2022 Proton Iriz, Persona now with new Atlas interface; Atlas Auto soon on Google Play, Huawei App Gallery

The Proton B-segment duo, the Iriz and Persona have now gained ATLAS, or ACO Tech Local Automotive Services, according to ACO Tech on its Twitter account.

The interface has now been made available for the latest facelifts of the Iriz and Persona hatchback and sedan which were launched last year. Users of these models can opt to receive the update over-the-air through the software update page within the settings menu, and their infotainment system will be updated.

For the SUVs in the range, the Proton X70 and X50, a firm timeframe for the rollout of the over-the-air updates remains to be seen as these are highly dependent on the manufacturer, said ACO Tech.

ATLAS is an infotainment operating system that will be made available to interested OEMs, ACO Tech said during the product’s launch last September. This is an all-new infotainment OS that is built upon Android 9 (Pie), as compared to the current GKUI software on certain Proton models, which is on Android 8, or Oreo.

The shift to the ATLAS infotainment system also sees the omission of Proton branding on the GKUI setup that is also Android-based, as the ATLAS system has been designed to integrate with any hardware that is compatible with the ATLAS operating system, in order for to be open to any carmakers interested in using it, as mentioned.

The ATLAS interface appears to closely resemble that which has previously been deployed in the Iriz and Persona, and is laid out to position the map to the left of the screen, while customisable widgets for items such as weather, media playback and app access on on the right-hand side of the screen.

Voice commands are offered with a customisable command name and user name, while voice recognition has been tailored to better understand Malaysians’ localised English. Meanwhile, users can choose to hear from male or female voices, with their characters named Atlas and Aethra, respectively.

ATLAS Auto mobile application. Click to enlarge
The second quarter of this year will bring a calendar feature, enabling users to sync their mobile calendars and meeting reminders; this information will be fed into the system, which then offers a suggested departure time to help make sure they arrive on time for their appointments.

On the mobile device side, the ATLAS Auto mobile app has also been rolled out on the Apple App Store for Apple iOS devices. For users of other mobile operating systems, ATLAS Auto will also be released on the Google Play Store as well as the Huawei App Gallery.

ACO Tech emerged in 2020 from a joint venture agreement between Proton, and Altel Communications with ECarX (Hubei) Technology, which was formed for the development of car connectivity technology and products. These from ACO Tech are aimed at markets in Malaysia as well as in the greater Asean region.

GALLERY: ATLAS infotainment OS

GALLERY: ATLAS Auto app

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• Anonymous Coward on Jan 25, 2022 at 4:44 pm

But… why? I get that carmakers will still need middleware for their infotainment systems, but I have no interest in using custom mapping or entertainment solutions.

I’m already using Apple Music and Google Maps/Waze. If these solutions include Apple CarPlay/Android Auto then that’s not really a problem, but otherwise, there’s no value-add to me. It might as well be a basic radio with Bluetooth because I will just run my mapping/entertainment via my phone.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 3
    • Silthice on Jan 25, 2022 at 7:07 pm

Cause using Google in car entertainment is costly

• PlainBS on Jan 26, 2022 at 2:22 am

Any infotainment system will still run a middleware even tho you use phone to connect, you still need it ie Android Auto.

• why the heck anyone want to choose this over the universally open and compatible android auto & apple car play?

• sigh…proton always prioritize things that no one ask/need
    e.g
    1. voice command over safety features
    2. atlas/gkui over android/apple
    3. ride & handling over fuel economy & refinement…seriously at proton price point, no one need a fuel guzzler car that can drift/race

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 11
    • benlau on Jan 26, 2022 at 10:47 am

1. kinda agree. but the iriz/persona already has 6 airbags,TSC,ABS etc. what more to add?

2. Correct me if i’m wrong, ATLAS is an Operating System, Apple Carplay/Android Auto is not a Operating System.

3. Proton has better refinement than Perodua. Their cars are consistently quiter and rides better than Perodua. Ride and handling is important. It’s the difference between a car and a Lorry. Also it contributes to safety unless you travel only in the city. At our highway speeds, handling is very important. A professional driver will tell you that even at 60kmh, you can lose control of your car. No active safety system can save you from a bad handling car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 3
    • You might not like these features, but these are what that is pushing Saga sales.

• the only reason saga got sales
        1. cheapest car with boot
        2. saga got stock vs bezza long waiting period

all proton owner wish for a better engine and drivetrain! except for x70/x50 la coz thats china product but risk with sparepart issue

• normal_user on Jan 25, 2022 at 6:18 pm

Not interested. Android auto please.

• EastIsRising on Jan 25, 2022 at 8:40 pm

Replacing all US influence Apple, Google products….this will be new century of China dominated apps. China don’t want US application to spy on them.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 9
  • People want android auto or carplay you are not listening on Jan 25, 2022 at 9:43 pm

Useless syok sendiri system denying people from using android auto and carplay. Is like PLUS and TnG forcing RFID down people’s throat.

• looks like another skin on the android os la

• PlainBS on Jan 26, 2022 at 2:18 am

Noice! Where else can you get OTA updates on the infotainment system on a car below Rm50k. Perodua can you beat that?

• Same L0rr on Jan 26, 2022 at 10:06 am

This iriz is no RV at all

• Anonymous on Jan 26, 2022 at 2:17 pm

Does anyone know if the Iriz 2020 will get this update?

• LogicBehind on Apr 21, 2022 at 9:00 am

Tech company strategic in using their own middleware
    1. May be want to tie you into their eco-system?
    2. May be want to collect info and log for their analysis?
    3. May be due to geo-political strategy?

Who is the owner of Proton now?

• Order Persona 2022 nov 2021, until today 16/6/2022 not received. Sales slow or production slow?