2020 Honda N-One previewed for Japan – new styling, Honda Sensing, turbo engine with six-speed manual

The Honda N-One is set to receive a huge update update for 2020, with an official launch set to take place in Japan in the fall. The five-door hatchback kei car, which was designed with inspiration from the classic N360, made its initial debut in 2012 and was later given a facelift in 2017.

The new model retains the cutesy shape that we are familiar with, but with a few styling changes like circular daytime running lights for the LED headlamps. Meanwhile, the rear taillights also get an entirely new cluster design, with a light ring and individual diodes to create a more distinctive lighting signature.

Honda will offer the N-One in three guises, starting with the Original that gets a large black bar just above the front grille and a reshaped lower intake. The Premium version introduces a hexagonal-shaped grille and additional metallic trim to the lower apron, along with either 14- or 15-inch wheels – the latter is for the upper Premium Tourer variant.

The sportiest of the bunch is the RS, which also sports the same grille shape as the Premium, but without the slatted insert. It also gets a set of multi-spoke 15-inch wheels, black-painted components and a rear wing. As before, there are no shortage of monotone and two-tone exterior colours to choose from, and that’s before wide range of optional accessories.

Moving inside, the N-One gets an entirely new dashboard design that appears to pick up cues from the latest Jazz. It’s a bit of an oddball look, with circular air vents for the driver, while rectangular-shaped ones are for the passengers. Sitting prominently in the centre is a touchscreen head unit that meets with the hazard button, while below it is where you’ll find the climate controls.

Within this vicinity is the electronic brake (with auto brake hold function) that replaces the footbrake of the previous model, along with the gear selector. In front of the driver, the steering wheel and instrument cluster feature an all-new design, while an array of USB ports occupy the lower portion of the centre stack.

Safety-wise, the Honda Sensing suite of systems will be standard on the N-One for the first time, and includes a number of functions. These include autonomous emergency braking, lane keep assist, adaptive cruise control, false start suppression, road sign recognition and automatic high beam.

Honda didn’t provide powertrain details, but the N-One in its RS form will receive a turbocharged engine and a six-speed manual. Given the kei car regulations in the country, this is likely the existing S07A 660 cc three-cylinder mill making a return to produce 64 PS and 104 Nm. A non-turbocharged version of the engine should be offered as well with 58 PS and 65 Nm, along with CVT and all-wheel drive.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Not Toyota Fan on Sep 14, 2020 at 6:08 pm

Honda N-One sell here RM30k abt P2 Axia priced.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 10
    • Honda N-Kosong on Sep 14, 2020 at 6:47 pm

Wth is this car, it is so horrondeus! Honda designers out of inspiration or what

• Rakyat Malaysia on Sep 14, 2020 at 10:33 pm

Cant get 660cc here, so p2 Bezza the best choice.

• Don’t buy P2. It has been spoken.
          https://paultan.org/2020/09/14/five-perodua-models-you-should-not-buy-heres-why/

• AutoFrenz (the original) on Sep 15, 2020 at 10:30 am

Looks like 30 years old kancil…Honda designers must be sleeping

• granny on Sep 14, 2020 at 6:47 pm

another Honda Kancil, is it safe?

• busy mee lard eel ramen eel lard hymm on Sep 15, 2020 at 10:30 am

Micro cars good for exploring inside motorcycle lanes and emergency lanes.

• Ah Beng Level III on Sep 14, 2020 at 6:53 pm

Rear look like Fiat 500 while front look shocked emotion.

• Rakyat Malaysia on Sep 14, 2020 at 7:01 pm

If N One comes here, habislah Perodua!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 10
  • vivizurianti on Sep 14, 2020 at 7:29 pm

I would just love to dial-up the boost on this cutey car……and see how fast she could go/

• Haidi on Sep 14, 2020 at 8:06 pm

This is cute. Bring it to Malaysia, set a right price, it shall be the hot cake.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
  • C.P. MOHAN on Sep 14, 2020 at 8:36 pm

The “issue” with China is that what we assumed as premium is not so premium thus the status-quo will shift, Honda-Sensing is not so premium after all or as many would call it market-competition.

• Engineer on Sep 14, 2020 at 10:16 pm

Honda Sense and the likes isn’t what you would call premium because in such countries, it is a mandatory feature today. They can’t packaged something must-have as something optional for the extra premium feel.

• C.P. MOHAN on Sep 14, 2020 at 10:57 pm

Agreed @Engineer, it arguably enhances safety and thus should be marketed as a standard safety-feature.

• dream_125 on Sep 14, 2020 at 8:39 pm

Six-speed manual?

The majority of my japanese colleagues have a auto license only…

• raffi.ibrahim on Sep 15, 2020 at 11:13 am

I am interested buying a car, small n family’s usage,I like N one this latest versi. Can any one help me in buying. This is my first timer n nvr dream to have one but now I need badly bcoz I have twins to tour them around Singapore

• CHONG PO HEE on Sep 15, 2020 at 2:03 pm

Just don’t understand why have so much comments for a car that is meant for Japan market only? These Honda haters are so annoying and ridiculous. If not for this article, I bet most of them don’t even know there is such a car variant call K-car ever exist. Yet they can put on some ridiculous and no brainer comments as above. Paultan, I think you need to do somethings on these No Brainer Haters. This is unhealthy.

• This Honda N-One is the top sales car in Japan

• Semi-Value (Member) on Sep 16, 2020 at 12:41 am

i see manual. i like.