Proton X50 leads five-seater B-segment SUV chart – 1,082 units delivered in January, 4,809 since launch

Proton has announced that it sold a total of 5,964 units of cars for the first month of 2021, of which 1,082 were the X50. That makes it the best-selling five-seat B-segment SUV in the market, and to date, approximately 4,809 units have been delivered since its launch on October 27, 2020.

Compared to previous months, the delivery rate for January nearly halved due to the implementation of the movement control order (MCO). Proton Edar CEO, Roslan Abdullah said: “January was a difficult month for Malaysia’s automotive industry.”

“Hopes were high that the momentum built at the end of 2020 would be carried forward, especially after the announcement of Penjana incentives remaining in place until the end of June this year. Unfortunately, the second MCO announcement put a damper on those hopes,” he added.

Proton is adamant that its order book remains healthy, and the automaker is working hard to catch up with strong demand. Roslan said there were disruptions in the supply chain due to the pandemic, which made it difficult for Proton to procure a steady flow of parts required to build its cars. According to several Proton sales advisors, the current wait list for the Proton X50 is about six months.

GALLERY: 2021 Proton X50 1.5 TGDi Flagship

Matthew H Tong

An ardent believer that fun cars need not be fast and fast cars may not always be fun. Matt advocates the purity and simplicity of manually swapping cogs while coping in silence of its impending doom. Matt's not hot. Never hot.

• newme on Feb 03, 2021 at 10:26 am

1082 a month? P2 delivers more high spec variant of Aruz than this figure.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 16
    • Jason Wong on Feb 03, 2021 at 11:11 am

Efficiency of Proton remain a question mark here as well… Hopefully they able to rectify it, so that they able to deliver more than 20k cars yearly…

• Civic Turbo 2018 on Feb 03, 2021 at 7:37 pm

Still another 15K initial launch orders to build. If what they reporting was true OR customers not cancelling la

• suomynona on Feb 03, 2021 at 11:22 am

Calm and silence before the P2 Rocky turbo, Storm.

• Fun fact: in contrast to the challenger deep, the sea of azov have a mean depth of 7m making it the shallowest sea in the world. All this holds no record for your comparison analysis which is overwhelmingly shallower.

• EDITOR on Feb 03, 2021 at 12:42 pm

https://paultan.org/2021/02/03/mco-2-0-proton-production-affected-due-to-shortage-of-parts-new-product-launches-to-continue-as-planned/

• Celup King on Feb 03, 2021 at 12:47 pm

Sembang… pang pung pang pung… at last Axia/Bezza jugak yang top.

• Rakyat China on Feb 03, 2021 at 1:19 pm

As rakyat, must support one. Support because sales man said everything also good.

• yawnz on Feb 03, 2021 at 1:39 pm

Yeah we knew newme is a P2 salesman. What else is new?

• PEJUANG on Feb 03, 2021 at 3:29 pm

You’ve been bashing P2/toyota since 2016. are you a salesman too yawnz?

• Rakyat Malaysia on Feb 03, 2021 at 1:48 pm

Rakyat have full confidence in Proton. Well done!

• PEJUANG on Feb 03, 2021 at 3:31 pm

Go to a forum like lowyat (/k) or YT and try open up a thread about Proton. Many people will say its no good or its a China brand.

• newme on Feb 03, 2021 at 5:33 pm

Copy paste: Why the long wait for Proton X70 SUV spare parts?

• MEMALUKAN. can you differentiate between FIVE and SEVEN seaters?

• January- X50 Sold and Delivered 1,082 units

Congratulations to Geely Proton

• Bel Jin on Feb 03, 2021 at 12:30 pm

really need to shoud out loud?

always jaguh kampung.

• bruh Malaysian on Feb 03, 2021 at 3:18 pm

bruh no one is shouting it out loud, it’s monthly statistics and we read it every month.

• suomynona on Feb 03, 2021 at 3:31 pm

Don’t put out sales figures for models complain,
        Then put out model sales figures also complain

Apa lagi mereka mau?

• Bel Jin on Feb 03, 2021 at 3:33 pm

even the first sentence is already shouting out loud. trying to show off.

“Proton has announced that it sold a total of 5,964 units of cars for the first month of 2021, of which 1,082 were the X50”

with protection from govt (price setting by MITI), proton doesnt need to even make announcement. for its internal report, yes. its not something we can say an achievement. especially when the car itself is a rebadge.

• Lolwhut? on Feb 03, 2021 at 5:11 pm

That sentence is written from PaulTan writer, specifically Matthew, I see nothing there shouts that it is shouting. Stating numbers and facts is shouting ah? OMG!

• Amran on Feb 03, 2021 at 3:53 pm

Haters syiok sendiri thinking Proton is shouting but in fact they are just stating sales data cut n dry.

• wee chan on Feb 03, 2021 at 2:30 pm

I dont think 1082 is a figure to shout about, Proton has outstanding orders of 30k. Not sure why you put it as an article,

• jusknittin on Feb 03, 2021 at 4:32 pm

It’s a bait. Some “bashers” browse PT everyday waiting for article about Proton. Once they see it, they will draw their sword and go to war (of words) with the article first. They know for sure that someone will defend the article (reply their comments). Afterwards, it’s a matter who run out of ammo (material) first and resort to childish argument like “you’re ugly” with the other replied with “no, you are ugly” until eternity.

• Sam Loo Redemption on Feb 03, 2021 at 4:20 pm

Nothing thrilled when you see too many Geely-based SUV on Malaysia road, you feel like your status is hovering around M40 & B40 cliques. Those driving branded Japanese THNM will look down on you as they do with the Korean kimchi. Sam Loo driving new Toyota Fortuner is having better score catching up with hot chicks.

• Lolwhut? on Feb 03, 2021 at 5:14 pm

Fortunately Aussies don’t think like you do.
      https://paultan.org/2021/02/03/chinese-cars-soar-in-australia-new-sales-record-in-jan-2021-overtook-german-us-cars-for-the-first-time/

Maybe that’s why they are richer First World while we still remain Third World mentality of looking at a person’s status based on the car he drives.

• Sam Loo Redemption on Feb 03, 2021 at 8:21 pm

Sam Loo won’t be convinced by your story buying of Aussies buying more Chinese cars. Real Aussies will buy Holden. Austraila PRs from China may purchase their mainland made cars for budget constrain and being patriotic. Real statistic is here, dude:
        https://www.budgetdirect.com.au/car-insurance/research/australian-car-sales-statistics.html