Geely Boyue Asian Games Edition launched in China – Lotus-tuned chassis, Infinite Weave grille; from RM58k

If you didn’t know, Geely Auto is one of the sponsors for the 19th Asian Games, which will be held at the Chinese carmaker’s home city of Hangzhou in 2022. Apart from providing the Preface (or Xing Rui) as the official vehicle of the games, the company recently launched a commemorative version of the Boyue (Proton X70 to us here).

Called the Boyue Asian Games Edition, the model is based on the regular Boyue sold in China and not the fancier Boyue Pro. Highlights of the exterior include the Infinite Weave grille that is identical to the one on the X70 and an earlier special model celebrating the SUV’s million-unit sales milestone.

A black finish is also applied to said grille as well as the front fog lamp frames and scripted trim at the rear linking the taillights. To inject some sportiness, hints of red are applied to some of these areas, along with rocker panels and brake calipers. Wheels measuring 19 inches in diameter, Continental UltraContact tyres and a brown leather interior complete the look.

It isn’t just aesthetics that make Boyue Asian Games Edition special, as the SUV also received input from Lotus, which is under the Geely Auto Group. The big change is a new rear subframe that is said to be 25% lighter while being stiffer by 20%, with the company claiming improvements to handling and off-road performance.

Engine-wise, customers will only have access to a 1.8 litre turbocharged four-cylinder petrol engine making 184 PS (181 hp) and 300 Nm of torque, with the choice of a six-speed manual or seven-speed dual-clutch transmission.

In terms of pricing, the Boyue Asian Games Edition with the manual gearbox goes for 91,800 yuan (RM58,064), while the dual-clutch option is priced at 108,800 yuan (RM68,836). For that money, the standard equipment includes a 10.25-inch infotainment touchscreen powered by GKUI, powered seats, a panoramic sunroof, dual-zone climate control, a N95 cabin filter and a digital instrument cluster.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• komarad on Mar 09, 2021 at 3:18 pm

proton should bring the manual version here

• Great buy. RM58K X70 way cheaper then Ativa rm62k..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 9
      • lilytan on Mar 09, 2021 at 4:26 pm

x70: 58k in china, 100k in msia
        ativa: 65k in japan, 62.5k in msia

Another form of belt and road debt trap?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 21
        • History Bender on Mar 09, 2021 at 6:16 pm

BMW 3series: RM120k in USA, RM300k in Msia

Another form of neo-colonisation?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 3
          • pasumno on Mar 09, 2021 at 11:41 pm

Alredi 63Year sliding backwards in Msia, worst then colonisation. sapotla lokal..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 9
          • Rakyat Malaysia on Mar 10, 2021 at 8:11 am

So what your still doing here? Don’t like it, you know where the door is. My home, my rules.

• Sick & Tired on Mar 10, 2021 at 11:35 am

60 years we sliding backwards, 1 year we were zooming forward then after May 2018 we zooming backwards. Now we sliding forwards. Mesians made the wrong choice back in May 2018.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 7
        • Danis Chow on Mar 10, 2021 at 3:53 am

Nothing to do with belt and road, don’t give misleading statement here.
          Blame proton for making the profile margins a little bit high.

• Danis Chow on Mar 10, 2021 at 4:00 am

Nothing to do with belt and road, don’t give misleading statement here.
          Blame proton for making the profit margin a bit high.

• YB Albert on Mar 09, 2021 at 8:18 pm

Why is it so glaringly expensive in Malaysia?
        Rm30K price differential can give you an Axia manual with RM5000 of car spa accessory upgrade.(extra car)
        No wonder,DRB recorded Rm500 juta in profits last year.
        So all the x70 local buyers have been taken for a costly ride.

• X70 Buyer on Mar 09, 2021 at 11:07 pm

We don’t mind paying more for a good car

• Ajibkor on Mar 10, 2021 at 9:38 am

Wah,u overloaded like Hafriz.splashing $$$like no tomorrow.Wait when the gearbox kaput…u cry for spare parts

• Brian on Mar 11, 2021 at 12:31 pm

30,000 don’t mind either. If your predictions so good better you buy 4D number

• Aikon on Mar 09, 2021 at 6:23 pm

Ya, right…and who is gonna buy it?

• donno on Mar 09, 2021 at 4:08 pm

will the new lotus subframe be installed in future X70 too?

• Engineer on Mar 09, 2021 at 4:30 pm

Proton engineering capabled to install lotus subframe,

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 10
      • donno on Mar 10, 2021 at 10:03 pm

how can you call yourself an engineer when your basic English comprehension is KO? Not to mention your poor usage of past tense.

I did not ask if proton is capable of installing it.

i am asking if, or when will proton install the lotus subframe.

i really hope that you are not someone working in proton.

• Kancil Hybrid on Mar 09, 2021 at 4:15 pm

Geely rebadged Proton.

• lilytan on Mar 09, 2021 at 4:17 pm

And yet the x70 is void of this famous ride and handling. The best they could do is the plastic grill. What a shame.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
    • History Bender on Mar 09, 2021 at 6:16 pm

Shame is where you don read. X70 has Proton’s own ride & handling prowess.

• Shame is where u dont read properly. X70 has NO Lotus famous ride and handling.

• X70 Buyer on Mar 09, 2021 at 11:35 pm

Shame is where you don’t bother to find out Proton’s ride and handling comes from Lotus and is better suited on the public road usage.

• Geeton on Mar 09, 2021 at 4:26 pm

that floating infotainment screen look so much better!!

• Dong gor on Mar 09, 2021 at 4:32 pm

We want the Lotus ride for the models here as well! Pls bring it here before the end of sales tax exemption

• CarCanDrive on Mar 09, 2021 at 4:36 pm

At that Price range …… Proton WILL RULE the SUV segment. Perduo, Toyota, Honda and Mazda …… ARggggggg !!! ( Bye Bye )

• Covid Edition is more relevant.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 9
  • Semi-Value (Member) on Mar 09, 2021 at 8:32 pm

manual version pls

• Alive & Kicking on Mar 10, 2021 at 8:38 am

Unfortunately, P1 & P2 have largely stopped offering manual versions except for their most basic models. The question here is volume and most Malaysians now prefer to drive with a lazy left foot.

• Sick & Tired on Mar 10, 2021 at 11:36 am

What Aikon said above

• sam123 on Mar 10, 2021 at 9:02 am

wow! sudah lama tak dengar this quote “Lotus-tuned chassis”