2022 Honda Civic launched in Malaysia – standard VTEC Turbo, Sensing; priced from RM126k-RM144k

This is it – Honda Malaysia has launched the new Civic at the Malaysia International Trade and Exhibition Centre (MITEC) today. The 11th-generation model, codenamed FE, has big shoes to fill as it replaces the swoopy FC that remains hugely popular to this day.

Let’s start with the most important bit of today’s announcement out of the way first, which is the price. As before, the Civic is available in three variants, with the base E kicking off proceedings at RM125,635. The V comes next at RM138,043, while the new RS model tops out at RM144,350. Those are significant increases of RM16,308, RM12,962 and RM9,689 over the respective FC variants.

All prices are on-the-road without insurance, inclusive of the government’s sales and service tax (SST) rebate that is valid until June 30. Each purchase comes with a five-year, unlimited-mileage warranty and five times free labour for servicing, as is always the case for Honda Malaysia.

The company has received around 1,200 bookings since the order books were opened last month and is expecting to sell around 900 units per month. Deliveries will kick off next week, with waiting times expected to be between one and two months depending on the variant.

For the first time, all variants are powered by the 1.5 litre VTEC Turbo four-cylinder engine. Enhanced with Variable Valve Timing and Lift Electronic Control (yes, actual VTEC), optimised turbocharger components for improved response and a revised crankshaft and oil pan for increased refinement, it pushes out 182 PS at 6,000 rpm and 240 Nm of torque from 1,700 to 4,500 rpm – increases of 8 PS and 20 Nm. Fuel consumption is rated at 6.0 litres per 100 km for the E and V and 6.3 litres per 100 km for the RS.

The CVT continues to be standard fitment, offering seven virtual ratios and paddle shifters starting with the V variant. Honda says it has done some serious software calibration work for better responsiveness, conducting extensive testing in the United States and United Kingdom. The V and RS also feature a drive mode selector with Eco, Normal and Sport settings that adjust the throttle and CVT mapping.

I’m sure you’ve already seen the styling and made up your mind about it, so here’s the Cliff Notes version. The FE has a cleaner, more mature design with straighter body lines and the ditching of the FC’s characteristic “Solid Wing Face” front bar and C-shaped taillights. In their place are a slimmer grille and headlight combination, Audi-like trapezoidal LED taillights and A-pillars that have been pushed back by 50 mm for more “premium” proportions. The FC’s characteristic C-pillar kink remains, however.

On the outside, the Civic now comes as standard with automatic LED headlights and rides on two-tone 16-inch alloy wheels, although front fog lights have been dropped here. The latter gets optioned back in with the V, which also throws on 17-inch alloys (these are the two-tone versions of the rollers offered on the RS model in Thailand) and chrome door handle accents.

Our RS gets upsized 18-inch matte black alloys in the same handsome Y-spoke design offered in the US and Japan. Also unique to the sportier-looking range-topper are darkened headlight internals, a gloss black rear spoiler, visible twin tailpipes and gloss black highlights – the latter can be found on the wing mirrors, door handles and shark fin antenna. The window trim is also finished in matte black.

Against the measuring tape, the new Civic is 4,678 mm long, 1,802 mm wide and 1,415 mm tall, making it 30 mm longer, three millimetres wider and one millimetre lower than before; its 2,733 mm wheelbase is also 33 mm longer. Honda says that the latter has allowed the rear seats to be more reclined than before, improving passenger comfort. The boot measures 497 litres, which is quite a bit smaller than the old car’s 519 litres.

Step inside and you’ll find a more upscale cabin than the outgoing model, sporting a clean horizontal dashboard, a freestanding infotainment touchscreen and full-width air vents with a honeycomb metal mesh cover. The company promises improved material and switchgear quality in concert with the more upmarket look, as well as increased visibility thanks to the repositioned A-pillars.

All new Civics come with Honda’s OEM Display Audio infotainment system. The E variant is equipped with a seven-inch touchscreen that supports Apple CarPlay and Android Auto, while the V and RS models upgrade to a nine-inch unit that adds wireless CarPlay support. The standard speaker count has dropped from six to four, but the V and RS get bumped up to eight speakers, including four tweeters.

Elsewhere, the seats have been redesigned to improve comfort and support, but in return you lose the powered driver’s seat adjustment that was previously offered as standard. This feature is only fitted on the V and RS models, which also add on leather upholstery (combined with suede and red stitching on the RS). There are a number of other RS-specific touches, including alloy pedals, a black headliner, footwell lighting and ambient lighting strips integrated into the gloss black door trims.

Standard kit continues to include keyless entry (with walkaway auto-lock and remote engine start), push-button start, a seven-inch digital instrument display (paired with an analogue speedometer), single-zone automatic climate control with rear vents and a reverse camera. New features include windshield washers integrated into the wipers and a spring-loaded bootlid for easy opening (no hands-free function, however).

Step up to the V variant and you’ll receive the Honda Connect suite of telematic services, an auto-dimming rear-view mirror and illuminated vanity mirrors, while the RS adds automatic wipers. Unfortunately, the previously offered dual-zone climate control is nowhere to be found here – not even on the top RS model.

These omissions can be easily forgiven, however, because safety is where the new Civic has been given the biggest upgrade. Yes, the car now comes as standard with the Honda Sensing suite of driver assistance systems, including autonomous emergency braking, adaptive cruise control with stop and go, lane centring assist, lane keeping assist and automatic high beam.

New for the FE is a Lead Car Departure Notification System, which alerts the driver if the car in front is moving off from a stop. As before, the Civic comes with six airbags, stability control and an electronic parking brake with auto brake hold. Honda’s LaneWatch blind spot camera is also fitted to the V and RS.

Honda is promising some improvements under the skin, including a stiffer body structure, increased sound insulation and a retuned chassis aimed at delivering a better ride and handling balance. An Agile Handling Assist (AHA) function has also been added, braking individual wheels to reduce understeer in the corners. Want to know how the new Honda Civic drives? Read our first impressions review here.

The new Civic will be offered in five colours, including the new Meteoroid Grey Metallic and Ignite Red Metallic. The other available hues are Lunar Silver Metallic, Crystal Black Pearl and Platinum White Pearl, the latter costing an extra RM300. Browse full specifications and equipment on CarBase.my.

GALLERY: 2022 Honda Civic V

GALLERY: 2022 Honda Civic RS
GALLERY: 2022 Honda Civic official photos

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• FC much better

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 8
  • anonymous on Jan 13, 2022 at 11:33 am

at these prices and no dual zone climate control? ok.

that being said, surely thousands will be ordering one anyway so i hope that honda has resolved its dire quality issues of past vehicles (current honda civic owner here).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
  • ZrWorks on Jan 13, 2022 at 11:36 am

No temperature gauge?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
  • Anonymous on Jan 13, 2022 at 11:40 am

Honda Malaysia just screwed up with their decision to use that ugly mf instrumental cluster.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 2
  • David on Jan 13, 2022 at 11:41 am

Love it

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 20
  • Vios tailights

• No BOSE system
    No 10.2inch screen
    No wireless system…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 3
  • Farhan Yunas on Jan 13, 2022 at 12:04 pm

Gila cekik leher, why dont they just price it similar to a 3 series

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 14
    • lol..B40 dah masam ni, there’s still myvi for you

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 13
    • Colin Wong on Jan 13, 2022 at 10:15 pm

Harga macam ni tak mahal. Duit kita kecik. Cuba fikir kalau ringgit power macam duit Singapura. 1/3 harganya.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 11
      • Then please explain why like for like the same spec cars are pricier in other countries; Thailand, Indon…

• They reserved that price level for Accord.

• Dong Gor on Jan 13, 2022 at 12:09 pm

the top spec costs 150k including insurance…wow, is that C seg jepunis asking price for real?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 8
    • Bersyukur lah…. When Civic was launch in 2012, top spec 2.0NA was priced at RM132k. Fast forward today after 10 years, price only increase by RM12k, 9% naik saja and comes with turbo, bigger rims, more improved chassis, improved fule economy, improve entertainment system, all the latest safety feature like Honda Sensing. We are lucky that our car prices are not badly affected by inflation, 9% saja over the last 10 years and yet so many features are added.. Rumah pun naik from RM300k to RM500k tapi ruang tak tambah, mee goreng pun from RM3 to RM6 tapi udang lagi kecik.. Bersyukurlah harga kereta masih boleh maintain..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 3
    • 4wheeler on Jan 13, 2022 at 9:35 pm

Still less than a Mazda 3 2.0 HP

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 18
  • Listen on Jan 13, 2022 at 12:19 pm

Cancelling my order. Call me when the full digital instrument cluster and Bose sound system are offered. Side note, the article is not clear – is wireless android auto supported or not?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 152 Thumb down 11
    • Jonathan Lee (Member) on Jan 13, 2022 at 12:34 pm

The Civic does not come with wireless Android Auto. We would have mentioned it specifically if it did.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 23
      • QChan on Jan 13, 2022 at 1:06 pm

Quote: “The Civic does not come with wireless Android Auto.”

I was wondering also……..

It wouldn’t hurt and it’s quite painless to include the above line from Get-Go !

And yep, no full digital instrument cluster, no go-lar.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 4
    • iThink on Jan 13, 2022 at 1:12 pm

Paultan review for missing items all, available at review.
      E.g no blind spot monitor indicator @ mirror, half blind spot camera @ left side only.
      No android auto..

This one introduce, follow marketting style.
      It’s a launching article.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 2
      • klguy on Jan 13, 2022 at 2:26 pm

what nonsense is this, only one side BLIS, are we in the 70s???

• Sabrikorkor on Jan 13, 2022 at 1:23 pm

You made the right choice.
      Get a Toyota.
      Honda getting more expensive and unreliable long term.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 10
      • Ha ha ha honda hase everything and never broke down the best tehre is and al anders above are rong Honda Musch better than Toyota I have botje op and on I can now……

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 28
    • suomynona on Jan 13, 2022 at 1:55 pm

Its sad that its rare we get the good stuff, premium audio system is something we nearly never see outside the premium luxury range of cars. To see mainstream cars have this available would be bliss

• RyanT on Jan 13, 2022 at 2:13 pm

Hopefully it will be as rare as accord…haaa

• Yes, no dual zone climate control across the range & dropping some feautures in lowest variant is still acceptable since to cut cost because of turbo engine & sensing system across the range. But no both features like overseas civic variant even for the highest spec here looks this new civic has no innovation because the absence of that new tech.

• freaking expensive! and will get costlier once sst rebate end

im waiting for all new crv end 22/23…but with this civic pricing…cant imagine how much costlier new crv would be

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 6
    • lol…another B40 comment…no money just get Myvi lah, there’s also proton for u to choose..lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 17
    • Nomaste on Jan 14, 2022 at 1:20 am

Because Ringgit is weak

• Then please explain why like for like the same spec cars are pricier in other countries; Thailand, Indon…

• Copy Paste on Jan 14, 2022 at 12:17 pm

Copy paste: “These omissions can be easily forgiven, however, because safety is where the new Civic has been given the biggest upgrade. Yes, the car now comes as standard with the Honda Sensing suite of driver assistance systems, including autonomous emergency braking, adaptive cruise control with stop and go, lane centring assist, lane keeping assist and automatic high beam.

New for the FE is a Lead Car Departure Notification System”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
  • PlainBS on Jan 13, 2022 at 1:44 pm

Compare to China market, Honda Malaysia’s offering is pathetic.

• Hi paultan team, did you ask them during the press release why the full digital instrument cluster, wireless charger and bose speaker are being ommited? We used to be get the highest specced civic around the region and now it is not the case anymore.

• Brian on Jan 13, 2022 at 2:11 pm

For the same price you can get a Mazda 3 instead , the price isn’t competing with Corolla anymore

• Brian on Jan 13, 2022 at 2:12 pm

For the same price might as well get the Mazda 3

• Jenny on Jan 13, 2022 at 2:15 pm

The FC model is so much nicer to me.. I hope 2nd hand market for FC cars will not increase after this FE launched price.. I didnt feel those lane assist etc is so important to me.. FC and FE sharing the same engine and gearbox.. Better to find FC units now.. Hope can get a 1.5 TC or 1.5TCP at RM 95 to RM110K!!!

• Expensive?? Blame the value of our MYR.. It has depreciated >30% as compared to 10 years ago. So we can’t expect the same price for these cars. Japanese C segment at around 150k and D Segment around 200k would be the norm in the near future..

• Copy Paste on Jan 14, 2022 at 12:15 pm

Copy paste: “Take E variant, from rm114k(FC) to rm125k(FE), just for Honda Sense. In the FC, prospective buyers could decide to go for TC(w/o HS) or TCP(w/ HS for extra rm10k).

Now price has risen rm11k basically this is not pushing better safety down the chain but forcing buyers to top up the extra for Honda Sense even with base variant. Can we have an E variant w/o HS for rm114k as before? Buyers should have a choice right?

Nice to applaud Honda for making HS standard but not at the expense of charging customers for it.”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 10
    • No need to blame value of MYR since it is CKD

• Mr Fakta on Jan 13, 2022 at 2:22 pm

Don’t buy now, wait for 6 months to a year, they might add in some additional items without cost. We buyers should teach them a lesson, just like UMW thought they can cheat us with the small screen CRT TV when Altis 1st launch, last last lan lan need to change bigger screen because sales is bad.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 3
  • PotentialBuyer on Jan 13, 2022 at 2:23 pm

Can we have metallic blue color also? This color will confirm my decision. Thanks.

• Philippines paying about RM138K For RS and yet getting Bose sound system and 10′ cluster meter.
    Over here lots of misses but still priced higher!

Stop supporting this blood sucker’s temporarily if you wanted to see them include the above.

• The only thing that is preventing me from getting this car is the seat height which is not elderly friendly, and it will be difficult for my aging parents. The target crowd seems to be more for youngsters or young family.

• azhar on Jan 13, 2022 at 3:18 pm

Still analog meter for over 140k car..what a bummer!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
  • Sam Loo on Jan 13, 2022 at 3:50 pm

Wahh suddenly HCFE same price with TCA. Coincidence?

• Bel Jin on Jan 13, 2022 at 3:56 pm

So this is how honda design trend goes for the Civic.

1995. Civic SO4 or EK series. Good design.

1999. Civic S5A or ES series. So So and weak.

2005. Civic FD. Good design. Extraordinary.

2011. Civic FB. So So and weak.

2016. Civic FC. Good design. Extreme to the max.

2022. Civic FE. So So. Nothing exciting. Dont buy this one. Wait for next gen Civic

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
  • pomen on Jan 13, 2022 at 4:45 pm

they should put in 360 camera and also the blind spot assist, not that stupid lane watch camera…lol

• Analogue speedometer???? Even the last generation FC had full digital speedometer with jet fighter start up animation! No dual zone aircond and stadard power driver seat??? Why I sensed a BIG downgrade except for the price?

• Tommy on Jan 13, 2022 at 4:59 pm

MYR150K for a range topper Civic and we only get half of the LED digital instrument display? a big no for me.

• Jueui on Jan 13, 2022 at 5:39 pm

Ugly than my saga. Walao

• Why don’t sell the hatchback here?

• It would hv been perfect if it comes wt bose speakers n full digital cluster. Given option i wd prefer to hv full digital cluster.

• Really should include full digital instrument, and 360 degree camera also, at least for top of variant.. and also qi wireless charging as hafriz mention…

• Looks ugly like a Malaysian taxi.

• I just want a basic no frills civic with a manual transmission for 100k

• stranger on Jan 14, 2022 at 8:26 am

oh wow…more than RM10k more expensive with same engine,dated design, no android auto, no blind spot and remove dual zone A/C?price up specs down.nice..

• Nice 18″ Rims

• Gabriel on Jan 14, 2022 at 10:40 am

The price is not right.

• Oh hey look, Saga has a new twin! Back design inspired by Saga is it?

• 90s interior design looking, so ugly

• DaddyB on Jan 15, 2022 at 2:04 pm

still.. no traction control? no problem. it’s honda.. the power of dream

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
  • Thanks PaulTan.org (&team) and Jonathan Lee for your continuous help in choosing the right cars for us. I ordered my FC version in March 2021 and received it in September for obvious reasons. At the meantime the 2022 version was about to be launched in MY. Honda asked me if I still wanted the FC or wait for the new one. Without hesitation I declined the offer and waited for the FC.
    Last week I when sending my car for servicing. I took a look at the 2022 model to see what I was missing. At the exception of the doors that are lighter and easier to open, when sitting in the driver’s sit, first impression is that the dashboard comes out to my face. Too near in my opinion. Also looking at the honeycomb design of the air vent, the designer has obviously never cleaned the interior of a car in his life. The interior and dashboard reminds me of cars from the 70’s like my dad’s VW K70. I don’t regret opting for the FC model even though I had the option to get the 2022 model. I hope Honda will look positively at all the people’s bias reviews and correct its errors for the next gen.
    Thanks.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
  • Still equip Max Contact 5 in 2022?!?!