Mercedes-Benz A-Class CKD – sedan chosen due to higher demand than hatch, more practical than CLA

Mercedes-Benz Malaysia (MBM) recently launched the locally-assembled (CKD) version of the A-Class Sedan, which is notably more affordable than the previous, fully-imported (CBU) model that first arrived here in April 2019.

When it was a CBU model, the A-Class Sedan was sold alongside the A-Class Hatchback, but as we found out during a group interview with MBM’s head of sales and marketing Michael Jopp, the latter has since been discontinued here and can now only be ordered on an indent basis.

In the same interview, we asked Jopp why MBM chose the A-Class Sedan to be localised, but the hatchback was left out. “I think it was relatively easy when we had to make the decision. Just looking at what we see is the typical customer demand in Malaysia, there is still a strong preference for sedans,” he said.

“When it became clear that the compact car portfolio would open up, I think it was a relatively easy choice to say this should actually be the first one that we localise because we see the biggest potential from a long-term perspective, from a customer perspective and also looking at the package that we have. It’s a very attractive car, very good interior space and so, it was a relatively easy choice,” he added.

Jopp also noted that even when both A-Class body styles were CBU, the demand for the sedan was higher than the hatchback after its introduction. With the order books in the A-Class Sedan’s favour, it’s pretty clear why MBM went in the direction it took.

The A-Class Sedan competes against the BMW 2 Series Gran Coupe, but Mercedes-Benz also has another, more style-focused model that rivals Munich’s offering, the CLA. As such, we asked Jopp if there was any consideration to add the CLA to MBM’s CKD compact car line-up – the model is only offered here as full-fat AMG model, fully imported.

“No, because from our perspective, if you look at packaging, I think the A-Class Sedan is the more practical package. It looks, I would say, extremely sporty considering the challenges to design a good-looking small sedan. In other markets, we used to have a localised CLA; it was everywhere in the world, but it was replaced by the A-Class Sedan,” Jopp replied.

In the past, the CLA was localised in other countries but that has stopped. All [CKD] markets have moved to the A-Class Sedan and that’s just because it’s our common understanding it’s a superior package,” he explained further. Today, the second-generation CLA is only built at Mercedes-Benz Manufacturing Hungary, but the original was also built by Mercedes-Benz India and the Thonburi Automotive Assembly Plant (TAAP) in Thailand.

The CKD A-Class Sedan is offered in two variants, the base A 200 Progressive Line goes for RM210,903, making it RM11,000 less than before, while the A 250 AMG Line has gone down by RM19,000 at RM239,858. These figures are on-the-road without insurance, factoring in full sales and service tax (SST) exemption that has been extended to June 30, 2022.

GALLERY: Mercedes-Benz A 200 Progressive Line

GALLERY: Mercedes-Benz A 250 AMG Line

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• A200 at RM211k, but doesn’t come blind spot monitor except for A250

• Sohai on Nov 05, 2021 at 11:34 pm

You are inccorect, people preferred CLA than this A-class.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 11
      • I’m talking about equipments, not talking about what car like CLA better than this A-Class

• Sohai on Nov 07, 2021 at 12:39 am

People don’t care about boring A-Class or GLA sure never interested what equip all about. A-Class & GLA sales figure so poor until monthly sales figures missing from announcement. People hunger on CKD of CLA.

• Sohai on Nov 05, 2021 at 11:42 pm

Totally disagreed, we need CKD CLA, not A-Class.

• Sst exemption extended to 30 June 2022, not 2021

• Kudos on the CKD effort to make these cars more affordable locally, but I personally am not a fan of the A-class if you’re going to ferry passengers at all, it’s just way too cramped. A Japanese C/D-segment would be a much more practical and economical choice for most people.

• Despite the deceivingly small look, A class has bigger wheelbase and thus legroom than Jap C-segment sedans

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
  • Velocity on Nov 05, 2021 at 2:25 pm

A200 1.33L is still a decent looking compact Sedan.

• Bob the builder on Nov 05, 2021 at 2:47 pm

Like: Toyata Camry
    Dislike: A200 sedan

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 7
  • HanIsland on Nov 05, 2021 at 3:04 pm

Admit it Merc. Your hatches cant sell well against the VW Golf in Malaysia!

• RyanT on Nov 05, 2021 at 3:28 pm

It grabs many buyers from Japanese & Korean D-segments…good luck to Japanese n Korean if u don’t lower your greed, especially CKD Accord

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
  • Semi-Value (Member) on Nov 05, 2021 at 4:15 pm

this car does not deserve the mercedes badge

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 5
  • seancorr (Member) on Nov 05, 2021 at 6:52 pm

The A sedan is extremely sporty? Sure boh. Malaysians really love their CLA looking at how many there are on the road but yea the CKD spec is a disappointment. MBM could have done better job.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Nov 07, 2021 at 9:34 am

MBM not ckd-ing the CLA is a real opportunity missed

• Sohai on Nov 05, 2021 at 11:38 pm

Malaysian preferred CLA than this A-class, if you not believe, then launch the survey pool Nationwide, seeing is believing. Thanks. PS.new president/CEO.

• Haseeb Ul Ameer on Nov 06, 2021 at 5:39 am

So Beautiful I Love U Mercedes Benz

• Contender on Nov 06, 2021 at 7:00 pm

If you do not want to CKD the CLA …..well at least bring in and sell official CBU CLA 250 if you worried CLA200 cannibalise your C200 sales!