BMW announces Digital Key Plus using UWB tech found in iPhones – first debut with all-electric iX SUV

Last year, BMW announced that it would adopt Apple’s CarKey feature, making it the first carmaker to do so. Dubbed Digital Key, it allowed owners to conveniently and securely lock, unlock and even start their BMW with a compatible Apple iPhone.

The German carmaker has now revealed an enhanced version of this system called Digital Key Plus, which uses the ultra-wideband (UWB) technology found in the U1 chip in the iPhone 11, iPhone 12 and Apple Watch Series 6.

Set to debut with the iX all-electric SUV, Digital Key Plus makes things even more convenient for owners, as they will be able to unlock and start their car without having to take their iPhone out of their bag or pocket to tap on the door handle. As with the vanilla Digital Key, credentials are saved in Apple’s Wallet app. The iPhone will be the first to support the new feature, with Samsung’s UWB-equipped Galaxy series likely to be added later on.

The company adds that the short-range, high-bandwidth digital radio technology allows for precise localisation with the greatest possible technology. This ensures that relay attacks, where the radio signal is jammed or intercepted, are not possible.

Both BMW and Apple, along with other companies like Samsung, Mercedes-Benz, Volvo, Toyota and many others, are part of the Car Connectivity Consortium (CCC) that is developing specifications for Digital Key Release 3.0 for UWB, providing a global standard for the automotive industry.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• M & B on Jan 15, 2021 at 1:00 pm

Nice

• CarPlay on Jan 15, 2021 at 1:02 pm

Yet Apply CarPlay is an option! Haha

• Chow Wei Zhen on Jan 15, 2021 at 1:30 pm

Beauty Design

• Semi-Value (Member) on Jan 15, 2021 at 4:09 pm

where is the vomit bucket

• Digital key user on Jan 15, 2021 at 5:36 pm

Useless, after I upgrade to new phone, my digital key cant be transferred and then malfunctuon with error code and BMW cant even solve the problem. So you must not change your phone for 10 years if you wanna use your digital key via phone. Even my online banking app can be easily transferred to new phone. Hey BMW, we can easily own a 300k car dont you think changing a 3 4k phone is a piece of cake? You think we stick to a phone for years? Half baked tech. Back to car key now..hek..