Perodua Ativa turbo maintenance costs – similar to Myvi and Aruz, 50% less than Proton X50 over 100k km

The Perodua Ativa has been launched, and if you want to know more about it, please check out our comprehensive launch report and supporting posts. The national brand’s latest compact B-segment SUV is certainly a bold step for the company, with plenty of firsts.

A turbocharged engine, a D-CVT along with fancier active safety and driver assistance systems are just some of the technologies making their debut with the Ativa, but we’re not here to talk about any of that.

Instead, this post is focusing on maintenance, specifically how much it’ll cost you to run an Ativa over 100,000 km or five years. We presume many people think it’ll be more expensive to maintain the Ativa’s turbo engine, so we’ll find out if it’s true.

For some points of comparison, we’ve brought in the Aruz and Myvi as well, with both models likely being considered by customers in the market for a more premium Perodua car. Public interest also dictates that the Proton X50 must join the mix, so we threw it in as well.

Before we proceed, there’s the typical housekeeping that we have to do first. Number one, the Ativa does not directly compete against any of the other models mentioned due to different customer profiles. This is purely meant to show how much it would cost to maintain these cars, and if the newer tech makes a difference.

Secondly, all the figures are pulled from the official websites of Proton and Perodua at the time of writing. All good? Now, with that out of the way, let’s jump right into it.

Right off the bat, we can see that among the Perodua trio, the difference in terms of maintenance costs isn’t hugely significant. Over a five-year ownership period, the Ativa, Myvi and Aruz will cost you about RM3.1k to RM3.2k to keep running.

However, Perodua does suggest several Pro Care service items that are optional for the Myvi and Aruz, which it says is recommended to maintain your vehicle at optimum condition. In the case of the Myvi, adding all the Pro Care options across five years will add RM882 to the grand total, and it’s another RM738 for the Aruz.

Perodua Ativa maintenance costs; click to enlarge

It should be noted that the Ativa’s smaller 1KR-VET 1.0 litre turbocharged three-cylinder engine requires less engine oil (3.5 litres), while the Myvi and Aruz’ 2NR-VE 1.5 litre NA four-cylinder needs four litres. Interestingly, despite the Ativa needing one less spark plug, the cost for a full set change is more than double that of its other stablemates, due to the need for higher-spec spark plugs to ensure the 1KR-VET’s multi-spark system (plugs spark twice) works as it should.

A saving grace is the Ativa’s D-CVT requires less frequent lubricant changes – just once at 100,000 km/60 months – and its air filter is cheaper too, although cabin filter changes to happen more frequently.

Between the front-wheel drive Myvi and rear-wheel drive Aruz, they are pretty close in terms of maintenance costs, despite the latter requiring additional lubricant for its rear differential. No timing belt changes for any of the Perodua cars either, as they all use a timing chain.

As for the X50, it is certainly the costliest of the bunch, largely due to the more frequent air and fuel filter replacements – the latter is not needed for the Perodua models. It’s more premium N95 cabin filter is also more expensive, although you do get better filtration with it.

Perodua Myvi maintenance costs (left), Aruz (right); click to enlarge

The X50’s larger-capacity 1.5 litre turbo three-pot also requires more lubricant (all the cars mentioned here use low-viscosity, fully synthetic 0W-20 engine oil) and its more advanced seven-speed wet dual-clutch transmission also contribute to its maintenance cost. Additionally, there’s a timing and drive belt change at the 110,000-km mark, which costs RM458.05 with labour. Proton does offer free labour for the first three service intervals, one more than what Perodua offers.

As always, there’s more to overall running costs than just visiting the service centre, as you’ll also have to take into account annual insurance and road tax, which differs for SUVs and non-SUVs. For the Ativa, it’s RM20, but the Aruz and X50 road tax is RM120, while the Myvi (the only non-SUV model here) is RM90.

Adding to this is fuel consumption, which differs from person to person. Referring to official claimed fuel consumption figures, the Ativa is rated at 18.9 km/l, the Aruz at 15.6 km/l, the Myvi at 20.1 km/l, while the X50 is between 15.4-15.6 km/l. As mentioned earlier, actual mileage may vary based on driving styles, but the claimed figures give a good idea on which ones will use more or less fuel.

Proton X50 maintenance costs; click to enlarge

That’s not all, as there are consumables to add to the ownership cost, with things like brakes and tyres, the latter of which can differ greatly in price depending on wheel size. Consider the Ativa’s wheel size that starts at 16 inches, and goes all the way up to 17s on the top-spec variant, while the Myvi peaks at 15 inches and the Aruz has 17s throughout the range. The X50 starts with 17-inch units and go up to 18-inch sets on its top two variants.

In terms of actual pricing, the Ativa goes for between RM61,500-RM72,000, while the larger X50 is from RM79,200-RM103,300. As for the other two Perodua models, the Aruz is from RM68,526-RM73,226, and the Myvi tops out at RM52,697.

So, there you have it. The new Ativa, even with all its advanced technologies, closely matches its siblings in terms of maintenance cost, but is a lot less when compared to the X50. Again, the Proton SUV, Myvi and Aruz occupy different segments, so don’t compare them apples to apples. Thoughts?

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Roti john on Mar 04, 2021 at 7:19 pm

This is one of the reasons why people choose Game-Changing Perodua Ativa over Proton X50. Perodua have a cheaper maintainance cost, fuel saving engine and high RV, hence saving your money. Buying the Proton X50 will make you lose more money than ever.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 44
    • John Geli on Mar 04, 2021 at 8:57 pm

Yes you’re absolutely right, we Don’t Need Geely Anymore (DNGA) !!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 13
      • Kuinosan on Mar 04, 2021 at 9:43 pm

Also taking into account Resale Value when traded in 5 years. Buy new Ativa RM72,000 and RV is rm40k while the larger X50 is RM79,200 and gooder RV is RM59K.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 17
      • Jon Bon Jovee on Mar 05, 2021 at 9:46 am

Proton is just different level from P2. They have mentioned before they just want to compete with honda or toyota. P2 is not their rival because P2 focusing on budget car, while P1 focusing on slightly premium and refined car. We can see this from who is their partner. Geely is more going to Volvo standard while daihatsu will always be toyota group cheap and compact segment. So it is up to us to choose what is our preference in buying cars, the budget that we have etc. It is good to have choices in life. Cheers…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 2
      • Kunchi Kunta on Mar 05, 2021 at 2:04 pm

Blockbuster
        Brutal
        Competitive
        Up to date
        Affordable
        Top of the pick
        Volume producer…what else to describe Ativa?

• Nasi goreng ikan bilis on Mar 05, 2021 at 2:55 pm

what else to describe Ativa? … Beli Aje

• Hantu Raya on Mar 05, 2021 at 3:50 pm

-ALL orang lain punya hardwork.
          -100% rebadge dulu, kini selamanya.
          -Untill today no indigenous frame or power train.

I got more…

• Chinggu on Mar 04, 2021 at 9:27 pm

Money can buy happiness….

• Calvin on Mar 04, 2021 at 11:07 pm

50% less maintenance cost from a 50% less engine, is not really a savings at all made worse when you compared the smaller engine makes whooping 80% less power.

• Ativa 5 years pays RM32.87 maintenance fees for 1hp.
        X50 5 years pays RM33.03 maintenance fees for 1hp.

• With that logic better buy Honda Mororcycle. Save money and time!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 7
      • You cannot compare between this and motorcycle. They are not same category

• Ain’t that so? Then why are people comparing an A segment CUV with a B segment SUV?

• MALAYSIA on Mar 05, 2021 at 11:24 am

Ativa is not in the same class as X50. First its a fake SUB; no 4wd. Its 1000cc engine compared to X50’s 1.5L. X50 looks 10x better than the Haval duplicate. etc etc.
      Same X50 cannot compare with BWW X1. Got it?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 21
    • Not sure how the car perform and how long the engine mounting can last. I see the character change proton and perodua for this 2 car. Of course we cant use this Ativa vs X50 but perviously perodua car is more expensive than proton due to better engine because proton using cam pro. Geely engine is way more competitor with Daihatsu engine. So I not sure they will beat X50 sales if we using SUV as an example even both is different segment car and different engine

• There should be a law to ban against false advertisements such as unrealistic fuel consumption figures that one can never get on the road.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 24
    • Ah Kow on Mar 04, 2021 at 9:20 pm

This unfair, durian and rambutan comparison. X50 using 1.5 Turbo and Ativa using 1.0 Turbo… Conlanfirm maintenance costs and FC higher than Ativa. X50 1.5T only compared with Civic 1.5T, C-Class 1.5T & Accord 1.5T

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 5
    • Bro, you need to understand this is SUV. Usually every SUVs have higher fuel consumption than the hatchback/sedan. Anyway, this Ativa should be more/less similar as the one for Rocky/Raize

• Lolwhut? on Mar 04, 2021 at 7:25 pm

*Disclaimer note: Fuel pump replacement cost is separately charged.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 7
  • Celup brother on Mar 04, 2021 at 7:41 pm

The headline and the punch line clearly to instigate bonfire between 2 faction of NC. The way they smoothen the gap, more grey than black or white, All that in their brand of neutrality

• seancorr (Member) on Mar 04, 2021 at 7:46 pm

Habis X50, first kena sapu by spec then by sales price now kena sapu by after sales cost. 3 strikes and you’re out!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 33
    • Habislah City. Service cost already expensive than Ativa

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 3
      • Habis lah x50 sold out, Ativa pun habis coz Tak laku

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 19
        • Not really. X50 still sells good, despite backlog orders. And very sure that Ativa will definitely also sells well.

• Aura89 on Mar 04, 2021 at 9:55 pm

When your poor, you do sacrifice a lot of creature comforts all for the sake of a cheaper car. Those that can afford for X50 wouldn’t mind pay more for something better. Comparing both is pointless but I guess insecured people need to do such things to make them feel happy about their purchase when they couldn’t afford something better.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
    • lilytan on Mar 05, 2021 at 10:11 am

3 strikes = Turkey LOL. Perodua hv perfect games. Thats why they are the market leader for years.

• Yah, Market leader for sheeps, thats why Porches & Volvos sell less than Perodua. Stop bragging on cheap car.

• Enuff said on Mar 04, 2021 at 7:49 pm

Better buy Ativa.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 6
  • M & B on Mar 04, 2021 at 8:04 pm

Nice

• elize on Mar 04, 2021 at 8:06 pm

math fans will fall for this trick, probably stick with number for business and personal life.
    Real estate agent like me, who used to beautifull things in life, such as decorating the exterior and interior of the house, room etc.I always can relate and appreciate the looks, the proportion, the stands of a car.. i always pick first, the best design of all. FC or maintenance cost is not my priority. I think x50 represent that… very well. Okie

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 11
    • Both X50 and Ativa are the good cars. Ativa is affordable, safety and high tech. X50 is performance car joint venture with Volvo and high tech. Support local brands.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 2
  • Cheaper maintenance for Ativa owners

• Venza on Mar 04, 2021 at 8:14 pm

Impressive

• Plantir on Mar 04, 2021 at 8:17 pm

Good to see but slight expensive than Aruz. But good

• Colour of money on Mar 04, 2021 at 8:34 pm

Think 1st whether you’re certain that you’ll always have money to pay the monthly instalments with extra left over for fuel & maintenance costs before committing to whatever brand & model…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
  • Should compare apple or apple, different segment of car actually

• Fawwaz on Mar 04, 2021 at 8:38 pm

Additional RM 20 labour to replace cabin filter ?

• Thats a joke isnt it ? Thats a 5 minutes job that doesnt even require a screwdriver to do.

• hafiizh on Mar 04, 2021 at 9:03 pm

he Ativa is rated at 18.9 l/100 km, the Aruz at 15.6 l/100 km, the Myvi at 20.1 l/100 km, while the X50 is between 15.4-15.6 l/100 km.

wrong unit I guess

• Ativa should be basically same fuel consumption as the one in Rocky/Raize. While other models that you mentioned on Myvi, X50 and Aruz. It is not even wrong based on units

• Chingu on Mar 04, 2021 at 9:30 pm

When it comes to power output and handling…. all perodua please stand aside….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 22
    • You should be experience about this Ativa based on power and handling that comes with new engine and transmission.

• You better try test drive before you talk..don’t play play with DNGA handling

• balancing on Mar 05, 2021 at 11:02 am

One more sector – ride comfort RC across low to high speed.
      the way it soak variable undulation or imperfection on the road immediately. Flatten the V asp
      The process happen within 0.5 sec after you go thru yellow line, big or sharp bumps, small pothole and unflat surface. Naturally as possible between RC and H.
      All current Proton Pies received update on RC as well even oldest model from P1, an exora (testdrived), if u pin it against aruz and alza, miles ahead, no floaty feel, tidier, smoother through yellow line and bump. Better RCH, more confident, better control during emergency maneuver.

• powerbank on Mar 04, 2021 at 9:41 pm

P1 and P2 all the way

• Habiby Is on Mar 04, 2021 at 9:51 pm

New things are always nice to hear. Just wait for the next couple of months.

• Mr Sensible on Mar 04, 2021 at 9:52 pm

P2 Ativa.
    Kereta Bergaya.
    Keselamatan dijaga.
    Murah Harga.
    Idaman saya, dan Keluarga.
    Balik Raya, enjoy Rasa.

• Neutral guy on Mar 06, 2021 at 9:59 am

You’ve made the right choice bro. For yourself and family!

• Ahmadjr on Mar 04, 2021 at 10:02 pm

Tapi member2 selalu racun suruh modified itu ini kalau pakai p2. Last2 dah convert jadi lamborghini urus

• Believe it on Mar 05, 2021 at 12:04 pm

members racun for commission.
      X50’s design, stunningly beautifull even in the standard form. Whatever kind of bodykit and sportrim you throw at x50, it will he amazing. You will be praise to hav a good taste in design. Definitely amongst the best SUV outhere bmw, mercedes, land rover, audi, range rover, so called continental crowd, where the bulk of new X50 owners coming from.

• Minyak cvt tukar stiap 100k??? Biar betul…

• You all know the data from manufacturer on maintenance cost is totally bullshit right..!!

• Good

• The Rock on Mar 04, 2021 at 11:14 pm

Let’s Rock

• Dinkin on Mar 05, 2021 at 12:17 am

Cuter cars

• sam123 on Mar 05, 2021 at 8:41 am

inside the dcvt belt no need change ka?

• I see some deliberate tinkering to the maintenance schedule. Although labour and filters are cheaper.

P2
    1. No fuel filter change? Good luck down the road when the pump or worst injector fails.
    2. Cvt oil change at 100k? Really? Doesn’t sound too healthy especially everyday traffic jam.

P1
    1. Must be some real good engine oil filters at 50 per piece.
    2. Labor is really expensive, could be the extra work to take those plastic engine panels apart which p2 doesn’t have.

Yes, p2 will win in terms of cost. But bear in mind it’s myvi’s brother. Where as p1 is the Chinese cousin of hrv.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
  • balancing on Mar 05, 2021 at 10:35 am

One more sector – ride comfort across low to high speed.
    the way it soak variable undulation or imperfection on the road immediately. Flatten the V asp
    The process happen within 0.5 sec after you go thru yellow line, big or sharp bumper, small pothole and unflat surface. To sch

• Gabriel on Mar 05, 2021 at 10:43 am

Big cost saving.
    Plenty of money left to enjoy other perk of life.

• MALAYSIA on Mar 05, 2021 at 11:08 am

Activa is not NOT in the same class as X50. Beyond compare. So don’t. Its a poor man SUB.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 11
  • MALAYSIA on Mar 05, 2021 at 11:11 am

Forgot. It doesn’t even have 4WD. Fake SUB.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 11
    • X50 no have 4WD on Mar 05, 2021 at 11:43 am

remember

X50 also dont have 4wd. is X50 fake SUB also??

• Bergantung pada bajet sendiri je ni. Bajet kurang beli ativa, bajet lebih beli x50. Ikut kemampuan sendiri. Dua2 ada pro n cons.

• save for the best on Mar 05, 2021 at 6:06 pm

alternatively, if budget not enough now, relax, dont rushout to grab daihatsu, dont settle for less and frustrated later, set your target for the best-x50, save little by little for 2 years, by that time(2013),
      There will be minorchange, new upgrade version of x50, or flagship pro variant available to grab.With all the money that u saved, you could impress the whole people surrounding you and offcourse suprise them-Proton sales dept with a much bigger downpayment up to 50%. You can shorten the hp instalment <4-5 years.

• Aaron on Mar 05, 2021 at 5:07 pm

Just curious, doesn’t cvt gearboxes need replacement of their cvt belts after a certain time. Any idea what are the service interval of these and the cost of replacement?

• Copen 550 on Mar 05, 2021 at 7:38 pm

Daihatsu came out turbo with Copen Cabriolet long time ago. Usually shorter lifespan. Had been discontinued. First few years ok. After that sell cheap cheap nobody wants to buy. More expensive to repair. Backyard mechanics with fake oils n parts made these cars not driveable.

• Why compare apples to durians? on Mar 07, 2021 at 10:18 am

This article just confirms the fact that the ativa is a budget SUV and shouldn’t be compared to the proton x50. To call the ativa an SUV is an insult to SUVs.