Volkswagen Golf GTI Mk8 spotted in Malaysia – CKD

Here’s something rather interesting. The Volkswagen Golf GTI Mk8 has been spotted completely without disguise in Malaysia, and it looks to be a locally-assembled (CKD) model! Shout out to Akmal Azmi, who managed to capture photos of this blue unit, which was sighted in Putrajaya recently.

Barring any official word from Volkswagen Passenger Cars Malaysia (VPCM), the main giveaway that this is a CKD model is a sticker on the windscreen, which reads “assembled and inspected by Hicom,” along with a mention of Pekan, Pahang.

The Pekan facility is where CKD Volkswagen models are assembled, including the Vento, Passat, Tiguan, Tiguan Allspace and Arteon. However, the Golf has been a fully-imported (CBU) model for some time now, but that looks to change with the eighth-generation of the hatchback model.

In terms of specifications, this example of the Golf GTI is fitted with LED headlamps and taillights, along with 18-inch “Richmond” alloy wheels on the outside. Meanwhile, the interior sports leather upholstery and a dual-screen setup – the latter appears to consists of a 10.25-inch Digital Cockpit instrument cluster display and a 10-inch touchscreen for the infotainment system. The hanging face mask is not an optional accessory or standard equipment.

Under the bonnet, the hot hatch is powered by an EA888 2.0 litre turbocharged four-cylinder petrol engine, which should serve up 245 PS and 370 Nm of torque – 15 PS and 20 Nm more than the previous CBU Mk7.5 model. Unfortunately, there’s no manual transmission in sight, given the presence of a stubby, Porsche-esque gear selector, so a seven-speed DSG dual-clutch transmission serves to drive the front wheels instead.

Given that the new Golf GTI appears set to be a CKD model, it isn’t far-fetched to assume that lesser variants will be included in the line-up as well. However, just when VPCM plans to officially launch the Mk8 here remains to be seen. Nonetheless, a CKD Golf GTI is certainly exciting news, but would you be interested?

GALLERY: Volkswagen Golf GTI Mk8

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• (Like) Honda Civic Type-R.
    (Dislike) CKD VW Golf GTI

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 84
  • Rakyat Malaysia on Oct 06, 2020 at 10:35 am

Congrats to our DRB Hicom abams, VW Group have much trust in your capabilities and hardworking culture to entrust you with making their top performance Golf GTi! With cheaper prices leading to more sales, your hardwork will be recognised by the whole VW. That is why VW CEO have admitted the truth that our abams are more hardworking and better performing than Wolfsburg abams. This is the trust they gave to us.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 9
    • Kancil Hybrid on Oct 06, 2020 at 5:25 pm

Apa la kau ni bro.. Orang usaha pun salah, tak usaha pun salah. Apa yg kau impikan sebenarnya?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 9
  • Lychee Pie on Oct 06, 2020 at 10:54 am

“The hanging face mask” part makes my day, thanks PT.

• ahmadjohnson97 on Oct 06, 2020 at 11:09 am

Just contact Volkswagen Malaysia last month and replied they have no plans to CKD manual version of Golf GTi. Pretty sad since it’s a “hot hatch”. VW Malaysia never officially bring in manual Golf GTi since MK5.

• Jeremy on Oct 06, 2020 at 12:17 pm

The wet clutch DSG is better performing.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
      • ahmadjohnson97 on Oct 06, 2020 at 4:43 pm

Of course. DSG is better in term of performance and daily drive, and probably more fuel efficient. But more expensive to maintain and less fun.

• Jeremy on Oct 06, 2020 at 10:13 pm

Your preception comes from dry clutch DSG, this wet clutch on GTI is far more reliable and no different in maintenance than a standard autobox.

• ahmadjohnson97 on Oct 06, 2020 at 10:40 pm

I know is a wet clutch, but I’m compare with manual, not standard autobox.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Oct 06, 2020 at 11:36 pm

reliable? are you sure? you obviously never owned a GTI

• True, although the price for a set of clutch replacement for DSG is much higher than a single clutch from M/T.

• seancorr (Member) on Oct 06, 2020 at 11:16 am

After the awfully slow introduction of the CKD Arteon,. VCPM is finally buckling up and giving us CKD models of the Golf. Good news indeed for VW fans and customers.

• Just dunt expect the prices to be below 200k.

Unless they can sell a spec kosong ” clubsport ” lightweight model .

• In deeper view, Malaysia is dumping group for ICE car…. The EU is getting their id3, id4 EV and regulations tighten.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 10
    • So you think VW developed 8th gen Golf just for Malaysia? Woowwwwwwwwwwww..hhahahahhaha…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
      • Leafable on Oct 06, 2020 at 5:37 pm

Looks like its the case by their EU’s golf gti sales number. The EU citizens all purchasing id3 and id4 and ditching their ice models. Thats why they bring in these old ice tech over to earn the investment back from poor asian market because majority of us don’t understand what is greenhouse gas that cause flood on our beautiful coastline flooding.

• dream_125 on Oct 07, 2020 at 12:52 am

Until now not a single id3 and id4 had been purchased in Europe. Both models are not out yet and both cannot be compared with a GTI.

• Leafable on Oct 07, 2020 at 7:15 pm

Both already out la. People already getting their id3 delivered. Id4 have to wait till jan 2021.

• He will be shocked by Malaysia road tax on ev car….

• eeeriz on Oct 06, 2020 at 3:49 pm

I hope the DSG in Mk8 is as reliable in Tiguan. Heard from several comments (one from my own friend), so far no issue with the wet clutch DSG. I thing i learn having a continental turbocharged car is that you can never do things you did in japanese turbocharged car. Contis are more manja and need to be driven sensibly, and can’t trash it all the time.

• The tiguan is using the mk7 gti dsg box….this new gti along wt the new passat & arteon is using the golf R 7 speed dsg….off course this will be more reliable but the prev 6 spd gti’s gb is very reliable too. Been using the mk6 gti since 2013….still strong, will consider this mk8 gti too. Anyway, my wife 1.8 B8 using the soo called unreliable dry clutch have been running fine since 2018. I do feels its faster shifting than my mk6 gti….hmmm

• Leafable on Oct 06, 2020 at 5:39 pm

Please VW, please don’t bring in these old tech for your investment return due to poor sales number hammer by Tesla Model 3 in the EU. We want id3 and id4 just like the europeans. Not GTI or GTFxxk

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 12
  • VW for life on Oct 06, 2020 at 7:28 pm

VW…. come on.. who not scare la. If you are buying this as your 1st, 2nd … only car … good luck.. GTI wake up la. Sell at RM160k with warranty may be people will try. Other wise…. lol

• If you buy car for the resale, then I’m sorry but you better look elsewhere. I feel it doesn’t matter if the resell value is bad, because I plan to own this car for a very long time, to cherish and appreciate the engineering behind it. If you care about resell value, just go get a Honda or Toyota and be set. VW, Merc, BMW, and Audi too rich for your blood.

• Danny Tay on Oct 06, 2020 at 10:03 pm

The red line strip on the grille could be inspired from X50/Binyue. Coincidence? Nope.

• seancorr (Member) on Oct 07, 2020 at 12:56 am

On closer look at the pics it doesn’t seem like the GTI is equipped with AEB or any fancy cruise control systems. I hope in wrong on this but if I’m right…people will definitely gonna compare this with the X50 lol.

• potato on Oct 07, 2020 at 12:45 pm

how many GTi did VW sold in the past few years because apart from the most popular Mk-V i don’t see many newer models. of course the VI & VII looked so similar that you can add those together but still not many of them.

if Hicom decides to CKD them, will they be able to sell enough to make profit or are they relying on exports to nearby countries?

• The front headlights need to work harder to improve it, it looks sleepy and less aggressive.

• Must have gold GTi off course dream car