2022 Perodua Myvi facelift – new rear bumper, same taillights and wheels, on the way to showrooms

When Perodua opens the order books for a new model and releases teasers, it’s dead certain that the launch will be just around the corner. It’s almost as sure as taxes and death.

UPDATE: The new 2022 Perodua Myvi facelift has been officially launched in Malaysia, priced from RM45,700 to RM58,800 on-the-road without insurance. Check out our comprehensive launch article or watch our detailed walkaround video tour for more information.

True to form, three days after the 2022 Perodua Myvi facelift was officially announced, we’re now seeing a trailer full of the refreshed best seller, presumably heading from Rawang to the dealerships. The fact that P2 didn’t even bother covering up the cars is a sign that the launch is, once again, just around the corner. The video below is from Amir Zaheen Minhaj, posted on The Ajerul Facebook page.

So what do we have here? We see the Myvi facelift in three of the six available colours. There’s the 2020-onwards Electric Blue, Granite Grey and Glittering Silver, along with a red that looks like the familiar Lava Red. There’s a new hero Cranberry Red for the 2022 Myvi, reserved for the top AV spec, which cannot be had with Lava Red. Granite Grey is not available for the base 1.3 G.

Colours aside, you would have noticed the new rear bumper, which sports vertical trim strips at the sides to match the new front look, where the vertical strips are LED daytime running lights. The thin strips replace a much bigger black “vent”, and there’s a lot more empty space as a result – what do you think of the new look?

The tail lamps appear similar to the original third-gen units. As the video taker moves to overtake the trailer, we can see that the 15-inch two-tone wheels are also unchanged.

We don’t get to see the front end here, but we’ve already showed you clear spyshots of the front and rear of the car, detailing the changes. Rendering whiz Theo Chin then created “studio pics” of the 2022 Myvi, based on the spyshots. It’s realistic, certainly real enough to be used by P2’s army of sales personnel canvassing for bookings.

It’s a relatively heavy facelift featuring a larger and deeper grille, with a slim chrome strip that runs under the Perodua badge and into the headlights, which have been “cut” at the end that meets the grille. The front bumper is new, featuring sharper contours around the downturned centre air intake, which gives the face a sharp X shape. The AV’s gloss black lip now has a silver centre section, almost like a skid plate-like trim on SUVs. The LED DRLs we’ve already mentioned.

Perodua has also released teaser images of the Myvi’s updated interior. There’s a redesigned meter panel with a red theme, a larger and full-colour multi-info display between the dials, and the Ativa’s steering wheel, replete with buttons that control the Perodua Smart Drive Assist (PSDA) ADAS driver assist functions such as adaptive cruise control and lane centring assist (Perodua calls the latter Lane Keep Control).

In the Ativa, PSDA includes the latest ASA 3.0 plus Lane Departure Warning, Lane Departure Prevention, Adaptive Cruise Control, Lane Keep Control and Blind Spot Monitor. The Smart Drive Assist umbrella also includes Parking Assist (front/rear sensors, reverse camera, rear cross traffic alert) and Headlamp Assist (Auto High Beam or Adaptive High Beam, depending on variant). We’ll see which Myvi variant gets what in due time.

Click to enlarge official teaser pics

Another teaser pic shows red accents for the air con vents and a silver bezel for the instrument binnacle.

No explicit mention of the expected change from 4AT to CVT yet, although the improved claimed fuel consumption – from 21.1 km/l (1.3L) to 22.2 km/l is a strong hint. The Dual VVT-i NR engines are modern units and are expected to continue unchanged. The new variants are the top 1.5 AV, 1.5 H, 1.5 X as well as two 1.3 G variants. All are automatic – P2 has discontinued the slow-selling base 1.3L manual version.

Perodua has said that the 2022 Perodua Myvi facelift will be priced from RM45,700 to RM58,800, on-the-road in Peninsular Malaysia without insurance. Prices include SST exemption, which has been extended to June 30, 2022. If you remove the discontinued 1.3 MT, the previous price range was from RM43,029 (1.3 G AT) to RM52,697 (AV), which means that there’s a slight price increase to go along with the new tech/features. Not long now.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• This good now

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
    • Logical Deduction on Nov 13, 2021 at 9:10 am

Proton, under Geely also commits to saving the environment.
      Meanwhile Perodua under Toyota also commits to continue polluting the environment.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 45
      • newme on Nov 13, 2021 at 9:30 am

That blue looks like the paint bengkel bawah pokok would choose to spray your beat-up car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 4
      • newme on Nov 13, 2021 at 9:31 am

Proton under Geely also “commits” to sell 200K car a year. Still waiting for that day.

• sarlongaw on Nov 15, 2021 at 3:20 pm

Don’t worry, will definitely happen. Now I can’t wait for you to eat your own sarcasm when that happens.

• Logical Conclusion on Nov 13, 2021 at 10:37 am

You swiped P2’s cat converters & shipped them to P1? How diabolical..

• Brian on Nov 15, 2021 at 11:16 am

https://paultan.org/2021/01/18/toyota-settles-on-rm728-million-fine-for-delayed-emissions-related-defect-reports-to-united-states-epa/
          ToyotaP2 cat con cannot be trusted at all! P1 at least use Faurecia exhaust compliance to EURO5 standards.

• Spin Too Much on Nov 15, 2021 at 5:25 pm

Those must be the same ones also used by VW.

• YB Albert on Nov 13, 2021 at 11:01 am

At Rm 48K on the road (with full insurance),oh my…a super compact.If you factor in SST come July 1,2022..it will be half of Rm100K.
      Perodua should reward the rakyat for their unwaving support to be top in sales volume,the last 10 years.
      How about maintaining the current pricing while upgrading the features? Is this too much for the rakyat to ask while knowing the gomen may reinstate the SST after July 1 ,2022.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 6
  • – Redesign bumper
    – Nice rim

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 6
    • Took Iriz rear bumper

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 23
      • But didn’t copied rear Iriz design.

• P1 Designer on Nov 15, 2021 at 2:12 pm

P1 ex-designer joined P2 I think, find the other post says red seats in this facelift, similar to the Saga LMST in early 2000′.

• Green on Nov 13, 2021 at 7:54 am

Now Myvi rear looks properly aligned to its wide body low height design.

Myvi ASA ACC

1000kg dual vvti D-CVT triple combo, more fun, lower rpm highway,
    22km/L without need of hybrid.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
    • bossku on Nov 13, 2021 at 12:13 pm

on paper 22km/L real life 13km/L dont be fool by advertisement.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 27
      • Green on Nov 13, 2021 at 3:29 pm

Alot Perodua owner do get above 17km/L for thier daily drive.
        22km/L means they easily get 19-20km/L.

If traffic jam 1 hour 10km then only 13km/L is what they get.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 13
        • tintur palo pagigiliman on Nov 20, 2021 at 9:29 am

“A lot” but you’re not one of them. Probably the lot you’re talking about is either a few person with multi dupes or someone “brushing”. I’m a Bezza 1.0 auto owner and even the range in odometer shows that if I refill 27L of petrol, it only go to around 370km. Now you do the math, is it close to the claimed fuel consumption of 21km/l? And, my daily drive doesn’t include 1hour of 10km traffic jam so your claim is a myth. Stop spreading lies.

• It is driver behavior. No matter what car you buy, fuel consumption status is always normal. Sometimes, in real life, fuel consumption can be greater or lower than on the paper

• Logewasvari Subramaniam on Nov 13, 2021 at 8:02 am

Lama kereta la

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
  • FudgeMeSideways on Nov 13, 2021 at 8:42 am

Still remember good times when Putra and Wira 1.8 Exi and even to an extent Satria GTi, all cost around RM60k. Now can get Myvi 1.5 God car. Cukurrrrrr.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 6
    • Lets See on Nov 13, 2021 at 9:40 am

https://paultan.org/2021/11/11/2022-daihatsu-xenia-launched-in-indonesia-avanzas-twin-priced-fr-rm56k/
      For the same price we get crampy & crappy myvi. Without Preodua We could get better cars than Preodua offerings.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 19
      • Spin Too Much on Nov 13, 2021 at 2:24 pm

5 years ago for rm60k, one could get a Csegment Preve now 60k only gets small dinky Bsegment myvi. Perodua scalping buyers again.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 14
        • Proton Campro, want cheap see Persona.

• nazir on Nov 14, 2021 at 10:15 am

Enjin campro enjin berprestasi dunia. Saya bangga menjadi pengguna enjin berprestasi dunia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 8
    • Proton Perodua cannot compare.

Proton got Iriz.

• GenY AEB on Nov 13, 2021 at 11:37 am

Tin kosong? It’s better priotize safety, fuel consumption.

• classic proton on Nov 13, 2021 at 12:06 pm

When new, the Putra’s price was slightly below RM70k while the prices of the Satria GTi & the Wira 1.8 EXi DOHC were above RM70k each.

• Uoung on Nov 13, 2021 at 12:15 pm

D-CVT, more power

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 6
    • more restriction on Nov 14, 2021 at 10:44 am

Bro, actually more restriction it only can handle most is 150Nm torque.

• MTATCVTDCT on Nov 15, 2021 at 7:01 am

All types of automotive transmissions have power/torque limitations, depending on design &.manufacture.

• Datuk R on Nov 15, 2021 at 7:13 am

Kelisa 1000cc 3cyl 90Nm 4AT only.
        Alot fun also

• Muhammad Arshad Bin Mustapaha on Nov 15, 2021 at 12:40 am

Gud luck when finish waranty 5 years… services on bengkel bawah pokok… dcvt.. or maybe u prefer to buy another car (trade in) after finish warranty .. if bnyk duit boleh la… yg biasa2 ni pakai la.. 10-12 tahun..

• Abyasa on Nov 15, 2021 at 10:30 am

D-CVT is not like DCT dry clutch..
        There is no problem for daily driving for car design life span.

Even Indonesia DNGA Avanza and DNGA Japan Raize is using, confirmed rugged per design.

• Showcaser on Nov 13, 2021 at 6:22 pm

Baru bumper cantik lagi

• Psyduck on Nov 13, 2021 at 9:22 pm

It is a proven fact that most of Perodua new products (including facelifts/makeup/plastic surgery or whatever we want to call them) will be selling like hot cakes as they are basically affordable, easier to maintain in the long-run and fetches a decent resale value. Who doesn’t want to own a brand H, T, N or any other alphabet when budget is non-permitting?

• george on Nov 15, 2021 at 7:26 am

New fuel pump?

• v-tec fan on Nov 15, 2021 at 8:52 am

hmm… I saw the PWR at steering. So is it getting new 1.0 turbo engine? I guess need to wait and see.

• Still maintain 1.3/1.5 dual vvti engine but only just replacing gearbox which is 8 speed d-cvt