Proton X50 received over 20,000 bookings in its first 2 weeks – prices to be revealed at official launch soon

And now the numbers game begins. Proton has just officially announced that its upcoming X50 SUV has garnered over 20,000 bookings in its first two weeks since the order books opened on September 16. The booking numbers have already “exceeded expectations,” according to the local carmaker.

“Proton would like to thank all its customers for the tremendous interest shown in the Proton X50. We are pushing to ensure fulfilment over the last three months of 2020, while continuing to emphasise product quality,” said Roslan Abdullah, Chief Executive Officer (CEO) of Proton Edar in an official statement.

Over 20,000 bookings sure sounds like a lot doesn’t it, especially for a new model with no price tag as of yet. Mind you, each one of those bookings include a fee of RM500, as Proton has moved away from its online booking programme (the X70’s online booking fee was just RM99 in 2018 and earlier this year) to ensure that it gets a more realistic estimate of serious buyers.

Speaking of the lack of prices, while a few media outlets have speculated that the official price announcement has been “delayed” because Proton itself is still waiting for its X50 prices to be approved by the local authorities, we can unequivocally confirm that that is not the case.

Proton Edar CEO Roslan himself told us at paultan.org that Proton has faced no such issues, and that the staggered release of information on the new model – including the withholding of its prices – has been executed according to the company’s launch schedule.

Looking at Proton car launches in recent years, all new prices have been announced by Proton CEO, Dr Li Chunrong at the official launch ceremony, and not a second earlier. It shouldn’t be to anyone’s surprise that the X50’s launch plans would follow the same pattern.

As for when that official launch ceremony will happen, all information we have so far would suggest that the launch window isn’t too far away. It’s safe to estimate that it would happen in the next two weeks or so – a full month of pre-launch order taking sounds about right.

“But how am I supposed to place a booking when I don’t know the prices?” we hear you ask? Well, most Proton dealerships would at least give a rough ballpark figure for you to consider – between RM80k to RM110k would be a safe estimate. Proton may well spring a good surprise and go lower – we’ll find out soon enough. Clearly, over 20,000 customers, myself included, didn’t think that was an issue.

In any case, even if the official prices, when announced, turn out to be different to what you were expecting/hoping, you are then free to change your booking to a different variant if you so wish. Even if you disagree with the entire pricelist altogether, the RM500 booking fee is fully refundable upon request.

So, dear readers, what do you think of this update? It sure is looking good for the Proton X50 so far. Read and watch all you need to know about the new B-segment SUV here.

GALLERY: 2020 Proton X50 colour options

GALLERY: 2020 Proton X50 1.5 TGDi Flagship

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• Wow thats 10 million in booking fees!

• Maibiking on Oct 03, 2020 at 1:30 pm

And that’s RM160m in sales if you count an average of RM80K per unit

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
      • Hafriz Shah (Member) on Oct 03, 2020 at 1:44 pm

It’s actually RM1.6 billion if you count it that way.

But, Proton/Geely has also invested over RM1.2 billion to expand its production plant for the X70 and X50, and is expected to purchase around RM2.8 billion worth of parts from local vendors annually for the two SUV models alone.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 73 Thumb down 0
        • Roti john on Oct 03, 2020 at 1:56 pm

Thank you Game-Changing Geely for guiding Proton into the future. That is an amazing investment by Geely. With that amount of investment, Proton will be heading to the right direction

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 24
          • RM1.6B sales. Proton bayaq hutang dak.

https://paultan.org/2016/04/14/proton-agrees-to-rm1-5-billion-loan-terms-from-govt/

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 7
          • Mee goreng on Oct 03, 2020 at 7:08 pm

The reason why there are a lot of people that booked the X50 is because its free. Smart Game-Changing marketing technique by Proton to increase the hype of this car. You just need to pay RM500. But when the price is revealed, its is up to you to ask for refund or pay the full price. Most will cancel though since most of them booked the car just to show off to their friends, last last also cancel want.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 66
          • Mee Goreng Salah on Oct 03, 2020 at 7:24 pm

But posting City RS Ad, most will not want to buy City GN1. Most already know what kind of behavior does honda malaysia doing.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 5
          • Who told you booking is free Kunta? If you refuse to read article, its up to you but don’t la come here and tell lies when anybody can just scroll up and see you’re plain lying blindly.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 9
          • Mika Ng on Oct 04, 2020 at 10:03 am

Absolutely RIGHT !!!

• PEJUANG on Oct 04, 2020 at 10:34 am

@Gary hey bodoh, how many times must we tell you that Roti john and Kunta are 2 different trolls?

You really got a problem differentiating people.

• Roti john on Oct 04, 2020 at 10:57 am

@Gary read the article la, it says there that if you disagree with the pricelist you can ask for a refund. In other words, booking this car is actually free. Enuff of your Game Over instigation Gar…… john!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 18
          • @Pejuang/ Roti john/ Kunta. Your lame attempts at deflecting and accusing others is amusing to say the least, and your logic that paying Rm500 is considered free is laughable. How about you paying me Rm500 and let’s consider that as free money to me?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 7
          • PEJUANG on Oct 04, 2020 at 1:50 pm

joe, I am not Kunta or roti john. Kunta is racist against ‘Bangsa Majority’, while i am one myself LMAO

Just cos we all dislike Proton doesnt mean we’re 1 person

• Mohd Kusaini bin Hassan on Oct 04, 2020 at 2:41 pm

Lucky China, Li Chunrong and Geely have given us such a great product that is safe and worthy of our investments.

For 30 years we have waited for a safe car from our National car maker, finally we got one.

Thank you Geely, I only wished this car was designed , invented and made by Malaysians for Malaysians.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 9
          • Roti john on Oct 04, 2020 at 2:45 pm

@Gary see, your Game Over instigation has made Kunta pissed off. Please examine more before accusing others as someone, we are not playing Among Us.

• Proton X70 in China Rm60k but Malaysia RM123k on Oct 04, 2020 at 2:53 pm

as above. I hope same does not apply for the X50

Malaysian car should be cheaper for Malaysians and not cheaper for China

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 10
          • Rakyat Malaysia on Oct 04, 2020 at 4:46 pm

Cukuplah with your fake news Kunta. Bertaubat sikit. Dahlah mods have to reprimand you time and time again. Tak serik ke menipu sini? Pembaca sini bukannya bodoh seperti you assume. Cukuplah, go and have a nicer life away from keje keji macam ni.

• Mika Ng on Oct 04, 2020 at 10:05 am

GEELY is a real investor and terminator !!! GOOD JOB

• X50 is the best SuV on Oct 04, 2020 at 9:33 pm

Instead of many salesmen who talks so much here, give all good selling gimmick, buyer shall work harder to get a korean or japanese cars that are higher class than then the china car. Nobody bother to loom at poton on the road include your jiran at kampung baru

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
          • Muzaffar Shah on Oct 05, 2020 at 7:52 am

You are right. Proton is on track now because Geely has taught Proton staff how to be disciplined and work hard. Proton had a big tuang problem before Geely came in, but now, all their workers are forced to work hard.

This is why Proton is doing well now

• AliAhKauRamasamy on Oct 03, 2020 at 1:45 pm

20000 bookings in just 2 weeks… Great!… Go figure!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
    • Hafriz booking No. 00001 ;-)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 1
    • LIKE: X50, Vios Facelift, Almera, Persona
      DISLIKE: City, HRV, BRV, Jazz, Civic

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 13
    • Kumpul together turbo on Oct 03, 2020 at 6:11 pm

X50 is using 3 cylinders engineer which is good for fuel consumption, but and but..

Check with uncle Google on 3 cylinders Vs 4 cylinders engine

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 6
    • HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA!!!!!!!
      P1, Geely, Mesidis, Volvo, Lotus > all

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
      • Roti john on Oct 03, 2020 at 7:10 pm

Hahahhaaha!! IKR john, this is so funny!
        P2, Toyota, Daihatsu, Lexus > all

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 13
        • Pembetulan on Oct 03, 2020 at 7:38 pm

I don’t think so. It should be:

All > Honda

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
          • Whatever “>” pun, we can all agree Bezza doesn’t belong in the right lane.

• IKR!
          P2, Toyota, Daihatsu, Lexus fuel pump problem > all

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 14
          • Johnny Thang on Oct 04, 2020 at 8:52 am

Toyota fuel pump problem??!!
            My 2005 model still running without any problem.

• You forgot to add that honda also got fuel pump problem.

• Correction for Gary on Oct 04, 2020 at 11:01 am

Toyota fuel problem is nothing compared to Honda nightmare quality issue! I myself experience this problem with my Honda Civic.
            Therefore, it should be :
            Honda quality issues > All

• Maibiking on Oct 03, 2020 at 1:23 pm

Meanwhile.. Honda don’t dare to reveal any numbers since they open booking for the city.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 4
    • Ah Beng Level III on Oct 03, 2020 at 2:00 pm

All people don’t want to drive new ah beng ciity. That’s why everyone wanted to drive Brand New X50

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 9
      • Maibiking on Oct 03, 2020 at 2:37 pm

On the contrary, I actually booked myself the city RS. Specs are nice on the X50 but I’m not an SUV guy so yeah.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 18
        • You will regret it, go get urself other makes. Car drivers like army tank suspension too stiff ca scream like hell slow like tortoise to reach 160km

• Maibiking on Oct 04, 2020 at 12:47 pm

Let me remind you, we are only driving B segment cars so why expect such high performance? can drive above 110km/h with ease then okay already la, you want drive B-segment car so fast for what?

• Gerenti Perodua trolls will double down and whack the keyboard this weekend.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 38
    • Same goes to Honda trolls too

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 29
      • Emerald City on Oct 03, 2020 at 7:17 pm

We are having life as normal people outhere, family commitment too high now. Low sales is killing us. Really hate that syoksendiri naming Suv, celups smartphone name lol ‘Vivo, Realme X50’ flagship some more lol. But nevermind, we will rebound back with new SOP. The comment section is our battle ground. It wont go away. don’t tease tease la bro!
        Yo missing us? it’s ok if you wont say it, but we are very proud to say it first,
        ‘We never really miss you, ever!’

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
    • Mika Ng on Oct 04, 2020 at 10:13 am

Correct! Actually PERODUA faced long long time failure in overseas market in S. East Asia!!

• Neutral on Oct 03, 2020 at 3:23 pm

If I am given the power to decide the prices. With this kind of overwhelming order, I will increase 2 to 3K to the original pricing. That would translate into an extra 50 to 60 million ringgit into the company coffer and the number of orders are still adding. No joke isn’t it.

• They are contributing to increase the car price. Paying others to be white mice and yet to be so anticipated…………………

• azrai on Oct 03, 2020 at 3:28 pm

Back to black and G can collect more tax. The cycle of new model will come shorter than 11 years Exora.

• azrai on Oct 03, 2020 at 3:34 pm

Since X50 will eat into other piece of auto pie, sure the 20k is a pull from RM80k-RM120 price bracket segment which include Vios, Yaris, City, Almera, Mazda2, Mazda3, Civic, Altis, HRV, CX3, CHR, Aruz, Avanza. Someone gain will be someone lost.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 13
  • How can Proton just take the booking fees since the Hire Purchase form has yet been completed?

Booking fee 30A”. (1) No owner, dealer, agent or person acting on behalf of the owner shall collect or accept a booking fee from an intending hirer before the receipt of the duly completed form set out in Part II of the Second Schedule by the hirer.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 13
    • Anonymous on Oct 03, 2020 at 6:30 pm

That’s a law for rentals, not purchases.

• Who sez? Placing booking fee is not the same as downpayment when u signs the HP. It is a BOOKING FEE.

• Mind you, Booking fees is actually govern under Hire Purchase Act

• Avenger on Oct 04, 2020 at 4:33 pm

John is correct. Booking fee isn’t downpayment, you can withdraw booking fee without penalties but not downpayment.

• Johnweak on Oct 03, 2020 at 5:55 pm

Sure got spareparts problem like x70 again

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 19
    • SyeahS on Oct 03, 2020 at 7:10 pm

Even, honda also got spare parts problem like every honda models

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 1
    • Fake News on Oct 03, 2020 at 9:53 pm

Even Honda has sparepart problem with fuel pump replacement and yet they still call people back to SC just to tell them; “sorry sir. part tarak. come back next month. meanwhile we won’t be responsible if your engine fails during such time.”

• Pozzy on Oct 03, 2020 at 6:24 pm

Better not to drag the official launch while still can before gov declare PKP 2.0

• When benz owner that already test drive this SUV and place a booking mean this car is really good product from proton…

• contender on Oct 03, 2020 at 8:17 pm

Thanks to Geely …. Proton’s revival is gaining momentum! Syabas Proton

• Sabtu on Oct 03, 2020 at 10:58 pm

Any article about the rear view mirror coming soon? Or at least the floormat

• never trust chinese product.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 23
  • newme on Oct 04, 2020 at 12:41 am

20K is not enough. They had 20K booking before launch for Iriz too but end up selling the company anyway.

• 20k RM40k Iriz not equal to 20k RM80k X50.

• Newne on Oct 04, 2020 at 2:10 pm

You mean the cost for both are the same?

• Avenger on Oct 04, 2020 at 4:48 pm

You mean the price for selling 20k musang kings are the same as selling 20k rambutans?

• Ya, cost and profit are different. IRIZ needs research and development costs and lower profits. X50 does not require research and development costs and has high profits..

• Both Iriz & Persona shared a platform using similar parts & components.Persona profit subsequently recover the R&D cost. Proton’s September 2020 sale = 11,935. The X70 = 2,849 unit, Saga, Persona dan Exora and Iriz make up the rest. Persona’s sale tripled the Iriz thruout the year.

• Iriz bookings 20,000
      But reality selling less than 800 units per month…

So the company sold to Geely

Tq newme for the history class

• Fair trade on Oct 04, 2020 at 7:55 am

The booking was made on a pretext that the price won’t exceed 80K. Well, let’s see how it goes when the actual price is revealed in a 2 week time.
    MITI and MOF won’t reduce the taxes if the local contents are small. I reckon the negotiation is still work in progress.

• Proton oh Proton on Oct 04, 2020 at 9:58 am

Booking fee does mean anything .. sales figure. Let see after price rival.

• Dulu old PROTON tak pandai tak boleh tanding,tapi kini under NEW PROTON with NEW LOGO sudah cukup kuat n become TERMINATOR to other non proton player yang mangkok nasi tengah GOYANG & PANICCC!!!!

• Safdar Hussain on Oct 04, 2020 at 9:49 pm

Good

• Ollie on Oct 04, 2020 at 11:48 pm

If you’re excited about this piece o s please leave Malaysia. You’re too stupid for this country and would be better for the nation if you go to another country.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 41
    • Hafriz Shah (Member) on Oct 05, 2020 at 7:02 am

We don’t need this kind of hate speech here. If you don’t like it, you can leave the site. Thank you.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 3
      • Norlia on Oct 05, 2020 at 7:34 pm

He sound so extreme, like a certain bigshot.
        Kalau tak suka, boleh keluar…. and he’s back.

• You can hate Proton all you want but that does not mean you can post something like that to the readers. Despite Kunta being so annoying with his multiple nonsense, you are actually worse than Kunta with your short provocative and hateful comment. I think it would be better for you to leave this blog, the mods here can also just perma ban you

• Wan carsguide on Oct 05, 2020 at 9:27 am

Grounded urself, when u really hate anger toward something, pls learn to step back, chill, close the page, then moved on with your life. Dont kill the messenger journalist reporters

• Hafriz Shah, what colour did you pick bro?

• tatu880 on Oct 05, 2020 at 12:14 pm

Hafriz, which spec and colour of the X50 did you booked?

• Frank on Oct 05, 2020 at 5:51 pm

Have anyone check whether it comes with built-in DVR using the 360 camera. Unfortunately someone confirmed no cabin ambient LED light

• AutonomousMan on Oct 07, 2020 at 11:15 am

Ini semua sembang je, nak jual tapi harga tak confirm lagi sebab parts content tak tahu berapa percent local dan ckd. Kalau banyak parts CKD sebab nak dapatkan minimal production cost, kompom itu bukan kereta nasional kerana kurang content local. Dan dah tentu juga harga jualan jadi tinggi sebabkan tax. kesian!!!

• Local content is well informed to be at 40% now and rising
      https://paultan.org/2020/09/15/2020-proton-x50-variant-breakdown-spec-differences-between-standard-executive-premium-and-flagship/
      The issue of delay was caused by MITI slow to release the approved selling price.

• Hafriz Shah (Member) on Oct 07, 2020 at 12:19 pm

No it’s not. The report of Proton still waiting for prices from MITI was misinformed. Proton is just following its usual routine for launches – all prices to be announced by the CEO at the launch event.

• Potong Exola on Oct 08, 2020 at 2:30 am

Protong can close down la their rnd.
    Protong no need big2 plant anymore.
    parts kapal angkut dr china mainland.. maaa..
    Protong keje pasang keta je. ubah dashboard, plastik2 kt dlm tu
    ubah sikit front grill bagi terlopong..mcm mulut boya.. tadaa.. siap.
    p1 – kereta nasional kah kah kah..atokutty very proud.. his brainchild sudah besar…
    malaysia mmg sgt boleh..kah kah kah..