Proton to investigate viral X50 total loss crash by SA – car was wrecked at 180 km/h otw from KL to JB

Have you seen the viral story of the Proton X50 that was involved in a total loss accident, driven by the sales advisor?

If you haven’t, here’s the deal. The ill-fated red X50 was being delivered to a customer in Johor Bahru from a dealership in KL, when the sales advisor (SA) – allegedly driving at 180 km/h – crashed on the highway and ended up off the road. The SA survived the crash, but the X50 suffered bad damage and will have to be written off. As you can see from the pics, there’s roof damage, which means the car probably flipped.

We reached out to Proton, and here’s what the carmaker has to say. “Proton is firstly thankful that nobody was injured in the accident. We do however view the matter seriously and a thorough investigation will be done regarding the actions taken by the sales advisor and dealer. Action will be taken should it be discovered there was a breach in Proton’s delivery procedures,” the statement read.

KL to JB, that’s quite a long distance delivery, no? Apparently, the JB customer purchased the car through an agent who’s an ex-Proton SA. As she’s not a Proton staff, the delivery had to be done by a current SA, the driver who got into the accident. This was revealed by the furious agent, who also shared the pics you see here on Facebook, urging people to “share the news”.

This is an incredibly unfortunate incident for all parties concerned, and it came about through very unique circumstances.

When buying a new car, we would always recommend buying directly from an authorised dealership that’s close to your home, and not from one that’s in a different state. That would avoid any need for the car to be driven or transported to you, cutting off any delivery-related risks. It’s best to take delivery directly at the showroom yourself too; this way, you can have a final inspection before signing the necessary documents.

In this case, even if the X50 arrived safely to its owner, it would have racked up a few hundred km of mileage, and a few hours of possibly hard driving at high speeds. Most new cars have a recommended running in period where you need to drive it gently for the first 1,000 km or so – this is listed in the X50’s owner’s manual. It’s not guaranteed that the SA doing the delivery would be so careful, so it’s best to bed in your new car yourself. Hard driving by the delivery driver might cause problems down the line.

Another piece of good advice from the carmakers: avoid using agents and purchase directly from authorised SAs and dealerships. The same goes for when you need to make payments – do not transfer money to personal bank accounts. All payments must only be made to company accounts. Proton has in the past warned of scams and conmen, and Perodua did the same yesterday with regards to the new Ativa.

Also, all official sales personnel receive product training from the carmakers; they are supposed to give you a full briefing on the cars features and functions. Agents may not have gone through this training, and may even give wrong information.

Since we don’t buy cars every other month, it’s no big loss in going through the whole “hassle” of the experience. View, test and buy from an official dealership. When the time comes for you to take delivery, personally experience the “guided tour” by the SA and drive it home yourself – it’s a privilege. If the car needs to be transported, insist on a flatbed carrier. A car is a big ticket item, better to be safe than sorry.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Amran on Mar 12, 2021 at 2:35 pm

R.i.p Proton X50 premium spec

Next buy should have AEB, self driving highway cruise.
    Then long distance drive, no need tekan minyak

Flagship spec available, RM 103k+

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 8
    • 3pedaler on Mar 12, 2021 at 3:15 pm

It’s a volvo engine with 180 km/h speed limiter. But Proton X50 waiting period just too long, so went for AMG GLA45.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 37
      • Roti john on Mar 12, 2021 at 7:09 pm

This is why people trust Game-Changing Perodua over Proton. There is no such teribble incident like this when buying Perodua cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 42
        • Avenger on Mar 14, 2021 at 10:24 am

No bcoz the occupants inside a Perodua Game Over before they tell their story.

• No Wind Tunnel Test Done on Mar 14, 2021 at 11:33 am

Does that mean the car has AERODYNAMIC issues at high speed after or before the Malaysians engineers when to redesign the bumpers and air intakes ?

• Abecow on Mar 15, 2021 at 1:51 pm

That fella lacked driving experience @ Kawasan Angin Lintang Kuat…

• Civic Turbo 2018 on Mar 14, 2021 at 11:43 pm

Paling stable dalam sejarah pasti Proton Wira

• The usual folks claiming “iT’s A vOlVo eNgiNe”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 6
        • The flagship model is in fact using the same engine as volvo xc40 t3. Its part of the drive-e range of engine co-develop with geely, 2ltr 4 pot, and 1.5ltr 3 pot, same architecture, share across all new range of volvo and geely model.

• Calvin on Mar 12, 2021 at 5:14 pm

Conspiracy theory: Proton do not trust puny ASEAN NCAP slowpoke speed crash testing so they arranged an actual real world crash test of an X50. The SA walking away with his life have proven this car crashworthiness goes above and beyond way up to 180kmph, even includes a flip job. This shows how much confidence and trust onto their new car.

Perodua, your turn. Don’t hide behind a slowpoke 60kmph crash test result. Be a man and try it at 180kmph.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 118 Thumb down 125
      • Melania Rosmah on Mar 12, 2021 at 8:44 pm

Ativa can do it at 200km/hr…sub sub sooi.
        It is superlight at over just a ton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 29
        • Tallahassee on Mar 13, 2021 at 5:24 pm

Perhaps… but can the occupants survive a crash from 180kph? Proton X50 has proven it, time for Perodua to nut up or shut up.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 4
      • Jeremy on Mar 12, 2021 at 11:29 pm

Speed has never killed anyone. Suddenly becoming stationary, that’s what gets you.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 1
      • It happened many yrs ago when there were speed humps on the main road nearby my house. Usually in the morning and it happened many times, I could see few Kancil with blue number plates crossing speed hump without break at a speed of above 80kph. Therefore, I would prefer to collect my new car from dealer directly.

• Civic Turbo 2018 on Mar 12, 2021 at 5:18 pm

Go fast is one thing.
      Go fast stably is another.

• SmartConsumer on Mar 14, 2021 at 10:26 am

think the driver fell asleep or playing handphone.. this real life incident shows how safe this car is. with most other cars, the driver will be badly injured or died.

• Handling problem on Mar 12, 2021 at 2:37 pm

Poor handling. Need improvement

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 218 Thumb down 142
    • But handling should be okay. Cause this car was considered as 5 star NCAP car

• Civic Turbo 2018 on Mar 16, 2021 at 9:35 am

Safety test and handling test are 2 separate matters

• You should experience in driving about this X50

• Sway Bar on Mar 12, 2021 at 4:42 pm

Probably failed the moose test.

• Civic Turbo 2018 on Mar 12, 2021 at 5:21 pm

X50 turtled during sports demo in China press media too. So is nothing new really

• Logical Deduction on Mar 12, 2021 at 5:49 pm

Losing control of a high riding SUV at 180kph is not due to the car you know.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
    • Chris Lau on Mar 12, 2021 at 9:59 pm

It’s like you never heard or read news about a M3 driven by an immature adult crashed and killed himself with his buddies in Singapore recently. If yea, you gonna describe M3 as ‘poor handling’.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 1
      • Hogan Lau on Mar 13, 2021 at 6:37 am

Uhh correction. It’s M4, not M3.

• Quite a contrast, a Beemer M3 crashes and it catches fire but an X50 crashes at 180kph, does a flip, and still come out intact and people alive.

• Pakulupapito on Mar 14, 2021 at 9:01 am

Yeah, i agree poor handling. Just like that test drive amg e43 that crashed earlier. Poor mercedes handling.

• YB Albert on Mar 12, 2021 at 2:37 pm

So,the poor buyer has what legal recourse? Sue the agent or SA for delivering a wrecked car? Will the insurance co pay for this type of arrangement for this ‘complicated”delivery?
    The lesson is ” Take a Grab or cab to go to the dealership and sign all the documents before driving off yourself,to the nearest petrol station to fill up before your long journey home.”Thats the safest.
    If you need police permit,get it.
    If police say no,u have to arrange transporter to do it.
    Never ,never,never engage SA to deliver the car to you.Behind the wheels,they can even overtake Michael Shumacher.Because,they get to thrash the car at top speed to see whether X50 live up to its billing as having brutal horsepower and torque.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 66 Thumb down 3
    • Kedai dealer konfem must tanggung the wrecked car.

Hati ketipak ketipung berlagu canggung..
      Bila hati berlagu rindu siapa nak Tanggung~~~

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
    • Tesla on Mar 12, 2021 at 4:09 pm

Michael Shumacher sudah pencen bang

• Melania Rosmah on Mar 12, 2021 at 8:47 pm

Dude,YB Albert just using example.He may be in coma ,but during his racing days..very few F1 drivers can beat him.Nothing to do with pension.

• Ghani on Mar 12, 2021 at 5:31 pm

The poor buyer bought from an ex-SA, next time should buy from the actual showroom at the most convenient location to reach. I dunno maybe the buyer bought it from Lazada or Shoppee.

Regardless the car itself would have clocked at least 300km going from KL to JB, am sure the buyer is unaware of this and he/she would have been furious to see the brand new car doing hundreds of km on the odometer.

Or maybe this car is just way too hot in JB and entire Johor has no stock needing to buy stock all the way from KL.

Either way, rather than having a furious buyer who might felt cheated unwittingly (not by Proton!), I think this would be good PR exercise for Proton to deliver a brand new X50 to the buyer with zero mileage on the odo to show their sincerity and appreciation to new buyers confident about Proton renaissance.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 0
  • Talk like they are SOP abiding bunch. Wonder what’s their SOP on parts delivery.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 12
    • Safety First on Mar 12, 2021 at 2:50 pm

Breaking News: Real world crash test. Proton X50 Driver survived at 180km/h … stay safe & sound in Proton X50.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 90 Thumb down 107
      • YB Albert on Mar 12, 2021 at 3:32 pm

It is not 5 star crash rating.Now ,it is 7 star.
        Jokes aside,whether 5 or 7 star,the dude could have died or injured or killed someone.
        At 180km/hour he already has broken the speed limit undang.When he wakes up from his “Michael shumacher” stint,he will get plenty of legal action and police summons.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
        • sam123 on Mar 12, 2021 at 10:05 pm

Wont stand nary a chance if ended up like the M4 in sinjiapo… gud driving skills p1 SA.

• Based on the above article and the photos, it appears that the car was allegedly driven at 180 km/h, before it somehow went off the highway, hit the armco barrier/guard rail, flipped over and crashed into or onto an embankment that mostly consists of ground soil. Would the driver have survived if this car had hit a concrete wall head-on at the same (alleged) speed?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
    • Police on Mar 12, 2021 at 2:58 pm

Aiyaa.. they just follow miti instructions. Under certain conditions, they can operate.

• GenY AEB on Mar 12, 2021 at 2:56 pm

Impossible wrecked at 180km/h

Crash test at 64km/h, frontal already major damage

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 4
    • PEJUANG on Mar 12, 2021 at 3:25 pm

there’s a thread on lowyat about this case. Driver drove at 180kmh on Karak.

I doubt he was driving at that speed when he crashed. even if he did, he most likely braked (as a reaction) to lower speeds

• bangau on Mar 12, 2021 at 11:44 pm

Omission of the most crucial driving assistance features from the Binyue… was not carried over to the X50. Speed Limit Information Function (SLIF), a feature that recognises road signs and informs the driver of the current road’s speed limit.

This would prevented the crash. and X50 buyers should really beware,

• Keyword: Informed.

You think the SA didn’t know NSH speed limit is 110kmh?

• Dredd on Mar 13, 2021 at 10:10 am

SA and Proton had committed negligence act.

Negligence is a tort which determines legal liability for careless actions or inactions which cause injury. Thus, the tort of negligence.

• Ghani on Mar 13, 2021 at 11:22 pm

Negligence can only be claimed by ther persuant (the buyer) against the 1st party (the agent) or the 2nd party (the SA) but the law don’t allow liabilities until 3rd party (the brandholder ie Proton). In the court of law, it would be between the persuant, 1st party and 2nd party.

• Raja Kamarul on Mar 13, 2021 at 9:29 am

Going to JB, drive on Karak? Seriously.

• bukan lagi peminat neelofa on Mar 12, 2021 at 3:45 pm

pretty sure the 180km/h figure is tokok tambah. there’s no way any car could get in a crash at that speed without the driver suffering serious injuries or even death.

• panjang on Mar 12, 2021 at 4:21 pm

Its not a head on collision at 180kmh lah genius. Accident does not always mean head on.
      On damage, havent u heard of crumple zone?
      Manufacturer can make rock solid front end but your body wont survive head on collision even at moderate speed.

• donno on Mar 12, 2021 at 4:37 pm

Totally different circumstances

crash test is crashing into a stationary wall.

it is clear that the car did not crash into anything stationary at 180kph.

• normality78 on Mar 12, 2021 at 5:22 pm

That is IF you crash heads-on.

• lilytan on Mar 12, 2021 at 2:57 pm

This kind of shit wont happen with P2, Honda and co.

Hot debate. What do you think? Thumb up 167 Thumb down 124
  • yapyw on Mar 12, 2021 at 2:59 pm

Many yrs ago, presumably a for-export Proton model being driven to Port Klang, overtook my car at speed and our cars kissed? He paid me some Ringgits for the dent of my car. Wonder how the driver would explain the dent in the new car?

• Flpping on Mar 12, 2021 at 3:07 pm

Lucky day, for the SA with maximum speed 180-200kmph on highway, wrecked & flippedover, no injury, cemented the high strength steel cabin protection.

• seancorr (Member) on Mar 12, 2021 at 3:10 pm

Breach of SOP, this is gonna get ugly. Also I would never accept for SA to drive the car to me. If anything it will be delivered via flat bed truck that is insured if shit hits the fan.

• bukan lagi peminat neelofa on Mar 12, 2021 at 3:43 pm

there are a lot of questions but the first one would be, why is this top news? secondly, is the speed mentioned correct? the 180km/h figure was probably made up by some people to embellish the story that proton x50 could save lives even at that high speed. also, look at the pics. the car ended up in a crater. a high speed crash wouldn’t leave a crater in the ground. it looks like an unrepaired damage stretch on the highway. the x50 was more likely or probably cruising at 120-140km/h and the driver couldn’t see the hole ahead of him and ended up driving right into it.

• Izhar on Mar 12, 2021 at 3:53 pm

In the 60’s thru early 2000’s, the so called driver being hired to transport cars on the road between states. They pull out the speedo meter cable so the mileage reading is low. Today, this problem occurred because of the so called freelance SA. One person selling multiple brand of cars. En. Din kan ada.

• From 2 of the photos, it looked like the left roadside caved in. Possibly driver couldn’t see and stop in time especially in dark. And possibly was driving slowly on left lane too.

• pengguna ploton kecewa on Mar 12, 2021 at 3:55 pm

moral of the story, dont by a high center of gravity car like a SUV. its easily flipped. Buy sedan or hatch

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 9
    • Hafiz on Mar 12, 2021 at 10:09 pm

I drive my triton 150km/h but never flipped

• pajero montero shogun on Mar 13, 2021 at 7:04 am

Yeah, me too in my 4×4 but only on the straight stretch of the highway. But don’t try this when going thru those sweeping bends.

• sathindren on Mar 12, 2021 at 4:06 pm

The line about buying near to home is great on paper but rubbish in practice. In 2015 when I wanted to buy a Jazz i went to the authorized dealer in Sg Pinanag (you know who you are) and was told bluntly – only black or white colour – no extra effort by them to get one in the colour i wanted ..So lansi somemore when I said i needed urgent as my tendered number was expiring – and it is such a common car. My bro in law had to go to Selayang to help me get onein the colour I wanted. So not all is cut an dry. And I spent another RM 500 to put the car on a trailer to send to Penang…

• Won’t even allow my best friend to drive my car, more so a total stranger. This is what happens when you entrust someone you totally don’t know to handle your hard earned money

• the long post post warning about agent….but the SA that cause the accident

even if buy car from SA close by but if u have moved elsewhere (possible since x50 waiting is 1 year lol), SA still need to deliver and this crash can possibly happen again

• freako on Mar 12, 2021 at 4:23 pm

1st class infrastructure, 3 class mentality.. this is Malaysia!!!! yeahhh!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
  • J Lim on Mar 12, 2021 at 4:47 pm

Everyone commenting on the speed, but nobody noticed the fact that the car is sitting IN A HOLE IN THE ROAD?? (and not by the side of the road, part of the road itself is gone)

• drMpower on Mar 12, 2021 at 4:48 pm

insurance claim gonna be very messy
    not to mention the car RIPPED total

• Haidi on Mar 12, 2021 at 5:02 pm

Why is the road looks like a sinkhole?

• Angry on Mar 12, 2021 at 5:39 pm

What an idiot for driving so fast!

• Miss Kia Kiah on Mar 12, 2021 at 5:46 pm

Kesian owner. I hope he/she will get a replacement for Hari Raya Balik Kampung Bergaya Trip.

In the meantime, harap bersabar

• dong gor on Mar 12, 2021 at 5:55 pm

How to quantify it was speeding at 180km/h? If it flipped at that speed, u won’t see any more tyres or roof. if it crashed onto something at 180kh/h, you would probably see a quarter of the car left (demonstrated by Top Gear with Ford Focus ya). And with the last IF X50 is as tough as a tank, then the driver wouldn’t have survived…so all in all, JUST NO WAY!

• Since who and where did anyone reported crash at 180kph? This fella first went north via and then end up at North Johore around 10pm. Without at least 180kph at cruise how to cover so much distance within 4+ hours?

• Bieight on Mar 12, 2021 at 6:06 pm

This car can reach the speed of 180kmh???

• Monkeys are monkeys.. its time to introduce good repeated rattaning of these idiots hairy butts for endangering other road users lives

• Semi-Value (Member) on Mar 12, 2021 at 8:01 pm

ini maksud mobil proton mobil yang selamat

• C.P. MOHAN on Mar 12, 2021 at 8:13 pm

No car is “safe” at high speed, what it does is prevent serious injury and death, Tiger Woods comes too my mind.

• SA driving middle of night to avoid road block?

• just saw another youtube video on another x50 total loss crash on highway…tsk tsk tsk…they just cannot handle the turbo power

• Is paultan going to report on every bad accident from now onwards. If not, I hope there is explanation for not highlighting other fatal accidents that happen daily.It is unfair for the victim.

• Lolwhut? on Mar 13, 2021 at 5:34 pm

Funny how the Aruz accident which its AEB failed in a frontal collision never gets reported.
      Funnier how FB viral on Myvi fuel pump failures never gets reported.
      Funniest is how Perodua cars are painted to be perfect flawless and all faults are never reported.

• Most new cars have a recommended running in period where you need to drive it gently for the first 1,000 km or so – this is listed in the X50’s owner’s manual. It’s not guaranteed that the SA doing the delivery would be so careful, so it’s best to bed in your new car yourself. Hard driving by the delivery driver might cause problems down the line.

I thought with new car technology we do not need to implement this step anymore? So, mean this car is still with old technology?

• Ghani on Mar 13, 2021 at 11:28 pm

So you’re implying that most new cars are still with old technology? Or are you implying you got poor reading skills?

• GARY TAN on Mar 13, 2021 at 12:02 pm

A GOOD PROTON CAR… SAFETY JUST LIKE A VOLVO. BOOKING NOW.

• Waiting for Ativa’s delivery accident, if only the booking numbers so high and strected to 6 months wait.

• Haha I think Proton will give bonus to the SA since this news became huge advertisement on safty features of X50

• VoidDance on Mar 14, 2021 at 6:32 pm

Correct. Heard that Proton will do X50 leap from Level 7 parking soon… using another SA

• Jay Law on Mar 14, 2021 at 11:44 am

My Evoque was trashed on the way from Port Klang to showroom

Thanks Land Rover Malaysia

• boalove on Mar 14, 2021 at 8:12 pm

Don’t be so sad. At least now Proton has some spare parts ready for other owners to claim with this wrecked X50.

• Audi Owner on Mar 15, 2021 at 4:55 am

Distributor must installed CCTV to monitor SA driving habits when delivering the vehicle to the owner.

• Safe Proton on Mar 15, 2021 at 7:01 am

Delivery at 180km /h. This is the key point. Who in the right mind would do this. Distance aside loh ok. Simple hypothesis = the slower you drive, the lower the risk of an accident. Theres also the fishy smell ‘share this news’ by someone. If this is SA issues or internal, it wont be shared publicly, i guarantee you. Something odd here.

• total lost at over 180km/h and no one injured? now that is a very safe car la wei …

• Fah fan. on Mar 16, 2021 at 5:02 am

Even the car arrive safely. But not the engine . Poor customer. Engine da x dara. Driving 180 on new car that not yet pass the 1k km.

• kanazai2001 on Mar 20, 2021 at 5:25 pm

x50… safety