early Now , Money pls on Apr 02, 2020 at 7:50 pm

a weaker and sad troll version of kuntri junior! coly paste in the making, both username and its message. The continuation of the troll legacy

• Muhammad Arshad Bin Mustapaha on Apr 02, 2020 at 4:56 am

Asal lawak gila design.. sori.. tp aruz korang perodua design mmg cantik.. except enjin je kecik sikit.. kot 1.6 dgn tunning sikit spec kilang.. boleh dpt rpm 3 atleast dan kebawah cntik dah.. ni bwk 110km.. rpm 3 lebih dah.. bising sikit kabin.. kete2 baru korang kena letak benchmark 110 120km dah skng.. nk ukur kesenyapa kabin.. kalu setakat 90km.. kete 10 tahun lepas pun senyap lagi dalam dia kalu crush 90 tuh..

• Overcome your Critics, Beat Them Hard on Apr 02, 2020 at 7:17 pm

Thats right brother! Aruz always better looking than the Rush. Agreed with you too, P2 always last in NVH and Driving Dynamic above 90-100kmph. Repeatitive story all over again.
      Its an easy fix and achieveable100% – P2 should invest more money into this area, the technical knowledge and pressing the Toyota inputs, Global group of expertise transfer into their engineering department. On top of that, please add more refinement to Engine vibrations, Steering, Throttle and Brake Pedal. If Mazda is the best in this game, go learn or do a joint venture with them. Imagine the Mazda souls & refinements in P2.
      Set the target, 3-5years from now, Beat your local brother’s good selling points in their product and their fans and supporters critical points as well. Turn your past critics into a well-praised and join the fight in the upper categories with those non-national brands too