VIDEO REVIEW: 2019 Perodua Axia facelift in Malaysia

Five years into its life, the Perodua Axia gets yet another facelift, this time with massive updates in the safety department. The range-topping AV, which retails for RM43,190, is the most affordable car in Malaysia to get Advanced Safety Assist 2.0, which comes with Pre-Collision Warning (PCW), Pre-Collision Braking (PCB), Front Departure Alert (FDA) and Pedal Misoperation Control (PMC). Truly a big deal, this.

If a drastic design change is what you’re after, then the Style – at RM38,890 – should tickle your fancy. It stands out in the model range with the exclusive Sunrise Orange paint, complete with crossover-esque styling cues and larger 15-inch dual-tone alloy wheels.

Beyond that, the GXtra, which costs RM34,990, is the cheapest car in Malaysia to come with electronic stability programme (ESP) as standard. We suggest buying this instead of the G, because your life is infinitely more valuable than the RM1,500 that you plan on saving.

Otherwise, all models are mechanically unchanged. Powering the Axia is the existing 1KR-VE VVT-i 1.0 litre three-cylinder engine making 67 hp and 91 Nm of torque at 4,400 rpm. The claimed fuel consumption is unchanged at 22.5 km/l for the MT and 21.6 km/l for the AT.

Unfortunately, only the Axia E comes with a five-speed manual. The rest are equipped with a four-speed automatic gearbox. So, which variant should you get? Well, watch this video to find out!

GALLERY: 2019 Perodua Axia Style

GALLERY: 2019 Perodua Axia AV

Matthew H Tong

An ardent believer that fun cars need not be fast and fast cars may not always be fun. Matt advocates the purity and simplicity of manually swapping cogs while coping in silence of its impending doom. Matt's not hot. Never hot.

• KopiPes on Oct 15, 2019 at 5:58 pm

1. Love the Fact that Gxtra spec got the full spec projector headlamp, stability control safety.
    RM34.9k for Malaysian’s cheapest Small car with VSC.

2. Love the Fact that Style got VSC and Push Start.

3. Love the Fact that Advance got A.S.A. 2.0
    with Autonomous Emergency brake up to 80km/h, precollision warning control, Pedal Misoperation Control.

even RM 125k full spec Honda H-RV dont have.
    Thanks brother Geely made Proton X70. RM123k version Full spec got all safety features.

Perodua listen and follow the best example.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 5
    • You right bro. tak payah pening, dapat yang best

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 6
      • Chavez on Oct 15, 2019 at 9:03 pm

Which why many get the best; Proton Saga. The car that is in every Malaysian hearts.

• Kuih lapis on Oct 16, 2019 at 12:27 am

Without the need of test driving it, everyone already knows that Perodua Axia is trully a game changing hatchback. This is why Saga FL doesn’t have the chance to beat Axia FL sales.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
      • Abang2 Sambung Bayar on Oct 16, 2019 at 8:58 am

Another beauty by Perodua. This is the reason why Perodua sales is always 4X more than Proton every year for the past 20 years.

Amazing company. Until today, never asked or begged for a single sen of bailout. And until today, every year been giving LHDN billions in company tax. Other car companies, cannot make money, been given about 20 years of tax exemptions from LHDN.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 7
        • Copy Paste on Oct 16, 2019 at 2:18 pm

Another car for Perodua fanboys to be happy. Japan and Daihatsu do all the hard work, Perodua just syiok sendiri and claim glamour.

25 years of motoring down the drain as they have always been just a rebadger.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
        • Celup King on Oct 16, 2019 at 2:25 pm

LHDN don’t give tax exemptions bodoh. From this we know the rest above is all just lies.

• Carolyn Khaw on Oct 15, 2019 at 7:24 pm

Perodua, the youngsters you’re targeting wants to play their music over their smartphones. Please put Bluetooth connectivity or at least AUX input. Not all of us can afford the top of the range AV. We’re not even asking for Android auto or Apple carplay.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
      • Abang2 Sambung Bayar on Oct 16, 2019 at 9:00 am

Don’t talk about the Axia. The new Myvi, From November 2018 to Sept 2019 already sold 200,000 units.

The same Proton Iriz, same period, only sold 786 cars

Wow – 200,000 vs 786. Malaysians have spoken which is the better car!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 9
        • Another number you pulled from your backside? We all know your shenanigans. Sau pei lar, tikus.

• Siam kap on Oct 16, 2019 at 5:42 pm

Ask 30 millions Malaysians, and all of them (minus one idiot) will nobrainer choose 768 Musang Kings compared to 200,000 rambutans as the better option.

• Darren on Oct 15, 2019 at 6:11 pm

When they ran out of ways to compete, they tack on gaudy bodykits. That is what you get for 27 years of continuous rebadging. No creativity at all!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 19
  • C.P. MOHAN on Oct 15, 2019 at 7:06 pm

Style and AV PERODUA

• alldisc on Oct 15, 2019 at 8:36 pm

Dump 1.3 engine into axia and call it GTi. It will be WOW. for hardcore. Manual only please.

• Kamil on Oct 15, 2019 at 9:07 pm

i parted with my Axia after less than 2 years because i find the engine noise was so unbearable and i had to keep pushing the accelerator to the floor to get any respectable performance from the engine. So, as a result, fuel consumption was not acceptable.
    I replaced the Axia with the Myvi 1.5 and I am very happy with it.

• Raykat on Oct 15, 2019 at 10:15 pm

Well done perodua

• The Truth on Oct 15, 2019 at 10:59 pm

Achieving over 20km per liter is in fantasy land. I’ve owned 1 for a year it averaged around 13km per liter. But the thing I couldn’t stand is the tires fitted on the car, the Silverstones, low rolling resistance high fuel economy. Or truthfully no grip and dangerous, is saving a little more fuel more important than your life? Advanced Safety features are good to have and all but remember tires are the most important thing even Ferrari’s only have 4 tires to help it stay on the road. If you happen to buy an Asia and see Silverstone on your Axia change them immediately I almost lost control twice driving in the rain at only moderate speeds. And the engine’s vibration just gets worse and worse over time a real let down, economical but it doesn’t have enough performance so you end up flooring it more ruining your fuel economy. If you can afford it Myvi is a much better option

• aXia oWnerx on Oct 16, 2019 at 3:36 pm

First gen Axia owner here, have been driving it for 4 years. I agree with the fuel consumption part. 20km/l is fantasy land, 13km/l is more realistic. But mine has Hankook tires and grip is pretty decent even on wet roads. Why do you have the cheap Silverstone tires? Still, I love the Axia. I agree it drives terrible with the vague steering, underpowered 1.0L engine and poor sound proofing. But why I love it? Because
      1. It is cheap (Car price sub 40k, low monthly loan service)
      2. It is cheap (13km/l, never worry about petrol cost)
      3. It is cheap (Roadtax RM20 per year)
      4. It is cheap (Insurance under Rm1000 per year & getting cheaper by the year)
      4. I am poor. (I am from B40 group when I purchased it, now I moved up to lower end of M40 group)

Being so cheap to own, to maintain and to run, my life is only getting easier by the years as my financials improved over the years and yet the little Axia never breaks down and ever so reliably doing its duty of getting me around. It’s a shitbox to car enthusiasts, but this shitbox has served me loyally for the past 4 years without any failures and did it all without making me broke. Gotta love the Axia.

And oh, the MyVi is indeed a better car it is a B segment car as opposed to Axia a A segment car. I have driven both and found that the ride comfort is better in the Axia ironically. MyVi (2017) ride is too stiff and it’s really uncomfortable in Malaysian roads with potholes coming out of nowhere.

• FantasticKelinchi on Oct 17, 2019 at 1:15 am

Myvi 2017 is the the second gen Myvi Lagi Best or the new one?

• tatu880 on Oct 16, 2019 at 8:50 am

Its a shame they only offer manual transmission for the base spec. The upper variants should also have manual options. At least include ABS in the base spec la. Its a moving coffin!

• Sceptical on Oct 16, 2019 at 8:54 am

Move on please..not much to talk about this facelift..nothing change from my perspective…only cosmetic…is good if perodua could demonstrate the safety features to public rather than paper statement.

• Satthiya Seelan A/L Raman on Oct 16, 2019 at 9:05 am

If they could make the AV with Style body, that would be nice.

• Engineer on Oct 16, 2019 at 9:15 am

Garbage in, garbage out. This car is pure garbage.

• Axia Terbaik!

• anonymous on Oct 16, 2019 at 10:07 am

He is being rude wearing sunglasses during presentation

• No problem with that bro.. How about singer wearing sunglasses? Rude too?

• Winston on Oct 16, 2019 at 11:37 am

Is the manual transmission a good buy? This is for 2nd car tht seldom drive and occasionally for e-hailing. I love driving manual(acah2 racer)

• Predict Malaysia vehicle sales data for September 2019 by brand:
    1. Perodua @ Mumm-Ra 15900 units
    2. Proton @ Thundercats 8934 units
    3. Honda 6200 units
    4. Toyota 4900 units
    5. Nissan 1800 units

• YB Kunta Kinte on Oct 21, 2019 at 1:55 pm

too much car already on the road…this one should be ban and let motorcycles to be much cheaper