Proton X50 key fob leaked – comes with remote start?

The launch of Proton’s first ever B-segment SUV is upon us. As a prelude to the grand unveiling event, we are treated to a single photo of what appears to be the X50’s key fob, courtesy of reader Lepat Pisang.

This side of the device appears to have a metallic sheen, complete with a brushed strip and the Proton script. There are reasons to believe that this is in fact the X50’s key fob – a quick look at the video below, featuring the Geely Coolray (as the Binyue is known in the Philippines), reveals the same hexagonal shape and chromed outer edges. Looks good, too, doesn’t it?

What’s more interesting is the four-button layout, particularly the lowermost button which activates the remote engine start function. This is likely to be offered on the Proton X50 as well, but it’s unclear if this feature is reserved only for the more expensive models.

Remote engine start, or remote keyless ignition system, is typically a function that allows a person to start his or her car from a distance and have the engine warm itself up (useful in frigid winter conditions). In most cases, this remote start also activates the air conditioning system, ensuring that the cabin is cool upon entry.

You might be wondering about security, but don’t worry, these features have existed far longer than you might have thought, going as far back as 1985. Even the Honda Civic FC which debuted in 2016 has this feature. When activated, the key fob sends a very specific signal (usually encrypted) to the vehicle, and keeps the vehicle locked even when the engine and air-con are operating.

If a thief so much as breaks in to the car, it would be impossible to even shift gears without the key fob being physically present in the car. Another anti-theft measure is that the engine automatically shuts off when the thief presses on any of the two foot pedals, or pries open the bonnet. Cool, right?

For additional info regarding the Proton X50, feel free to click on the following links:

GALLERY: Geely Binyue

Matthew H Tong

An ardent believer that fun cars need not be fast and fast cars may not always be fun. Matt advocates the purity and simplicity of manually swapping cogs while coping in silence of its impending doom. Matt's not hot. Never hot.

• Leonardo on Sep 10, 2020 at 10:38 am

Yes, my Geely Coolray back in the Philippines has got the same key fob too. Very cool design

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
    • Roti john on Sep 10, 2020 at 12:12 pm

Such a Game-Changing keyfob! Thank you Geely for kindly donating such beautiful keyfob for the Proton X50. For 30 years, people would usually hide their Proton car key because it was so ugly. Now people can show off and put that keyfob on cafe table

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 50
      • Roti john on Sep 10, 2020 at 12:18 pm

Also, we have to remember that the Game-Changing keyfob is fully designed and developed by Geely R&D. Proton just stick the word “Proton” on that keyfob, easy rebadging job.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 36
        • Celup King on Sep 10, 2020 at 3:19 pm

No different than Perodua sticking their badges onto Daihatsu cars or Toyota sticking their badges onto Mazda2, BRZ, BMW, Suzuki cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 46
          • Honda also sticking their badges onto US GM cars. Seems like Honda designers getting less work compare to other Jepunis brands

• Jeremy on Sep 10, 2020 at 5:17 pm

Ok to slap on “Lotus” or “Volvo”. Think abt it

• Civic Turbo 2018 on Sep 10, 2020 at 5:31 pm

Just a replica of German’s design. What a shame to the Chinese automaker

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 21
      • I agree, now Japanese owners will malu to display their keyfobs, even Lexus loses to this stunning design by Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 2
      • Matthew on Sep 10, 2020 at 12:25 pm

Very beautiful and elegant. Holding that key fob feels like we are driving an elegant and expensive car. Well done Proton! Meanwhile, Honda key fob looks so dull and boring. Worse, the quality and battery is so bad

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 1
      • Sharizad on Sep 10, 2020 at 12:56 pm

is well known among us majority locals, to cajole & racun our family, coliqs & frenz to sapot & buy the national cars Proton & X50… jz becuz we wanna joyride in that new proton. But we ourself wont ever buy & touch a new proton with a 10feet pole.. This just typical us, surrounded in jepunis & vw atas & gudness.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 19
        • Celup King on Sep 10, 2020 at 3:21 pm

Becoz Mesians want ‘face’ but deep down you know you want that Proton instead of a boring Japanese or unreliable VW.

• Avenger on Sep 10, 2020 at 7:10 pm

totally agree. we thot we alredi moden and smarter than thou mindset. but ekceli we so stuck with old kampung mentality, we want ‘face’ and kenot wait to show off our brand new Japanese or VW on maksimum 9year loan. only to show off we’ve made it in bandar, such shallow selfish. uolls plz buy p1, ade aqkesah

• AliAhKauRamasamy on Sep 10, 2020 at 2:35 pm

We love it… more and more.

• I am so ashamed my P2 and Toyota designers cannot design such a beautiful car like this sporty and good looking design. What we got is far uglier and inferior Rocky D55L that will be slaughtered by this superb Proton SUV.
      I am so malu right now to say I sell P2 cars and none currently and future will be good looking as this car. So malu!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 4
    • Nabee Russell Wular on Sep 10, 2020 at 12:27 pm

My decade old gen-2 highline has this remote start feature since 2.5 years ago after upgraded to aftermarket shenzen smart 4g gps alarm system.

• Malacca Serani Prince on Sep 10, 2020 at 3:04 pm

I remembered it comes with Factory fitted immobilizer tracking alarm name Captor? Alarm spoiled?

• LIKE X50, Almera, Vios and Persona
      DISLIKE HRV, City and Jazz

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 7
  • newme on Sep 10, 2020 at 10:38 am

hahaha, proton nie. key fob also worth a piece of article. Besok tyre tube cap pun nak citer.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 36
    • Ghani on Sep 10, 2020 at 11:42 am

Finally, the Game-Changing MPV will arrive in Malaysia soon! A stunning key design can tell you the car will be stunning design, modern engine, excellent comfort and ellegant interior, the X50 will dominate the b-segment MPV market for sure. Moreover, the outdated Japanese will be finished for good

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 2
      • Cool Ice on Sep 10, 2020 at 1:22 pm

The real game changer is here again. Habislah to brother HRV, Citi, Jazzy and Mini BRV as Honda already too outdated and getting more bored to see Honda

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
        • People buy honda because performance

• HFakone on Sep 11, 2020 at 1:54 pm

Ppl buy honda because it is cheap not because it is good but because they have no other choices

• X50 is B segment SUV

• Vader on Sep 10, 2020 at 12:02 pm

biasa lettew bro..lepas grille, key fob pon megah.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 7
    • pisang on Sep 10, 2020 at 12:46 pm

Awak ni ‘bijak’ ke apa? Bukan Proton pnya artikel pun.

• newme on Sep 10, 2020 at 4:40 pm

Habis ko ingat tiba2 PT dapat ni dari mimpi?

• Syerin on Sep 10, 2020 at 7:29 pm

Awak ni “bijak” ke apa dah tulis leak ni dapat dari reader lepat pisang?

• newme on Sep 11, 2020 at 12:30 pm

Benda sekecik ni boleh leak? ke sengaja? Ngok la ko.

• Dr Strange on Sep 10, 2020 at 3:25 pm

Ahh the Protonchondriac is back. So what ails did you bring this time?

• Roti Canai on Sep 10, 2020 at 10:49 am

Pros and Cons:

Landed property owner/tenants – I can start my car first before i lock my house door.

Condo owner/tenants – Remote Start? no meaning la
    later remote battery kong, need press so many times/hold a few seconds to activate.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 11
    • Ghani on Sep 10, 2020 at 11:44 am

Remote start has more usefulness when coming back from opis you can remote start AC to cool the interior after whole day parking outside.

• Don’t do it, save the Earth
        Opposite the meaning of idling start stop/micro hybrid

• Celup King on Sep 10, 2020 at 3:23 pm

Idling startstop kills batteries more frequently and disposal of car batteries is toxic. How is this saving the Earth? Don’t we learn anything from recent water cut?

• alvin on Sep 10, 2020 at 12:37 pm

It is useful, but not efficient
        Cooling the car the more efficient way is let the hot air out first.
        Simply opening the door and swing 1 times can help reduce to 40 degree Celsius already
        Altough its still freaking hot

Better way is to warm up without aircon switched on- the remote start way.
        There is a give and take compromise for this sort of coolness

• Your car without remote then only do as your method, remote can open partial car window or sunroof then on AC to cooling the car more efficient.

• If got 4G like X70 then maybe can use app remote start.

• The Swede on Sep 10, 2020 at 11:18 am

What a mind-blowing and stunning design fro just the keyfob alone! The next generation Proton car design concept is totally different from its predecessor, it really feels like a breath of fresh air with luxurious look on par with our Swede national car. I hope Proton can release this Game-Changing SUV here soon, the design stands out from other SUVs, even Japanese & Korean designs has no match with this futuristic yet affordable beauty.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 3
    • Dilbert on Sep 10, 2020 at 11:54 am

What’s taking them so long, Proton should fast-fast launch X50 now and quickly conquer the B-segment market as they did with C-segment SUV.

• Celup King on Sep 10, 2020 at 11:57 am

This is what happens when Proton truly goes global. The other one still shouting about being Jaguh Kampung with their teh tarik hook can sau pei laa!

• stranger on Sep 10, 2020 at 3:42 pm

Affordable because gomen dont tax China car paste proton logo. Put that aside, i forsee the best Geely can be in Malaysia is like Nissan or worst case Haval.

• Vader on Sep 11, 2020 at 12:51 am

If NAP2020 didn’t raise the car prices via extra CKD taxes, our X70 would have been near to Boyue RM 70k prices. Who made NAP2020? Paham-paham laa….

• reallyyy on Sep 10, 2020 at 11:37 am

Can’t wait to see this car. I have been changed from Proton to Honda and Toyota now. I was never expect I will waiting for Proton car. haha..
    Keep it up.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 15
    • soon most current hrv and current honda b segment owners will buy this X50. Already knew that not worthy to use honda due to bad QC products

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
  • Jeffreyee on Sep 10, 2020 at 1:58 pm

Hope it come with rear aircon n auto liftgate. Features that most Malaysian want

• stranger on Sep 10, 2020 at 3:23 pm

Can we all stop saying good job Proton while everything is done by Geely? at least Perodua has major part in P2 car development. Either way, both are not National car. Just national brand borrowing others technology. All we do is change logo and bumper to make them “National”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 15
    • Curious on Sep 10, 2020 at 6:02 pm

What major part Perodua had in their car development you are referring to? All the important hardwares and softwares like engines, transmissions, chassis and ASA programming are from existing Toyota and Daihatsu models. Perodua doesn’t even have its own chassis development team like Proton does.

• reallyyy on Sep 10, 2020 at 8:13 pm

If Mazda CX30 price 160K change the logo to Perodua become price sell 100K. Wellllll done Perodua.

• Lenny on Sep 10, 2020 at 9:59 pm

major part, don’t make me laugh like what?

• What major part did P2 did other than reskinning Daihatsu cars? And did you read the article on RHD conversion. It aint a walk in the park, P1 effectively reengineered Geely’s cars and that is more than just ‘change logo and bumper’.

• David on Sep 10, 2020 at 6:54 pm

Talking about key fob even before launch the car. What is so proud

• Abahden on Sep 11, 2020 at 8:33 am

Shud X50 be creative to hv just remote engine start not to replace the rear view side and roof mirror with camera connected to the centre console led screen

• Sabah on Sep 23, 2020 at 1:30 am

How about the signal & wiper switch side..?