G22 BMW 430i Coupe M Sport launched in Malaysia – 2.0L turbo engine with 258 hp, 400 Nm; from RM442k

The G22 BMW 430i Coupe M Sport has officially landed in Malaysia, nearly three months after its fire-breathing G82 M4 sibling made its introduction here in December 2020. The fully imported 430i is available solely as an M Sport model, and it is priced from RM441,680 (price is before SST exemption).

Included in the base price is a two-year unlimited mileage warranty with no free service. Now, let us remind you again to purchase the car with the optional five-year warranty and free service package, which bumps the price to RM454,800.

Included in the price is the RM36,000 Innovation Package, which consists of Vernasca leather upholstery, BMW Laserlights, high beam assist, Harman Kardon surround sound system, BMW Connected Package Professional, and Sensatec (synthetic leather) instrument panel. This is fitted as standard from launch, though we have been told that you can spec your 430i without the Innovation Package. If so, you’re looking at a base price of RM405,680, or RM418,800 with the five-year warranty and service package.

Let’s go through the standard kit, starting with engine. Powering the rear-wheel drive coupe is the ubiquitous B48 2.0 litre four-cylinder turbocharged engine that makes 258 hp and 400 Nm of torque from 1,550 to 4,400 rpm. An eight-speed Steptronic Sport automatic transmission is standard, propelling the 1,620-kg car from standstill to 100 km/h in 5.8 seconds. The top speed is 250 km/h.

Other goodies to go along with the M Sport model are M Sport suspension, M Sport brakes with blue calipers, variable sport steering, LED headlights and fog lights, M Sport exterior kit with M Aerodynamics package and BMW Individual high-gloss Shadow Line, mesh kidney grille with matte aluminium nuggets, chrome exhaust finishers, and 19-inch M light alloy double-spoke style 797 M bicolour wheels with mixed profile (225/40 front, 255/35 rear) run-flat tyres. There’s a vast selection of add-on options, but we’ll get to those further down.

Inside, our 430i gets BMW Live Cockpit Professional with a 12.3-inch fully digital instrument binnacle, a 10.25-inch touchscreen display in the middle with BMW Operating System 7.0, BMW ConnectedDrive services, wireless charging, and the aforementioned Harman Kardon surround sound system and Sensatec instrument panel.

Being an M Sport model, it gets the requisite anthracite headlining, M leather-wrapped steering wheel, M-specific foot pedals, powered front sports seats with memory function (driver side only), aluminium Tetragon trimmings finished in pearl chrome, seat belts with M Sport stripes, and Vernasca leather seats (available in Tacora Red, Mocha, Black, Oyster, and Cognac colours). Without the IP pack, these Vernasca upgrades cost RM15,260!

There’s also ambient lighting with 11 predefined settings, electrochromic rear view mirror and driver’s side mirror, triple-zone automatic climate control, welcome light carpet and BMW’s Comfort Access system.

In the safety department, the coupe is fitted with BMW Driving Assistant, comprising systems such as front collision warning with brake intervention, rear cross-traffic warning, rear collision prevention, lane departure warning, lane change warning, and cruise control with braking function. There’s also Parking Assistant with reversing assist and a rear view camera.

Now, onto options. The 430i M Sport can be had six colours – Alpine White, Black Sapphire metallic, Portimao Blue metallic, Arctic Race Blue metallic (seen in the pictures here), Dravit Grey metallic and Tanzanite Blue metallic. The last two colours will cost you RM9,160, each.

If you fancy an all-black set of wheels, you can opt for the M light alloy wheels double-spoke style 791 M at no added cost. But if you want grippier performance tyres to go with them, you’ll have to cough up an additional RM8,290 for a full four-piece set.

Besides that, there’s the Y-spoke style 783 Bicolour set with standard tyres at RM10,120, or RM18,400 with the performance tyres. There’s also a more unique 19-inch BMW Individual light double-spoke style 793 bicolour that costs RM13,170, but these only come with regular run-flats instead.

Click to enlarge spec sheet

Besides that, there are eight interior trim options as well, ranging from various aluminium and wood trimmings, including three BMW Individual finishers – piano black, high-gloss aluminium fabric, and ‘Fineline’ open-pore black wood inserts. Each of them costs RM6,110.

Other optional goodies include adaptive M suspension (RM5,240), powered tailgate (RM4,360), BMW Individual Lights Shadow Line (RM2,620), M Carbon exterior package (RM25,290), M rear spoiler (RM1,750), front seats with lumbar support (RM2,180), heated front seats (RM3,320), ventilated front seats (RM7,850), and galvanised switchgears (RM880).

The more advanced Driving Assistant Professional pack costs an extra RM12,210, while the active cruise control with stop-and-go function is an extra RM3,930. Want gesture control and head-up display? Those are RM2,620 and RM9,600 add-ons, and the remote engine start function costs RM3,060. You may click here to check out the online configurator. So, what do you think?

GALLERY: G22 BMW 430i Coupe M Sport official photos

Matthew H Tong

An ardent believer that fun cars need not be fast and fast cars may not always be fun. Matt advocates the purity and simplicity of manually swapping cogs while coping in silence of its impending doom. Matt's not hot. Never hot.

• M & B on Feb 26, 2021 at 4:44 pm

Nice

• Faberman on Feb 26, 2021 at 4:46 pm

Looks great and love it

• Jia Ren on Feb 26, 2021 at 4:48 pm

Bring it on

• Good

• Drinker on Feb 26, 2021 at 4:54 pm

Handsome looker

• Pushy on Feb 26, 2021 at 4:59 pm

Front looks fine. At least doesn’t make people look bored than before

• Bieight on Feb 26, 2021 at 4:59 pm

Bmw malaysia should ckd this car and sell it for around 360k

• Sell it just like the last gen, 420i at 330i price at 288k, 430i at 520i price then we ll see more on the road. At 430k mm i doubt we will see it otr.

• Powered tailgate is a RM4.3k option on car that costs upwards of RM406k. Sigh

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 12
  • CarLvr on Feb 26, 2021 at 5:05 pm

I think it’s nice that we are starting to get options and can spec our cars with features that we want…..rather than buying a car that is already specced by the manufacturer!! Nice move, BMW, nice move. I hope other brands follow suit and there will be more options to choose from in the future LOL.

• This is only because this is a CBU make. If it’s a CKD they tend to streamline the options to make manufacturing easier and cookie-cutter like.

• (Dude) on Feb 26, 2021 at 5:09 pm

Not bad, considering that there are many optional items for us to select.

• Chris on Feb 26, 2021 at 5:10 pm

My eyes!!!

Gawd!!!

• That nose…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 9
  • Game Changer on Feb 26, 2021 at 5:30 pm

BMW 2.0T,
    The same found in 330i M..
    Buy 1 free 1 JDM SUV, can get active cruise control

• German power on Feb 27, 2021 at 10:38 am

Most german now using 2.0 turbo bro. Since 10 years ago. Now even AMG use it pumping 400 horse. M also considering. Dont compare cc between cars now. Look at hp. Jdm suv super floaty, unsettling on our current KL road. Braking harder will nose dive much, pedal gas from standstill will rear dip. Gas pedal tuned in such a way too sensitive to create false feeling of powerful. But after 1 second when you actually need the power it is not there. Too unsettling. German much more refined, calm, quiet, luxury feel. Although feeling too calm not so quick on the start, but you driving jdm or myvi actually left to dust if the driver drive like Myvi atyle but they dont, so you feel like they slow. Most only have the mood on highway but then if a myvi come they might move aside to avoid accident. And yes the price of 430i too high but cbu ma. Stay safe, avoid Myvi. Lol

• General on Feb 28, 2021 at 3:40 pm

BMW X1 alot body roll

M series want to compare passenger car, how come..

It should be GR, Type R..

• Datuk R on Feb 28, 2021 at 4:42 pm

2 weeks ago the viral malaysian drive E class AMG

Nose dive, understeer,
        Crashed.

• Fanta on Feb 26, 2021 at 5:30 pm

Wow, leng lui like to drive this sport car

• Good buy, more worth

• Kumon on Feb 26, 2021 at 6:20 pm

Good information, Well done.

• fugley on Feb 26, 2021 at 7:49 pm

I dun buy car with big nostrils, too ugly

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 20
  • Yamseng on Feb 26, 2021 at 8:29 pm

Better than F32

• thank goodness is RWD

• FudgeMeSideways on Feb 26, 2021 at 9:15 pm

Ada btc Ada bmw

• Dinkin on Feb 27, 2021 at 6:53 pm

Cute car

• applegreen on Feb 27, 2021 at 7:58 pm

After clicking all options i got RM557,060.

• One unfortunate issue with the front design is there is no designated place to put the plate no. From pics, they have to mount on the grill.

• Johnny on Mar 01, 2021 at 10:41 am

Funny why in these times it doesn’t come with 5-year warranty as standard. Bloodsuckers.

Take my money.