2022 Perodua Myvi facelift open for booking in Malaysia – Ativa’s ADAS, better FC, from RM45.7k

The 2022 Perodua Myvi facelift was spotted uncovered in a commercial shoot last month, and here it is now, open for booking in Malaysia. This comes four years after the third generation of Malaysia’s best seller surfaced in late 2017. Perodua has a knack of surprising everyone these days, and we get a dose of wow here as well.

UPDATE: The new 2022 Perodua Myvi facelift has been officially launched in Malaysia, priced from RM45,700 to RM58,800 on-the-road without insurance. Check out our comprehensive launch article or watch our detailed walkaround video tour for more information.

Perodua Smart Drive Assist (PSDA) will make its debut on the Myvi. Not just Advanced Safety Assist (ASA) – which was expanded to more variants in a 2020 update – but the full Smart Drive Assist as seen on the Ativa. “Intelligent Safety – stay alert with all-round driver assistance that detects hazards,” reads the flyer.

The new variants are the top 1.5 AV, 1.5 H, 1.5 X as well as two 1.3 G variants. All are automatic – P2 has discontinued the slow-selling base 1.3L manual version.

PSDA will be available in all 1.5L cars as well as one of the 1.3 G variants, Perodua says. In the Ativa, PSDA includes the latest ASA 3.0 plus Lane Departure Warning, Lane Departure Prevention, Adaptive Cruise Control, Lane Keep Control and Blind Spot Monitor.

The Smart Drive Assist umbrella also includes Parking Assist (front/rear sensors, reverse camera, rear cross traffic alert) and Headlamp Assist (Auto High Beam or Adaptive High Beam, depending on variant). Will the Myvi get some or all of these kit? We’ll see.

No explicit mention of the expected change from 4AT to CVT yet, although there’s a hint of better fuel consumption in the flyer. “Modern Technology – get more savings, more km for work or play,” it reads. “We have also increased the fuel efficiency of the new Myvi as it can now go up to 22.2 km/l (the 1.3L) from 21.1 km/l previously,” Perodua president and CEO Datuk Zainal Abidin Ahmad said in a press release.

“These changes represent our efforts to meet our customers’ growing expectations while at the same time offer greater value by introducing the ‘Next Standard’ for Malaysia’s most accepted model, the Perodua Myvi,” he added.

Elsewhere, there’s a new colour, as Cranberry Red joins Ivory White, Glittering Silver, Lava Red, Granite Grey and Electric Blue. The new Cranberry Red is exclusive to the AV, which cannot be had with Lava Red. Granite Grey is not available for the 1.3 G.

As for the design, we’ve previously detailed the changes based on the spyshots and Theo Chin’s “studiofication” of the pics. It’s a relatively heavy facelift featuring a larger and deeper grille, with a slim chrome strip that runs under the Perodua badge and into the headlights, which have been “cut” at the end that meets the grille.

The front bumper is new, featuring sharper contours around the downturned centre air intake, which gives the face a sharp X shape. The most visible change is the vertical LED daytime running lights at the edges of the bumper, replacing the round fog lamps. The AV’s gloss black lip now has a silver centre section, almost like a skid plate-like trim on SUVs. At the back, there’s a new bumper with vertical “vents” at the sides to match the new front look.

Perodua has also shared a teaser pic of the Myvi facelift’s interior, which shows the familiar dashboard with some not so familiar kit. If you squint, you’ll see the Ativa’s steering, with two spokes full of buttons (ADAS controls on the right spoke). We also see red accents for the air con vents and a silver bezel for the instrument binnacle – both are new. Also there is a big housing for the stereo cameras on the windscreen top, with a dashcam beside it.

Lastly, the price. The 2022 Perodua Myvi facelift is priced from RM45,700 to RM58,800, on-the-road in Peninsular Malaysia without insurance. Prices include SST exemption, which has been extended to June 30, 2022. If you remove the discontinued 1.3 MT, the previous price range was from RM43,029 (1.3 G AT) to RM52,697 (AV), which means that there’s a slight price increase to go along with the new tech/features.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Lagi established on Nov 09, 2021 at 10:17 am

ASA 3.0 should be the same like Ativa Turbo X and H.

Autonomous emergency braking with pedestrian and cyclist detection (now up to 120 km/h)
    Lane Departure Warning and Protection
    Pedal Misoperation Control (PMC)
    Front Departure Alert (FDA)

1.3L 4AT already good. 1.5L lagi best
    1.3L CVT highway ready yet more fuel saving,
    1.5L CVT better highway cruising and fuel saving.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 8
    • Uoung on Nov 09, 2021 at 12:33 pm

+1
      And more premium

• Celup King on Nov 09, 2021 at 3:38 pm

Jepunis fanbois said CVT sux and 4AT is foreva king wor… now they have to lick back their spits. Lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 13
    • Tun F on Nov 09, 2021 at 3:53 pm

Dude… its lane departure prevention. Not protection

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
    • Sohai on Nov 10, 2021 at 7:34 pm

This local design, exterior b-segment but interior A-segment (cramp like hell). The only car in market with front seat Driver seat shorten to give room for rear seat leg room. Driver seat didn’t support upper leg, it’s suppose failed Ergonomic and the design cannot be released production.

• salbadguy on Nov 09, 2021 at 10:20 am

wow.. 58k

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
    • nazri on Nov 09, 2021 at 11:08 am

yup, quite expensive

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 27
    • Like GPUs today, as long as the buying continues they will continue to raise prices & scalp consumers. Quite sick of this practice & dare I say here I am not going to consider any Perodua cars until they reduce prices to a more reasonable level & cut out the unscrupulous scalping.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 19
      • Who is scalping Perodua cars? Don’t think this is the same scenario with GPUs, PS5, Xbox, Rolex, etc…

• Name me a B segment car with a similar/lower price with all those features the new Myvi has, I’ll wait.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
    • GenY AEB on Nov 09, 2021 at 11:38 am

Now >1 year old Jazz/city and Vios/yaris hatchback1.5L CVT
      Getting less value, less desirable tin kosong.

Model 2020 Decmeber onwards yaris got AEB, less than 11 months old.

• Meladam on Nov 09, 2021 at 3:34 pm

Remember the myvi extreme cost RM61k with normal dual airbags and abs?

• That was before Iriz came. When there was competition P2 did not price it sesuka hati. Now they are back at their game to charge customers whatever they wish.

• newme on Nov 10, 2021 at 4:57 pm

You talked like Iriz is some kind of fearful model. Why would P2 or as a matter of fact, anyone look at model with insignificant sales volume?

• The face and the butt look disoriented. It is not as one design. No continuity. Look like the face for other car, and the rear the other. Catdog?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 16
  • Myvi with more updates incoming

• nazri on Nov 09, 2021 at 10:34 am

myvi 2022 vs honda city hatchback 2022

• Roger on Nov 09, 2021 at 10:39 am

Interesting

King Myvi on the way

• Ok. Have to admit P2 is no longer a tin kosong. Interesting to see how would P1 respond…hmm

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 3
  • Paperworks on Nov 09, 2021 at 10:53 am

Same design but more difference

• Huck Phin on Nov 09, 2021 at 10:53 am

A new Myvi has for a long time successfully remained priced similar to the predecessor.

However I guess due to several economic factors, inflation, currency exchange rate and supply/demand, the new Myvi like Raspberry Pi sees an increase in price.

• Myvi begin @ RM 61,700 Extreme Full spec in 2011. Price with insurance.

https://paultan.org/2011/09/15/perodua-myvi-se-1-5-and-extreme-launched-manual-and-auto-from-rm50900-to-rm61700-weve-driven-it-already/myvi-price-list/

• “Myvi 2011 Extreme Full Spec @ RM61.7k”

Me : Yeah, for extreme retarded.

• Raja Kamarul on Nov 09, 2021 at 10:56 am

The best locally-produced Japanese car in the market. Great value for that price.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 9
    • Celup King on Nov 09, 2021 at 11:14 am

How can it be Jepunis & locally produced unless Malaysia suddenly came under Empayar of Jepun?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 18
  • The king has return

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 3
  • Ruslan Bahari on Nov 09, 2021 at 11:25 am

I am all for tech, but I do wonder about durability and post-warranty costs. If I had a choice, I would want sufficient airbags, cruise control and good braking tech in my cars.

I am happy with my Waja (original model) and my original 2005 Myvi. Serves me well, no major tech issues.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 7
    • Happy with old model then dont buy lor..talk so much..

• Why don’t you worry about insurance too?
      If you cucuk accident langgar BMW Mazda CX-5,

Your insurance enough to pay?
      If low mileage, KV guys take grab and train is better. Peace of mind and cheaper overall.

• Ini bagus on Nov 09, 2021 at 6:10 pm

Proton & Perodua hidup berharmoni.

• Eclipse on Nov 09, 2021 at 11:30 am

New king facelift

• If there is anything that really should have been worked on, it would be the overall comfort and nvh of the car

If it were comfort orientated I would forgive the lack of driving dynamics as handling is not too important tor city driving.

Plus P1 would really have to step up their game again in the segment

We need competition, not a car with better reliability vs a car which drives better

• henry on Nov 09, 2021 at 11:47 am

45,700 myvi with PSDA
    that’s interesting

• I miss Metramac on Nov 09, 2021 at 11:52 am

The real game changer is coming with CVT

• Proton x30 on Nov 09, 2021 at 11:52 am

Perodua make a 1.5 SEDAN sell under rm60k win all dy. No need whatever unnecessary fancy specs as well as the useless eco idles. Lower the selling price to make it practical car. CVT more fuel saving? so how true but u need to go back to perodua service center to change the CVT oil with filter for a hefty fees.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
  • Naturally Aspirated Engine
    New D-CVT
    ASA 3.0
    Daytime Running Lights
    New look

• Education on Nov 09, 2021 at 12:04 pm

Range topping model price increase from 52697 to 58800 is a 11.58% increase, not “a slight increase”

• Education on Nov 09, 2021 at 12:09 pm

Base model price increase from 43029 to 45700 is a 6.21% increase. How I hope my annual salary increment also get “a slight increse”.

• Uoung on Nov 09, 2021 at 12:32 pm

D-CVT, better than 4AT.

• Is it the best looking car to hit the streets of Malaysia? It is subjective but I would give a resounding “no”. Is it the best value-for-money? I suppose everyone also has their preference but IMO, yes, as it has always been for many years.

P1 (and other automakers), step up. Ultimately, this benefits us consumers.

• Worth to buy this

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
    • Avenger on Nov 09, 2021 at 3:40 pm

How, when the model to get is 12% more expensive? Does your salary go up 12%? This is overpriced POS!

• Truth on Nov 09, 2021 at 2:21 pm

instead of paying 58k for this crap car, better buy other makes

• Other makes can do any good, King is reliable car, can fly, on water, fast don’t forget value for money, can other makes beat King? Other makes Expensive plus can’t do what King can do.

• Sam Loo (ori) on Nov 11, 2021 at 8:21 am

“better buy” DNA detected..

• Same L0rr on Nov 12, 2021 at 6:42 pm

“better buy” DNA detected

• Tanah Merah on Nov 09, 2021 at 3:45 pm

Just to confirm , does it come with adaptive cruise control ?

• Henry on Nov 09, 2021 at 4:45 pm

Still waiting time

• normal_user on Nov 09, 2021 at 5:12 pm

This facelift looks uglier than the pre-facelift. The angular front facade looks overtly complicated and aggressive, that doesn’t match the subtle sidelines & curvy rear design. The current one feels nicer to look at.

• Myvi is always the king

• Bring it on, baby

• Semi-Value (Member) on Nov 09, 2021 at 9:32 pm

return of the king

• Why they didn’t offer the ativa white colour. Ivory white is lame lol. But I can’t wait to see this car on the road.

• Randzo on Nov 10, 2021 at 12:28 am

Modified the looks i would say yes it the best looking car… King will always be King.

• Pls upgrade one side driver door unlocking / twice to unlock all doors or have opt to override off

• Sam Loo (ori) on Nov 12, 2021 at 6:43 pm

Nanti ada lah orang cakap “Baik beli kereta______” fill in the blank..

• Proton fans on Nov 13, 2021 at 11:09 am

Have center arm rest or not? No center arm rest, no buy.. Kahkahkah..