VIDEO: 2022 Perodua Myvi 1.5L AV first impressions

As motoring journalists, we often get asked, “what’s the best car to get under RM100k?” The answer is often not as straightforward as one may think, because each individual’s priorities and requirements for cars differ.

But if there’s one car that deserves a spot in every household, it’s the Perodua Myvi. The 2022 midlife refresh brought about substantial changes to the long-running bestseller, and the fitment of Daihatsu’s D-CVT is arguably the single biggest mechanical upgrade ever made to the Myvi.

No tweaks were made to both the 1.3 litre and 1.5 litre four-pot engines, but the new transmission alone is responsible for improving fuel efficiency by 5%. We managed a peak of 22.3 km/L while cruising between 90 km/h to 110 km/h on the highway, and an average of 19 km/L in mixed driving conditions. The D-CVT also improves performance by a whopping 20% – the Myvi now sprints from 0 to 100 km/h in 10.2 seconds.

Prior to this, the Ativa set the industry benchmark for having a comprehensive suite of advanced driver assist systems (the umbrella term for which is PSDA) for vehicles under RM70k. Sliding in at just under RM60k, the Myvi now takes top honours, offering adaptive cruise control with lane keep control for the first time.

All told, it cannot be understated just how big of a leap this is for the B-segment hatch. Over 1.3 million units of the Myvi have been sold since its debut in 2005, and it has consistently been the best-selling car every year since. Watch our first impressions review to see what we think of it, and feel free to browse CarBase.my for a more detailed look at each variant’s equipment and specifications. Expect a much more in-depth review to come, soon.

GALLERY: 2022 Perodua Myvi 1.5L AV in Cranberry Red

Matthew H Tong

An ardent believer that fun cars need not be fast and fast cars may not always be fun. Matt advocates the purity and simplicity of manually swapping cogs while coping in silence of its impending doom. Matt's not hot. Never hot.

• Matchy on Dec 08, 2021 at 5:20 pm

Slightly out of topic, anyone using PT’s RSS and notice that it mixes the EN and BM article? I’m getting duplicated articles due to this…

• Takpayah pening , takpayah pikir. Beli p2 sje

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 24
    • Amran on Dec 09, 2021 at 5:22 pm

Membeli kereta tanpa berfikir kerana tak mahu pening, budaya konsumer baru? Ini mesti sebab dulu dah gagal peperiksaan sekolah ni.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 14
  • Thinks on Dec 08, 2021 at 8:10 pm

Myvi King – Spacious, Fun, Fuel Saving.

• Fun what fun? on Dec 12, 2021 at 1:21 am

You mean the fun of having the same car with lots of people on the street and parking lot?

• Other carmaker should put the same priority towards safety, good job perodua.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 5
    • Safety First on Dec 09, 2021 at 3:21 pm

1.3G comes without AEB. What safety are you talking about?

• There is an option to add it on. Not something you can even choose to get if you had money on all competing brands. What kind of safety are you referring to?

• Myvi become uglier on Dec 09, 2021 at 10:14 am

Ugly colour scheme!

• v-tec fan on Dec 09, 2021 at 11:29 am

I still wish P2 put in 1.0 turbo engine option. who knows, maybe Myvi V5. But the safety upgrade is a big plus IMO.

• Avenger on Dec 09, 2021 at 3:24 pm

Wouldn’t it be cheaper for Perodua to use the 1.3 engine only?

• Celup King on Dec 11, 2021 at 7:47 am

why don’t u ask them to use only 660cc engine to make it the cheapest?

• Amran on Dec 11, 2021 at 7:43 am

Kalau tak mahu berfikir & tak mahu pening, tak payah beli P1, P2 ataupun mana2 jenama. Simpan aje duit utk berjimat cermat..