2022 Toyota Camry facelift to be launched at 9pm tonight – will we finally get the Dynamic Force engine?

It’s almost time – UMW Toyota Motor will launch the facelifted eighth-generation Toyota Camry at 9pm tonight, having teased the car’s arrival last week. The refreshed D-segment sedan is set to make its debut more than three years after the XV70 was introduced in late 2018.

As you can see in this image, the Camry receives a mildly redesigned front fascia, sporting a more clearly defined centre air intake (the wide lower grille graphic is still visible) flanked by contrasting C-shaped frames. The nip and tuck should also add a new wheel design and a smoked finish for the taillights.

Inside, the changes are expected to be even more extensive, with the addition of a freestanding infotainment touchscreen that measures up to nine inches across (up from the eight-inch display currently offered). The updated Toyota Safety Sense 2.5 suite of driver assists, which now includes nighttime pedestrian and daytime cyclist detection and an improved adaptive cruise control, should also be on the cards.

No technical details have been revealed just yet, but the company has hinted at a new 2.5 litre Dynamic Force engine to replace the ageing 2AR-FE in the outgoing model. Equipped with D-4S direct injection and a 13:1 compression ratio and achieving a claimed thermal efficiency of 40%, the still naturally-aspirated A25A-FKS delivers an extra 25 PS and 15 Nm of torque, producing 209 PS at 6,600 rpm and 250 Nm at 5,000 rpm. It will be mated to an eight-speed Direct Shift automatic gearbox instead of the old six-speeder.

GALLERY: 2022 Toyota Camry 2.5 Premium facelift in Thailand

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• hardly see this or the new accord on the road….nowadays ppl are more into SUVs

• Copy Paste on Feb 17, 2022 at 11:04 am

Copy paste: “the direct injection TGDI engine is a valve carbon deposit maintenance nightmare .”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 11
    • Copy Paste on Feb 17, 2022 at 4:37 pm

Copy paste: “This isn’t a problem if the owner always revving the engine on high rpm note. But seriously who will do that in public road?”

• Sick & Tired on Feb 17, 2022 at 6:57 pm

Instead of simply copying & pasting other people’s comments, you should have done some checking first, and you would have found that the Toyota A25A-FKS engine’s D-4S fuel injection system consists of direct injectors into the combustion chambers, and multi-point injectors into the intake ports. The high-pressure direct injectors sprays fuel at mid and high engine loads, while the low-pressure multi-point fuel injectors operates at low speeds and at mid-range, helping to clean behind the intake valves, preventing a massive build-up of carbon deposits.

• Copy Paste on Feb 18, 2022 at 12:02 am

Copy paste: “Sounds like the excuse of an automaker that’s lagging behind competitors and don’t want to embrace electrification.

Yes, the source of electricity matters but dismantling the petrol infrastructure matters more. Even if it’s coal, several of those is better than hundreds of thousands ICE since you can decommission the coal plants faster and replace with less environmentally taxing power generation methods.

HEVs are prolonging the petroleum infrastructure that should be dismantled quicker as we adopt more EVs and build out the infrastructure for those. It’s a half-measure that only keeps big oil happy. And I’m sure Perodua and Toyota are happy to sell HEVs that have both an ICE engine requiring maintenance and need expensive batteries that can only be replaced by the OEM. An EV is much simpler to make and has less maintenance, even if the battery is expensive. I’m sure Perodua has done their calculation showing the drop in maintenance revenue and propping up HEV is their countermeasure for that.”

Copy paste: “Slap own face ha ha ha!”

• PlainBS on Feb 18, 2022 at 11:49 am

S&T’s comment about the Camry’s new engine is correct but you chose to reply with a copied comment about EVs when the above-mentioned Camry is not an EV. You again slapped your own face on this one.

• Sick & Tired on Feb 18, 2022 at 8:43 am

Like, you know, if you don’t like your own comments being repeated by others, then don’t spout such nonsense in the first place if it were untrue. @CopyPaste is well known for his/her/them unique way of commenting and if some don’t like the taste of their own medicine… well, tough luck. For sure it makes fakes like you an impossible act to impostor.

• Bro, kan dah bagi tahu u to register your nick the PT way if u don’t want others to use it, but u still choose to bising2 lagi.. Bro, I’m also thinking, apa pasal u nak defend si-copycat Copy n Paste ni? I pikir ada byk org dah naik fed up sebab comment mereka ditiru oleh sicopycat ni sampai ada mereka yg pakai nick org lain utk release tension. But this is only my speculation sebab hanya org PT yg tahu cita sebenar.

• Safety First on Feb 18, 2022 at 4:29 pm

Bro, I must say that this copying & pasting of other people’s words as own comment, without permission & without giving credit to the original author, is just simply plagiarism, and I don’t know why there are people who simply accept it as ‘a unique way of commenting’. That’s like saying that it is okay for 1 person to be paid the salary for another person’s work because it is ‘a unique way of earning income’.
            On the imposter issue, PT has already give the option to register so that others cannot use the same name. So, those who choose not to register but still complain about imposters, they have to blame only themselves.

• PlainBS on Feb 18, 2022 at 12:01 pm

I hazard a guess that it’s you, Copy Paste, masquerading as Sick & Tired, feigning that you’re the real S&T who has been ‘victimized’ by some imposter. And based Bro’s comments, it appears you have done this before. So, if you’re the real S&T, why can’t you register your nick with PT? You’re afraid they’ll know your true identity? May be PT should make it such that only those who register can post comments, and make everyone happy.

• Amran on Feb 19, 2022 at 11:50 pm

Pedas ke? Siapa tu yang makan cili. hi hi hi hi

• Bro, memang Copy Paste yg termakan, bro..

• Safety First on Feb 21, 2022 at 1:00 pm

Siapa yg tiru karya org lain, penipu namanya.

• PlainBS on Feb 21, 2022 at 7:27 pm

Now Copy Paste is also masquerading as Amran…

• it’s like they used a random word generator to come up with the phrase.. lol

• Just buy. Its a TOYOTA CAMRY!