2020 Kawasaki ZX-25R launching in Indonesia, July 10

Much awaited by quarter-litre motorcycle fans especially in Malaysia and South East Asia, the 2020 Kawasaki ZX-25R will be launched in Indonesia on July 10. The announcement was made via a video posted by Kawasaki Indonesia and shows the ZX-25R in two colours, all black like Kawasaki’s Winter Test bikes and in corporate colours of Kawasaki Racing Green.

Setting the ZX-25R apart from the current crop of sports 250s is the inline four-cylinder mill with liquid-cooling and DOHC, along with a 17,000 rpm rev limit. As tested in Jerez, Spain by Kawasaki World Superbike riders Jonathan Rea and Alex Lowes in saddle, the ZX-25R is capable of speeds above 160 km/h out of the box.

A racing version of the ZX-25R has also been, loaded with performance bling and destined for a Japan race series. This is done with the addition of a carbon-fibre fairing, A-Tech seat and tank pads, Beet Nassert Evolution Type II titanium exhaust and Dunlop Sportmax 13SP tyres.

2020 Kawasaki ZX-25R launching in Indonesia, July 10

In standard form, the ZX-25R comes with a quickshifter, selectable rider modes and traction control, bringing big bike technology down to the small displacement market. Suspension is of similar spec, with Showa’s SFF-BP (Separate Function Fork – Big Piston) 37 mm diameter upside-down fork in front and a Horizontal Back-Link mono shock in the rear.

No power figures have as yet been released for the ZX-25R and readers will have to wait till all is revealed at the Indonesia launch. What do you think? Does the ZX-25R need to be released in Malaysia? Leave a comment with your thoughts and opinions, below.

Coming with diverse and extensive experience in heavy engineering, Mohan enjoys making anything with wheels go fast, especially motorcycles. His weapon of choice is the Desmoquattro engine, and he has a penchant for anything with a dash of Italian design. Strangely enough, he insists he's a slow rider.

• Hi Editor, why not? Do you think Malaysian not deserved to own this bike?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 9
    • Hafriz Shah (Member) on Jun 30, 2020 at 12:36 pm

It’s a question, buddy. If you think it should be launched here, then share that opinion.

• Sure we want it to be launched in Malaysia. Just the question raised another question….

• if its launched here in malaysia, it will be a highly premium and exclusive product.

in terms of performance, the ninja 400 is way better. and both are predicted to be in the same price range. and some say it will be around ninja 650s price, so its not for everybody.

its probably for someone who is looking for a unique addition for the garage, or probably someone who doesnt want to upgrade their licence to B full for unknown reasons, and wanting a small bike that sounds like a superbike.

• Jonn Dol on Jun 30, 2020 at 6:57 pm

This bike will be for those who can afford up to Ninja 400R price range but dreaming of owning an in-line 4 screamer superbike. The ZX-25R should be lighter & more frantic experience than the Ninja 400R. Good for thrill seekers!

• sardin on Jun 30, 2020 at 1:26 pm

Yes bring them inside! Please.
    Kawa has always been generous with their variety of offerrings.
    I miss the older gen of small displacement 4 cylinder Kawa but they are now way too old.
    Newer 250 are only twins or even singles (what the heck?) – one more variant should not hurt. They have good small bass sound with or without aftermarket cans. No need to be fast. Nowhere to go fast.

• I think need to released in Malaysia also. But, need to see the price if want people to buy.

• Ben Yap on Jun 30, 2020 at 1:53 pm

spoke to a kawasaki dealer and it is expected to be above RM30K. he said with that price, you can get the ninja 400 already.

• vivizurianti on Jun 30, 2020 at 2:20 pm

Abang abang Indon surely bergaya riding this 25r, I bet Abang abang in malaysia oso wants gaya riding…..

• Not anymore
      https://paultan.org/2020/06/30/malaysian-govt-may-withdraw-bike-convoy-permission-under-rmco-other-freedoms-may-be-restricted/

• panjang on Jun 30, 2020 at 2:28 pm

Sure we want it to come here so we can listen to the music it produces.

Since this entry category bike comes fully loaded, only those with fully loaded pocket can afford it. If those people got fully loaded pocket, they will go for other bike at higher cc category.

Even the entry level Ninjas are hard to see…this one will be a very rare sight.

• Sign me in. I’m badly want it!!!

• sandeep bara on Jul 01, 2020 at 9:52 am

KAWASAKI WILL LAUNCH THIS COOL BIKE IN INDIA …..OR WE HAVE TO WAIT .

• Modenas ZX250R…Malaysia boleh… :)

• Maran on Jul 01, 2020 at 11:07 pm

Guys when will kawasaki launch 2020 ninja 650. Any update plzz

• Maran on Jul 01, 2020 at 11:09 pm

Guys when will Kawasaki will launch 2020 ninja 650

• Pure Two-Stroke on Jul 02, 2020 at 11:53 am

Those filament bulbs-type turn signals are outdated.

• Absolutely yes!! Bring it to Malaysia no question