Two-time S1K champion Farique Hairuman impressed with Proton X50 handling – bought one for himself!

At this point, we know pretty much there is to know about the Proton X50, except pricing. But that hasn’t stopped over 20,000 people from booking the automaker’s new B-segment SUV – that statistic now include our very own Hafriz Shah, as well as renown two-time Sepang 1000 km Endurance Race champion Farique Hairuman (also known as Wak Tempe).

Farique, who was part of the driving instructors team at the official X50 media drive last week, said the X50 “handles like no other SUV” he has driven before. “It is fun, nimble, easy to turn,” he said, adding that emergency lane changing and steering correction was very smooth as well. He even told Hafriz that the X50 handles better than the F48 BMW X1!

While exiting Turn 6, Farique noted that he could just floor the throttle and let the X50 run wide, but to his surprise, the typical SUV understeer was absent. It also didn’t oversteer when barging into Turn 12 with four adults on board. On the main straight, the top speed was just shy of 170 km/h (with four adults) before braking into Turn 1.

According to staff engineer Noor Hisham Ismail, the X50 has actually been made to ride softer, because the Binyue is apparently “too stiff” to deal with our litany of speed bumps and potholes. Specifically, Proton revised the front anti-roll bar, spring rates, bushings, tyre selection, dampers, and electronic power steering.

Ironically, Hisham said the X50 with its softer suspension won’t be as enjoyable to drive as the Binyue. But if it’s good enough for Farique (who by the way has had several international racing stints, such as the Super Taikyu Endurance Series in Japan from 2008 to 2013), it probably is good enough for most people.

One of the biggest talking points to come out of the media drive was the Flagship’s 1.5 TGDi drag race performance. With 177 PS and 255 Nm of torque, it consistently beat the Honda HR-V and BMW X1 sDrive18i in the acceleration test. Just to remind you, the Flagship will do the century sprint in 7.9 seconds, which is respectably brisk for a car in its class.

GALLERY: Proton X50 drive preview, Sepang International Circuit

Matthew H Tong

An ardent believer that fun cars need not be fast and fast cars may not always be fun. Matt advocates the purity and simplicity of manually swapping cogs while coping in silence of its impending doom. Matt's not hot. Never hot.

• AliAhKauRamasamy on Oct 05, 2020 at 10:39 am

Farique, who was part of the driving instructors team at the official X50 media drive last week, said the X50 “handles like no other SUV” he has driven before. “It is fun, nimble, easy to turn,” he said, adding that emergency lane changing and steering correction was very smooth as well. He even told Hafriz, off record, that the X50 handles better than the F48 BMW X1!

We are so glad to read this… Great job Proton

• Bull No 1 Samy on Oct 06, 2020 at 8:58 pm

Comparing china to korean already a joke. Comparing china and german, what a huge joke.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 11
  • Civic Turbo 2018 on Oct 05, 2020 at 10:43 am

PT crews must buy too!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
    • vodka on Oct 05, 2020 at 7:03 pm

Farique Hairuman (Wak Tempe) ambik X50. tp abang-abang peminat Wak Tempe juge yg bijak…menten lg minat padu seken Civic FD….

• Poor Hairun on Oct 05, 2020 at 8:45 pm

So many hoohoohaha about x50. What to do, it is the cheapest suv compared to higher class korean and japanese.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 10
    • Hafriz already bought one. Just saying

• Drive Safe, follow road regulations on Oct 05, 2020 at 10:55 am

I only see so much of body rolls like typical SUV,
    My passengers will vomit if I drive this way

1.5TMPI with normal tyre also won’t grip that well.
    1,5TGDI stock tyre better

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
  • vivizurianti on Oct 05, 2020 at 11:09 am

Thanks for another another x50 “article”.

• 10********** Article on Oct 05, 2020 at 11:16 am

Brilliant report Matt!
    Direct to the points there “handles like no other SUV” he has driven before” and “to his surprise, the typical SUV understeer was absent. It also didn’t oversteer when barging into Turn 12 with four adults on board”
    Farique Hairuman certainly drove tested countless different kind of SUVs & sedans. Since he is one of the instructor involved on that ‘Drag race’ media-event, fair to say the X50’s easily surpassed BMV X1 & HRV on straight, corner, steering feedback and natural steers too. Many media journalists expressed the feeling of ‘another level’, ‘an upgrade’ & ‘atas’ when they switch over from BMW X1 to X50.

• Johnweak on Oct 05, 2020 at 11:16 am

again, bias advertisement by paultan on proton

lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 11
  • Johnweak on Oct 05, 2020 at 11:18 am

the last sentence…Just to remind you, the Flagship will do the century sprint in 7.9 seconds, which is respectably brisk for a car in its class.

YOU sure bout that????…how come didn’t see anyone manage to even come close to that time during the sprint

• Sohai on Oct 05, 2020 at 11:20 am

Hahaha, so many fallen cones on the ground and this guy is impressed with the handling? Just saying……^_^

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 52
    • Jonathan Lee (Member) on Oct 05, 2020 at 2:25 pm

The cones are placed as such to inform the drivers where to turn.
      Just saying.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 2
    • Sohai facepalm on Oct 05, 2020 at 2:40 pm

You better just keep quiet if you don’t know what you talking about. But you have to show everyone how little knowledge you have…

• Accurate name on Oct 05, 2020 at 2:44 pm

Vaseline for your burn, sir?

• cruiser on Oct 05, 2020 at 2:47 pm

Your name suit you

• Aura89 on Oct 05, 2020 at 2:58 pm

When one only know 1/3 the story then assumes the ending. Just saying…..

• XJPJTester on Oct 05, 2020 at 3:55 pm

If you don’t want to use your brain to think a little bit more, then donate it. Just saying.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 1
  • 7yrsold on Oct 05, 2020 at 11:29 am

Sayonara civic turbo! Welcome x50!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 5
  • Michale on Oct 05, 2020 at 11:31 am

How much are Proton paying him?

• all these numerous media teasing and tests and photos everywhere are starting to feel a little old and a bit try hard. when is it launching already

• Alamak on Oct 05, 2020 at 12:14 pm

I don’t know which is sadder…

X50 is tuned less for handling than Binyue or our roads are so shitty that X50 needs a softer setup

• Look at it this way. The suspension for the X50 was tuned with fine balance between sporty handling and ride comfort that caters to the majority of users, because not all owners prefer a hard sporty ride and vice versa.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 2
      • Datuk on Oct 05, 2020 at 4:07 pm

Not sporty enough, might as well take Proton x70
        Same fuel consumption, drinking

I can park myself

• Semi-Value (Member) on Oct 05, 2020 at 9:45 pm

geely cars dont have great handling…. im disappointed they made it worse

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 4
        • Bentley on Oct 06, 2020 at 8:36 pm

Clearly you only drive jepunis cars, shame

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 12
        • Ghani on Oct 06, 2020 at 10:12 pm

You didn’t read properly. They improved the handling by tuning down the harder suspension for our roads.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 15
          • Semi-Value (Member) on Oct 06, 2020 at 11:38 pm

lol that makes it softer?

• Brian on Oct 07, 2020 at 12:07 pm

You have no clue about handling, Semi. FYI when they tune the car so you can feel more comfortable and more confidence to drive, your handling improves since you don’t spend effort trying to fight the car when its suspension setup is wrong. This setting is a fine art magic, and no single rule to say a harder will definitely leads to better handling as different road conditions plays a big role. Not every public tarmac will be wide & smooth like Sepang Circuit to encourage a harder suspension setting.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
          • Semi-Value (Member) on Oct 07, 2020 at 10:48 pm

wow brian, ur logic power. softer car = better handling. ok, tune all race cars to have softer suspension eh?

• D K S on Oct 05, 2020 at 7:30 pm

Dont worry! PT will publish everything after launch.
      Im waiting for the specific ‘4 drive modes’ video report, meanwhile one of my fren only care for cabin NVH level in dB meter at 100kmph. Probably follow bit by a bit exposures, X70’s style, the period between taking a booking vs the launch = 1 month, so maybe on 15 or 17 Oct

• Johnny Gill on Oct 05, 2020 at 2:04 pm

If the statement was made off record, you shouldn’t have included it in the article, right?

• ahmadeus on Oct 05, 2020 at 5:16 pm

journalists should respect the word off record… clearly he didnt want to be quoted. there goes his bmw sponsorship lol

• Pls ask proton to proof the 7.9s for 0-100km/h. Or else false advertisement. Tq.

• Why So Serious on Oct 06, 2020 at 10:13 pm

Pls ask perodua to proof their 21km/L. Or else false advertisement. Tq

• Semi-Value (Member) on Oct 06, 2020 at 11:45 pm

yes, this mmg conjob. other websites have exposed proton on this.

• autodriver (Member) on Oct 05, 2020 at 7:50 pm

Before the X50 launching there are tonnes of articles talking about it. Can imagine after it official launched it will going to another tonnes of articles.

• David on Oct 05, 2020 at 8:46 pm

Too much body rolls

• sktan on Oct 07, 2020 at 7:52 am

everyday can see x50 news.
    proton must b put a lot money in advertising x50.
    Too bad. after knowing that x50 using timing belt. i give up.
    if u dont mind timing belt. is a good car to buy. matter is price unknown.