2021 Perodua Ativa vs Myvi vs Proton X50 – size and price compared, where does the new SUV stand?

So how big is it? That’s one of the most popular questions about the new Perodua Ativa, and one that we also had before seeing the new SUV in the metal. Sometimes, the bald figures can only tell so much, and a new car needs to be compared visually against the mental markers we already have.

With that, we bring you a gallery of the Ativa with two other cars. One is the Myvi, Perodua’s perennial best seller and a size reference that everyone will get. The other car is the Proton X50.

As with most national brand new products, the market automatically pitches a rival from the other camp – this is not always a like-for-like comparison. Remember the Proton Savvy and the first-gen Myvi? While both were five-door hatchbacks, they were very different in size and drive. It’s the same case here. Both are B-segment SUVs, but the X50 is bigger, more sophisticated and of course, more expensive than the Ativa. More on these two later.

The Ativa is 4,065 mm long, 1,710 mm wide and 1,635 mm tall. That makes it larger than the JDM Daihatsu Rocky in all directions – 70 mm longer, 15 mm wider and 15 mm taller. The larger footprint, especially the length, is due to the more streamlined design of Perodua’s bumpers, as opposed to the sharp cut of the Rocky. The Ativa’s lines look more natural as a result.

The Perodua’s height advantage is from the Malaysia-specific suspension, which besides being firmer than Daihatsu’s comfort-focused setup, also raises the ground clearance to 200 mm. Wheelbase is 2,525 mm.

Let’s start with Ativa vs Myvi. While some say it’s an “Axia SUV” (by the way, they’re completely not related, down to the platform), the Ativa is 170 mm longer than the sub-4m Myvi, never mind little brother Axia. It is also 120 mm taller than the Myvi, and the extra height is quite apparent when both are put side-by-side.

Perhaps even more obvious is how the Myvi looks a fair bit wider than the Ativa, although the figures show just a 25 mm advantage for the hatchback. Look at the windscreens of both cars. This visual effect is down to design and proportions – the Ativa is of the more upright and squarish SUV variety, which fits both Daihatsu’s trend and the Rocky name. A C-HR it is not.

The side profile shot also shows the Ativa’s straight bonnet vs Myvi’s raked front. By the way, the Ativa’s 2,525 mm wheelbase is 25 mm longer than the Myvi’s. On a side note, we didn’t have the top Myvi AV on hand, hence this 1.3G for pics, but the dimensions are similar.

The Ativa’s height advantage coupled with its upright profile gives it a distinct SUV look – as opposed to a raised regular hatchback style like Subaru XV – which we suppose is good thing, as “SUV” is a selling point when you’re trying to tempt non-national B-segment sedan buyers. There’s a premium attached to SUVs in the market, which is why everyone is getting on the bandwagon.

Perodua president and CEO Datuk Zainal Abidin Ahmad described the Ativa’s size as “A-segment to small B-segment SUV” and that sounds about right when you put it next to the Proton X50, which fits into the typical B-SUV size template along with cars like the Honda HR-V. At 4,330 mm long and 1,800 mm wide, the X50 is 265 mm longer and 90 mm wider than the Ativa, and its 2,600 mm wheelbase is 75 mm longer.

All these numbers look pretty big, and it’s also noticeable in the metal. However, the Ativa is 26 mm taller and its ground clearance is the biggest of the trio here (196 mm for X50). The latter is obvious in the rear shot you see above. The high GC goes well with the more traditional SUV look of the Ativa, and that should be what many would want in an SUV, likely their first.

So, we can conclude that the Ativa has a smaller body than a typical B-SUV, and the design/proportions is more upright and traditional SUV. However, that does not mean that the cabin is small. While rear legroom is behind the Myvi and X50 here (the Proton’s seats are more comfortably shaped as well, even if headroom isn’t generous), the P2 SUV’s boot space of 369 litres beats the larger X50’s 330L, and Perodua achieves it with a full size spare tyre with matching wheel (space saver for X50). From first impressions, the Ativa’s aircon feels stronger, but the X50 has rear vents.

The Ativa’s boot floor has two levels – the “lower ground floor” (my own term) gives maximum height and capacity, while ground floor gives you 303 litres. The latter allows for an almost flat loading bay when the 60:40 rear seats are folded. The Myvi’s boot is 277 litres, by the way. With a full sized spare and large boot, the Ativa is balik kampung ready.

If the Ativa’s size is in between the Myvi (RM41,292 to RM52,697) and the Proton X50 (RM79,200 to RM103,300) so is its price range of between RM61,500 to RM72,000. All prices are on-the-road excluding insurance, with sales tax exemption (until June 30).

As previously pointed out, the Ativa AV’s spec advantage over the base X50 Standard – which is over RM7k costlier than the P2 – is massive. The Proton has body and engine size (1.5T vs 1.0T) on its side, but it comes with only four airbags, never mind ADAS driver assist features, which are reserved for the RM103k Flagship.

Meanwhile, the Ativa has six airbags, ASA 3.0 with AEB, and Lane Departure Warning/Prevention as standard across the board. The Ativa AV has the full Level 2 semi-autonomous package with Adaptive Cruise Control, Lane Keep Control, Blind Spot Monitor and Rear Cross Traffic Alert added. The base X gets Auto High Beam for its LED headlamps, while X and AV variants receive Adaptive Driving Beam with sequential turn signals and cornering lamps.

Looks are subjective, but for us, the X50 is ahead of the Ativa in the style stakes, and the Proton’s interior is more premium in both design and materials. The Flagship’s red dashboard, chrome edged screen and high centre console full of buttons all combine to make this cabin as special as one can be for RM100k. But it better be, seeing that the top X50 is over RM30k costlier than the Ativa AV – you can buy an Axia with the difference.

On the other end of the scale, is the Ativa worth the premium over the Myvi? That might be a question one would ask if he/she saw the Myvi AV alongside the base Ativa X, which is RM9k costlier. Sure you get an SUV body, but the X looks rather basic outside (thick tyres) and especially inside, where it is shorn of the AV’s dual screens, steering buttons and silver/red accent trim.

Armed with an SUV body and top safety kit, the Ativa targets Japanese B-segment sedan buyers

However, kit aside, the Ativa is a better car underneath, with a more advanced DNGA platform, turbo engine and CVT gearbox. There’s also the improved ASA 3.0, LDW and AHB, so there’s plenty of substance for the RM9k premium, even if the X offers not much evidence, style-wise. As for the RM20k difference between the Myvi AV and Ativa AV, the SUV offers a lot more kit, but for not insignificant money either, so buy what you can afford.

In any case, Perodua says that the Ativa is expected to only affect 5% of Myvi sales, and the target market for both models are different – armed with an SUV body and unprecedented levels of kit/safety at this price point, the Ativa is meant to draw punters away from non-national models. Think B-segment players Honda City (RM74,191 to RM86,561), Toyota Vios (RM74,623 to RM95,294) and Nissan Almera (RM79,906 to RM91,310), all of which have been recently refreshed.

So there you go, the size and price differences of the new Perodua Ativa next to the Myvi and Proton X50. There was a gap between the Myvi and the X50 for Perodua to exploit (Aruz is a different kettle of fish, for a specific type of user), and the market leader has swooped into the RM60k-RM70k market with the Ativa. These three models you see here illustrate “you get what you pay for” nicely, and as consumers, we should be happy with more options. Your money, so what’s your choice?

Click to enlarge table

Our full coverage of the launch of the Perodua Ativa

GALLERY: 2021 Perodua Ativa AV

GALLERY: 2021 Perodua Ativa H

GALLERY: 2021 Perodua Ativa X

GALLERY: Proton X50 1.5 TGDi Flagship

GALLERY: Perodua Myvi 1.5 AV

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• also up against Haval H2 CKD 1.5Turbo from RM79k.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 4
    • H1 1.5L only cost RM60k

• $103,000 only on Mar 10, 2021 at 1:36 pm

Hold on, it doesnt have the prestige, sculpture design elements as x50. Value preposition, or usp on the intricate design. a reminder to other brands. Its no longer a myth or dream, to package your suv with an eye watering 600k-1mill value in design for the masses to purchase at a very low 103k asking price. The team of designers should be encourage to replicate this sucessfull journey. start with how?

• YB Albert on Mar 09, 2021 at 8:09 pm

In life,there are plenty of choices.
      It all boils down to what the car buyer wants.
      1.Brand 2.price 3.design 4.Up to date specs 5.whether sedan or suv.6.Parts availability 7.Cost of servicing over 5 years.8.practicality for buyer 9.Fuel consumption 10.Hire purchase commitment
      A matured car buyer would have studied all the above factors,before paying a deposit.
      Gone are the days,where people buy due to impulsive behaviour.These are covidian times.
      Now any default in loan servicing above rm50K,will put one into a permanent blacklist and even bankruptcy.It is no small matter.
      So,choose the best option.Be a smart consumer.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 1
      • Be smart, choose the best option. Ativa Turbo

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 22
        • Brian on Mar 10, 2021 at 9:41 am

What is “the best option”?
          If you mean size, X50 is “the best option”
          If you mean power, X50 is “the best option”
          If you mean space, X50 is “the best option”
          If you mean drive feel, X50 is “the best option”
          If you mean safety, X50 is “the best option”
          If you mean looks, X50 is “the best option”
          If you mean value, X50 is “the best option”

So how did you define Ativa is better?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
        • If you smart, should choose bike as your transport not the Ativa turbo.

• Izhar on Mar 11, 2021 at 7:19 am

You should use MyRapidvtransit. Unlimited ride LRT, MRT, Monorel, bus only at RM30 per month.

• Potential buyer on Mar 10, 2021 at 2:02 am

I dowan Ativa and myvi

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
      • Casual reader on Mar 10, 2021 at 11:18 am

Best option only comes from comparing apples to apples. This here is comparing apples to oranges to durians. What kind of “informed judgement” would come out of such comparo?

• Sam Loo on Mar 09, 2021 at 5:44 pm

Looking at the wheelbae and one will notice that the Ativa is a B segment but X50 is B+. It is still in B segment, bigger than others but not yet into C segment.

Its like Persona VVT which is a B segment while vios almera and city all pushed the wheelbae from 2550mm they used to be 10 years ago to 2600mm. They are all B+.

Myvi has always been a supermini in B segment. The savvy with Its slightly smaller dimensions and wheelbase is actually 1 rung below. It is A+.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 0
  • putting the three cars side by side. it’s obvious that the new kid on the block sticks out like sore thumb. 1L engine with the amount of vents fitting for a 5L V8.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 8
    • fun, life’s not boring

• Sonyman1 on Mar 09, 2021 at 8:04 pm

on the contrary, in my homecountry the PROTON X50 FLAGSHIP sell for BND 35,299 only … and the HONDA HR-V 1.5L priced BND 33,479. our nextdoor neighbor X50 still the better car..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
    • Life is not boring,

X50 uses 1.5L, 3 cylinders, but 4 exhaust maaa

ok jer

5L V8 road tax mahal…

• interesting theory. so one of the cylinders is using 2 exhaust. how greedy!

poorthing honda city 4 cylinders all four must share one exhaust. imagine how much more faster it will be with 4exhaust!

• Hella on Mar 09, 2021 at 6:36 pm

Haha.. Very soon many will be stuck in your face.

• So much fake vents on the P1 cars. So painful for the eyes and frustrations for the brain. More vents than a 5L V8 mustang!

X50 don’t do much better with quad exhaust, fake diffuser etc but at least it has a decent face.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 17
    • ben, X50 quad exhaust is real.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
    • Fiat Multipla Designer on Mar 10, 2021 at 12:06 am

Fake vents that doesn’t even look like a vents is much more painful to see that it burn my retina. Just a black plastic cladding seems to be stamped on the bumper side, and a f* big grille fitting for 5L V8 but with only small hole for air to pass through. Why wouldn’t they just make it smaller and seamless. X50 & Myvi grille look so much better and sleeker.

• Can see very clearly Ativa disappoints as a so called SUV, it is very obviously smaller than X50.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 9
    • Don’t know why people compare 5.6’x 13.3′ with 5.9’x 14.2′
      If the price is the same, why choose a smaller size?

• kanazai2001 on Mar 09, 2021 at 6:14 pm

is yaris the better choice in terms of “size” & price?
    or the city hatchback (if available…)?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 10
  • dong gor on Mar 09, 2021 at 6:19 pm

You will live with the car for at least 7 years or more. so delay the purchase a bit to save up more money and go for the x50. Then every time you park your car, you turn back and look at the more handsome car with no regrets

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 17
    • Brain pls on Mar 09, 2021 at 7:00 pm

Lol, your think you’re buying a mere,bmw or something ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 24
      • Nope. He just said sometimes its worth to pay a bit more for a good looking car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
      • Celup King on Mar 09, 2021 at 11:43 pm

Car is a costly affair, you will want something that can accommodate your growing needs so something a lil bigger like X50 is a far more ideal car for singles and small families compared to Ativa. That car is more suited to forever alones. #AtivaForevaAlone

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 24
        • exoralzaruzertiga on Mar 10, 2021 at 7:09 am

When it comes to personal family transportation, the MPV is the King.

• AJibkor on Mar 10, 2021 at 10:00 am

Fully agreed. Bigger car can accommodate our growing needs, my big Vellfire served our needs. Big momma n me, malu apa….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
    • PlainBS on Mar 10, 2021 at 9:54 am

I rather save that money and invest in something else.

• george on Mar 09, 2021 at 7:28 pm

You pay peanuts, you get monkeys.

• Angeleyes on Mar 09, 2021 at 7:48 pm

The ativa with 3 cylinder turbo engine has slightly better performance compared to 1.5 myvi. Tested both cars and found out the ativa, during idle or at very slow speed, vibration could be felt on the dashboard, steering, floating display and front seats. Maybe P2 can improve this 3 cyl feature for the facelift.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Mar 09, 2021 at 8:30 pm

good wake up call for x50. don limit safety specs to highest variant only.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
    • Celup King on Mar 09, 2021 at 11:44 pm

And why not. The lowest spec variant still achieved NCAP 5stars. You don’t get a 6 or 7 stars with more added in.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 17
      • NCAP is rated from the test based on direct knocking. More safety features can prevent accident Do you really understand or not?

• Really kah? You must be the first person i ever heard saying more airbags can prevent accidents. Do explain how having more airbags can stop an oncoming collision from happening.

• We want to see drag race between myvi 1.5av vs ativa av
    Both are very close in their hp/torque/weight

• klguy on Mar 10, 2021 at 11:43 am

yea, cant wait to see some morons start to cucuk all the cars in the highway with this SUV….all Ferrari/Lambo/Bugatti owners out there, better watch out…

• jusknittin on Mar 29, 2021 at 5:08 pm

Oh my.. There were two of them.. one I saw speeding at a roundabout and the other one cucuk me from behind. So annoying.. Naturally, when people cucuk me from behind, I just drive my car slower… in the FAST LANE!

• Myvi, gemuk pendek
    Ativa, kurus tinggi

• actually orange X50 looks good! not same as old myvi se2 orange right?

• Casual reader on Mar 10, 2021 at 11:26 am

Those calling it an axia suv is wrong but i dont think they were calling that either. Most i see referred to it as an A segment suv which isnt wrong and as admitted by their ceo this is firmly an A segmenter.

Yet another pointless comparo just to pit fanboys again and drum up webhits.

• In Malaysia, size does matter. After the real dimension being witnessed, fanboy shut their mouth..ops..shut their fingers.

• Fanboy also thinks 10 units x RM60k is more successful than 7 units x RM100k.

• Tan Wee Tiong on Mar 13, 2021 at 11:25 pm

You sure the ground clearance for X50 is 196mm?

• Pearjai on Mar 17, 2021 at 2:13 am

I still remember when paul tan include every single part for myvi/ detail part n price in 2005(pdf file)….my first new car then in 2005 sxi at rm48800.00 price..compare to jazz rm110000.00 soch ivtec…idsi for rm99000.00(that time cannot afford lor !)wait for 2 week(other people 3 to 5 month)..the first myvi sale kick wira se(hot sale in 2004) sale n other proton sale ! Myvi(cash cow) make perodua to the top sale anually until now…nowday honda car seem cheaper n lowest spec almost indentical for ativa av…plus lower interest the new city with new doch 4 piston vtec cvt..not old soch 17 year engine ! .i”m not fan for honda But nowday honda not so “kedekut”….daihatsu so “kedekut”…ativa actually use old(daihatsu compact topaz engine 2003 that debut in 2004) 3 piston single vvti/dvvt from 17year ago but with “new” asashi kikai dcvt …actually perodua have their better turbo engine but their refuse/no greenlight from daihatsu..even myvi n aruz get newer(2008 dual vvti 4 piston)for fuel eficient 1.3 1nr better from 1kr as na form(22km/liter ).1kr with streroid(turbo) give better power n tork “but” drop fuel efiency and it “realibility” less with mean more expensive cost for long term/after warranty end( except part from halcut jdm)…(hose/overheat risk/mounting n etc). Actually perodua have new engine capable for almost 30km/liter but still “simpan” dlm store !