All LRT, MRT, Monorail stations in KL city closed from 7am to 3pm tomorrow at PDRM’s request – Rapid KL

This just in. Is there a planned protest in KL tomorrow? Rapid KL has announced the closure of LRT, MRT and Monorail stations located in the city centre tomorrow (January 22), from 7am to 3pm. This is “for public safety and as advised by PDRM”.

On the LRT Ampang/Sri Petaling line, trains will not stop at Pudu, Hang Tuah, Plaza Rakyat, Masjid Jamek, Bandaraya and Sultan Ismail stations. On the LRT Kelana Jaya line, the trains will skip Pasar Seni, Dang Wangi, Masjid Jamek and Kg Baru stations.

As for the MRT, Pasar Seni, Bukit Bintang and Merdeka stations will be closed. All KL Monorail stations will be closed from 7am to 3pm tomorrow. Other stations not mentioned here will be open as usual, so you can take the train, just not to town. Plan your journey accordingly and stay safe.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Kie To on Jan 21, 2022 at 6:29 pm

Bo***k punya politician. Lu org sibuk ajak rakyat keluar, end-up rakyat (lain) pulak yg susah. Kecik2 tak nak m*****s, dah tua menyusahkan orang.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 135 Thumb down 1
    • Amran on Jan 22, 2022 at 6:59 pm

Dorang dah kalah teruk teruk 2 kali, so dorang dah xde modal nak hentam lagi, last last dorang deperado nak buat protes. Pegi mampoi dorang, jap jap nnt jadik Kluster Protes baru padan mukak! wakakakaka

• Rakyat Malaysia on Jan 22, 2022 at 8:01 pm

They got paid so much but do nothing except susahkan rakyat. The can go protest all they want in H3ll la!

• Dr Strange on Jan 21, 2022 at 6:47 pm

Protest during Covid? Do they want to create a supercluster with Omicron flying around? Typical Malaysian Bolsonaros!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 9
    • Whatevs on Jan 23, 2022 at 4:29 am

Stupid take on the issue tbh. It’s in open air environment with SOP. Many gomen programs these days are all conducted indoor without SOP and nobody seem to care that much.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
      • Sick & Tired on Jan 23, 2022 at 10:52 am

What logic is that. Indoor events are still controlled with incomings vetted and checked prior to entry. Who can control outdoor events where any antivaxxer, unvaxxed, or faked vaxxer can join in? And last I heard, Omicron is now transmittable airborne whether indoors & outdoors is no diff when there is no social distancing like we seen in those protest pictures. Real stupid move when our cases are still high and we yet unable to move into endemic phase.

• Dr Strange on Jan 23, 2022 at 2:03 pm

Are you a doctor to say with certainty? Cuz Trump, Bolsonaro, Modi, Boris, Shafie also said the same things at their mega rallies which turn into Covid superclusters, and they are no doctor. Are you?

• Sick & Tired on Jan 24, 2022 at 7:11 am

Funny that you ask that question because your name is not listed with the medical association, but it is found in the comic books.

• Copy Paste on Jan 24, 2022 at 5:32 pm

Copy paste: “Vaccine is not a silver bullet to prevent covid, the key is lessen social gatherings and keep social distancing, the 2 things these protesters didnt do.”

• Sick & Tired on Jan 24, 2022 at 7:36 pm

@Copy Paste, please stop copying & repasting my comments. Have you no comments of your own?

• Sick & Tired on Jan 26, 2022 at 1:14 am

Funny you should tell to @Copy Paste when you are stealing my nick. You are certainly a comic joker without substance.

• Bro, u ada baca tak disclaimer sebelum u masuk komen? Kalau u dakwa ada org pakai u punya nick, register saja lah, habis cerita.

• bieight8 on Jan 21, 2022 at 6:49 pm

Grab drivers rejoice…

• Ella hood at bar on Jan 21, 2022 at 8:38 pm

little napoleans club is the real ruler of this nation

• And those little nincompoops(those really behind the protest) are killing the nation…

• Brian on Jan 24, 2022 at 10:49 am

Then you better quickly get all your vaccine jabs.

• Sick & Tired on Jan 24, 2022 at 1:48 pm

Vaccine is not a silver bullet to prevent covid, the key is lessen social gatherings and keep social distancing, the 2 things these protesters didnt do.

• Angry Voters on Jan 24, 2022 at 11:03 pm

Even if vaccine cannot prevent covid, it can help you to avoid ICU in hospital due to severe symptoms. So, no excuse for you to avoid vaccination.

• Sick & Tired on Jan 26, 2022 at 1:18 am

The reason why Alpha to Delta spread rate wasn’t as high as Omicron is not due to vaccine which was still in development back then, but cuz people did social distancing and staying home. Omicron spread so fast cuz people mistakenly thought vaccine will protect them, but the best protection is less social gathering such as these nonsense protest.

• Bro, the experts already say that the Omicron more infectious bcos of its mutation, just like how delta more infectious than alpha & beta. Jgn bagi banyak alasan mcm anti-vaxxers!

• Deltacron party in 3…2…1…

• A good way to promote driving in the city.

• test driver on Jan 22, 2022 at 7:30 pm

if only the government is as efficient at limiting people’s freedom as helping the people

• Sick & Tired on Jan 23, 2022 at 10:55 am

I don’t see why Gomen should be efficient at helping people who are ungrateful. If pet still bite your hand that feeds it, do you still keep it or throw it away? The Gomen is only bothered helping those that are grateful and this they doing with great aplomb.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
      • Angry Voters on Jan 24, 2022 at 11:16 pm

Why do you think the rakyat are as if pets to the gomen? Why do you also think the rakyat cannot fend for themselves and must depend on the gomen to feed them like pets? Don’t forget that it is the rakyat’s vote that decides who runs the gomen.

• Brian on Jan 23, 2022 at 2:11 pm

Where’s my automotive news?

• Angry Voters on Jan 23, 2022 at 2:23 pm

Biar aje ketua penguatkuasa undang2 anti rasuah beli-jual saham. Dia pun perlukan duit saku utk beli brg2 keperluan harian.

• Amran on Jan 24, 2022 at 7:06 am

Nombor 9 tak bagi dia elaun yg cukup kot??

• Sick & Tired on Jan 24, 2022 at 1:53 pm

Ask any gomen worker, their salary is not enuff to survive but they stay in the jobs cuz they willingly sacrifice themselves for the good of our beloved country and glorious nation, so playing sharemarket is not illegal or immoral unlike 4D or Kuda and it is simply for their retirement plan.

• Angry Voters on Jan 24, 2022 at 11:36 pm

To you, the gomen employee salary may look lower but gomen employee also enjoys some benefits from the gomen like housing and other loans to make life more affordable. Higher position gomen officials will of course enjoy more benefits like playing golf at KGPA. Even gomen already done good job saving RM2.80 a month by changing to more luxurious Vellfire for each minister. So with all these benefits, there’s really no need for gomen employee to source extra from other sources as they can trust the gomen to provide for them.

• Sick & Tired on Jan 26, 2022 at 1:05 am

We’re talking about retirement benefits here, not something which can benefit while they are still working. Gomen pension is one of the lowest since Gomen salary is ciku. Even our 1st PM died a pauper cuz he did not earn enough as a Gomen servant. That is why they need to invest into other sources of income when they are still working. He should have been commended for thinking ahead and not relying on Gomen benefits.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 10
          • Bro, apa yg kau merepek ni sampai u buat cerita PM pertama kami, Bapa Kemerdekaan kita, meninggal dunia papa kedana mcm pengemis?? Betul ke kau ni rakyat Malaysia?? Mcm kau dah hilang kepercayaan kpd kjaan utk memelihara kebajikan kakitangan kerajaan biarpun yg dah bersara.. Jgn2 pulak u nak bukak cerita ada org lain yg pakai nick engkau sbg alasan…

• Manifesto Dicapati on Jan 25, 2022 at 11:00 am

Gomen worker retirement plan is already long time taken care by gomen with pension plan. If need extra, no need to high risk playing shares. Boleh berdikari berniaga kecil kecilan, buka gerai capati dan lain2.

• Sick & Tired on Jan 26, 2022 at 1:08 am

Aik. What’s the difference between playing shares and opening gerai? The issue that Opposition want to raise is not the risk level of either one but that he invested at all to ensure he has enough for retirement. If they want to make a big fuss, even bukak gerai capati they will protest cuz it reminded them of all those GE14 promises that was capatied.

• Andre on Jan 23, 2022 at 5:23 pm

Illogical to stop all transportation of LRT lines, the train will be damn packed on top it’s not reliable KTM services. There must be a better way to handle rather than take easy way out!!! 7am to 3pm is most busiest hours!!!

• Angry Voters on Jan 24, 2022 at 1:55 pm

Better way is to early on tangkap those organisers and send to lokap like what Tun did in the past. Least disruption to rakyat lives.

• Sick & Tired on Jan 24, 2022 at 8:20 pm

Looks like enforcement on the lenient side.. They shouldn’t have given too much discount for saman..

• MH Lim on Jan 23, 2022 at 5:24 pm

All the inconvenience to stop a peaceful gathering. Bothering not just those allegedly going for the gathering but also genuine people that needed the public transportation to go to work.

Why weren’t the authorities more efficient and fast in action when the flood hit and come out in full force to help rather than the few good ones that were on site to help.

• Angry Voters on Jan 24, 2022 at 1:57 pm

Bcuz the authorities in Selangor organising the protest are also guilty of innefficiency and slow response to floods in Selangor.

• Sick & Tired on Jan 24, 2022 at 7:52 pm

Yeah, blame Selangor also for the floods in the other states..

• Sick & Tired on Jan 26, 2022 at 1:10 am

Selangor want to do protest, do it in Selangor, do it in Putrajaya lahh bodoh betoi dorang! After all, MACC HQ is in Putrajaya, why got no balls to do it right in front of their building?