Proton X50 suspension tune explained – more comfort to suit Malaysian roads, Geely Binyue too stiff

Today, we told you that the Proton X50 will get unique suspension tuning compared to its Geely Binyue/Coolray sibling, and during the Q&A session the national carmaker went into greater detail regarding the changes its engineers have made.

Those of you who are worried that the company has stiffened the suspension to give the car the handling prowess it is known for – to the detriment of ride comfort – need not worry. According to staff engineer Noor Hisham Ismail, the X50 has actually been made to ride softer, because the Binyue is apparently “too stiff” to deal with our litany of speed bumps and potholes.

Specifically, Proton made some changes to the front anti-roll bar, spring rates, bushings and even the tyre selection; earlier, it mentioned that it also tweaked the dampers and the electronic power steering system. Hisham said that the company benchmarked the X50 against other competitors in the marketplace and has adjusted the suspension to suit.

Hisham also said that the Binyue was set up to be quite a sporty car to drive, which affected the way it dealt with bumps, making it unsuitable for Malaysian road conditions. He conceded that the X50 will probably not be so enjoyable to drive.

Those who want to dial a little bit of sportiness back in can play around with the drive modes available, which adjust the power delivery, gearbox response, steering weight (there are four settings to choose from) and even stability control intervention.

The Proton X50 is now open for booking, with four variants to choose from. Based on the Geely Binyue/Coolray, it will be available with features such as the latest GKUI 19 infotainment system, remote engine start and Level 2 semi-autonomous driving. Two 1.5 litre turbocharged three-cylinder engine options will be offered – a 150 PS/226 Nm port-injected variant and a 177 PS/255 Nm direct-injected version.

GALLERY: Proton X50 drive preview, Sepang International Circuit

GALLERY: Proton X50 1.5 TGDi Flagship

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Jom tengok how long the CKD components will last.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
    • Dredd on Sep 30, 2020 at 11:44 pm

X50 250hp in R3 version is Proton answer to Toyota Gazoo and Merc AMG. full bodikit + 20″ sportrim + lower dampers.

• lol, you’re a good laugh. Bordering on Kunta level desperation. Kipidap.

• Pathetic user on Oct 01, 2020 at 11:15 am

On lowyat forum, a lot of people dont like the new X50 also

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 9
        • Bruh... on Oct 01, 2020 at 2:04 pm

That’s just a forum site, where small number of brains with same interest discussing together. They’re completely irrelevant to be used as indicator, as we don’t even know what other people is thinking, other than them who is using that forum.

• Lolwhut? on Oct 01, 2020 at 5:37 pm

Oh sure. Go into a Toyota forum and response to X50 is lukewarm and perhaps downright hostile. Anything new?

• Since when lowyat forum is relevant other than to share a few dirty jokes?

• just launch the car with official price already…

• Geely no good, Proton good

Syukur

• Marcus on Sep 30, 2020 at 10:11 pm

too much posting about X50 recently…da jelak la…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 13
    • Kopi & Pasta on Sep 30, 2020 at 11:55 pm

“One wouldn’t simply ignore Proton’s good news, especially haters lol…”

Come read and add more comments yaa…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
    • Calvin on Oct 01, 2020 at 1:18 am

Feel the burn! Feel the burn! wakakakaka

• EDITOR on Oct 01, 2020 at 8:30 am

You can stop coming into Proton news articles you know.

• Macau Hizhao on Sep 30, 2020 at 10:56 pm

Definitely tuned for Genting hill run

• Kancil Hybrid on Sep 30, 2020 at 11:31 pm

Suspension asal/keras – Netizen maki
    Suspension tune lembut sikit – Pun netizen maki

• ahmadjohnson97 on Oct 01, 2020 at 7:15 am

That means the road in China way better than Malaysia? Sad…

• Damon Lee on Oct 01, 2020 at 8:47 am

Only ignorants think China is still undeveloped backwater, they haven’t see the modern megacities in China yet.

• Syerin on Oct 01, 2020 at 8:51 am

“the Binyue was set up to be quite a sporty car to drive, which affected the way it dealt with bumps, making it unsuitable for Malaysian road conditions”

Let’s read the article first next time ya?

• ahmadjohnson97 on Oct 06, 2020 at 11:25 am

I’ve read the article. So? What i want to highlight is the original Binyue is more suitable for the road in China compare to Malaysia probably because Malaysia road are more worse. Unless Proton want the X50 to be more comfort oriented than sporty.

• Epstein on Oct 01, 2020 at 9:14 am

@ahmadjohnson97 Was thinking the same thing…. Lol

• Expert tuner on Oct 01, 2020 at 8:57 am

Why they go and kacau the suspension? Ppl want the solid conti feel, they go make it lembik like driving sampan.

• Wow,u r an expert.
      U must have driven the X50 and owned so many conti car.
      Congrats.

• the driver on Oct 01, 2020 at 9:09 am

Ask any suspension guru. Suspension optimization is not as easy as changing roll bars, spring rates and dampers.

• that driver on Oct 01, 2020 at 10:30 am

Changing roll bars, spring rates, and dampers are easy then?
      They are working with what they already have and its for mass market.

• Here's another comment on Oct 01, 2020 at 10:48 am

Nahh, good suspension setup started as early as chassis design development. If Geely goes potato on chassis, then nothing much Proton can do other than fiddling with what they can. Especially on an SUV that they never have experience developing one.

• Thiru on Aug 21, 2022 at 10:21 pm

I am driving 2020, Toyota RAV4 and yesterday test drove X50 found the suspension and soundproof much better. I spent 5k for sound insulation and 4k for tein adjustable abs, on my RAV4 still not as good as X50 Its really good.

• newme on Oct 01, 2020 at 9:23 am

Proton is trying hard to show that they got contribution to the car design apart from designing front grille.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 8
    • Jeremy on Oct 01, 2020 at 9:57 am

And you are trying hard to show your desperation against a really good car.

• Meanwhile, you are trying too hard to hate Proton that it makes you seem like secretly in love of Proton.

• Sleepless night on Oct 01, 2020 at 3:07 pm

Kasi facela sama dia, its really hurt to be the anti P1 right now but he still cute2 tersipu2 dare to come here to argue with you all everyday lol with his ‘trying hard’ tactic

• Avenger on Oct 01, 2020 at 12:44 pm

Grille, Not too bad. After 35 years of carmaking

• Hantu Raya on Oct 02, 2020 at 7:00 pm

English, not too bad. After being born here and holding IC.

• vivizurianti on Oct 01, 2020 at 10:18 am

It’s understandable. Imagine driving with “hard” setting on bumpy, uneven, pothole riddled, high humps road typically found in Malaysia.

Dental fillings also can come out….

• Finally, still with the China help, Proton cars can be hot topic before launching! Without Geely, Proton is still a cheap national car that people will tend to avoid if they have budget.

• Thiru on Aug 21, 2022 at 10:13 pm

I driving 2020 model Toyota RAV4 and yesterday test drove X50, and found the suspension and sound proof much better than my car.

• Thiru on Aug 21, 2022 at 10:20 pm

I am driving 2020, Toyota RAV4 and yesterday test drove X50 found the suspension and soundproof much better. I spent 5k for sound insulation and 4k for tein adjustable abs, on my RAV4 still not as good as X50 Its really good.