GWM Ora Good Cat previewed in Malaysia – 501 km EV range; under RM130k est; target launch early 2022

The Great Wall Motors (GWM) Ora Good Cat has been previewed in Malaysia at the Kuala Lumpur Convention Centre in conjunction with the launch of the Bumiputera Development Action 2030 that took place earlier today.

The Good Cat (directly translated from its Chinese name Haomao) was previously spotted in Elmina, Shah Alam back in April, and we’re now bringing you a live gallery of the fully electric hatchback. The model has already been launched in Thailand last month, and we’re told that it is expected to be introduced here by Go Auto early next year, pending government approval.

This particular example was imported from China for evaluation purposes, hence the left-hand drive format and China-specific GB/T connector for DC fast charging – AC charging is done via a GB/T AC connector (reversed pin and holes even though it looks like a Type 2). The version we’ll get will swap out the GB/T for the more commonly used CCS2 connector (Type 2 is part of this), which is what’s used by the Good Cat in Thailand.

In fact, the listed specifications are identical to the top-spec Ultra that is sold in Thailand at a price of 1.199 million baht (RM149,857), with propulsion provided by a front electric motor rated at 143 PS (141 hp or 105 kW) and 210 Nm of torque. This allows for a 0-100 km/h time of 7.6 seconds and a top speed is 152 km/h

The electric motor draws power from a 63.1-kWh ternary lithium battery that allows for up to 501 km of range. Following Thailand’s spec sheet, the Good Cat supports AC charging up to 6.6 kW, with a full charge for the Ultra taking about ten hours, while DC fast charging (up to 60 kW) will get the battery from a 0-80% state of charge in around an hour.

As for equipment, the show car sports LED headlamps, 18-inch wheels, an electric sunroof, keyless entry and start, a leather-trimmed interior, a digital instrument cluster, a touchscreen infotainment system, a wireless charger, an electronic parking brake, air-conditioning and a powered driver’s seat.

Safety and driver assist systems mentioned include lane keep assist, lane following assist, forward collision warning, automatic emergency braking, active cruise control with stop and go, blind spot monitoring, rear cross-traffic alert, intelligent dodge and lane change assist.

We’re told that the Good Cat coming our way will come with features similar to those available in Thailand, and what’s mentioned above are all standard on the range-topping Ultra offered there. Besides the Ultra, the Good Cat is also offered in two other, lower-range variants there, namely the Tech and Pro.

Of course, the big question is how much will the Good Cat cost when it comes here? Well, the target figure is below RM130,000 for the CBU model, but we’ll have to wait until the model is officially launched to find out the final asking sum. Interested?

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• wanting for this car so bad! need to buy this one unit for my lil sis!

• Not trying to be salty but no after sale plus it’s a electric car and at this price point there is a lot other option out there.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 8
  • Jom Global on Dec 06, 2021 at 7:19 pm

This compact EV hatchback is larger than VW Golf.
    7.6s to 100km/h 501km
    AEB ACC equipped
    And it has the leather wrapped dashboard like Genesis German cars killer GV60 EV SUV dashboard

• Jonathan Khan on Dec 06, 2021 at 7:22 pm

More advanced than Proton X50, top up a little to be different better China car too.
    Since both china cars, can compare.

• dream125 on Dec 06, 2021 at 7:37 pm

Electric is expensive in Malaysia while petrol is cheap (compared with other countries).
    I don’t get the point why anybody would like to drive an EV in Malaysia? To pay more for fuel?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
  • autodriver (Member) on Dec 06, 2021 at 8:04 pm

63.1kWh battery last for 501km. TNB highest rate is RM 0.571 kWh.

63.1 x 0.571 = RM 36.03 (full charge rate). 36.03 / 501 = RM 0.07 per KM. 1km is only RM 0.07 which is much cheaper than using petrol. Even if the car actual running cost is 30% higher it is only RM 0.90 per KM which is still quite impressive. No one can tell how reliable is the battery but assume the hybrid battery can last about 8 years the EV car expect to equal or last longer. EV battery may last longer than hybrid because hybrid system switch petrol and electric irregular.

EV car do have regenerative braking to generative electric and store back but it is not same concept as fast charging like charging port. This regenerative wouldn’t bring any burden or very minimum harm to battery. So one can expect the EV battery can be long lasting. And if it really spoilt we only change particular cell, not entire battery pack.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
  • Khoo kim sen on Dec 06, 2021 at 8:35 pm

The gov should abolish any duties or taxes or even reduce any to promote e vehicles to the masses.We have been subjected to various taxes till we already have a culture of paying more for vehicles .Considering public transportation is hardly well developed compared to countries like Singapore etc …The government should be more serious in ensuring electric vehicles are affordable.130 k for one isn’t so ….

• Hoy you sum on Dec 06, 2021 at 8:43 pm

Very interesting!. A Chinese made car made by Chinese people for Bumiputera advancement.

• For your information it’s a Chinese in China not Cina in Malaysia if you try to provoke further.

• Bieight8 on Dec 06, 2021 at 9:43 pm

GG lah Tesla….

• Bob_B78 on Dec 07, 2021 at 9:07 am

Given that in China the top spec for this car sells at RMB150K(~MYR100k), is relatively affordable. A few of my China co-workers drive the smaller version blackcat. Quite popular in the urban area due to cute design and range.

• Ghani on Dec 07, 2021 at 9:15 am

Once started assembled in RM 2BILION plant Great Wall Motors (GWM) in kedah. This cute pocket rocket will be more cheaper.. Syukkurr.

• What? on Dec 07, 2021 at 9:31 am

Faster than Civic 1.5 tehboh.

• SUBOH on Dec 08, 2021 at 9:27 am

Baby Taycan. Anyone seeing this?

• SmartConsumer on Dec 13, 2021 at 1:18 pm

Their designer is ex porsche designer if you didnt know. They paid him higher than porsche

• Danny on Dec 11, 2021 at 2:41 am

If GWM set up their office/direct branch here in Malaysia I will surely buy this but they are selling it via the existing useless master dealer. I’m driving their H2, good car but having problem with the BCM and it took donkey months to have the replacement part ready

• Is it just me realise that the car look like car in black mirror