Perodua sales jump 102% in Sept 2021 as recovery from Covid lockdown gathers pace, optimistic on Q4

After months of pent-up demand and backlog, Malaysia’s auto sales is on a strong rebound, led by market leader Perodua. If the August 2021 headline was “over 10x more cars than July”, September’s big shout is a 102% jump. Last month, P2 deliveries improved for the third consecutive month, up 102% to 14,160 units from 6,988 units in August.

“The automotive supply chain has shown improvements but have yet to reach their full potential. We are continuously working with our suppliers and dealers to further improve productivity and safety,” said Perodua president and CEO Datuk Zainal Abidin Ahmad.

The year-to-date total for the first nine months of 2021 is 119,093 units, a fair bit lower than the 145,012 units achieved in the same period last year. When comparing the second quarter of 2021 to the just-concluded third quarter, sales fell by 44.6% to 21,803 units, from 39,381 units registered between April and June.

This is of course due to the forced closure of both auto sales and production activities by the government, which imposed a lockdown from June 1. The Covid measure was lifted in stages beginning August 16. Things are looking up however, something obvious if you visited a shopping mall over the weekend. Parking was hard to come by, which says it all.

“The fourth quarter of 2021 does offer a better outlook than the previous two quarters, especially the marked improvement in the reduction of Covid-19 cases nationwide as well as the nearly 90% vaccination rate of the Malaysian adult population,” an optimistic Zainal added.

While Perodua is trying its best to fulfil orders, the wait for some models such as the Ativa SUV has grown. The P2 chief explained that the gradual growth in both production and sales were in keeping with the strict quality control measures throughout the carmaker’s operations to ensure customer satisfaction.

“We thank our customers that have continued to be patient with us as we further improve production. We do apologise for any inconvenience caused by the delay in the delivery and we will assist our customers in any way that we can to ensure that their Perodua is delivered as soon as possible,” he said.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Donut media on Oct 04, 2021 at 12:21 pm

Is it possible for local medias to roundup interview with at least 50% of these 14,160 september Perodua new owners. Survey and feedback:
    Why choose Perodua instead other brands?
    Who influence you the most in your purchasing decision?
    What was the pulling factors?
    Restricted budget or 2nd car for family?
    Value & Features?
    What about driving dynamic and refinement?

• test drive before you judge on Oct 04, 2021 at 1:28 pm

My personal opinion. Open your mind, test driving couple of sedans within your budget will give you better perspective. Proton persona drivetrain has been enhanced and calibrated so much it feels like a different car now.
      Honestly for the price verse the value, sacrificing sheer comfort, ergonomics and etc for a myvi is worse value wise.
      After driving and sitting in perodua, the myvi and bezza feel cheaper and one grade lower. Nothing against the brands as they had many years to learn and to overcome these weak points.

• Dilbert on Oct 04, 2021 at 2:34 pm

The key take away is they had many years to learn and to overcome these weak points but they never did and each iteration they reinforce those weakpoints.

Perodua goons tout so much about their safety but they forgot the most visually obvious but key safety feature which many of their new cars were missing: the DRL. You see current Myvi, Aruz, Bezza even latest Ativa comes without DRL to make their cars more visible and thus safer for other road users & pedestrians. That they omitted this safety feature really boggles my mind.

• Celup King on Oct 04, 2021 at 4:59 pm

Pipul buys P2 bcoz its cheap not bcoz it is any good.

• Rakyat Malaysia on Oct 04, 2021 at 1:07 pm

This shows confidence in Malaysia has risen 102% up! Terbaek!

• This show 80% who book their car during MCO just got their car.

• Rakyat Malaysia on Oct 04, 2021 at 4:13 pm

During MCO 80% rakyat have confidence, now after MCO it risen to 102% with confidence. Malaysia Mantap!

• The clear answers. The perception of:
    1.Good RV
    2.Toyota by product
    3. Jepunis smell/JDM
    4. Easy to change the emblem to become a JDM recond car
    5. FOMO – others bought it, me should too
    6. FC
    7. Kedai potong got Jepunis quallitier part for my P2
    8. Cheap roadtax
    9. It is the clear our own TheKing
    10. Got ADAS, even though I don’t care to wear the seatbelt or use the signal stalk.
    11. Ligthweight car
    12. Got no boot (save for Brezza), so as a woman it is easy to drive
    13. Very reliable, no need new tech
    14. Proven dinosour tech
    15. Bullet prove
    16. No CVT
    17. Got start stop, save fuel, even though the battery is pricier
    18. Can fly and do some acrobatic manouvres (TheKing especially)
    19. Got anti snatch hook
    20. Got vanity mirror on both sides of the visor
    21. Plenty of aftermarket part from abang to layang2
    22. A few make up can unmistakabaly convert it to TRD, GR, or even Lexus with the real uncanny resembelance
    23. Last but not least, using timing chain maa, no timing belt

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
    • I guess P2 popular model have to exclude Ativa since it has CVT and thus disqualified from your long list of things. Ativa is going the way of Nautica soon.

• borrow for tomorrow on Oct 04, 2021 at 2:45 pm

Duit tak cukup tak apa, tapi gaya mesti ada.

• Curious on Oct 04, 2021 at 4:20 pm

Gaya ada tapi pokai apa guna, if u got money apa gaya pun bolih dpt, keta mahal pun dpt beli

• tamrec tamij on Oct 04, 2021 at 6:48 pm

They thought it’s the style to borrow 1st & pay later, but later find out too late that they can’t get out of debt.

• They think they can own a RM50k car by just paying RM600. RM600 is only for a month. They are totally shortsighted.

• nardo on Oct 05, 2021 at 10:43 am

It’s the ‘enslaved by debt’ economy.

• @nardo
            That is capitalism in a nutshell.

• tamrec tamji on Oct 05, 2021 at 6:14 pm

Even within capitalism, there do exist individuals who properly manage their debts so that they stay out of trouble. After all, it’s a person’s personal choice on whether or not to live beyond his/her means.

• AKPK kan ada

• stop day dreaming lah on Oct 06, 2021 at 12:38 am

Walaupun adanya hospital & klinik, tapi bukan maknanya nak dijangkiti penyakit.
        Walaupun adanya bomba & alat pemadam api, tapi bukan maknanya nak terjadi kebakaran.
        Walaupun adanya AKPK, tapi bukan maknanya boleh boros berbelanja sampai hutang keliling pinggang.

• makin lamalah tunggu keta perodua baru ni.