Proton offers up to RM7,000 tax rebates for new cars; Saga, Iriz, Persona & Exora get 12-month free service

Planning to buy a new Proton car anytime soon? Well, good news! For the month of March, Proton is offering tax rebates of up to RM7,000 for some of its cars.

The promotion is available for selected variants of the Saga, Iriz, Persona, Exora, X50 and X70. All six models now come with an N95 cabin filter as standard, a feature that was actually introduced back in July 2020.

To sweeten the pot, the national automaker will be offering 12 months free maintenance (parts and labour included) for the Saga, Iriz, Persona and Exora. The SUVs are exempted from this complimentary maintenance package, unfortunately.

If you’re keen, you may head over to Proton’s website to register your interest. Also, feel free to browse through the list of Proton models on CarBase.my. You can find handy tools such as car loan and insurance calculator, or compare your preferred Proton model against other vehicles.

Matthew H Tong

An ardent believer that fun cars need not be fast and fast cars may not always be fun. Matt advocates the purity and simplicity of manually swapping cogs while coping in silence of its impending doom. Matt's not hot. Never hot.

• Dong gor on Mar 02, 2021 at 8:02 pm

The tax rebate is government initiative, so why is it a proton’s offer? Stop using this offer headline pls..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 2
    • Kevin on Mar 03, 2021 at 9:53 am

Yeah. Are they trying to cheat people? Why have to advertise what we already know. Unless its additional disc on top.

• John Gagal on Mar 03, 2021 at 10:11 am

The power of Perodua Ativa !

Teaser sikit sudah bikin Proton goyang gelabah panik diskaun Rm7K !

Bwa Ha ha ha !!!

• Logical Deduction on Mar 03, 2021 at 10:55 am

I see nothing wrong for them to highlight that SST rebates are still in effect and they are not wrong to mention rebates are up to 7k.

• Wakakaka on Mar 02, 2021 at 8:33 pm

Sound desperate.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 14
    • Aura89 on Mar 03, 2021 at 12:01 am

Sound like you just can’t please M’sian buyers. Want top notch spec with luxury feel all at Saga prices and still they complain about expensive car price, and when discounts did happen they say Sound Desperate.

• Suren on Mar 04, 2021 at 8:41 am

If you have traveled the world, you would know by niw that we’re getting garbage for the hefty pruces we pay for our cars.

• Celup King on Mar 03, 2021 at 1:39 am

P2 sales advisors extremely upset of their most brutal blockbuster launching of affordable SUV of 2021. Apparently online reception wasn’t so hot and they had to organise support gangs to drum up hype over their car.

It not help that Rocky/Raize is not anything to shout about. SG car reviews it poorly against Corolla Cross. In you tube there is also a auto journalist who list down the real downside of buying the Rocky/Raize/Ativa(10 reasons not to buy).

It is brutal competition,cos P2 isreportedly faced with worsening sales figure after the Jan high in part of Dec spillover. Due to covid and SST tax free,people are careful with their car choices and prefer to buy value rather than the lowest price.
      Anyway,bring it on,Perodua.School aready reopened. Let Proton school you on providing value for money cars once again.

• lilytan on Mar 03, 2021 at 11:29 am

What a joke. Yeah school p2 on how to flop repeatedly.

• Copy Paste on Mar 03, 2021 at 3:50 pm

Copy paste: “Without Proton, your Myvi still is milotin with only 2 airbags, no ESC, no traction control, no AEB, no driver assist, no turbocharged engine, etc, oh but you still have RV right?”

• azhar on Mar 03, 2021 at 2:48 pm

HAHAHA..hidup dlm gua ke selama ni??

• Kamal AutoGuide on Mar 03, 2021 at 3:06 am

Not True! they just received 1300-1400 booking for PIES BE and R3 LE quartet. This happened during the time Daihatsu ativa open their booking form.The rebates Applicable on selected variants only

• Damon Lee on Mar 02, 2021 at 8:48 pm

RM80k for that X50 volvo enjin is really bargain.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 4
    • marvel miracle on Mar 03, 2021 at 2:14 am

Youre right! X50 exceptionally a smasher, a looker or stunner! Never grow old to look at, mostly the front section. Polished exterior design sit on BMA platform. Good decision1 on satinchrome finished horizontal bar, crossing the grill and endup splits into 2 sticks to hold-tie the headlamp till the edge. Normally this luxury stuff used indoor. This technique also used on mazda but with shorter sticks over slimmer headlight. GD2 Led Headlight enclosure, Some may say its a cross between an audi and benz, intricately complex and unique. Enhanced by prominent front fender bulges and clampshell hood. RM500,000’s beauty attainable at only RM103,000

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
      • CHOONG KHIM FEN on Mar 03, 2021 at 1:38 pm

I hope with I get my X50, my alternator wont have problem, my ECU wont have problem, my car is properly painted , my passenger door can close properly, my spoiler wont have rubber tape coming off, my sunroof liner is well put together and most of all the “special safety reminder” of wind noise above 80km/h near A pillar can be switch off.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 10
    • In recent FB, there is a post on a new X50 owner who can’t stop her car even stepping on the brake and nearly got killed. Luckily she is driving at 30km/he. The SC has recalled x50 and hope this doesn’t become the starting point of X50 MASS RECALL exercise. If you want to live longer, it’s better to stay away from x50 for now..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 17
      • calvin on Mar 03, 2021 at 7:08 pm

Where is your punch line? unfinished, let me help you. You : pls stay away from….. and book DAIHATSU right? haha. You used ‘now’ to smoothen the troll, not to make it too obvious right? MassRecall exercise? Checked! Nope! No such memo thru the network! No one believe it! Joke on you NZX lol! Gym are opened now, just go there doing some form of exercise

• exercise healthy on Mar 03, 2021 at 7:19 pm

If you want to live longer or having more years to lingers around, do some form of exercise and eating more healthy food

• TheWidowmaker on Mar 02, 2021 at 9:41 pm

LoL… And the panic starts…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 7
    • ethics to follow on Mar 03, 2021 at 12:29 pm

Sorry, they dont have free time to go online ,busy with nonstop arrangement of testdrive and collecting bookiing (Its against the ethic to hightlight competitors defects during sale and service) follow up by sale report guided by strict SOP,, every step are now audited.

• Make Malaysia Great Again on Mar 02, 2021 at 9:52 pm

Oh yess!! The best deals gets better.

• tan32 on Mar 02, 2021 at 9:57 pm

With the onslaught of P2 Ativa, P1 X50 standard need at least 6 airbags.

• Geli Betul on Mar 02, 2021 at 10:07 pm

Stop dumping your 10 year old stocks to Malaysians

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 8
    • Aura89 on Mar 03, 2021 at 12:04 am

Good! Great! Why not we start with Perodua since their cars are even older.

• old engine,under power n manyak telan minyak

• Logical Deduction on Mar 03, 2021 at 10:56 am

You must be in the wrong article. Toyota is that away.

• Sam Loo (ori) on Mar 03, 2021 at 10:43 am

Still I prefer Perodua.. Good RV too

• Perodua bazze on Mar 03, 2021 at 12:30 pm

Time to clear out these not cost friendly old techs to injects in geely new improved tech. Else mainstream A & B segments continues trailing behind perodua.

• CARRRnut on Mar 03, 2021 at 12:31 pm

Booked a X50 within 1 week of Booking Opening…… Todate the CAR is still PENDING ! Booked 19 Sept 2020 ! .. Thus ALREADY 5.5 MONTHS !!! Proton …WAKE UP !!!!!

• Aura89 on Mar 03, 2021 at 3:53 pm

This is a global phenomena not just proton, but everyone is involved. So everyone was sleeping.

• CHOONG KHIM FEN on Mar 03, 2021 at 1:41 pm

I hope with I get my X50, my alternator wont have problem, my ECU wont have problem, my car is properly painted , my passenger door can close properly, my spoiler wont have rubber tape coming off, my sunroof liner is well put together and most of all the “special safety reminder” of wind noise above 80km/h near A pillar can be switch off.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 12
  • Bumper Designer on Mar 03, 2021 at 3:22 pm

Come on lah. The RM7k is not Proton give discount. Don’t cheat people.

• Habiby Is on Mar 03, 2021 at 10:26 pm

Just waiting Perodua to come also with this similar discount and free services… Just wait and see if they dare too :)