2022 Honda Civic in Malaysia – spec-by-spec comparo

By far the biggest news from yesterday was the launch of the new Honda Civic. We’ve talked at length about the car and everything that is new on it, which you can read all about in our full launch report.

However, if all you’re here for are the differences in specifications and equipment of all three variants, you’ve come to the right place. The biggest step up for the 11th-generation FE is of course the fitment of the 182 PS 1.5 litre VTEC Turbo engine and Honda Sensing suite as standard, helping to counteract the sizeable jump in starting price. But there’s a lot more going on with each variant, so here goes.

2022 Honda Civic E – RM125,635

Gets as standard:
Mechanicals

• 1.5 litre VTEC Turbo engine
  • 1,497 cc turbocharged four-cylinder petrol
  • 182 PS at 6,000 rpm, 240 Nm from 1,700 to 4,500 rpm
  • Continuously variable transmission (CVT)
  • 0-100 km/h in 8.3 seconds, top speed 200 km/h
  • 6.0 litres per 100 km combined fuel consumption
  • Ventilated brake discs (front), solid discs (rear)
  • MacPherson strut suspension (front), multi-link (rear)
  • Agile Handling Assist

Exterior

• Automatic LED headlights, daytime running lights and indicators
  • 16-inch two-tone alloy wheels with 215/55-section tyres
  • Chrome window trim
  • Shark fin antenna
  • Power-adjustable door mirrors with auto fold
  • Wipers with integrated windscreen washers
  • Keyless entry with walk-away auto lock and remote engine start

Interior

• Push-button start
  • Black fabric upholstery
  • Manual front seat adjustment
  • 60:40 split-folding rear seats
  • Beige headlining
  • Leather-wrapped multifunction steering wheel
  • Single-zone auto climate control with rear air-conditioning vents
  • Econ mode button
  • Electronic parking brake with auto brake hold
  • 7.0-inch digital instrument display with analogue speedometer
  • 7.0-inch touchscreen Display Audio infotainment system
  • Wired Apple CarPlay and Android Auto connectivity
  • Four speakers
  • Reverse camera
  • Reverse sensors
  • One front USB port, two rear ports

Safety

• Six airbags (front, side, curtain)
  • ABS with EBD and brake assist
  • Stability control
  • Hill start assist
  • Front and rear seat belt reminders
  • Rear seat reminder
  • ISOFIX rear child seat anchors
  • Autonomous emergency braking
  • Adaptive cruise control with stop and go
  • Lane centring assist
  • Lane keeping assist
  • Front departure alert
  • Automatic high beam

2022 Honda Civic V – RM138,043

Adds on:
Mechanicals

• 0-100 km/h in 8.4 seconds

Exterior

• LED fog lights
  • 17-inch two-tone alloy wheels with 215/50-section tyres
  • Chrome door handle trim

Interior

• Black leather upholstery
  • Eight-way power-adjustable driver’s seat
  • Auto-dimming rear-view mirror
  • Paddle shifters
  • Drive mode selector with Econ, Normal and Sport settings
  • 9.0-inch touchscreen Advanced Display Audio infotainment system
  • Wireless Apple CarPlay and wired Android Auto connectivity
  • Eight speakers
  • Two front USB ports
  • Honda Connect emergency and geolocation services

Safety

• LaneWatch camera on passenger side

2022 Honda Civic RS – RM144,350

Adds on:
Mechanicals

• 0-100 km/h in 8.5 seconds
  • 6.1 litres per 100 km combined fuel consumption

Exterior

• Black headlight accents
  • 18-inch matte black alloy wheels with 235/40-section tyres
  • Gloss black door mirrors, door handles, B-pillars and shark fin antenna
  • Rear spoiler in gloss black
  • Matte black window trim
  • Visible twin tailpipes with chrome finishers

Interior

• Black leather and suede upholstery with red stitching
  • Alloy pedals
  • Black headlining
  • Auto wipers
  • Footwell illumination
  • Door panel ambient lighting

The new Civic will be offered in five colours, including the new Meteoroid Grey Metallic and Ignite Red Metallic. The other available hues are Lunar Silver Metallic, Crystal Black Pearl and Platinum White Pearl, the latter costing an extra RM300. Browse full specifications and equipment on CarBase.my.

GALLERY: 2022 Honda Civic V

GALLERY: 2022 Honda Civic RS
GALLERY: 2022 Honda Civic official photos

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Really can omit the RS spec and just get the V spec.
    RS spec is just cosmetics, no enhancement on drivetrain and safety features.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 0
  • Mind fucuk on Jan 14, 2022 at 5:37 pm

Wow so I pay more to get slower acceleration?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 2
  • Dong Gor on Jan 14, 2022 at 5:49 pm

Want it…but too mahal.one segment jump from city to civic of the same brand is like 60-70k…feels more like a make jump. so pass.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
  • Semi-Value (Member) on Jan 14, 2022 at 6:34 pm

so the more you pay, the slower your acceleration time. RS looks like a really bad deal when the only worthy addition is the auto wiper. should have given it at least electric passenger seats, wireless charging, full digital instrument panel to make it feel diff. otherwise civic v is the best choice

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 3
    • Hamidikor on Jan 14, 2022 at 8:48 pm

At more than 150K when u factor in the HP interest,cant the Honda designers give a better looking dashboard,especially the horizontal rectangular area(air vents?)below the andriod device?
      Just make the damn expensive car look like 1960’s era.
      Common Honda malaysia..tell Honda Japan,give the Honda fanboys a better looking interior.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 18
  • Susah la on Jan 14, 2022 at 7:17 pm

So the cheapest one has the fastest acceleration, and 8.3s isn’t exactly fast for a 180hp car. Sucks

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 12
  • Kancil Hybrid on Jan 14, 2022 at 8:13 pm

I like Civic Ketam more compare to this Civic Flowerhorn.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 9
    • Susukotak on Jan 16, 2022 at 3:57 pm

do u have civic?

• Ben Yap on Jan 17, 2022 at 9:43 am

I have a Civic FC 1.5 TCP and I will keep mine even though it is 5 years old. I will consider upgrade if the 12th Gen attract me with its features like 360 camera.

• Mathew on Jan 14, 2022 at 9:07 pm

Front passenger seat is so low…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
  • wayne on Jan 14, 2022 at 10:36 pm

why so ugly?

• tricycle on Jan 15, 2022 at 1:05 am

Nice, if only Honda offers DCT instead of CVT it will be a complete package.

• Yong KC on Jan 15, 2022 at 8:52 am

Well, 182hp with 200km/h top speed a bit surprisingly low. My 2013 stock Elentra 1.6 (fitted with Indon tyres and Ron95,2 yrs normal spark plugs) with 128hp run with top speed of 195km/h . This Civic must property set up to perform better b4 consider buying it

• Celup King on Jan 15, 2022 at 5:35 pm

Did you factor in the speedometer reading error which varies between different brands & models?

• No everyone like you do not know how to write the D word.

• Amran on Jan 15, 2022 at 10:55 am

Tak payah pikir. Tak payah pening. Beli aje Honda Cub.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 9
  • You’d think for RM125k Honda would have leather seats across all variants, but no, gotta put fabric as it is the benchmark for a “basic” specced variant.

• Ben Yap on Jan 17, 2022 at 9:35 am

Engine more power but slower than the FC.

• For the reason to preserve engine and parts to make it more durable. You push too hard, You need to decarbonize the car more frequently. For a proper works, it costs you more than rm700. Those cheaper not effective.

• Getting more expensive and getting slower in sprint time? Wow, first time see it.

• Outdated exterior design.