VIDEO: Proton X50 ASEAN NCAP crash test report

We now have the full New Car Assessment Program for Southeast Asian Countries (ASEAN NCAP) crash safety report for the Proton X50, including the full crash test video. As announced by Proton last week, its upcoming B-segment SUV scored a full five-star crash safety rating, and it is now confirmed that it stands for all four variants available, since the crash tests were carried out on the X50 Standard.

Yes, you read that right, the tests were done on base X50s equipped with four rather than six airbags, which are fitted to the other three variants. The ASEAN NCAP video shows how the X50 withstood both frontal and side impacts from multiple angles. The frontal crash, especially, looks rather promising as the A-pillars remained intact.

Looking at the full report, ASEAN NCAP gave the Proton X50 a score of 13.42 out of 16 for frontal impact, a full 16 for side impact and 2 out of 4 for head protection technology (points docked for the lack of curtain airbags on the vehicles tested). Its total for Adult Occupant Protection (AOP) is 31.42 out of a max of 36.

To put that into perspective, those numbers compare favourably against the Perodua Aruz (12.50, 14.64, 4, AOP total 31.14), even though it falls behind the recently tested (and fellow B-segment SUV) Toyota Corolla Cross (13.01, 16, 4, AOP total 33.01). It has to be mentioned, though, that if the X50 was tested with six airbags instead of four, it would have bested the Corolla Cross too.

The next rating is Child Occupant Protection (COP), where the X50 scored a total of 41.50 out of 49. The Aruz and Corolla Crossed received COP scores of 41.19 and 44.35, respectively.

As for Safety Assist, the X50 scored 14 out of 18, losing points for not having seatbelt reminders for rear passengers (for the Standard variant tested at least – the Flagship version we’ve tested has belt reminders for all seats). Here, both the Aruz and Corolla Cross had better outings with 16 and 14.50 respectively.

Click to enlarge the full crash test report

The latest version of ASEAN NCAP testing protocol also includes a separate assessment for blind-spot technology. The independent body confirmed that the X50’s blind-spot monitor functions within the test parameters (on both sides), as shown in the test video.

On a side note, the full report also mentions that the safety rating applies for Proton X50 models meant for the Thai market too. Well, now we know that the X50 will be exported there – thanks for the info, ASEAN NCAP!

So, what do you think of the Proton X50’s ASEAN NCAP crash test result? Discuss in the comments section below.

GALLERY: 2020 Proton X50 1.5 TGDi Flagship

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• John Nak Kopi on Oct 09, 2020 at 11:18 pm

Dah kemek pun masih cantik lagi.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 9
    • AliAhKauRamasamy on Oct 10, 2020 at 12:05 am

On a side note, the full report also mentions that the safety rating applies for Proton X50 models meant for the Thai market too. Well, now we know that the X50 will be exported there – thanks for the info, ASEAN NCAP!

Good good

• Michael Yap on Oct 10, 2020 at 11:28 am

We are so lucky to finally have a safe Proton. For 30 years, rakyat of Malaysia waited for a safe car from our national car maker. Finally, we get the safe car we have always wanted.

Thank you Li Chunrong, Geely and China for giving Malaysians a safe and decent car to own

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 19
        • Avenger on Oct 10, 2020 at 5:41 pm

You been sleeping for so long huh? 30 years and just woke up?

• Civic Turbo 2018 on Oct 10, 2020 at 9:09 pm

Hafiz continue BUMPs X50, the order will go even much more than 20K bookings

• Hantu Raya on Oct 10, 2020 at 7:43 pm

Nice try, but P1 has been making 5 safety rated cars since the Preve.

• Li Peng on Oct 10, 2020 at 11:57 am

This superior exported the huge Right-hand drive countries too. UK, Oz, Jepun, Indon, Singapura… Bravo smart geely Chinas, tengkiu osem X50 Binyue!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 4
    • Rakyat Malaysia on Oct 10, 2020 at 9:50 am

Only the safest & best design for us Malaysians. All the best X50! Gudjob

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
      • Safer and better than hrv, civic and city

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 3
      • Michael Yap on Oct 10, 2020 at 11:31 am

I am so proud and happy we have a safe car finally from our National car maker. I just only wish it had been completely designed and made by Malaysians for Malaysians.

Anyhow, it is still a good start. Thank you China, we will be forever grateful for this safe car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 22
        • Lolwhut? on Oct 10, 2020 at 1:54 pm

You must be recent. How did you managed to survive in a cave for 30 years?

• newme on Oct 10, 2020 at 10:14 am

Nak kipas pun agak2 lah.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 34
      • Who cares if kipas or not. The test results are here for all to see. A very safe car benefits all of us road users. Blind brand loyalty like yours don’t give us that kind of assurance as we can still see non-national brands coming out with zero ncap rated cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 5
        • But some non-national car brands got full star ncap rated cars after coming out such as Hilux, 3 Series, Ioniq. So not all car brands are all have full star ncap rated cars. Even honda got full star ncap rated cars but somehow, it can’t be trusted as heard many drivers from honda have made complaints about built quality hasn’t been fixed which not assemble car properly so it is not full star ncap rated cars, it will either two-three full star rated ncap

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 3
          • dream_125 on Oct 10, 2020 at 8:20 pm

NCAP has absolutely nothing to do with build quality (at least when the welding seams are set properly).

• Safer than the corolla cross it is not.

• Edwin L on Oct 11, 2020 at 12:44 pm

Read closely again, the X50 TDGI would have trumped CC if it were tested instead of the baseline variant.

• Corolla Cross is proven that it is still safer after testing in NCAP

• Smoke Gets in my Eyes on Oct 11, 2020 at 7:23 pm

What does; “It has to be mentioned, though, that if the X50 was tested with six airbags instead of four, it would have bested the Corolla Cross too.” which you don’t understand.

• dumbyou feeling neglected on Oct 10, 2020 at 1:22 pm

Wow, everyone, we have here another troll-wannabe. Or is it Kunta already your troll sifu?

• Maxine on Oct 10, 2020 at 2:18 pm

Lol newme#DK, running out of idea again?, resorted to blame the messenger. What kind of troll is this? a small & slow siput troll in the ocean dares to challenge their integrity? Mighty PT as usual always neutral, no bias, fair to all brands Just go to the mirror, the truth is It’s you that should kipas2 harder all over your boss since their low sales equate to low incentive for you to troll

• Aura89 on Oct 10, 2020 at 2:01 am

This confirmed the Standard baseline variant that you can ACTUALLY BUY, instead of the competitor tested the G variant car that you CAN’T BUY because it doesn’t exist!

• Michael Yap on Oct 10, 2020 at 11:38 am

Who owns the competitor car company? See the majority shareholders? EPF, Khazanah and UMW. I wonder why the Government never insisted that the competitor car company gave us safer cars? This shows greed

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 11
      • Jeremy on Oct 10, 2020 at 3:05 pm

Who provided the technology? You should know cause you keep tell us all this gamechanger here and gamechanger there. If the principal don’t give them better safety features where are they going to get these features? From your dreamland? From your farts?

• Silthice on Oct 10, 2020 at 2:26 am

Would it score higher if HPF metals are used in certain areas? Is Proton going to abandon their HPF technology ⚙ or only utilize on their own local made models?

• Hafriz Shah (Member) on Oct 10, 2020 at 10:05 am

The X50 already uses HPF parts.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 3
      • Silthice on Oct 10, 2020 at 12:26 pm

Only X70 wasn’t using HPF parts?

• Hafriz Shah (Member) on Oct 10, 2020 at 4:43 pm

Got also. HPF isn’t unique to Proton, it’s a technology used pretty much by most major brands now, especially Europeans.

• Sonyman on Oct 10, 2020 at 12:54 pm

Great work by our local engineers. Well done!

• dream_125 on Oct 10, 2020 at 5:56 pm

“Would it score higher if HPF metals are used in certain areas?”

This only the designers can tell. Some areas even have to crumple on impact to absorb the forces of the collision. It wouldn’t make sense, if the car survives the collision with low damage, but the passengers are dead because the forces are transferred to their bodies.

• autodriver (Member) on Oct 12, 2020 at 8:23 am

I never doubt on Proton’s rigidity since they launched the Preve. I personally saw a Preve which badly damaged and guessing the speed not less than 70km/h. The front damage quite bad but the B pillar and cabin is perfectly secured. If this were H or T brand, the damage level is far beyond the Preve. FYI, Proton metal is supplied by Hyundai and Hyundai steel solidity is well known globally. That’s why Proton always secure high score in NCAP as they have invested huge money in the body rigidity and already utilized HPF many years ago.

• Wow both the A pillars stands strong, straight as ruler, nothing happen, cabin intact yes confident – high

• David Peterson on Oct 10, 2020 at 3:36 pm

Almost all car manufacturers have common strength in A pillars test, especially European and Japanese brands since 10-15 years ago. It’s nothing new.

Tell me, which cave you lived before?

• Redline on Oct 10, 2020 at 4:59 pm

Zero mentioned EU & Japs in his sentence. Common people randomly watch Ancap test video, so its a normal reaction. Some people view real life collision and compare the higher damage vs this slower speed Ancap version, its different to them. Why so butthurt? just relax and chill

• Avenger on Oct 10, 2020 at 5:42 pm

You should be horrified to watch Aruz NCAP testing then.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Oct 10, 2020 at 10:22 am

good job geely. also, now we can also see how the lower variant wheel looks like.

• Jaguh on Oct 10, 2020 at 10:25 am

In short, it is geat looking and high tech at affordable price

• Today china car not toufu, like most other cars, 5 star

• Concerned citizen on Oct 10, 2020 at 2:44 pm

They should have test for the roof of the car, lately there’s been a lot of cases , reported n not

• Monana on Oct 10, 2020 at 6:39 pm

My comments below is not for X50.

When will ASEAN NCAP will adopt tests for AEB? Pedestrian, and its performance at night.

When will ASEAN NCAP will adopt tests for small overlap frontal collision? I know even for Euro NCAP they have yet adopt this.

When will ASEAN NCAP will adopt tests for roll-over?

Maybe Paultan.org can create an article that covers the differences between ASEAN NCAP, Japan NCAP, Euro NCAP etc. and keep updating them as time goes by.

• Anonymous on Oct 11, 2020 at 6:09 am

Euro NCAP won’t do small overlap crashes anytime soon because it is not a common crash in Europe. But it is in America, where there are more big vehicles. And most of those crashes happen not when trying to overtake, but when drivers went over to the opposing lane by accident. The traffic layout for both regions are also very different. I might say we have a closer resemblance to Europe’s traffic (slower, narrower, windier, more smaller vehicles).
      The front wheel well is the main problem. It grants no space for additional impact absorbing structures for a small overlap crash. So designing for that type of crash is difficult. What they do is create a crash structure that deflects the impact away from the passenger cell. Such an elaborate design for a rare occurrence makes the cars unnecessarily heavy and expensive.

So instead, Euro NCAP and car makers for that market decide to focus on autonomous systems and lane departure preventions.

• For all the volvo hype, it is just marginally better than the Aruz.

• Edwin L on Oct 11, 2020 at 12:47 pm

You look at it as a bunch of numbers but it is those small margins that differentiates between getting an injury or death during accidents.

• 4G63T DSM on Oct 11, 2020 at 11:31 pm

The dummy’s head looks like it hit the b pillar during the side impact test.

Get the 6 airbag version people.

Proton should have included the full set of airbags for all variants.

• Aura89 on Oct 12, 2020 at 9:18 am

The dummy head is still assessed to be in the green zone after impact, i guess such impact was far less serious than it looks.