Interstate travel in Malaysia to resume soon, says PM – to be announced when adult vaccination rate hits 90%

Interstate travel will be allowed to resume very soon, said prime minister Datuk Seri Ismail Sabri Yaakob. He stated that this will be announced immediately when the country’s adult vaccination rate hits 90%, reiterating the mention made on September 23 about the matter.

In an interview with national broadcasters that was aired last night, he assured the public that there will be an immediate announcement on allowing interstate travel when the vaccination target is achieved, The Star reports.

“I have announced that if 90% of the population have received two doses, we will then allow for interstate travel. Today, I believe it has reached 86% or 87%. Last Wednesday, it was 85.5%. I believe in four to five days, (this number) will increase again. I believe the time for interstate travel is inching closer. I will announce the lifting of interstate travel when the vaccination rate reaches 90%,” he said during the interview.

The PM said that many were undoubtedly looking forward to the long-awaited announcement. “I believe that many people want to balik kampung. There are some people who have not seen their parents for more than a year. There are also those whose parents are not well. I know when my late mother was still alive, if I did not go home for a week or two, she would be crying when she called me.

“So, I know there are many who are in the same situation that I had faced in the past. But because of health reasons, we had to restrict the movement of people,” he said.

As of yesterday, October 3, the reported full vaccination rate for the adult population under the national Covid-19 immunisation program (PICK) stood at 87.6%, with 20,513,168 individuals being fully vaccinated. The day before, the percentage stood at 87.2%, so it’s likely that interstate travel will be allowed to resume sometime late this week.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Izhar on Oct 04, 2021 at 10:12 am

Time for lupa diri. Lesson should be learnt from last year surge. G should educate rakyat on what to do and what’s don’t. Why should be told to.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 10
  • Dr Strange on Oct 04, 2021 at 10:25 am

I hope nobody comes here complaining & moaning about why opening or why not remain closed. The DG has clearly mentioned opening is not by choice and the Gomen is forced by the people. If infections goes up again, you people asked for it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 5
  • Don't cry for me oh my mama on Oct 04, 2021 at 11:35 am

Have vaccination, will travel.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 10
  • Dong gor on Oct 04, 2021 at 12:50 pm

I think the government has done what is within their control. 90% is an achievement, least to say. The traveling and the risks are up to the people to decide for themselves. Don’t forget when parents take along their kids, the unvaccinated children don’t have a choice.

• Dr Strange on Oct 04, 2021 at 2:37 pm

Gomen is committed to bukak semua only for those vaccinated and using this tactic to persuade those antivaxxers to get them vaccinated, Im all for it. As a doctor I fully support this Gomen for everyone to be vaccinate.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
  • fully vaccinated persons do get infected….. and passes it on. vaccination is not the be all, end all.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
    • Fake News on Oct 04, 2021 at 4:22 pm

SINGAPORE – Getting infected but not sick is the best thing that could happen to someone who has been vaccinated, as this could protect him against any coronavirus variants that might emerge in the future, said Professor Ooi Eng Eong of the Duke-NUS Medical School.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 9
  • Langkawi hotel closed after 50 staffs covid positive. Yeah, december MCO again.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
    • Your Mom on Oct 04, 2021 at 9:56 pm

Highly unlikely. NO countries in the world has gone back to lockdown after mass vaccinations. Stop living under the rock

• Kevin Tan on Oct 04, 2021 at 9:58 pm

Highly unlikely. No country in the world has gone back to lockdown after mass vaccinations. Stop living under the rock. Sohai lockdown fanatic

• Marco on Oct 05, 2021 at 3:45 pm

Don’t forget the vaccine has a validity period. The mRNA vaccines like Phizer provides immunity for “at least 6 months” and no further confirmation on how long it will end. The people who are vaccinated in the early stage will turned into high risk sooner. People please behave and practice social distancing. We are still not safe.

• Batu Api on Oct 06, 2021 at 2:47 pm

Gomen give up fighting a losing battle, a case study of futility against mother nature,hahahah!

• Batu Api on Oct 06, 2021 at 2:58 pm

Gomen give up fighting a losing battle, a case study of futility against mother nature!