F44 BMW 2 Series Gran Coupe spotted on a trailer in Malaysia – 218i M Sport variant to be launched soon?

It looks like the F44 BMW 2 Series Gran Coupe will be the next model to be introduced by BMW Malaysia, as an example of the C118 Mercedes-Benz CLA rival has been spotted on a trailer by paultan.org reader Athiithan Khan.

Based on the same front-wheel drive architecture (FAAR) as the latest F40 1 Series, which was launched here back in July, the 2 GC celebrated its global premiere back in October 2019, and has since made its way to Singapore and Thailand.

Like those markets, it appears we’ll be getting the 2 GC in 218i M Sport guise, which is powered by a B38 1.5 litre turbocharged three-cylinder petrol engine that delivers 140 PS (138 hp) from 4,600 to 6,500 rpm and 220 Nm of torque from 1,480 to 4,200 rpm. Mated to the engine is a seven-speed dual-clutch transmission driving the front wheels, allowing for a zero to 100 km/h time of 8.7 seconds and a 215 km/h top speed.

The 2 GC also comes in a hotter M235i xDrive variant, which uses a more powerful B48 2.0 litre unit that makes 306 PS (302 hp) and 450 Nm, with an eight-speed Steptronic Sport automatic transmission. This combo is good for a century sprint time of 4.9 seconds and 250 km/h top speed, although it isn’t certain if we will get this option – it is offered in Singapore.

As the variant name suggests, the M Sport package will come as standard, which consists of sportier bumpers, chrome trim on the grille and likely M Sport suspension as well. The wheels fitted to the car seen on the trailer are 18-inch double-spoke style 819 M alloys, while the paint finish appears to be Misano Blue.

No shots of the interior for obvious reasons, but the 2 GC is pretty much identical the 1 Series and can be equipped with BMW Live Cockpit Professional system, which sees BMW Operating System 7.0 powering two 10.25-inch displays.

If you’re curious just how the 2 GC stacks up against the CLA in terms of dimensions, the BMW model measures 4,526 mm long, 1,800 mm wide and 1,420 mm tall, making it 162 mm shorter, 30 mm narrower and 19 mm lower than its competitor. The 2,670 mm wheelbase is also 59 mm shorter by comparison, while the boot space is 430 litres against 460 litres.

Despite its shared platform with the 1 Series, the 2 GC is anything but a hatchback with a boot tacked on. Instead, the bodywork has a style of its own, with a sleek and low-slung roofline that ends in a fastback-like rear, paired with frameless windows for extra flair. Elsewhere, the conjoined front kidney grille is flanked by angular headlamps, while the slim taillights around back echoes the G02 X4.

It isn’t certain when the 2 GC will make its official launch debut here, but when it does, it will offer buyers looking for a compact four-door coupe a more affordable but less performance-focused alternative to the CLA, which is only offered here in CLA 45 S 4Matic+ guise that is priced beyond RM400k. Interested?

GALLERY: F44 BMW 218i M Sport Gran Coupe at the 2020 Singapore Motor Show

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• (Like) Mercedes-Benz CLA.
    (Dislike) BMW 2 Series Gran Coupe

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 22
  • BMW Two on Sep 09, 2020 at 4:43 pm

The downer-
    1. FWD,
    2.1.5L 3cyl tgdi

The coolness –
    1. 218i M 138hp should cheaper than 320i S 181hp
    2. Low roof line, frameless glass

• Mazda3 sedan look nicer, powerer n cheaper…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 16
      • Haidi on Sep 09, 2020 at 7:57 pm

Indeed. But for some, they want a German batch in front. And the back. Well… We cannot comment.

• Wrong room Mazda guy on Sep 10, 2020 at 10:10 am

Er..you got to the wrong thread. Mazda does not belong in this room, politely asking you to go back to your honda and toyota hyundai thread. Some BEemer and merc owner doesnt even know what is Mazda. Casio vs Rolex, i know casio has backlight but sorry NO! Rolex for me anytime. Self winding? No problem. Thanks.

• seancorr (Member) on Sep 09, 2020 at 7:11 pm

It may not be if it’s in CBU form. The X2 certainly wasn’t cheap…

• So a German Honda City.

• For those who knows about the badge and knows nothing about cars

• Bieight on Sep 09, 2020 at 5:21 pm

Should have bring in the 220i m sport

• anonymous on Sep 09, 2020 at 5:42 pm

This design is so un-BMW. CLA any time over this, period.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 8
  • Ben Yap on Sep 09, 2020 at 6:22 pm

the design really looks budget. this is for those who wants the badge but not able to pay for a higher price. one should at least go for a 3 series.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 13
    • aikon on Sep 09, 2020 at 8:33 pm

same 1.5 litre turbo, but bmw 138hp only. civic tebo 178hp, the same 1.5 base engine in Honda F1.

• Mr Visionary on Sep 09, 2020 at 11:32 pm

No, everyone should boycott bmw as they are still selling products that dont come with radar cruise control and low follow which a big betray to malaysians, better go with Toyota Rav4 with toyota safety sense with radar cruise control and good resale value

• seancorr (Member) on Sep 09, 2020 at 7:12 pm

I think BMW is anticipating this to sell more than the 1er for them to bring the 218i in and not the 118i which was offered in SG. Pity coz the 1er’s butt looks way better than the 2GC.

• that side view picture reminds me of previous gen mazda 2 sedan or ford focus sedan

had the really weird proportion look ^^

• For those who “I can’t afford a proper BMW”
    Wannabe gonna be so happy

• hehehe on Sep 10, 2020 at 8:09 am

G20 340i rasanya pun ada hehehehe

• priceee on Sep 10, 2020 at 11:28 am

CKD or CBU? if CBU would not get cheap.
    better buy if got CKD 318i with cheaper price

• 318i is also another “I can’t afford a proper BMW”.. so yea.. 218i and 318i are abang adik..