Proton X50 continues to lead B-segment SUV charts – 3,345 units delivered in Feb, 8,141 units since launch

Proton has announced that total deliveries of the X50 have now reached 8,141 units as of end-February 2021, which is a significant jump from the 4,796 units sold up to the end of January.

The spike comes as 3,345 units were delivered last month, which the national carmaker says is the highest monthly volume ever achieved by an SUV in Malaysia, ensuring the X50 remains the best-selling SUV in its segment and overall. Last month’s figure also represents an improvement from the 1,082 units delivered in the first month of the year.

The 3,345 units of the X50 delivered last month contributed to Proton’s overall sales tally of 11,873 units (includes domestic and export) for February, and exceeded the larger X70 that saw 1,475 units delivered.

The B-segment SUV was first launched last October to strong response from car buyers, with over 30,000 bookings collected before the end of 2020. Available in four variants – Standard, Executive, Premium and Flagship – the X50 is priced from RM79,200 to RM103,300 on-the-road without insurance, but factors in the ongoing sales tax relief.

According to Proton’s release, the overwhelming demand and delays to the production schedule as well as focusing on build quality meant delivery times built up quickly. Even so, the latest result is an indication that the company is working to ensure supply slowly catches up to demand.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Roti john on Mar 02, 2021 at 1:35 pm

Everything will change after The Game-Changing Perodua Ativa launch

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 54
    • Casual reader on Mar 02, 2021 at 2:46 pm

Perodua and proton fanboys continue crapping around here. Moreso for the former.

Interestingly if their new car is good, i do ask myself:

why should they need to promote it this hard and blatant,
      why do they need to talk so much to put down their competition,
      why can’t the car speak for itself if it truly ‘good’ as they claimed,
      how are they had so much free time to crap in more than a dozen postings about Ativa and spilling over to proton articles,

I wonder if sales were as good as they claimed where do they find the time to crap this much BS over and over and over again ad infinitum. If the cars were ‘good’ shouldn’t they be so freaking busy attending to customers and making sales til they have no time to crap.

What is this i see. Proton salesmen barely around which i guess meant they are spending time productivity pushing sales….. and perodua salesmen with so much free time to kill. What a stark contrast i see from both camps.

Oh btw, thanks to perodua hardsell i have booked a test drive for proton x50 this weekend. Their hate made really curious, tho im not looking to buy a new car(both local brands are below me)…. but who knows, having interest is just the first step and sorry to say that i have no interest in Ativa thanks to their salesmen crap.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 21
      • Those p2 and SA should work harder instead of wasting time bashing p1

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
        • R J Loo on Mar 02, 2021 at 8:17 pm

P2 SA don’t just work hard like a cow, should also work smart like me as well, know and understand what carbuyers want such as special offer package to Nirvana beside of ‘compulsory’ stupid GearUpToHeaven skirts and chromes.

• Rojak X50 on Mar 03, 2021 at 8:52 am

Like all China cars, this China X50 looks like an abomination Japanese, French and German into one. In short, rojak design

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 13
      • Rakyat Malaysia on Mar 02, 2021 at 3:40 pm

Bravo Proton success revival, these ohsem X50 and X70 …. but slightly jeopardized by those clueless P1 aftersales monkeys wreaking havoc within the co. We gips simpati the traitors or not, all the best Proton!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 4
        • Rakyat Malaysia on Mar 02, 2021 at 5:53 pm

#TakingTheKnee
          #SayNoToRacism

• Geli Betul on Mar 03, 2021 at 8:48 am

Proton is dead and buried after they produced their last Saga. Bankrupt .. Kaput

Nothing about this company is national. Apart from those backroom boys who design the new logo

• Copy Paste on Mar 03, 2021 at 11:03 am

Copy paste: “Every new P2 car launch, haters say it is a game changer that will game over P1 and they predict P1 will selling only 3000 cars today. If they were a betting person, they better not go to Genting after MCO or else lose their pants and underwear to Unker Lim.”

• Civic Turbo 2018 on Mar 02, 2021 at 4:06 pm

Still another 30K booking to clear before SST-free period ends in June

• Ya, production need more than 5000 units per month then only able deliver 30,000 units before June 2021.

• Casual reader on Mar 02, 2021 at 5:38 pm

This is the time when those big talking local OEM vendors making noise about China eating into their business should have stepped up their game, instead their constant failure to supply parts on time to proton meant production cannot meet sales bookings.

The local vendors had their chance to prove they can compete with Chinese vendors and they blew it big time. Totally. Unacceptable.

Back when x70 came as CBU, proton could still manage deliver 3,000+ units monthly. So for their x50 ckd to get such low numbers…. a reflection of how chronic failure is our local automotive supply chain.

Without the NAP yoke, proton could be freed to get the shortfall parts from Geely vendors and simply forget about the local OEM vendors that have let them down in this crucial time of need.

• autodriver (Member) on Mar 02, 2021 at 4:39 pm

If you feel X50 is more worth it than Ativa you must be wrong. X50 aka Binyue in China is selling RM 75k for top spec while in Malaysia is RM 103k. Daihatsu Rocky in Japan selling RM 80k why in Malaysia rebadged as Ativa is selling RM 74k. Just in case you not aware the a Toyota Raize (aka Ativa) in Hong Kong is selling RM 167k, more than double in Malaysia. Hong Kong car price usually cheaper than Malaysia.

I am not salesperson of P2 but the truth is this car is far worth than X50 if compare cost to cost. Perodua is actually making less profit in Ativa but Proton is making huge margin for X50.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 18
        • Melania Rosmah on Mar 02, 2021 at 8:44 pm

Perodua spent rm1.2 billion developing Ativa,with the help of the japanese,no doubt.Not just importing right handed version of Geely cars with some grille redesign n logo change,whaty p1 is doing.
          The Japanese input will ,make no mistake,make Ativa the most promising but brutal and affordable blockbuster suv launching of 2021.By june 2021,a big chunk of x50 bookings have materialised into Ativa deliveries.
          Facts speak louder than all the bashings n crap u read.

• Avenger on Mar 03, 2021 at 11:44 am

Rm1.2billion on this car? What is made off? Gold??? In comparison, P1 spent that sum on setting up a whole new R&D center including infrastructure and hardware. It is ridonkulous to spend that much money on developing a car meant for local markets and handful of export units.

• Malaysia Ativa is selling RM 62k, in Hong Kong a Toyota Raize (aka Ativa) is selling RM 167k, and in Sinkie is selling a whopping RM 265k.. bravo perodua.

• PEJUANG on Mar 02, 2021 at 5:12 pm

Mr Casual reader, you seem quite obsessed with perodua fanboys lately….. kenapa eh. nothing wrong but i noticed this behaviour

• Casual reader on Mar 02, 2021 at 7:19 pm

Oh cancer cells also see nothing wrong what they are doing, as you put it, but it is still cancerous and you guys are certainly the cancer in this blogsite.

• PEJUANG on Mar 02, 2021 at 9:22 pm

Cancer ke, toxic ke, it is not my problem. go talk to those who actually are making those comments against P1. also, some guy here with multiple names is doing the same thing towards P2. semua sama je.

• Casual reader on Mar 03, 2021 at 11:10 am

A snake dont know its bite is poisonous.
            A cancer dont know its cancerous.
            A problem dont know its a problem.
            But humans should have capacity to self reflect and know its problem. Do you folks?

• hazzif on Mar 03, 2021 at 2:43 pm

like we care what car you want to buy. sales number will tell soon.

• autodriver (Member) on Mar 07, 2021 at 4:29 pm

You are either salesman of X50 or really die heart fans of Proton keep bashing Ativa around. Work harder maybe one day you will afford a better car than X50.

• Ativa is much like a Myvi on steroid only

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
    • Ya, Myvi and Aruz sales will fall after The Game-Changing Perodua Ativa launch.

• Phaser on Mar 02, 2021 at 4:51 pm

This could actually happen but I have no doubt P2 will hit the 240k sales target they set for 2021.

• John Geli on Mar 02, 2021 at 4:29 pm

Yes absolutely true we Don’t Need Geely Anymore (DNGA) !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
      • jusknittin on Mar 02, 2021 at 4:44 pm

One thing for sure, it always amazes me how creative this duper-guy is. But at the same time, he is tarnishing Daihatsu’s DNGA by adding the taboo-for-P2-diehard-fans name of “Geely”. It’s almost like they’re trying very.. very… and I mean VERY HARD to disassociate himself with the brand. I’m not sure if it’s hate or what but I can sense admiration in there. Maybe like those dramas that we watch on TV about someone who desperately in love with someone – it’s mutual but he must act the opposite in order for the other to find happiness. get it?

• Casual reader on Mar 02, 2021 at 7:21 pm

Haha. Nice. Perhaps the only Japanese thing he learnt from perodua japanoise is how to be a Tsundere towards proton.

• Proton oh Proton on Mar 02, 2021 at 1:55 pm

Please fulfil your customer’s order before they switch mind to D55L.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 4
    • John Gagal on Mar 02, 2021 at 4:31 pm

Habislah all X50 owners and bookings will switch trade-in to the new trendy Ativa soon!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 12
      • Casual reader on Mar 02, 2021 at 5:41 pm

I see…. hard plastics must be trending now. Luxury car brands must sleeping not knowing that. Oh call me when perodua decides real horses are trending then.

• autodriver (Member) on Mar 07, 2021 at 4:38 pm

I bet you don’t know that Japanese cars plastic looks cheap it is because it is highly RECYCLABLE. If you have no knowledge of this don’t talk, it just show how stupid you are. If don’t believe go travel to Japan and checkout the local made Japanese car with places applied plastic. The plastic is same quality like what Toyota, Honda and Perodua applied in Malaysia market, it looks cheap but it is highly recyclable bodoh.

• Trendy? what a joke hahahaha that ugly low quality hard plasticky everywhere trendy ka.. Better be careful chances of getting Parkinson is very high due to strong engine as if like driving inside the engine :-)

• very soon we will see all sort of complaints … especially faulty parts do not have stock to replace … haha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 15
  • Ahmadjr on Mar 02, 2021 at 4:33 pm

Kalau spare parts takde kat sc, order lah kat taobao atau aliexpress. Itu pun saya nak ajar ke?

• Activa and X50 = Both Good on Mar 02, 2021 at 5:52 pm

Activa and x50 are not in the same class and price bracket so why are so many here feel the need to hate 1 and another?

If you like Activa, go buy Activa. If you like x50, go buy x50. They are both extremely good value.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 0
    • Ya, they think RM6 1 biji rambutan is cheaper than RM10 1 biji durian.

• Peace Cruise on Mar 02, 2021 at 7:47 pm

We should grateful that Malaysians have choices in buying car. If we enjoy feeling the ride and handling, then buy p1 cars. But it lack in term of maintenance and reliability/ after sales value. The x70 and x50 seems making better in these terms.

If we want a car that good fuel consumption, maintenance, and good reliability then buy p2. But it lack in ride and handling. The new ativa seems better in the ride and handling because of the new platform they invested in.

There were fanboys of p1 and p2 is good. They can hear our voice for improvement of their models. But please no hate and bad speech. It will be non healthy competition with the ‘taksub’ fanboys. We can see the lack of intellectual /reading in the comments.

Don’t talk about geely > China, daihatsu > Japan if not read a lot about businesses survival, technology sharing, agreements, blue print and platform. Look at other non national cars like MG – SAIC, volvo, Nissan, TATA – jaguar and others.

If we want car that good in all term then buy non national cars that above 150k++. Below than that is comparable with national cars. But still don’t have a perfect car, still have a comparable choices that contain pro’s and con’s.

We have choices, then make a good choice suit with our conditions. ✌️

• lol 30k sold, meaning even every month at record high those bought today still need to wait till end of the year.

• William F1 on Mar 03, 2021 at 8:55 am

You cant go wrong with a Toyota DNA. Everything else is just noise

• pengguna ploton kecewa on Mar 03, 2021 at 5:13 pm

in 5 year time both these top spec SUVs will have the same trade in value. at that time 1 segment of fanboy will be regretting their purchase

• autodriver (Member) on Mar 07, 2021 at 4:26 pm

Even though the Proton team have changed but the efficiency still low. New Honda City launched 2 weeks before X50 but up to Mar Honda have delivered nearly 13,000 units while Proton only deliver 8000 units. City clearly have less orders than X50 but Honda have deliver the car on schedule to consumer. It is clearly shown Proton too rush to launch X50 without proper production planning. New buyer of X50 now gonna wait for nearly 9 months to get their car arrive.

No worry X50 sales will slow down after Perodua Ativa launched. Without the “government” help delaying Ativa launching I guess X50 will suffer a lot of if Ativa were launched 3 months ago. Remember this Ativa has already displayed in KL Motorshow since Oct 2019.