2020 Proton X50 officially revealed with two-tone red/black exterior and interior, Infinite Weave grille

And here it is! The hotly-anticipated 2020 Proton X50 has been officially revealed by the national carmaker, showing off the new compact crossover with the trademark Infinite Weave grille, blacked-out roof and red interior. Looks mighty good, doesn’t it?

There are little surprises here, of course, with it being very closely based on the Geely Binyue (or Coolray in the Philippines), with just the grille and Proton logos marking it out. Nonetheless, it’s a handsome and thoroughly modern design, far more edgy than its bigger brother, the X70.

Design highlights include the subtle red splashes on the grille, both front and rear brake calipers and of course, the black and red interior. The high-angle view shows off a panoramic sunroof too, which is definitely a first for this class of cars. Not too long ago, we also sighted the key fob that comes with the car, which doesn’t differ heavily from its counterparts in China and the Philippines, save for the Proton script at the back.

Looking at the interior, it is again, not unlike the Binyue in terms of design, but flipped from left- to right-hand drive and with the latest Proton logo on the steering wheel. On the dash is a wide-format touchscreen powered by a GKUI infotainment system, while other available features as far as our eyes can see include automatic air-conditioning, an electronic parking brake, selectable drive modes, second-row air vents with USB charging ports, and a digital instrument cluster display.

Further specifics have yet to be revealed just yet, but the X50 is likely getting a 1.5 litre turbocharged and direct-injection three-cylinder petrol engine with 177 hp and 255 Nm of torque, paired with a seven-speed dual-clutch transmission as available in both China and the Philippines. The 0-100 km/h time as claimed by Geely is 7.9 seconds.

Built on the modular BMA platform, the X50 is expected to be offered with class-leading safety features. Six airbags and electronic stability control will be standard, while the upper variant(s) are likely to have autonomous emergency braking (AEB) and even adaptive cruise control (ACC) with active lane keeping assist. Proton CEO Dr Li Chunrong even confirmed that it will get a full-fledged Level 2 semi-autonomous driving features!

Now that we have our first official look at the new Proton X50, it’s clear that we’re very close to the new model’s official debut. Li himself mentioned to expect big news this coming Tuesday, so as usual, stay tuned to paultan.org!

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• romance on Sep 12, 2020 at 10:26 am

(Like) Proton X50
    (Dislike) HRV

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 453 Thumb down 21
    • Peak Duo on Sep 12, 2020 at 10:48 am

Betul kan. Spare parts, service, maintenance also cheaper than Honda. Buying Honda Hybrid or Earth Dream CVT, later go to workshop and wasted lot of money

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 217 Thumb down 12
      • Typical Malaysian on Sep 12, 2020 at 1:32 pm

we racun pipul to buy P1 cars, but we nvr buy..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 50
        • Murtabak kampung on Sep 12, 2020 at 8:09 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 227
          • Safeguard on Sep 12, 2020 at 8:40 pm

At least this X50 have fully rated. Meanwhile, HRV and other honda models are still overrated. It is already law of nature. P1 > Honda

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 87 Thumb down 7
          • tikus on Sep 12, 2020 at 10:27 pm

Perodua D55L will not only disrupt Proton X50 sales, D55L will also disrupt Honda HR-V sales as well. If you look at Japan sales data, Toyota Raize sales is No. 1! This is why I believe that the upcoming Game-Changing D55L will be Malaysia’s best selling car just like in Japan

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 96
          • Proton Bargain on Sep 12, 2020 at 11:09 pm

Yeah it’s only 65k ! With 5 years unlimited mileage warranty

• Truckers on Sep 13, 2020 at 1:19 am

Sure tikus. Like you told us Aruz sales will disrupt X70 but in reality X70 slayed Aruz kaw-kaw despite being much more expensive.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 3
          • Optimus on Sep 13, 2020 at 1:22 am

Another berukdua sales man that try hard to make silly comment. Proton car is much superior than celup berukdua car. See the stability and technology. Berukdua R and D team only design grill and logo

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 2
          • Roti john on Sep 13, 2020 at 11:09 am

@Optimus Prime Just like Proton. We must not forget that this Game-Changing Proton X50 is fully designed and developed by Geely R&D center. Proton team only redesigned the grille and logo.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 32
          • Nasi lemak on Sep 13, 2020 at 11:15 am

This car is good but I am waiting for the Game-Changing D55L. When I was in Japan, I test drive the Toyota Raize and it feels so premium and fun to drive. It has a lot of safety features as well as cool gadgets. The exterior is stunning, even headlamp got sequential turn signal just like Lexus cars. The engine is very powerful, fuel saving and reliable. This is why I can’t wait for Perodua to launch the D55L. I’ll skip the X50.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 49
          • Maclaurin on Sep 13, 2020 at 1:40 pm

@ Optimus

The same goes to some of hondii sales men also trying hard to make silly comments. Can see hondii designers are getting lousiat and hondii cars also getting even more buruk now. That’s why hondii and their hondii R&D team decided to produce badge and put on General Motor Cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 1
          • Troll Hunter on Sep 13, 2020 at 7:19 pm

Yeah sure tikus @Roti john @nasi lemak. Your the only person i know can claim to change car every year and so soon after buy Persona last year somemore.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
          • Proton will launch X30 if this game over D55L planned launch next year.

• Roti john on Sep 13, 2020 at 8:08 pm

@Maclaurin But Mario, we haven’t seen any Honda cars rebadging GM cars yet. But, it is GM who is rebadging China cars. This shows that China knows what they are doing in car business. Every carmakers are rebadging China cars now. Even Proton R&D also resorted to produce badge and put on Geely cars

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 28
          • To That Honda Basher Guy on Sep 13, 2020 at 8:12 pm

And yet for all the bash you give to Honda and praising every other carmakers including Toyota, Nissan, Hyundai, Kia, etc, you still drive a Honda City. Either you must be lying or too tsundere to admit you loved Honda! LOL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 27
          • Mee goreng mamak on Sep 14, 2020 at 1:51 am

The Game-Changing X50 is clearly superior to Honda HR-V but I don’t understand why in China alone the Geely Binyue sales is still below Honda HR-V. I guess people still trust in Honda quality more than Geely. This is why Honda is positioned in No.3 while Geely in No.4

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
          • Apam balik on Sep 14, 2020 at 2:00 am

@Murtabak kampung I agree bro. It always happens before. Last time Proton Savvy hype is so huge but in the end Game-Changing Myvi sales is 6X more than Savvy. Same thing happened to Iriz too. Now the same will happen again with Proton X50 VS Perodua D55L.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
        • Racun people is for those buying new honda cars but not proton.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 78 Thumb down 3
        • Cantik sekali on Sep 13, 2020 at 9:13 am

The x50 will take away x70 and persona sales. Kill own brand. Japanese market will not hit by this. Not apple to apple comparison. Proton still need to catch up for next 5 years.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 34
          • Phaser on Sep 13, 2020 at 11:12 am

MAA sales figures say otherwise with both Honda and Toyota losing significant volume the past 18 months, most of which have been taken up by Proton. The latter is regaining lost ground with its new model offensive but the former is getting increasingly desperate as witnessed by their disparaging Honda City RS ad.

• X50 won’t cannibalized X70, persona sales and kill own brand but will only cannibalized HRV, City and Civic

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 3
          • Bolster on Sep 13, 2020 at 9:15 pm

@ Phaser

That’s their company attitude problem when posting unprofessional Honda City RS ad by showing off and attacking to few of car brands. But every car brands didn’t do anything wrong. And yet, Honda salesmen refusing for all sorts of wrongdoings against any of car brands including famous kimchi brands, as honda salesmen thinking that they didn’t even done anything while every car brands SA are all wrong. Shows that they are always lying. Even, most honda owners complaining their honda cars about spare parts, Honda Malaysia also always refuse to listen about their spare parts problems.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 1
      • AliAhKauRamasamy on Sep 12, 2020 at 1:39 pm

We think that we are more and more in love with X50… Just can’t wait to see and test drive it.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 70 Thumb down 2
        • (Like) Perodua Rocky rm65k.
          (Dislike) Proton X50 rm80k

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 27
        • Jeremy on Sep 13, 2020 at 2:07 pm

Perodua Rocky. Dont need wait to see and test drive… just buy and drive, enjoy the Rocky :D

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 11
      • tikus on Sep 12, 2020 at 3:59 pm

You are right. Geely has given a wonderful gift for all Malaysians. Now everyone will be so proud of buying Proton X50. Thank you Geely, thank you Li Chunrong. You have made Proton shine again. We thank you all for your hardwork and guidance. Without you, Proton would have already Game Over

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 35
        • Engineer on Sep 12, 2020 at 10:43 pm

And yet for all the bash you give to Proton and praising China, you still bought a brand new homegrown Proton Persona last year. Either you must be lying or too tsundere to admit you loved Proton! Ha ha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 5
      • newme on Sep 14, 2020 at 9:07 am

Cheaper apa? Takde guna cheaper klu sentiasa takde spare part. Cuba tanya pemilik X70.

• X70 Buyer on Sep 14, 2020 at 10:05 am

Yes, I’m one but I never face difficulties with spareparts. Where did you get that from?

• Copy Paste on Sep 14, 2020 at 10:20 am

Copy paste: “I am X70 Owner who bought Feb 2020, I don’t see any issues so far, so no problem for me. If you ask other X70 owners, don’t see any problems for driving X70 too. Btw, I don’t see anyone from FB group finding problems about spare parts using X70 so far. So your statement is untrue bruh.”

• newme on Sep 16, 2020 at 11:49 am

Copy paste

Owner Says Proton X70 Spare Parts Unavailable for 2 Months

Proton X70 Owner Waiting For Spare Parts

Proton X70 Parts Issue Upsetting Its Owner

• Brian on Sep 12, 2020 at 11:14 am

Gudcar come to those who wait, Perodua Rocky.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 51
    • Habis lorr all Bsegment cars. P1, Geely, Volvo Mesidis, Lotus > all
      HAHAHAHAHAHAHA!!!!!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 63 Thumb down 11
      • k/tard on Sep 12, 2020 at 2:56 pm

If we let China take over other local companies, they will improve just like Proton and Volvo.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 11
        • JOACHIM on Sep 12, 2020 at 10:37 pm

Yes. Nissan-Mitsubishi should just sell off to China instead of bleeding Renault dry.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 11
          • k/tard on Sep 12, 2020 at 11:09 pm

That’s the japanese punya problem. it doesnt concern us

• If not concern then there is no p1 bashers badmouth p1

• lilytan on Sep 12, 2020 at 2:56 pm

Those CX30, CHR & GLA owner upgrade to X50.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 10
        • Lucy Tan on Sep 13, 2020 at 9:16 am

Now that x70 and x50 drivers must work harder and earn more to aim for korean or sushi car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 16
      • John 2020 on Sep 12, 2020 at 5:59 pm

Bloody high temptations! Stunningly beautifull Ins-and-outs!
        P1 Inhouse engineers will up the notch with Better R&H + NVH!
        Even our resident bashers Kunta & Ben and their circle of P2 & Honda staffs now secretly Malu2 salivating these photos and Desperately cant wait for the 15thSept soft launch reports from PT soon

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 9
    • Rakyat Malaysia on Sep 12, 2020 at 11:28 am

Nicely done Proton! Go go go P1!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 4
      • X70 FB Page on Sep 13, 2020 at 1:52 pm

when reading FB groups, i see some x70 owners complaining about the spare parts. one screenshot posted on Lowyat Kopitiam shows an owner waiting for spare parts for 6 months! hope they get it right with the x50 or else…
        after sales issues it seems

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 18
        • Sikal on Sep 13, 2020 at 8:19 pm

I am X70 Owner who bought Feb 2020, I don’t see any issues so far, so no problem for me. If you ask other X70 owners, don’t see any problems for driving X70 too. Btw, I don’t see anyone from FB group finding problems about spare parts using X70 so far. So your statement is untrue bruh.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
        • Ahcong on Sep 14, 2020 at 8:06 am

You are lying

• X70 FB Page on Sep 14, 2020 at 2:53 pm

I’m not. I saw the screenshots of the complaints On the lowyat forum.
            The owner complained about waiting for 6 months.

if the thread is still up, I can post it here

• Sirim on Sep 12, 2020 at 11:42 am

Guaranteee that this makes you zero stress from all sorts from steering rack, Honda Sensing issues, fuel pump, airbag, oil dilution turbo honda engine

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 114 Thumb down 8
    • Jiang on Sep 12, 2020 at 12:15 pm

All these city, jazz, hrv, and brv owners are waiting to upgrade to X50, Myvi Vios, Almera & Mazda 2

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 70 Thumb down 8
    • I can tell Hafriz is genuinely blardy impressed with the new car judging by the number of blardiness. For an automotive writer who also owns a Merc, that is a huge challenge. Proton really hit the ball out of the park for a homerun. ;-)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 5
      • A gud car will impress anyone. Deswai Albert Yong @Kunta, bought 2019 P1 Persona. HAHAHAHAHA!!!!!

• Roti john on Sep 13, 2020 at 8:47 pm

Enough with the Game Over fake news john. Up there you said I owned a 2019 Persona, now you say Kunta also owned the same 2019 Persona, which one is correct? Didn’t Hafriz already reminded us all before not to post fake news? Please bertaubat john, I know you can do it!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 12
          • Copy Paste on Sep 14, 2020 at 1:13 am

Copy paste: “Exaggerate much?”… Oh wait, didn’t you told us before the B40 comprised of 60% rakyat which Hafriz corrected you? So who is posting fake news here? [CP]

• EDITOR on Sep 14, 2020 at 9:22 am

Because it is so obvious you are one and same with all those names, Kunta.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 8
          • EDITOR is fake on Sep 14, 2020 at 1:54 pm

You’re clearly
            not the real Editor if you don’t actually know who is who HAHA

• LIKE: X50, Almera, Vios Facelift, Persona
    DISLIKE: HRV, City, Jazz, BRV

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 176 Thumb down 17
  • Art Ant on Sep 12, 2020 at 10:29 am

Better save money to buy X50 instead of buying City Hybrid and slower H City

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 124 Thumb down 11
    • Brian on Sep 12, 2020 at 1:19 pm

Panasonic & York now made in China so people are buying China aircons. TV all buy Samsung? So no one buys Sony TV anymore from what you said. Has Japanese brand and tech fallen so far below even Xiomi and Hisense is better than them?

• Dato..Dato on Sep 12, 2020 at 4:27 pm

What kind of comparison is that?

U want to buy a TV and go to electrical shop, how many shop carry Xiaomi and Hisense?
      Same goes for aircond.

• Lollapalooza on Sep 12, 2020 at 5:15 pm

“Never” is such a strong word to use. “Never” means that not a single Malaysian ever buy those brands that you just mentioned. Which comes to a question, HOW DO YOU EVEN KNOW THAT? Are you a spy? But even a spy couldn’t keep up what brands the people buy in Malaysia. And I doubt that those brands were never bought. Besides, Geely is like Huawei, and you didn’t even mention Huawei. Why is that?

• as usual la, narrow minded

• dream_125 on Sep 12, 2020 at 6:56 pm

“WHY WHY WHY?”

“Samsung Electronics Egypt is today (October 24) celebrating five years of producing “Made in Egypt” high-quality TVs.”

Maybe people like TV’s made in Egypt?

• Honda use hybrid because Honda want safe the world.Hybrid is efficient

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 34
      • Copy and Paste II on Sep 13, 2020 at 12:32 am

Copy and Paste: “ Buying Honda Hybrid or Earth Dream CVT, later go to workshop and wasted lot of money”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
      • Ya ya ya on Sep 13, 2020 at 2:57 am

Hybrid no resale value in Malaysia bro, doesn’t matters toyota, hyundai, honda… Hard to sell off when come to second hand markets.

• GuruTeacher on Sep 14, 2020 at 2:29 pm

“.. SAFE the world” ?? That doesn’t make sense at all.

• this comment shows the lack-of-education of most Honda lovers.

• M & B on Sep 12, 2020 at 10:30 am

Looks good!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 3
  • We are so exciting to see this. It is fun

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 6
    • FudgeMeSideways on Sep 12, 2020 at 11:17 am

How fun?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 19
      • Erratic on Sep 12, 2020 at 12:37 pm

XD….You don’t know understand what did you mean by fun? XD……You think this car is just for fun meh. XD….. Fun can another word which could interesting and lovable as well

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 4
      • Erratic on Sep 12, 2020 at 12:38 pm

XD….You don’t know understand what did you mean by fun? XD……You think this car is just for fun meh? XD….. Not really……Fun can another word which could interesting and lovable as well

• Nope, certainly not interchangeable with those meanings.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 14
          • AutoFill on Sep 12, 2020 at 8:36 pm

Aiyoo, you tak faham, check from dictionary la! Lolz

• dictionary on Sep 30, 2020 at 4:18 pm

you should really get a dictionary or a thesaurus mate. *facepalm*

• Ahcong on Sep 12, 2020 at 2:06 pm

So fun, like eating chee chong fun

• Treats on Sep 12, 2020 at 10:41 am

Bring this quickly, and end the HRV domination. Everyone wanna to have more experience with this new brand thing instead of driving old/new HRV

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 2
    • Brian on Sep 12, 2020 at 1:23 pm

This will also kill Alza and Aruz sales. Perodua Rocky better be cheap as Myvi or else get slaughtered too.

• justin on Sep 12, 2020 at 11:54 pm

Alza and Aruz are MPVs, they’re not even in the same segment!
        they got diff target audience bro

• Price segment bro. Mesian buys cars based on pricing rather than see segments.

• sam123 on Sep 12, 2020 at 2:49 pm

Resale value of the new X50 same as 2016 HRV

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 25
  • Jaguh on Sep 12, 2020 at 10:51 am

This is an extremely nice vehicle!!! Looks beautiful, advance features and good value for money

• I was not a fans of Proton but the X70 and now this X50 had changed my perception

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 4
    • rjmsfire on Sep 12, 2020 at 1:56 pm

X70 and X50 are not actual Protons, they are rebadged Geelys with minor Proton design input, such as the infinite weave grille. So when it comes to the whole vehicle, whether Proton’s quality of indigenous design has improved after Geely came in, is still a question mark.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 40
      • Alamak! on Sep 12, 2020 at 11:11 pm

Both our national carmakers rebadging other cars… sedih

• Perodua Myvi was designed and built by us

• Damon Lee on Sep 14, 2020 at 9:20 am

Designing outer skin in like Koreans putting on makeup. You cannot fool anybody but the gullible.

• Lucy Tan on Sep 13, 2020 at 9:18 am

Protong super R&D team designed the grill as usual. In term of reliability and technology, far away from korean and japanese

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 32
  • Nice.. but do they have a 4-potter engine pair with conventional automatic?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 8
  • Eh wait. Was there a media presentation or launch? Dun understand.

• CHONG PO HEE on Sep 12, 2020 at 11:33 am

Another rebadged Geely car enjoying Proton’s preferential tariff advantage. So UNFAIR to other CKD model which have much higher local content than the X50, X70.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 67
    • simon on Sep 12, 2020 at 12:45 pm

agreed.

end the preferential treatment. proton is not local car anymore.

somemore still hear people say support local. proton now is MNC lo!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 27
      • Celup King on Sep 12, 2020 at 3:21 pm

Proton have long ago unshackled themselves from protectionism, they are today competing against Japanese brands on equal term. What is still dependant on the teats of protectionism is Perodua. They will suffer most, if not totally closed down, when protectionism ends.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 5
        • Equal terms? Sell at the same prices as the japanese brands lah kalau berani.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 9
          • Lolwhut on Sep 12, 2020 at 11:51 pm

Habislah…. now all the Proton fanboys are gonna come and attack you

• Truckers on Sep 13, 2020 at 1:15 am

Did you forget X70 selling at Rm123k? That was withing eyeshot of CR-V Rm140k pricing and yet soon after debuting it conquered the SUV market which also included the much cheaper Aruz. What is your excuse for that?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
          • CHONG PO HEE on Sep 13, 2020 at 10:09 am

Toyota, Honda are not allows to sell cheap. Their selling price have to get govt approval b4 they can annouce to the public. Car industries should be liberalised and all car brand are freely allowed to set thier own selling price without interfere from govt.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
          • Use your brain by comparing top spec vs top spec, not top spec vs low spec LOL.

Aruz an SUV? LOL. What’s your excuse for being so gullible?

• History Bender on Sep 13, 2020 at 12:35 pm

Toyota, Honda not allowed to sell cheap? Then what about Nissan?
            They had Almera @RM69k which is close to Persona prices. Why Nissan can do it but not Toyota or Honda. Is it the Gomen or just their greed stopping them to provide cheaper cars?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 6
          • As what Elmers had mentioned, Honda is so cheap but other japanese cars, korean cars and proton are not allowed to sell cheap and decided to make price hike that happened in 4-5 years ago. Is it because Gomen also making protectionism for Honda as well?

• Copy Paste on Sep 14, 2020 at 1:14 am

Copy paste: “Toyota, Honda are more expensive in Thailand than here. How come? Does the Thai government not allow to sell cheap Toyota’s and Honda’s in Thailand?”

• stranger on Sep 14, 2020 at 9:25 am

Are you seriously justify X70 price compare to CRV? RM123K X70 full specs to RM142K CRV basic specs? Apple to apple,CRV high specs RM176k. RM53K diff of price advantage to Proton. Congrats!

• Elmers on Sep 12, 2020 at 1:10 pm

Also getting unfair by making higher price for nissan, toyota, hyundai, mazda and others while Honda is so cheap. That cannot be too.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 1
    • Brian on Sep 12, 2020 at 1:21 pm

You mean Perodua? But they had been enjoying national car status and incentives despite being merely a CKD assembler for Toyota & Daihatsu….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 0
    • Silthice on Sep 12, 2020 at 2:51 pm

It has been unfair for Perodua as well as the manufacturing plant majority share own by Daihatsu. Malaysia only has majority share in selling the car not in manufacturing. But nobody highlights this matter. That’s why Proton was severely handicapped back then when it has to build the engine and chassis from scratch. Do try and error own their own meanwhile Perodua just rebadge and only recently build the outer shell for Bezza and third generation myvi.

So in order to level the playing field, Proton has opted for Perodua way. It has been unfair for Proton all along the way but nobody bothers. Why people only highlight Proton but not Perodua?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 1
      • Optimus on Sep 12, 2020 at 10:43 pm

after Proton rebadged Mitsubishi, Honda, Suzuki, Citroen n RM35 Billion rakyat bailout. and hugely incompetent local management but nobody bothers, Geely Dr Li Chunrong saved Proton to level the playing field.

• lameguy on Sep 12, 2020 at 11:36 am

Rear air-cond with 2 rear USB instead of 1. Binyue biggest interior flaws (IMO) cleared.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 3
  • Daryl on Sep 12, 2020 at 11:43 am

Based on reliable, Hyundai, toyota, p1, mazda, bmw and nissan will be last longer than honda

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 3
    • Li Peng on Sep 13, 2020 at 6:24 pm

Can you stop that Honda thing? The article is about X50, not Honda. If you want to bash Honda, do this in a an article about Honda.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 19
      • What’s matter with that! You go to other brands articles, honda fanboys bash other brands. So why other brands can also bash honda, since honda fanboys have been badmouthing to other brands too often. Please think more logic bro

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
  • Zoom zoom on Sep 12, 2020 at 11:44 am

About same timing with X50, Basically Kia Selto is dead before launching

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 1
  • Vizio on Sep 12, 2020 at 12:07 pm

I See Rear A/C Vents, Gratz Proton U Finally Listen
    to Us……

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 1
  • with significantly underpowered engine of he Seltos (at least on the paper) , it makes Seltos unremarkable.

• Venza on Sep 12, 2020 at 12:19 pm

Impressive

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
  • Coolray on Sep 12, 2020 at 12:22 pm

Wow got aircon for rear passenger

• Wkaka on Sep 12, 2020 at 12:44 pm

Take my money!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 5
    • SK Lim on Sep 14, 2020 at 10:48 am

I been throwing money to the screen for the past 2 days but all I get is “bookings not open yet”! WHYYYY?!?!?!

• kubird on Sep 12, 2020 at 1:51 pm

got paddle shifters or not?

• Ya ya ya on Sep 13, 2020 at 2:59 am

No need… Dsg good enough if possible reduce 5k for none paddle shifters…

• albag on Sep 12, 2020 at 2:40 pm

i cannot tahan looking at that Thundercats logo

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 15
  • Hi, Proton on Sep 12, 2020 at 2:41 pm

Refer Full black interior, 17 inch Rims, 360 Cameras, 6/7 Airbags, LED Front & Rear Lamps and full safety spec good enough at Affordable price.

• PT Reader on Sep 12, 2020 at 2:54 pm

Not need to worry, this P X50 confirmed sell like no body business. Guess price around RM78 – RM95, if cheaper more damage to other same segment party. For Perodua, think maybe it will hurt Aruz sales, but for Axia, Bezza & Myvi still can escape from the heatwave. Honda HRV, Toyota CHR, Hyundai kona, Kia Seltos, even X70 are Significant impact。

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 13
    • X70 and Kona will not impact much by X50.

• Let's See on Sep 12, 2020 at 10:54 pm

RM78 – RM95k price range, we working adults in 20s & 30s surely pick this stylo SUV then H.City, Yaris n seken Civic.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 5
  • Almari on Sep 12, 2020 at 4:17 pm

This X50 177hp/255nm seems like a big bargain compared to New almera full specs 90k with only 100ps/152nm. Civic FC turbo also cant match up with X50 power. Offcouse the myvi still the king.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 24
  • Proton/Geely. why your X50 interior looks even more premium than the more expensive brother X70??

• Same L0rr on Sep 12, 2020 at 5:57 pm

Geely good rv. Campro bad rv.. Buy toyota better..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 19
    • Same L0rr Salah on Sep 12, 2020 at 8:49 pm

Salah, It should be

Honda Bad RV…..Better buy Toyota, Proton and others

Now that’s correct

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
    • Lets See on Sep 12, 2020 at 10:51 pm

Geely good rv. Campro bad rv.. Toyota longkang rv…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 22
  • Wallace on Sep 12, 2020 at 6:22 pm

Value for money as it will give its competitors a run for their money. That’s been Proton’s strategy when it launched C70.

• Very nice SUV, I like it!!

• Truth hurts on Sep 12, 2020 at 7:14 pm

The real competition is when we remove the high taxes on non proton cars. Let it be open. Let the people decide. Only then we can get benefits from other car companies.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 21
    • Truth hurts Salah on Sep 12, 2020 at 8:25 pm

Yeah but not proton anymore. The real competition is when we remove the high taxes on non honda cars. Let it be open. Let the people decide. Only then we can get benefits from other car companies.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 3
    • Engineer on Sep 12, 2020 at 10:45 pm

Really? Without high taxes, this car would be Rm 50-60k, so tell me which non-Proton brand has such a SUV with that many features at this cheap prices?

• Louis Yup on Sep 12, 2020 at 7:37 pm

Expect this car to flood the roads soon. Very nice car and value for the segment.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
  • What ever!I want choose Honda because Honda is no.1 power engine since 1946

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 22
  • Tititoo on Sep 12, 2020 at 9:48 pm

Time to sell my 6 year old Honda City GM6!! Any takers? E spec, still standard and just reached 105k KM. Bye bye Honda, hello Proton!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
  • Mohd Jamli on Sep 12, 2020 at 10:12 pm

Why the host wearing a face mask? Looked idiot. You are not in the crowded surrounding.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 57
    • Hafriz Shah (Member) on Sep 12, 2020 at 10:57 pm

I was in a public area, where the wearing of masks is mandatory.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 0
    • Kamal AutoGuide on Sep 13, 2020 at 12:28 am

Senior Minister Datuk Seri Ismail Sabri Yaakob has announced that face masks will be made mandatory on public transport and crowded places starting from 1stAugust. Those that don’t comply with the face mask directive can be slapped with a RM1000 compound notice under the Prevention and Control of Infectious Diseases Act 1988. The decision was made during a special ministerial meeting on the movement control order.

• DidiandRoma on Sep 13, 2020 at 10:40 am

Its your kind that gets on my nerves. I dont care if its public places or not I will wear them masks. I dont like taking chances and assume that I will be alright and will not get infected. Human tends to easily forget what is happening around them even if it just happened a few months ago.. Remember MCO? Dont wait until you got infected only you start thinking of your life etc.

• Johnweak on Sep 13, 2020 at 12:02 pm

Diam lah..org pakai mask u kecoh ape

• ALVIN YAP on Sep 13, 2020 at 6:02 pm

Biasanya yang cakap orang bodoh tu sendiri yang bodoh

• djlcs78 on Sep 15, 2020 at 1:11 pm

bodo this comment.

• CHONG PO HEE on Sep 13, 2020 at 10:09 am

Toyota, Honda are not allows to sell cheap. Their selling price have to get govt approval b4 they can annouce to the public. Car industries should be liberalised and all car brand are freely allowed to set thier own selling price without interfere from govt.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 9
    • History Bender on Sep 13, 2020 at 12:37 pm

Toyota, Honda not allowed to sell cheap? Then what about Nissan?
      They had Almera @RM69k which is close to Persona prices. Why Nissan can do it but not Toyota or Honda. Is it the Gomen or just their greed stopping them to provide cheaper cars?

• Li Peng on Sep 13, 2020 at 6:28 pm

Toyota, Honda are more expensive in Thailand than here. How come? Does the Thai government not allow to sell cheap Toyota’s and Honda’s in Thailand?

• Mr shuki on Sep 13, 2020 at 10:25 am

X50

• It’s a China Geely car and not Proton car. It’s just a rebadged car and why we are so proud of Proton?? Good job Geely China and not Proton

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 9
    • Curious on Sep 13, 2020 at 9:30 pm

Cause like it or not, Proton is in better shapes under Geely China than Mitsubishi Japan. Rebadging is the way to reduce costs, even giants like Toyota are doing it. You can quit pretending to be nationalistic, and just say you are anti-China.

• Troll Hunter on Sep 13, 2020 at 10:12 pm

If it were merely just a Geely car, you would be driving it on the left side. What Proton did well is what you take for granted.

• It’s a China Geely car and not Proton car. It’s just a rebadged car and why we are so proud of Proton?? Good job Geely China and not Proton

• Lets See on Sep 14, 2020 at 1:00 am

Lets see
      GT86 is a rebadged Subaru BRZ
      Yaris USDM is a rebadged Mazda2
      New Supra is a rebadged BMW Z4
      Urban Cruiser is a rebadged Suzuki Brezza
      Why should Toyota be proud then?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 14
      • Honda line up models all rebadging GM

So why should Honda also be proud then?

• So you are saying Toyota didn’t pump any cash into the R&D for the debut of their “rebadged” models?

How much did your castrated tiger logo company contribute to Boyue and Binyue development and debut in China?

Exactly.

Now pi berambus.

• Engineer on Sep 15, 2020 at 11:51 pm

So your telling us there are RHD versions of Boyue & Binyue and that Geely was just stingy to sell to their fellow countrymen? Yeah you sure make a lot of sense.

• Ksatria on Sep 14, 2020 at 11:11 am

Rebadged or not, I’m expecting a best bang for buck vehicle instead of overpriced, overrated crap we’ve been cursed with.

• Sanggora Api on Sep 14, 2020 at 12:58 pm

Proton X50 surely will be game changer for Segment B SUV as well Segment B Sedan. Proton need to improve after sales and customer engagement.

• 25yrsOld on Sep 14, 2020 at 1:35 pm

Proton now a grille designer, when want to learn to design the bumper?

• 25 but still know nothing on Sep 15, 2020 at 2:20 pm

Bro, do you even know how to re-engineer a left -hand-drive car into a right-hand-drive one? Guess not, because your dream job looks like is to become a bumper designer at Perodua.