Malaysia-based Reevo hubless e-bike arrives 2021

Currently crowd funding on Indiegogo is Malaysia-based firm Beno with the Reevo, with a hubless electric bicycle (e-bicycle) design, priced at 2,199 USD (RM9,050) while a Premium Pack option adds an extra battery and other accessories for 2,569 USD (RM10,575). With first deliveries scheduled for March 2021 and a host of high-tech features, the Reevo is designed for urban riding and rider convenience for short point-to-point journeys in the city.

A major design departure for the Reevo is its hubless 650 B (27.5 inch) wheel design, rated for maximum rider weight of 120 kg, with an empty space where the traditional hub-and-spoke wheel would be. Instead, the rear wheel is driven by a Reevo e-drive 750 Watt motor controlled by a handlebar throttle, fed by a lithium-ion, 10.5 Ah, 48 volt battery and speed limited to 40 km/h, with charging time claimed to be three hours giving a range of about 60 km.

Recognising city streets are a harsh environment for bicycles, electric or otherwise, the Reevo e-bicycle comes with a triple barrier antitheft system. This consists of keyless access using fingerprint recognition, electric wheel lock and GPS tracking along with a motion sensor and there three ride modes.

Rider conveniences include a detachable battery pack for remote charging, maintenance-free drive train and dashboard cradle to mount the rider’s smartphone. A unique feature of the Reevo’s hubless design is the rider can mount a small carrier bag inside the wheel using the provided attachment points.

Another Reevo design touch is autonomous LED lighting, rated at 800 lumens, that switches on automatically in low light conditions. Turn signals and flashing rear/brake lights are also standard, increasing the safety factor with riding on city streets.

The frame is made from aluminium alloy and has a single-sided front fork design, similar to the one found on the Cannondale Scalpel while other body panels are constructed of ABS plastic with a USB charging port found mounted in the battery cover. Established in 2016, Reevo is a product of Beno, or Be Innovative, with a manufacturing facility based in Bayan Lepas, Penang and a design and R & D office in Seattle, Washington, US, led by Alec Lim as chief executive officer.

Coming with diverse and extensive experience in heavy engineering, Mohan enjoys making anything with wheels go fast, especially motorcycles. His weapon of choice is the Desmoquattro engine, and he has a penchant for anything with a dash of Italian design. Strangely enough, he insists he's a slow rider.

• Engineer on Nov 16, 2020 at 4:36 pm

TRON bicycle. Innovation from Malaysia. Nice!

• panjang on Nov 16, 2020 at 5:03 pm

Hmmm…one can buy a cheap bike and equipped it with a motor from china which will return similar mileage as this bike. So does all the electrical gadget. Only downside is that the bike is not as cool as this Reevo.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
    • Macgyver Chan on Apr 02, 2021 at 3:39 am

Hi long, you’re right. After all, this kind of bike is not very important so there is no need to rush to buy let the price that is so expensive will fall on its own because I’m sure the clone product from China in Alibaba will be sold as well. Hahaha

• MoFaz on Nov 16, 2020 at 6:34 pm

Weldan brudder beno Alec Lim!

• Ahmad on Nov 16, 2020 at 7:09 pm

Tipu la orang putih tak berpeluh kayuh basikal masa panas terik :-p.

But design looks awesome

• George X on Nov 17, 2020 at 11:09 am

There was a time climate and environment ideally suited for cycling where’s there are plenty of shades and cool air along the country roads between rubber estates and villages town

• dream_125 on Nov 16, 2020 at 7:43 pm

750 Watt motor controlled by a handlebar throttle and speed limited to 40 km/h?

This doesn’t fit in any “E-Bike” regulations in Malaysia, Japan, US and the EU? Where do they want to sell this bike? China maybe?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 8
  • There seems to be more innovation in this 1 bike than all of proton since it’s existence.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
    • Brian on Nov 16, 2020 at 10:08 pm

There are more innovations in both companies than what you put into this comment.

• hantu raya on Nov 17, 2020 at 9:54 am

sounds just about right as an excuse for a taukes to justify why they want to pay peanuts to local workers for 12 hour work days/ 6 days a week, while they taukes find work/life balance.

• your mom on Nov 17, 2020 at 12:24 am

this in malaysia? lmao gonna get stolen easily

• Maidin on Nov 17, 2020 at 3:07 am

Wow. I cant wait to have this bike. The design is unique! I hope the price can be reduced so that it is more affordable to all.

• RM10,000 for a ebike? I don’t think that’s a practical price at all. For that kind of price, I can buy a pretty good motorcycle that can allow me to drive 250km or more on a full tank. If it’s price at RM2,000 to RM4,000 then perhaps more people will consider about it. BUT when you price it at RM10,000 your target market is going to be very niche.

• walt stawicki on Nov 18, 2020 at 1:27 pm

You CAN buy a rice burner for less. But you can not buy a top end e-bike for less. Perhaps you want them to build in in the E.U. so the price can require an extra 4 or 5 thousand $U.S.would that salve the exploitation? making it unobtainable?

From their reporting, not this brief tease, that wheel has some actual engineering inside, not just a designer doing a Tron rip off for bright and shinny of it.

There are pedals on it, so whether cadence, torgue censor or throttle- if it is Hp and top speed compliant, it IS USA compliant for the public ways.
    You think they’d go this far and be that dumb?

• Macgyver Chan on Apr 02, 2021 at 3:30 am

I think the price of a Reevo e-bike is so expensive up to 10K Malaysia, it’s better to take the money to buy a superbike from China at Alibaba online, it’s worth it. Soon, the Reevo bike will definitely fall in price.Surely this bike will be cloned from China later, the price will be much cheaper.So there is no need to rush to buy.

• Hashim Sibelik on Apr 18, 2021 at 4:28 pm

Interested to know more and how to get one

• Bought one on line from china said delivered didn’t get it help please

• Aziz Taher on Sep 08, 2021 at 10:58 am

I need 2 of these bikes

• Herman Jongkind on Dec 08, 2021 at 11:03 am

L.S.
    Has the production of the Reevo2 started already?
    I live in Phnom Penh, Cambodia and am interested in buying one.
    Please keep me informed.
    Best regards
    Herman

• Steve Stump on Dec 09, 2021 at 7:40 am

I put money down during concept with promise of a bike, will we get the first editions or will we have to wait till they are all cough up? Would love some literature on it and production if possible sent to my email. Thanks you for making such a wonderful bike.

• HỒNG BUI on Aug 14, 2022 at 5:23 am

I want to be sell a Reevobike dealer in Vietnam