Honda Malaysia delivers 40 units of Civic to the army

Honda Malaysia (HM) today delivered 40 units of the Civic 1.8 S to the Malaysian Army for the purpose of law enforcement and policing duties by the Royal Military Police Corps. This comes months after PDRM received their first batch of the C-segment sedan (pictured).

“Previously, the PDRM had also chosen the best-selling C-segment as their new mobile patrol vehicles and we are currently delivering more than 1,000 units of the Civic 1.8S to them to be used for their enforcement duties. Honda Malaysia is proud that the Civic has once again been selected as our frontliners’ vehicle of choice,” said Honda Malaysia MD and CEO Toichi Ishiyama.

Since its launch in February this year, 5,600 units of the CKD locally-assembled Civic facelift have been delivered as of end August. With that HM claims the top spot in the C-segment with a 78% market share as of July.

The Civic range starts from the 1.8 S and moves on to the mid-spec 1.5 TC and range-topping 1.5 TC-P, priced from RM109,326 to RM134,934 with the 2020 sales tax exemption.

The 1.8L i-VTEC normally-aspirated engine makes 141 PS and 174 Nm, while the two 1.5L variants feature the L15B7 1.5 litre VTEC Turbo unit with 173 PS and 220 Nm. Both engines are paired to a CVT sending drive to the front wheels.

New equipment for the facelift include front parking sensors, automatic wipers, and 60:40 split-folding rear seats, while the seven-inch Advanced Display Audio head unit now features a rotary on/off and volume control knob as well as physical function buttons.

The 1.5 TC now comes equipped with LED headlamps and fog lamps (halogen previously) as well as Honda LaneWatch, while the 1.5 TC-P now features the Honda Sensing suite of safety and driver assist systems. Full specs and galleries here.

GALLERY: 2020 Honda Civic 1.8 S

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Altis Owner on Sep 10, 2020 at 5:06 pm

Why would army even need civic in their daily work

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 7
    • They drive civic to set up RMCO roadblocks,

• Driver on Sep 11, 2020 at 11:32 am

Because they go through tough trainings and ready to serve their country with blood.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 11
    • Longkang on Sep 11, 2020 at 1:03 pm

Interesting that so many bored honda fanboys are trying hard for aping Our Patrotic Country Proton

• This is MP, they police the army both inside and outside the camp.
      An example, they will hunt for deserters. They also do escort duty.

• D Anilselvam on Sep 10, 2020 at 5:07 pm

Why not using Proton????? Patriotic

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 3
    • Lolwhut on Sep 10, 2020 at 8:14 pm

Proton = Geely

• Brian on Sep 11, 2020 at 12:26 am

Preve is no longer in production so Melaka CKD Civic is next best thing.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 27
    • Dato Dr Hj Yaakop Ismail on Sep 11, 2020 at 7:50 am

Cause Proton break down a lot and maintenance is very high. Do you know the Waja maintenance is far more expensive than keeping a 15 year old Mercedes W210?

The Army wants to save money not pay more money in maintenance.

The Proton Perdana service bill is RM120k for 3 years. That is according to Spanco, the company that leases the Proton Perdana to the Malaysian Government.

Mind you, that also under 5 years warranty where parts are free

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 13
      • Ghani on Sep 11, 2020 at 12:39 pm

Sure Kunta. We bilip you. Oh yes.

• DarthZoom on Sep 15, 2020 at 10:51 am

Pls do your homework, don’t exaggerate –
        First, i own a Perdana before, i knw the pro & con about the car.
        Second, the new & current Perdana is base on Honda Accord

• Raja Kamarul on Sep 17, 2020 at 10:10 am

The problem is SPANCO la brader…. LOLz

• Good luck to those armies for using 40 units Civic and PDRM Drivers for using Civic. Will get headache and full of stress

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 17
    • Logic on Sep 10, 2020 at 11:26 pm

By just reading some anti-Civic FB comments, u generalise that it’s not reliable. Turbo kena bash, NA pun kena bash. So what car do u expect PDRM & army MP to use to chase the baddies? Bezza Saga?

C segment sedan is just nice balance btwn enough power/handling for pursuit enforcement & maintenance costs.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 27
      • Marya on Sep 11, 2020 at 8:19 am

Depending on maintenance cost for using other brands of C segment sedan but Civic will be most expensive to maintain at service than any other C-segment competitors

• Lat33 on Sep 11, 2020 at 8:29 am

You got it wrong bro. There are not Anti-Civic FB comments. There are just the owners from Civic who made so much complaints about honda spare parts including oil dilution issues engine, fuel pump, steering rack and other spare parts issues. They didn’t even bash. They have their own experience.

• Add A Comment on Sep 11, 2020 at 8:57 am

been driving 10th Gen Civic for 3 years….no problemo…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 16
    • Driver on Sep 11, 2020 at 11:38 am

If you sold 10 apples and got 10% chance of quality issue, 1 apple spoilt, you get only 1 customer complaint, or if lucky, no spoilt apple you got 0 complaint. If you sold 10,000 apples, you will have more chance to run into bad apples…worse case got 1k customers complaint. Same apple tree but when sell more it seems bad quality… faham tak ?

• Kechara on Sep 11, 2020 at 1:33 pm

Depends bro. Even other car manufacturers sell 10000 apples, don’t see any complaints so far. And so you mean that 10000 apples can be bad quality. Naw, already out of topic and not related to bad quality/good quality. Only if talking parts issues, yes can talk about whether good quality/not. Faham tak? Use your more logic bro. Cheers :)

• Dong gor on Sep 10, 2020 at 7:30 pm

Is army and police the same?

• wa so many unsold civics ^^

• CitizenConcern on Sep 10, 2020 at 11:59 pm

“40 units of the Civic 1.8 S to the Malaysian Army for the purpose of law enforcement and policing duties by the Royal Military Police Corps.”

OMG … ARMy ?? doing What …since they have NO JURISDICTION on civilant Matters ???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
    • hantu raya on Sep 11, 2020 at 8:55 am

the MPs police the military la….SMH.

• Crit Magazine on Sep 11, 2020 at 9:07 am

Get educated please. The Royal Military Police Corps enforces military law and polices members of the military, not civilians.

• Driver on Sep 11, 2020 at 11:40 am

If you want to get one, work hard and earn one. It is just 40 units for the whole battalion…. ah dui… why so sakit hati when people get a better car ?

• pisang on Sep 11, 2020 at 5:25 pm

U need more exposure, mix around with people outside your comfort zone. U will be surprise of how many things u dont know.

They police the army inside and outside the camp.

• John Doe on Sep 11, 2020 at 8:57 pm

The fact that you’re asking the question, you clearly have no idea what they are required to do. The same can be asked of you, which I believe everyone here will agree youre arguably the ignorant champion today.

• Ben Yap on Sep 11, 2020 at 2:20 am

the civic holds 78% market share in the C-Segment. this shows how much malaysian loves the civic and they have entrusted their hard earn cash in a good a reliable car. I’ve been driving the civic turbo for over 3 years and i don’t face any issue. the car is still in tip top condition and i service my car faithfully in Honda service centre. the performance, space and practicality of the car is the best in its class.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 20
    • Matchy on Sep 11, 2020 at 12:31 pm

And the tiptop Resale Value too, power of dreams.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
    • Oh, here comes the Honda salesman. I bet all the comments about ‘been driving the Civic for 3 years’ are made by you.

• John Doe on Sep 11, 2020 at 8:44 am

Paultan, I miss those days where you cover MOT on a daily basis. Why so quiet after Anthony got fired?

• Darren on Sep 11, 2020 at 12:41 pm

It really depends on whether the MOT was spending his time promoting himself, hence you see more ‘news’ in the past, or actually putting the hours doing his work.

• vivizurianti on Sep 11, 2020 at 9:47 am

Malaysian Army sendiri tak support and buy Malaysian product like P1???

• Darren on Sep 11, 2020 at 12:43 pm

Because Preve is no longer made new? As a consolation here you go https://paultan.org/2020/08/25/2020-proton-x70-police-car-spotted-suv-joins-pdrm/

• Nasir Hamid on Sep 12, 2020 at 9:00 am

I think there was an error in reporting. The delivery was for the police force and not the army. Just look at the car livery. Besides the army cars are normally black