Eleventh-generation Honda Civic prototype gets teased – official debut to take place on November 17

A new generation of the Honda Civic will soon be upon us, as the carmaker has announced that the next-generation Civic Prototype will be unveiled on Twitch on November 17. Come debut day, we won’t see the exact production version of the 11th-generation C-segment model, but it will be really close to the final product, judging by the company’s previous “prototypesin the past.

To go along with the announcement, we’re treated to a 15-second video teaser, where we get to see bits of the new Civic. Judging by what we’re shown, this is the sedan version of the model, which is one of two body styles – the other being a hatchback – that will be offered, based on patent images that surfaced last month.

Suffice to see, what little we get to see of the Civic Prototype matches up quite well to those patents. Starting at the front, we find a much slimmer Solid Wing face grille, with the Honda logo taking its place between it and a row of louvres.

Meanwhile, the headlamps are now sleeker and smaller in shape than before, with each cluster sporting an L-shaped daytime running light signature and the brand’s “jewel eye” look. Unfortunately, there’s no clear look at the Civic’s bumper, but patent images show that the tenth-gen’s large, faux corner intakes have been abandoned altogether for less pronounced ones, and these are separated from the lower intake by a “moustache-like” structure in body colour.

Similarly, the side profile isn’t revealed in full, but we do get to see part of the window line, which has the same distinctive kink near the C-pillar like on the current Accord. In fact, the teaser and patent images both appear to confirm that the Civic will share a similar profile with its larger sibling.

Further evidence of this “baby Accord” theme can be seen around back, as the Civic’s boot lid is clearly shown with a subtle ducktail on it. However, there are some noticeable differences, as the taillights are nothing like those on the D-segment model.

Instead, they take on a more angular shape, with a lighting signature mimicking the front units’ DRL look. If you weren’t a fan of the tenth-gen’s C-shaped (or affectionally known as ketam) taillights, what do you think of these? Other cues seen at the rear include a simpler bumper design, with horizontal reflectors aligned to the base of the load lip, with oval exhausts tucked in edges.

For now, this is all that Honda is willing to show us, with the interior not being teased in the video. For that, we have to again look at patents, where we find the Civic has an entirely different dash from the outgoing model.

There is some influence from the Accord here, as the infotainment screen appears to get its own dedicated spot at the top of the dash and is now separated from the climate controls by slim air vents. Those vents in the centre, along with the corner ones, are arranged in a line to create a more cohesive look compared to the tenth-gen’s “up and down” setup.

Other noticeable details include the repositioning of the engine start button closer to the centre stack and a simpler-looking cowl for the instrument cluster. The steering wheel also gets an overhaul to mimic what you’ll find in the latest City, with a hexagonal-shaped centre boss and a four-spoke design. While the on-wheel controls do appear to be a direct copy of the City’s, we spot a scroll wheel on the left spoke, although its function is unknown for now.

To get a more complete picture, we’ll have to until November 17 for Honda to show the Civic Prototype in all its glory, but there are renders if you’re interested. For now, here’s your first look at the 11th-generation Civic. What do you think?

GALLERY: 11th-generation Honda Civic Sedan exterior patent images

GALLERY: 11th-generation Honda Civic Hatchback exterior patent images

GALLERY: 11th-generation Honda Civic interior patent images

GALLERY: 2020 Honda Civic Sedan FC 1.5 TC-P facelift (Malaysia market)

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• (Dude) on Nov 12, 2020 at 11:12 pm

Taillight reminds me og the BMW 2 Series Gran Coupe

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 2
  • Ewwwww…from sporty car become uncle car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
    • “sporty car” The current gen is childish ricer ah beng mobile. This looks much cleaner and understated.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 16
      • Hantu Raya on Nov 15, 2020 at 9:59 am

Yes you are right. Current design is to childish. Or as I put it tekno-tak-tentu-hala.

• Ah Beng Level III on Nov 12, 2020 at 11:42 pm

Hyundai Rear Lights

• LIKE: Slyphy and Bin Rui
    DISLIKE: Civic

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 76 Thumb down 18
  • Copywork on Nov 12, 2020 at 11:48 pm

Hyundai: Honda, stop copying my design, I told you to design by yourself. I can see why you always like to copy mostly from BMW design.

Honda: ??? (Still no responds)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 11
    • Hyundai Elantra is here, but now Civic Ketam no more, copy Elantra
      But elantra sales has been a flop at Malaysia

• Geng geng Malaysia on Nov 13, 2020 at 9:38 am

Hyundai them self made an Italic H logo, and yet Honda did not respond

• Bored on Nov 12, 2020 at 11:53 pm

Such very less agressive. But only uncles and aunties like this. But only uncles and aunties will buy this H brand

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 13
  • Comok on Nov 12, 2020 at 11:56 pm

Steering Rack, Fuel Pump and Oil Dilution? Pass this.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 5
    • UP Fake News Sdn Bhd on Nov 13, 2020 at 9:20 am

Earlier on, someone said Honda Malaysia have improved their quality same like Honda Japan. But some owners are right. Few of them owned civic facelift 2020 for a while, but come out with so many problems. So is that called an improvement for Honda Malaysia quality. Did you think should believe “UP” again?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
      • Life is good on Nov 13, 2020 at 5:24 pm

How did you know owner of Honda Civic facelift compain about the quality?Many of owner Honda Civic facelift is very happy with their Civic and no problems.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 13
        • Sore bad on Nov 13, 2020 at 8:03 pm

You go through Lowyat forum from Civic owners club. Then you will see that few owners have faced many problems for driving new Civic facelift. Aiayyaa, another fake news guy

• X50 fans on Nov 13, 2020 at 5:28 pm

Yes,I think quality of Civic facelift have improve from previous Civic.My freind buy 2020 Civic and he tell me the quality is better now!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 11
  • woahhhh on Nov 13, 2020 at 12:07 am

Hopefully no noisy cvt gearbox please

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 26
  • Fiat Multipla Designer on Nov 13, 2020 at 12:16 am

My two cents

When designing a car, the design have to appeal to it’s own target market based on segmentation. Look at German’s, the A3, 3 series, and A Class designs would appeal more to youngsters. As it step a segment above, the design would look more matured and appeals more to family guys. Move another segment above it appeals to a businessman & chauffeured person, etc.

But do not overdo it, like the Japanese. Current honda civic is an example the epitome of over-designed car. Fake vents and creases everywhere, weirdly shaped tail-light. A sporty looking big D-segment Accord? Angry looking CR-V or an old looking H-RV? There’s continuity but no clear separation of design definition between segments.

Based on render, this next gen civic is about to look more like an old family man car, or I could be wrong and it’ll look sporty with less creases and fake vents, better shaped tail-light too, according to teaser.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 21
    • Absolutely for family car, but not for younger gen

• Bruh... on Nov 13, 2020 at 2:10 pm

You’re wrongHonda Civic clearly targeted at younger exec, and quite suited for young families. The Type-R is the halo-car, there’s also RS version whithin. Only in Malaysia people think it’s a family car bcos of the younger & fresh grads just couldn’t afford one, let alone Type-R. But today you could still see old Ferio and Civic FD on the road driven by young men, bcoz they could only afford 2nd hand. Any old men bought 2nd hand Civic for ferrying family anywhere? No, bcos D-Segment more suitable for that matter.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 15
        • Uncle car, kereta idaman uncle. No youngsters want big wide car like big woman’s waist

• i think you are toyota promoter.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 19
      • Guradian on Nov 13, 2020 at 12:39 pm

Hi bro, your honda fanboys already bash too much for other brands in every articles. Why you keep on saying Proton promoter, toyota promoter.? Come on

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
    • nahzie on Nov 13, 2020 at 12:08 pm

THIS. Many people complain on how soft the new Hondas look but honestly i love what they are doing now. I prefer an elegant looking uncle/aunty design over overly designed sporty car. The new city looks better than the boxy and sharp crease previous gen City yet people complains it looks too soft

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 12
      • License on Nov 13, 2020 at 12:41 pm

Because Honda designers dont know how to design? Thats really their problem.

• Time for 2.0 Turbo. 1.5T is not enough.

• Buy other brands better. This makes you more headache

• If Civic Auto Gear still uses Earth Dreams CVT. More choices can be choose

• Astro on Nov 13, 2020 at 10:41 am

X50 is better than Civic

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 6
  • I think it might looks nice, a more matured and refined design compare to current gen. My wish list is change back to conventional automatic gear box and full LED for head and tail light

• NiceCar on Nov 13, 2020 at 11:01 am

I like it, current civic design too sporty is only suitable for youngster or single. This car rear look much better without the accord and civic prawn rear light. CKD civic price is cheaper compare other so as long the car have better design and safety i think is good choice.

• It reminds me Accord

• X50 lover on Nov 13, 2020 at 12:44 pm

X50 better. (Respect of our national car)

• are you kidding on Nov 13, 2020 at 5:20 pm

Are you kidding X50 is national car? says that to mainland china people

• Your X50 is not a national car. National car means fully designed and developed like the Saga/Iriz/Persona/Exora.
      Please get it right. And personally I feel the locally developed cars are something to be proud of. Not foreign ownership converted/re-badged cars. X70 and X50 were fully designed and developed by Geely in China. I owned an Exora and it was an excellent MPV, value for money, so i’m not bashing the brand. I also owned Gen2 and Wira Hatch, so dont come and say i’m a basher. Never owned a Honda, but this new Civic does look pretty neat. I think they are going more luxury in their designs, rather than sporty, just like to Toyota went from Luxury to Sport design. Seems Toyota and Honda Swapped Image…Hahahaha.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 13
      • You’re wrong! Only Honda will swaped their image to Sport design. The rest of the brands will retain the same. Proton is still national car. Lol

• Ben Yap on Nov 13, 2020 at 1:44 pm

again i will be one of the first few proud owners of the new 11th generation civic. I’m still the proud owner of my civic turbo, the fastest car in its class. i love to share the good vibes of the civic as it is a car that you won’t regret buying. in fact, you see many people call the civic “kereta idaman”.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 13
  • so it looks more like an Accord soon ^^