2020 Proton X50 1.5T Standard – first look at the entry-level RM79,200 variant, is the base spec SUV OK?

It’s not common to be able to lay our eyes and point our camera lenses at base variants of newly-launched models. Usually, what we get to see – at the launch event and at showrooms – is the prettiest and most impressive variant, the flagship. In the Proton X50’s case, it’s literally the top 1.5 TGDi Flagship variant with all the bells and whistles.

We tried our best to bring to you full galleries of the 1.5T Executive and 1.5T Premium, which you saw in our launch post. However, the base 1.5T Standard variant was nowhere to be found then. Curious on how the entry level RM79,200 looks like? Here’s out first look at the Standard, courtesy of reader Meyooi.

The good news is that despite being the base model, the 1.5T Standard does not look too much like a poverty-spec car, retaining much of what’s good about the costlier variants. The eyes you see here are LED projector headlamps with LED daytime running lights, which are standard across the X50 board. With a gloss black Infinite Weave grille and red pinstripe, the top half of the Standard’s face is identical to the Flagship’s.

Even the prominent double front lip that joins the black fender outline is present here, giving the Standard a sporty face, just like the other X50 variants. The only thing missing is the LED front fog lamps that are available on the Executive onwards – the “side intakes” are blank as a result.

Moving to the side, the Standard rides on 17-inch silver alloys wrapped with 215/60 tyres, the same set up as the Executive. This marks the two lower variants from the Premium and Flagship, which are given 18-inch two-tone wheels, red brake calipers and roof rails. Only the Flagship gets a two-tone body with a black roof. No pics, but the rear end of the Standard is similar to the other variants, with LED tail lights, quad tail pipes and a rear spoiler.

Overall, the exterior of the Standard looks very decent for a base model, much better than most. But inside is where the difference between it and the others are clearer. The Standard comes with fabric seats with grey contrast stitching, with leather only available from the Executive. If you’re not a fan of leather seats, this shouldn’t be an issue, and there’s a nice wavy motif on the top portion of the seat backs.

The steering wheel is the same flat-bottomed unit found in the rest of the range – it has two spokes of buttons but no leather wrap. Again, that’s to be found on the Exec onwards. Basically, the main interior difference between the Standard and the Exec, which is RM5,600 costlier, is leather.

Like the exterior, both Standard and Exec have a similar looking dashboard, sharing the same manual seats, manual air con, analogue meter cluster and 8.0-inch touchscreen infotainment system. The two-tone dashboard, digital meter panel and wide 10.25-inch touchscreen you see in the promotional images are for the Premium and Flagship.

With the RM79,200 Standard and RM84,800 Executive looking really similar in and out (lack of leather might be a deal breaker for some, non issue for others), should you just save the RM5,600 and opt for the base model?

From L-R: Cockpits of the X50 Executive and Premium

Depends. The biggest advantage the Exec has over the Standard are the two curtain airbags that make it six in total. We were rather surprised when it was revealed that six airbags weren’t standard across the board – as it’s fast becoming a norm in the B-segment these days – and this is the main reason why we recommend the Exec as the base point. But if you almost never have any passengers, and the X50 is a purely a personal car…

The other features that the Exec adds on are auto headlamps, the above-mentioned LED fog lamps and front parking sensors. One last thing: the Standard comes with three exterior colour options, which are Snow White, Armour Silver and Ocean Blue. If you fancy Jet Grey and Citric Orange, it has to be the Exec. Passion Red is reserved for the Premium and Flagship.

So, what do you think of the RM79,200 Proton X50 1.5T Standard? Looks wise, I think it’s very sporty-looking for a base model, and it doesn’t take much to make it look like the X50 in the ads – upsizing the rims and wrapping the roof/A-pillars would be enough. The other main points are the airbags, fabric/leather, analogue/digital meters and size of the touchscreen.

Here’s the variant breakdown in detail.

2020 Proton X50 1.5T Standard – RM79,200
Gets as standard:

Mechanicals

• 1.5T PFI 1.5 litre engine
  • 1,477 cc multi-point injection, turbocharged three-cylinder
  • 150 PS at 5,500 rpm
  • 226 Nm from 1,500 to 4,000 rpm
  • Seven-speed wet dual-clutch automatic transmission with manual mode (no paddle shifters)
  • 6.5 litres per 100 km fuel consumption
  • Three drive modes (Normal, Eco and Sport)
  • Front-wheel drive
  • Ventilated brake discs (front), solid discs (rear)
  • Electronic parking brake with auto brake hold function
  • MacPherson strut (front), torsion beam (rear) suspension
  • 45 litre fuel tank capacity
  • 1,325 kg kerb weight

Exterior

• 17-inch silver alloy wheels with 215/60-profile tyres
  • LED projector headlamps
  • LED daytime running lights
  • LED tail lights
  • Gloss black grille with red outline
  • Front lower splitter with carbon-fibre print
  • Rear spoiler
  • Quad-exhaust pipes, rear diffuser with carbon-fibre print

Interior

• Black fabric upholstery with grey contrast stitching
  • Grey headliner
  • Manual front seat adjustment
  • Manual air-conditioning
  • Urethane steering wheel with control switches
  • Standard meter instrument cluster
  • Cruise control with speed limiter
  • Keyless entry, push-button start
  • Remote engine start
  • Rear air-con vents
  • 8.0-inch touchscreen infotainment system with GKUI 19
  • Voice command, navigation, online weather foreceast/ Joox music streaming
  • 4G and WiFi, smartphone and Bluetooth connectivity
  • Four loudspeakers
  • Three USB ports (one data, two charging)
  • N95 cabin filter
  • 330 litres boot space

Safety

• Four airbags (front and side)
  • Electronic stability control (ESC) and traction control
  • ABS, EBD, brake assist
  • Hill hold assist, hill descent control
  • Reverse camera
  • Four rear parking sensors

Colours

• Snow White, Armour Silver, Ocean Blue

2020 Proton X50 1.5T Executive – RM84,800
Adds on:

Mechanicals

• 1,345 kg kerb weight

Exterior

• Automatic headlamps
  • Front LED fog lamps

Interior

• Black faux leather upholstery with grey contrast stitching
  • Leather-wrapped steering wheel with function control switches

Safety

• Six airbags (front, side, curtain)
  • Two front parking sensors

Colours

• As above, adds on Jet Grey and Citric Orange

2020 Proton X50 1.5T Premium – RM93,200

Adds on:

Mechanicals

• 1,350 kg kerb weight

Exterior

• 18-inch two-tone alloy wheels with 215/55-profile tyres
  • Red-coloured brake callipers
  • Silver roof rails

Interior

• Black and red faux leather upholstery with red contrast stitching
  • Black headliner
  • Dual-tone black and red interior
  • Six-way powered driver’s seat
  • Single-zone auto air-conditioning
  • 7.0-inch digital instrument display
  • Front side mirror welcome lamps
  • 10.25-inch touchscreen infotainment unit
  • Additional voice functions for GKUI 19 interface
  • Six loudspeakers
  • Proton Link App compatibility (vehicle status, remote control)

Safety

• Tyre pressure monitoring system
  • 360-degree camera

Colours

• As above, adds on Passion Red

2020 Proton X50 1.5 TGDi Flagship – RM103,300

Adds on:

Mechanicals

• 1.5 TGDi 1.5 litre engine
  • 1,477 cc direct-injection, turbocharged three-cylinder
  • 177 PS at 5,500 rpm
  • 255 Nm from 1,500 to 4,000 rpm
  • 0-100 km/h in 7.9 seconds
  • 6.4 litres per 100 km fuel consumption
  • 1,370 kg kerb weight

Exterior

• Dual-tone exterior (black roof and pillars)
  • Automatic rain-sensing wipers

Interior

• Panoramic sunroof, powered sunblind cover
  • Automatic dimming rear-view mirror

Safety

• Forward Collision Warning (FCW) with Autonomous Emergency Braking (AEB)
  • Adaptive Cruise Control (ACC) with Stop & Go function
  • Intelligent Cruise Control (ICC)
  • Lane Keep Assist (LKA)
  • Lane Departure Warning (LDW)
  • Blind Spot Information System (BLIS)
  • Intelligent high-beam control
  • Auto Park Assist
  • Four front parking sensors

GALLERY: Proton X50 1.5T Standard

GALLERY: Proton X50 1.5T Executive
GALLERY: Proton X50 1.5T Premium
GALLERY: Proton X50 1.5 TGDi Flagship
GALLERY: Proton X50 official photos

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Kokey on Nov 06, 2020 at 8:06 pm

Ok if start from RM59,200.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 57
    • Celup King on Nov 06, 2020 at 8:58 pm

Ok built your own car for Rm 59,200 then. Talk is cheap after all.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 14
      • for Rm 59,200 KIA picanto the best bet

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 4
        • Picanto is a far smaller car, with far less advanced features and far less safety. Why pay more for something less?

• Overprice china made car on Nov 07, 2020 at 9:05 pm

How much is X50 in china?

• Lolwhut? on Nov 08, 2020 at 12:05 am

How much is exec salary in China? Do you prefer their salary?

• Raja Kamarul on Nov 08, 2020 at 6:59 am

I don’t know. I live in Malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
          • Anonymous on Nov 08, 2020 at 3:00 pm

Even foreign car maker that makes their cars in China gets the cost savings advantage (cheaper steel and aluminium prices, slightly cheaper labour, HUGE market for economy of scale). Even Audi and Mercedes are cheaper there. Their China/India-exclusive Long Wheelbase models are not much more expensive than the regular version those cars are based off. The difference between a W213 and V213 is only USD1500. For a car that is bigger internally and externally meaning that it is a new chassis with its own production line, not one that is converted from a W213), and with more luxury features.

• Lolwhut sister on Nov 08, 2020 at 9:39 pm

China salary is at least 30%-200% higher than Malaysia. Their car sales men salary is at least 3 times higher than low salary proton sales men here. Their X50 is30% cheaper. Not fair.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
          • If you want cheaper car go for underpower myvi auto, after each traffic light stop must lower to 3rd gear to get a bit pickup

• RM 59,200 for a 2020 zero star safety deathtrap. Seriously, why would a company even voluntarily apply for NCAP rating if they knew it would get zero stars, it’s not like NCAP scoring information is secret.

• Geely Okavango better value on Nov 06, 2020 at 9:27 pm

LHD to RHD, I guess there are more reliability issue since deviated from original design intent,
      To begin with.

RM59k is reasonable for the inferior 1,5TMPI base spec.
      RM79k should get 1.8TGDI x50 for 1 class below 1.8X70 RM89k.

They should at least begin cheaper than the Japanese B Class Sedan and Hatchbacks, and X70 1.8TGDI.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 36
      • Reality Check on Nov 07, 2020 at 10:28 am

Ohh my…what are you smoking bro. This is some high level BS. Delusional all the way into the bone. Only low IQ could understand you

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 10
        • Geely Okavango better value on Nov 07, 2020 at 5:27 pm

If low IQ can understand, high IQ can understand too.
          Definitely overpriced for 1.5TMPI X50 only RM10k below 1.8TGDI X70.

1.8TGDI X50 RM 10k below 1.8TGDI X70 would be reasonable, though still not worth the RM10k less, X70 1.8TGDI RM89k is better value.

1.8TGDI > 1.5TGDI > 1.5TMPI
          X70 > X50

I wonder why proton fans is biased, X70 not by Proton eh?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 6
          • Reality Check on Nov 08, 2020 at 4:09 pm

It’s okay if you think X70 more valuable since that’s quite subjective depends on your need and want. But how can anyone with normal IQ fathom pricing a car almost as powerful as Honda Civic 1.5T-CP at below 60k?

Now do tell me, which car maker offer “inferior” 1.5TMPI 150ps 226nm at below 60k, and 1.8TGDI 184ps 300nm at below 80k? With luxurious interior and refinement nonetheless. That’s where you’re completely delusional all the way into the bones.

The best you can get from that price range would be around 100ps under 150nm, with cheap looking interior. I’m sorry for breaking your delusional view. But if you still want to stand your claim, youre definitely a lost cause. No one can save you anymore.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 6
          • Jaguh kampung on Nov 09, 2020 at 10:41 am

Pretty funny right

Funny for X50 buyers not choosing X70.. who keep boasting on `high tech` engine, end up getting the less cylinder, less output one.

• Bruh... on Nov 09, 2020 at 3:57 pm

Much funnier is, someone who make fun of X50 buyers about “high tech engine”, when that person him/her self doesn’t aware of technological differences between Geely old 1.8TGDI vs 1.5TGDI co-developed with volvo and being used inside a COTY Award’s car.

That person must be so dedicated to being jaguh kampung while X50 buyers is getting latest tech from international engine platform.

• Engineer on Nov 09, 2020 at 5:40 pm

If people thinks like Jaguh Kampung here, engine technology will never progress from the 60s.

• Direct comparison doesn’t work, many fail to understand the cost of producing 100,000 cars vs the cost of producing 1,000 cars would totally be different. China market is way larger than Malaysia and Filipino gets them CBU from China.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 4
      • Even CBU direct from China with minimal change (or should I say no change), Filipino price is similar to ours. credit to Proton.

• Reality Check on Nov 07, 2020 at 12:04 am

You’re quite delusional. Where you got 150ps 226nm with luxurious interior and refinement at under 60k?

Do tell me so I can book 1 for my neighbour.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 7
    • Zoom zoom on Nov 07, 2020 at 11:09 am

If you think is expensive, means you cannot afford a more premium build car yet. just get the saga or persona. Why proton need to price even lower when the waiting period now extend to more than 6 months? bcos is value for money.. what’s the point to price below 60k with waiting period over 2 years??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 5
    • epf 10k on Nov 07, 2020 at 11:49 am

it’s ok if you are poor..there’s plenty of other cars out there with your desired price range..proton is not your own company right? nobody forcing you to buy one anyway

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 4
    • X50 1.5T STD 226nm@RM79,200 = RM350.44/nm
      Myvi 1.5 ADV 136nm@RM52,697 = RM380.47/nm

Smart people know which one is best value.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 5
  • LIKE: X50
    DISLIKE: City

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 72 Thumb down 33
  • few months down the road they may even drop one of the variant just like when they drop x70 awd model

• Newme on Nov 06, 2020 at 9:01 pm

Isn’t this variant listed as one of the 5 Proton model not to buy? Now kipas pulak this variant in hoping people will forget that article.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 28
    • Hafriz Shah (Member) on Nov 07, 2020 at 9:24 am

No, as mentioned in the article we still recommend the Executive over this.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 4
      • Tun F on Nov 07, 2020 at 1:15 pm

Dude hafriz. R u getting X50? Do let us know on your driving feel once you own it

• Hafriz Shah (Member) on Nov 07, 2020 at 2:41 pm

Yeah, will do

• It seem like many of the 447 units did reach to end customer hands. Seen their review vids alredi in Utube. But cant wait to see urs soon.

• 25yrsOld on Nov 07, 2020 at 9:41 am

Thats arts of roti canai, let’s face it.
      It happen in Malaysia everywhere.

Literally lack of integrity

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 17
      • Hafriz Shah (Member) on Nov 07, 2020 at 2:40 pm

In what way is this article kipas-ing the Standard? As mentioned, we always try to get pics of all variants, which we didn’t manage during launch. A lot of readers have asked us for more details on the Standard variant, hence this article as soon as we had any pictures of it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 3
        • 25yrsOld on Nov 07, 2020 at 5:30 pm

Noted. The reality is quite harsh.
          In this case, reader demands as you say it,
          Many reader demands for more cars and variants too, not just X50.

Hafriz, keep it up. I hope your efforts satisfy all readers, your vision.

• Hafriz Shah (Member) on Nov 07, 2020 at 10:26 pm

We do provide coverage for all car brands in Malaysia, but of course more focus is given to both Proton and Perodua. In any case, we have provided plenty of coverage on the other recent launches too, such the Honda City, Nissan Almera and Mitsubishi Xpander.

• alldisc on Nov 07, 2020 at 6:49 pm

Dear Hafriz, or Danny in this matter – is it possible for a comparison to be make for what cars can one get for 80k. What Vios or City or Almera can you get and is it equivalent level in terms of equipment between them all. Forget about body/cabin dimensions and handling etc, or asean NCAP nor EEV status.

Spec-to-spec for 80k.

• winrar on Nov 07, 2020 at 6:52 pm

Friz stay rilek aje with all these sore detractors… Trying times for many frust & kondem anything.. kalo xmampu amik dulu Standard variant, but still recommend the Executive…. top free autoblog ever for us Msians, keep up the good work PT!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
        • Newme on Nov 08, 2020 at 10:23 am

This is rich. Then isnt it unfair to include standard version to “5 variants not to buy” article when there is not much detail about it?

• Hafriz Shah (Member) on Nov 08, 2020 at 5:06 pm

You may want to read that article again. The X50 standard is in the list solely because it has 4 instead of 6 airbags, which to me is unacceptable for a new model in 2020. The part about the airbag, we knew from the very beginning. I don’t understand what you’re on about here. Complaining for the sake of complaining.

• “Complaining for the sake of complaining”
            LOLOLOLOLOLOLOL!!!!!

• Ruslan Bahari on Nov 08, 2020 at 7:02 am

Reading is a joy. Try it lah.

• M & B on Nov 06, 2020 at 9:13 pm

Nice

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 0
  • Chow Wei Zhen on Nov 06, 2020 at 9:28 pm

Beauty Design

• Jia Ren on Nov 06, 2020 at 9:32 pm

Amazing and Excitement! Bring it on

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
  • Venza on Nov 06, 2020 at 10:03 pm

Impressive

• When is paultan going to the full test drive reviews. Car is already out almost 2 weeks now

• Hafriz Shah (Member) on Nov 07, 2020 at 9:22 am

We don’t have access to a test car yet. And I don’t have my own personal car yet either. Soon, I hope.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
      • Which variant did you get, mind to tell here?

• Hafriz Shah (Member) on Nov 07, 2020 at 2:42 pm

The Flagship. Full ADAS at that price, no brainer.

• Bro Friz, how abt your Cinnamon Brown X70… maybe can share Owner’s 2-year review and experience 1st.. before the full frontal with the magnificent X50 Flagship.

• Hafriz Shah (Member) on Nov 08, 2020 at 9:46 am

Not much to report, really. Coming up to 2 years soon, mileage 27,000 km, mileage 10.3 l/100 km. It has been perfectly reliable, zero issues. Service at Proton PJ has been nothing short of exemplary too.

• Karam Singh on Nov 08, 2020 at 10:07 am

ohsem…. P1 really stepped up its game!

• “It has been perfectly reliable, zero issues. Service at Proton PJ has been nothing short of exemplary too.”
            Please do a write up lah boss. Many here seem to pick on the issue of bad reliability, bad FC, bad spareparts availability as if it is common to all owners. When there is bad news most will highlight but when there is good news pls highlight that too! Shut them up for goods.

• Hafriz Shah (Member) on Nov 09, 2020 at 1:43 pm

I can’t comment on the lack of spare parts, since I’ve never needed any, thankfully.

Also, I don’t think a car working as it should is worth a story at all. That’s how it should be.

• oldhorse on Nov 09, 2020 at 3:05 pm

Spot on bro Friz. When a car working as it should or above our high expectations for e.g. honda or p1 cars. We are accused of Kipas-ing the carbrands… but in actual fact, the car is reali tt dem goods. take as simple example, new Honda CR-V 1.5TC 193PS… rm150k jer.

• Thats the problem Haf bro. When nobody highlights the good points, pipu only harp on the bad points. When other pipu only hears bad news, they will think P1 has nothing but bad news & problems. This becomes lejen myths and some, like Newme, will start belip this myth to be reality. P1 is not perfect but when somethin goes wrong, then pipu will harp on it and says “See! This is what I told u! P1 has many problems”.

• Hafriz Shah (Member) on Nov 09, 2020 at 5:15 pm

Haters be haters. I shouldn’t be layanning your nonsense either, John. A troll’s a troll.

• I not trying to saying anything more than that. I just hoping for some balance, if got something bad to write, write it. But if got something good to write, also pls write it. Somemore as owner, ur feedback is more trustworthy here.

• 2 cents advice on Nov 06, 2020 at 10:11 pm

Buy myvi then, got extra change some more. Good deal with nice resell value and give u all u need at that price point.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 21
    • Sure... on Nov 07, 2020 at 5:11 pm

Well, Myvi is just right for those who in need of a car at low price. While X50 is for someone who want another car, or SUV, powerful engine, luxury, refinement, safety with autonomous, all at a reasonable price. So… your advice is pretty much useless.

• yndei on Nov 09, 2020 at 9:11 am

Lawak siot compare dengan myvi, apa barang myvi?
        X50 ni conti pun kalah wei

• 20 kupang on Nov 07, 2020 at 5:15 pm

Better not risk the Denso fuel pump failure in Myvi, because Perodua said no problem while big boss Toyota said need recall. Can believe Perodua that thinks it know better than Toyota?

• Potongvshonduh on Nov 06, 2020 at 10:34 pm

The standard variant easily beat the overpriced HRV E, except the number of airbags and the boot space. For almost RM30k difference. Impressive

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
  • Blue-ray on Nov 06, 2020 at 10:58 pm

Nice car

• Dovlet on Nov 06, 2020 at 11:20 pm

X50 still looks pretty better

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 1
  • powerbank on Nov 06, 2020 at 11:21 pm

X50 all the way

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
  • Nation on Nov 06, 2020 at 11:28 pm

Proton x50 – The best of package, engine, handling and safety

• kanazai2001 on Nov 07, 2020 at 12:14 am

better to bring in 1.4T 4bangs 6sp MT as std variant…

please make MT available…

• Kenny8886 on Nov 09, 2020 at 10:02 am

Judging from the majority of Malaysian buyers available, unfortunately it seems like manual would not be a good option for buying especially since sales of the manuals have dropped significantly over the years. so for the marketing/sales department’s sake, this just sounds like a bad decision which leads to inevitable failure down the line somewhere.

• Barsck on Nov 07, 2020 at 4:22 am

Not good. Safety is #1 priority. I’m an of the belief that all car makers should have the same safety features across all of their models.

• Lolwhut? on Nov 07, 2020 at 11:59 pm

Safety is Proton #1 priority. How else would even Standard variant already scored 5 star ASEAN NCAP test? This way you can be assured any variant of X50 you pick is safe.

• Copy Paste on Nov 08, 2020 at 8:57 am

Copy paste: “But if you almost never have any passengers, and the X50 is a purely a personal car…”

• S-VPAM on Nov 07, 2020 at 7:28 am

I love it! Stylish and superior

• Kamarul on Nov 07, 2020 at 7:50 am

some journalists had highlight as in face2face with the management on media briefing before! Dont underestimate the sport rim, it contribute a lot to the overall look! Typical P1 approach on standard variant, that Rims, if you go smaller size to 17’inch, misspropotion between the body, the wheel hub & the rim, to counter this, they should put darker scheme on or full gloss black to not cheapen the high stature of the X50 and the Brands itself. Same goes to those standard Iriz and persona Rims. You can save more Bill of material BOM by using only single rim’s design & size across all variants. Do not copy SEA market japanese approaches in the budget variants, youre now upmarket so start acting like contis

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
    • Sparcov on Nov 07, 2020 at 2:13 pm

spot on bro… hantar gi kedai spray, sport rim rm200 aje kasik cat full gloss black..Memang mantap weii

• Ex VGM staff on Nov 07, 2020 at 6:52 pm

Doesn’t work that way though on European market, the reason why Proton had to quit the market and Geely non-existence there.

• Jin Yang on Nov 07, 2020 at 7:54 am

Why not do top speed and acceleration for 1.5 PFI Turbo Engine

• azrai on Nov 07, 2020 at 7:54 am

If you got cas to spare, go for this variant.

• Leatherette is not genuine leather but syntactic leather.

• 4G63T DSM on Nov 07, 2020 at 4:01 pm

If only Proton gave us the option of the Exec trim without the pleather option.

Hate pleather, but can appreciate more airbags.

• Kulit on Nov 07, 2020 at 8:04 pm

Yeah, synthetic leather like Artico used by Mercedes.

• Bieight on Nov 07, 2020 at 9:15 am

No 6 airbags no buy

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 14
    • Copy Paste on Nov 08, 2020 at 8:59 am

Copy paste: “But if you almost never have any passengers, and the X50 is a purely a personal car…”

• SALang on Nov 07, 2020 at 9:27 am

Dont understand the existence of Standard variant. The extra item available in Executive is worth more that the price different. Standard variant should be skip in the line up.

• Likely on Nov 07, 2020 at 5:16 pm

Company car fleet

• normal_user on Nov 07, 2020 at 6:04 pm

Some people prefer fabric to leather. It’s much softer, doesn’t crack long term, and can withstand our hot tropical weather.

• The Standard variant are to satisfy those who complain new Proton cars today are overpriced.

• Maybe big company uses it as a manager-level company car?

• Curious if they have Premium/Executive without the red faux leather.
    it’s just too… red.

• X50 1.5T STD already better than Vios, City, Almera & Aruz

• Ong TG on Nov 08, 2020 at 8:48 pm

I am interested and waiting new 7 seat new SUV HAOYUE launch, when? RM?

• Ong TG on Nov 08, 2020 at 8:53 pm

I am interested and waiting new 7 seat new SUV HAOYUE Launch, when? RM?

• kanazai2001 on Nov 09, 2020 at 8:29 am

it should be MT…
    geely has the same model in 1.4T 6sp MT variant…
    please make it available as another x50 variants…
    consumer should have right to choose AT or MT…

• John Gelisah on Nov 09, 2020 at 8:47 am

Better give 10-years warranty whole car (unlimited mileage)

• Proton oh Proton on Nov 09, 2020 at 10:10 am

Let see how X50 vs Perodua D55L.

• Hope PT will consider publishing something on Proton X50 price variance from Geely Binyue in China and Malaysia.
    Almost 50% price increased even for a CKD?

The price variance is considered outrageous considering if truly Proton is still majority share holding by Malaysia.

The car is great but the price is a true disappointment.

We understand that profits need to be allocated here and there.

Does it mean China don’t tax their car manufacturers at all?
    Ultimately, it feels like a total rip off.

I’m only a typical Malaysian not from the car industry hoping to buy better true valued cars and not taxes or profits to some rich people that I don’t know of.

• AlwiStupid on Nov 15, 2020 at 6:39 pm

I’ll wait for facelift lah then. Spec must be higher at the almost the same price. Hope they add back the one missing cylinder too.

• Sazhar on Nov 19, 2020 at 1:23 am

X50 standard no rear seat armrest? Is it true? If it’s true , I don’t see this mentioned in the X50 brochure . Correct me if I’ m wrong. TQ.

• Is there an arm rest at the middle rear seat on the X50 standard.